15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About DigitalChalk

Top-rated by industry experts and loved by customers, DigitalChalk LMS offers full features, fanatical support, and outstanding value.

Learn more about DigitalChalk

Pros:

DigitalChalk has managed to take away all the unnecessary steps in the people management process and made it very simple, streamlined and ready to use in no time at all.

Cons:

No option to have a manager account for group signups. A manager account could have access to their employees gradebooks to check on status of their training.

DigitalChalk ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.9

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

DigitalChalk has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 99 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used DigitalChalk before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (99)

Chris
Chris
Managing Director in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very powerful system. Lots of great stuff "under the hood" for admin staff.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Clearly created by people who understand and are interested in *real* online learning. Everything in one place - including a home for you video-conferences and off-net meetings - demonstrating that they think of the student and not just their own software/system. Not just a "collection of videos shoved into an online folder". A proper system. Exceptional support - lovely people with whom to conduct business.

Cons:

The student interface looks dated (Dec 2017). To be fair to Digital Chalk they know this. I understand they have a major refresh planned, so by the time you read this that may have already happened.

Barbara
Program Officer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A+ Online Education Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our online diabetes education course is offered in the English language in the country of India, and in Spanish in the Central American Region. Our previous platform was astronomically expensive to host. After the one time small vendor fee, the platform costs the course fee that is paid by the students as they purchase the course. It couldn't be easier, or more cost effective. Revenue is processed monthly by DigitalChalk and wired directly to our bank account. Simple reports on the courses purchased are easy to generate for our accounting team to appropriately credit the revenue to the right program.

Pros:

I love that it is so easy to build my own courses, receive feedback, grade assignments, and conduct needed reports on finances and student progress. I also love that when I write to the support team, they always respond within an hour or less. They are so helpful with links and screen shots of exactly what to do to fix a problem, and at times they've made corrections on my behalf.

Cons:

There really isn't anything I do not like about the software.

Sciolytix Response

4 years ago

Hi Barbara, Thank you so much for your great, thoughtful review! It's awesome to see that you love so much about DigitalChalk. We want to continue delivering that kind of experience to everyone who uses our learning platform, so if you have any suggestions on how we can make course delivery and reporting better for everyone, please let us know at [email protected] Thanks again!

Stephanie
CEC Progam Lead in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Difficult to Navigate

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Frustrating and not well organized, the search functionality is really poor. When we told our franchisees we were switching to another learning platform they literally cheered.

Pros:

The terminology (courses, completion, etc) is fairly easy to learn, and the menu is pretty clear overall. The customer service people are lovely.

Cons:

The search function isn't functional. I spend a lot of my time fielding questions from our owners and teachers about how to find the things they need, and on the flip side of that I often run into errors loading materials that mean I need customer support.

Daniel
Training Manager in Costa Rica
Oil & Energy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simply great

5.0 last year

Comments: Been using it for 5 years now to create online training courses for asynchronic learning. In love with the product, does everything I need.

Pros:

Easy to use effective and great value for money.

Cons:

A bit fiddly in one or two features, nothing too serious.

Fran
Director in Australia
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, logical and foolproof

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

As the course designer and business consultant, I was keen to find a software that I could understand and not be reliant on others if something went awry. I chose Digital Chalk and, despite my fears, found it intriguingly easy to set up and use. Three years later, I chose it for a national peak body's accreditation system after looking through the range of new products. Given that I would have to hand it over once developed, I needed a foolproof system that could grow with the education program. I had a two page 'criteria/description of how I wanted it to work' and only Digital Chalk answered it (the next day). It links with Shopify which is also easy to use (especially the seamless link to cloud-based accounting packages that generate a range of management finance and sales reports). I've needed a couple of features, like product bundling, that Digital Chalk developed. I'm now developing courses for an organisation with a legacy system. The patched LMS is a nightmare. We have to wait for 'attention' from IT; we're not 'a priority'; the navigation is annoying; we keep being told that 'IT knows best' and I ask: 'Why do people put up with this?' I'm also tutoring at university and find it interesting to monitor the range of 'bells and whistles' that few use. With Digital Chalk you can spend your valuable time on design and content - what matters most.

Cons:

I've found a couple of glitches - like a large clock counting down in the exam - which were caused by my settings or by using the default settings - so check that what the students see is what you want.

W
Faculty
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Best product, in this category, on the market

4.0 14 years ago

Comments: DC is by far the best in its class. It is designed (in my opinion) for fully automated online courses. If this is what you want to do...I cannot think of anything better. I am an odd user of the program and have high demands (teach software with large file sizes). DC is great for distributing (and protecting) my lectures, but for my particular requirements, I needed to pair DC with Moodle. Digital Chalk has been one of the best companies I have ever worked with. They even quoted to create custom applications to work with our in-house systems. They have been completely fair with me and have greatly increased the quality and enjoyment of my job. I have been using the program for 2 years and am running on their newest platform. The update was dramatic. I expect great things to come with future updates and am positive that this company will adapt to their users. Excellent work.

Pros:

Instant setup, begin uploading your course in seconds. Very fast and rarely down (I have been using the site daily for almost 2 years). EXCELLENT customer support - never seen anything like it. Questions are answered immediately, bugs are fixed, and sometimes they just do it for you. I use 400-500MB files - videos upload quickly and logs notifications. I cannot say enough great things about the customer support. Very nice, very helpful - motivated and energetic people. When I have students drop, they take care of the refunds and fix problems very quickly I give DC 3 stars for meeting my needs, but 5 stars for protecting my work as a non-regular faculty member at a university. I feel motivated to better my lectures knowing they are protected and are controlled by me

Cons:

no option for just publishing as an eBook (for an addition to an actual class)...but I use DC for an actual university class, not a purely online course. Does not have BlackBoard/Moodle integrated features (video chat, blogs, forums, etc.). No ability to edit documents online...but again, this is not what DC was designed for. Does not have the diversity of testing questions as Blackboard does. 500MB video limits...I teach software and need high resolution. Students do occasionally complain that it is difficult to see some of the details. For my courses that are power-point/video driven...no complaints whatsoever.

Cheri
Training Coordinator in US
Utilities, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

DigitalChalk is a Digital Charm

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I've used many Learning Management Systems in my 30 years of being in the training field. DigitalChalk is hands-down one of the easiest systems to learn, use and administer. Some Learning Management Systems can be so over complicated and for no reason. DigitalChalk has managed to take away all the unnecessary steps in the people management process and made it very simple, streamlined and ready to use in no time at all. It is by far my favorite LMS to date. Prior to my joining my current company, there was no LMS.

Cons:

I wish there was a live-chat option on the help desk. There are times when I need to trouble-shoot something real time to continue my work, and I have to wait for an email response from the help desk. It's typically the same day but in this day and age, you want to talk to someone immediately.

Sciolytix Response

4 years ago

Hi Cheri, Thank you for your fantastic review! We appreciate that you took the time to write such a thoughtful response. We're so happy that you found DigitalChalk so easy to use and administer. If you have any feedback for making organization and course admins' jobs even simpler, please let us know at [email protected]. Thanks again!

Stephanie
President in US
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and good customer service

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Digital Chalk is more than an LMS, it allows students to register and pay in the platform and acts as an SIS maintaining student records.

Pros:

Digital Chalk is easy to use for both students and administrators. The platform accepts a variety of file types and each element can be customized to show only video, video and notes, or be a file or web archive. The platform also allows interaction during the video through check points in which students can select an answer and get feedback from the instructor. Digital Chalk also has wonderful customer service and they are very polite and responsive.

Cons:

Digital Chalk does not currently have a built in discussion forum. This makes interaction (which is important in virtual learning) more difficult. We have found a work around, but we would prefer to have only one log in for our students and wish there was an integrated discussion forum.

Sharon
President in US
Airlines/Aviation, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An awesome Learning Management System

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Outstanding! We would not consider using anyone else for all of our courses.

Pros:

We have been with Digital Chalk for 9 years and each year it gets better. Digital Chalk is always improving their system with new ways to deliver the courses to our students. Additionally, their fees are extremely reasonable, and their customer service is beyond compare. Anyone who is looking to implement a distance learning program could not go wrong using Digital Chalk.

Cons:

The fact that there is no Student Gradebook. There used to be one where the students could monitor their own progress. That is gone now.

Sciolytix Response

4 years ago

Hi Sharon, Thank you for your great review! We truly appreciate you and your organization's long history using DigitalChalk. As you mentioned, we're always looking to improve our system, so if you have any feedback for how we can make course delivery and the learner experience even better, please let us know at [email protected]. Thanks again!

Juvy
Juvy
Grade 8 ELA Teacher in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

DigitalChalk makes blended learning class for my students fun, interesting, simple and interactive.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Basically, delivering instruction and learning in the most interactive and dynamic methods are what this software solves in my classroom. This LMS tool not only makes me an effective teacher but it also makes me a flexible educator.

Pros:

DigitalChalk digitally-enabled the landscape of learning in the four walls of the classroom. This learning management system makes schooling and learning more exciting, interesting and technically-fulfilling. As a teacher, it helps me easily design and modify courses in a dynamic and interactive fashion that my students really enjoy. I can easily incorporate my own videos and PowerPoint presentations that truly level up my teaching styles and strategies. Giving tests and quizzes are as easy as monitoring the students' growth and performance. This LMS also helps my struggling students cope up with the missed topics because they can access the learning materials anywhere. I also like the real-time reports that this software generates

Cons:

I used different LMS before and I think this is one of the best software I used. It has all the characteristics of the perfect LMS for me. None of the features that I don't want as a dynamic teacher.

James
Owner/Lead Instructor
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Cornerstone-edu.com

4.0 12 years ago

Comments: A+ recommendation overall. My "cons" were small in the whole scheme of things. You will be impressed with the level of thought that went into the DC system. Great choice and I highly recommend.

Pros:

I chose Digital Chalk because of the e-commerce feature, the video & powerpoint on the screen. For some student testing, I use proctoru.com. D.C. made everything work smoothly. I am not a techie person, but everyone and I mean everyone helped get my company up and going. I made a great investment with Digital Chalk for my company.

Cons:

I wish the uses of all the features were in a video format. The "bible" of how to use the system is over 100 pages long. It covers everything...but how about some videos! However, Dave & Adrian & Josh all helped me. In fact, Dave is calling me a psuedo-techie now! The first sentence is the only "con" I can come up with.

Sciolytix Response

11 years ago

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and now have an array of video tutorials and demonstrations available on our YouTube and Vimeo pages. As we push out new updates to our system, each release now has a video demonstration to ease you into the changes. We hope this helps!

Kathy
Manager, Teacher Effectiveness
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

DigitalChalk

5.0 14 years ago

Comments: DigitalChalk has been a great experience for us. Support was extremely fast and often exceeded my expectations. I was impressed by the way they helped me to implement a solution of course versions that addressed our specific circumstances of staggered starts. I have found the DigitalChalk team to be constantly looking to improve the product. Good people to work with.

Pros:

From an implementation stand point, the pieces fell together nicely; the interface is very intuitive, the documentation is kept current, and support was quick to respond. It was an easy start up for our users; there was rarely a problem with the use of the course. Very positive feedback from our users.

Cons:

The reporting, while greatly improved over the last couple of years, still left a few gaps for us.

Sciolytix Response

11 years ago

Thanks for your review! We hope you have continued to enjoy DigitalChalk for all your eLearning needs. We have recently released a new product enhancement, focusing on the reports feature. You can now generate detailed reports quickly and easily with many field options. Hope this helps!

Mary Jo
Principal
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Excellenct LMS Option

4.0 10 years ago

Comments: Have now used DigitalChalk for almost a year. Overall, excellent option. Pros: Extensive list, including: Easy to learn and use. Flexible formatting options. New features added over time. Affordable. Ability to obtain track status of learners, generate notifications, build courses with multiple formats and components. Of the options we reviewed, this was clearly the best for us. Cons: Only one, but it is major for us. . . .inability to generate reports summarizing quiz/evaluation results (aggregate across learners). Can easily see individual responses, but must go into each individual record in order to record in a way that supports program evaluation. For programs with large number of students and/or multiple quizzes, this is time consuming but essential to assess the psychometrics for test questions and the adult learners' impressions of the course. Hopeful that this innovation will be introduced in the near future, as would then be absolutely perfect program. Summary: With the one caveat regarding need to manually extract information for program evaluation, this is the best LMS available.

Bill
Co-Founder
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Eeritiz is Expanding Marketing Opportunities with Digital Chalk

4.0 14 years ago

Comments: Once you begin working with the product and testing out all the components, you will find creative ways to employ each feature to maximize the user experience. At Eeritiz, we found the learning curve very reasonable and our ability to test out ideas with our clients in the free version before upgrading gives us a real business development advantage over the competition.

Pros:

The product is well designed and implemented. Customer support is helpful and both sales and support seem to be sincerely interested in how we are implementing our client solutions and courseware. Digital Chalk has enhanced our ability to reach out to smaller businesses, educators, authors and non-profits with solutions they can afford.

Cons:

We have experienced some soundtrack conversion issues with large QuickTime video files created in Keynote, but have implemented a work-around by converting the files to FLV before uploading them.

Aaron
Sales manager in US
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Digital Chalk Rocks !

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It allows all employee's easy access and they can do it on their time line and gives clear and concise platform for all our safety needs

Pros:

Easy to access and user friendly . All employees have access from work or home or tablet or phone! They seem to enjoy the experience over all. Would highly recommend this product to any company

Cons:

Once in awhile it will double load the same coarse..( minor ) admin issue

Sciolytix Response

4 years ago

Hi Aaron, Thank you for your awesome review! It's great to hear that using DigitalChalk has been an easy and accessible experience for you and your organization. We're always looking for ways that we can make that experience even better, so if you have any ideas that can make DigitalChalk even more clear and easy-to-use for everyone, please let us know at [email protected] or [email protected]. Thanks again!

Laina
Operations Manager
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Excellent Learning Platform

5.0 14 years ago

Comments: I highly recommend anyone interested in offering an educational program or product online, to utilize Digital Chalk's services.

Pros:

Digital Chalks learning system is easy to use and completely professional. The Digital Chalk system provides an environment that is completely conducive to learning, the way everything is presented make the experience not only beneficial and easy but enjoyable! The system makes sure that the teacher and student are taken care of, by proactively identifying what will be needed and having it ready. Above all the customer service is FANTASTIC! The whole team from start to finish aim to please! I highly recommend Digital Chalk.

Cons:

I can think of no negative experiences.

Timothy
Business Editor/ instructor
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

An answer to a need

4.0 14 years ago

Comments: I highly recommend Digital Chalk for both academic and corporate learning solutions.

Pros:

provides participants 24/7365 access to courses User friendly for participants Provides a positive reinforcement learning experience Updating or adding content is relatively simple. Having it branded with our logo and corporate image is a tremendous plus.

Cons:

Putting PowerPoint content up and matching to audio is a laborious process.

Sciolytix Response

11 years ago

Thanks for the great review! We appreciate your feedback and are working to resolve the tedious process of matching PowerPoint slides to your audio recording. We hope you have enjoyed the other enhancements we have added to the DigitalChalk platform.

Ken
Managing Director
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Spectacular authoring environment for eLearning

5.0 12 years ago

Comments: The best overall eLearning enterprise solution out there

Pros:

Easy to get started with Very supportive company (training, instant help) Very reasonably priced Pricing model couldn't be better Support for tablets, PCs, and Macs Great course/student administration features

Cons:

Could be an easier, more integrated way to include demo videos (but I've found an easy workaround) Actually,there are no negatives

Sciolytix Response

11 years ago

Thanks for the review! There are many ways you can include demo videos or any video recording within our system. You can easily upload a video within a chalkboard or create a SCORM file. We hope you are enjoying DigitalChalk!

David
Instructor in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

I use Digital Chalk for online training courses

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: Digital Chalk has been walking me through the system for the past 4 years. They are always there to assist with questions I might have . The system is a turn key platform for my courses. I design my course upload and its done they do the rest charging the students, issuing refunds when needed and even assisting students that have issues I cannot solve. I simply do what I do best and create the courses. The team at Digital chalk is always very polite and very prompt which is important when dealing with those students that do not always understand online courses. I would recommend them to anyone looking to teach online.

Art
Principal
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Remarkable Distance Learning Tool!

5.0 14 years ago

Comments: For individuals or organizations interested in developing and delivering content on-line, DigitalChalk is an outstanding solution!

Pros:

I invested a great deal of time in evaluating options for timely, cost-effective delivery of e-learning, and DigitalChalk is head and shoulders above anything in the market. The platform is powerful and easy to learn/use and the team members to a person offer remarkable support. I love the culture of this company and their commitment to helping the customer!

Cons:

Haven't found any that aren't my fault!

Todd
President
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

New Product for me, good potential

4.0 14 years ago

Comments: User tips, cost-saving measures, how-to's without all the techno speak or teaching philosophy that shows up in a lot of the tweets from digital chalk - assume your user just needs to know shortest path to getting his/her own idea into usable content. Maybe links/tweets that focus on inexpensive ways to record, edit, etc.

Pros:

Great idea, placing tools in hands of everyday users who have their own universe of content knowledge.

Cons:

Limitations of time, equipment, and skills to create high quality video before actually using the product.

Matt
President
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Digital Chalk online course delivery

4.0 14 years ago

Comments: I would recommend Digital Chalk for organizations looking for a cost-effective platform to create and deliver web-based courses, backed by a friendly team of responsive staffers.

Pros:

User-friendly system makes it fairly easy to build your own online self-managed courses.

Cons:

Our needs are admittedly unique from the typical Digital Chalk user, so the requests we have to maximize our users' experience are not on the front burner for feature requests.

Katie
HR Manager
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Digital Chalk Support Rocks!

4.0 13 years ago

Comments: I do highly recommend this to other companies our size.

Pros:

I have had nothing but excellent customer service from the beginning with digital chalk. Support is quick, and always helpful.

Cons:

The program takes a moment to learn, but if you can follow the directions that are clearly written, and have some computer know how, you can get it. And if you can't, support is awesome!

Vasilios
GM
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great support from Bobby Juarez

4.0 11 years ago

Comments: A good product for a good price, particularly when compared with other LMS hosted services.

Pros:

Feature rich LMS.

Cons:

User Interface could be improved to make the navigation functions more intuitive.

Sciolytix Response

11 years ago

Thank you for the review! Good news! We have improved the user interface with a new dashboard and the navigation is now easier than ever. We hope you enjoy these new updates!

Ted
Senior Trainer
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Digital Chalk is an awesome platform for our online classes

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: We've been using digital chalk for several years now, and they have a great product that is easy to use, and great customer service to boot. Every time something comes up that could be done better, Digital Chalk steps up and works to make the changes they need to. They are constantly improving their product, and making sure their users are happy.