15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Adobe Commerce

Adobe powers billions in B2B ecommerce with a platform that boosts operational efficiency, customer satisfaction, and revenue growth

Learn more about Adobe Commerce

Pros:

From an entrepreneurial standpoint, once you have a team that knows the functions of the product, navigating the software and selling online is great.

Cons:

I abandoned the use almost immediately, am I wrong with my judgment. But in any case, the interface didn't create any attractions.

Adobe Commerce ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.8/10

Adobe Commerce has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 640 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Adobe Commerce before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (640)

Ashish
Ashish
Customer Service Representative in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Warehousing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great platform with some complexity

5.0 last month New

Pros:

One of the most favored features of Adobe Commerce is its flexibility and customization capabilities. Our Company's IT team appreciate the platform’s ability to create unique and engaging shopping experiences tailored to our specific business needs.

Cons:

integrating the platform with certain external systems can present hurdles, potentially complicating the initial learning curve for users.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Enterprise Level eCommerce Platform

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Magento is incredible if you have the technical team and developers that know how to work with it and make it shine.

Pros:

Magento has a lot of functionality out of the box to set up and ecommerce store. The UX for M2 is significantly better than it was on M1. You can really narrow down the scope of permissions that your provide to users.

Cons:

There have been a lot of bugs that have come up that should have been worked out before release. There is a fairly high technical barrier to entry compared to other platforms.

Jeff
CTO in US
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Works but Insanely Hard To Customize

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: We ultimately have decided to make the decision to move on from Magento Commerce because the hassle in customizing the platform. Our company has specific functional needs when it comes to ecommerce, and we're constantly having to not only implement and upgrade those in Magento, but ultimately upgrade and fix each time Magento comes out with a major release.

Pros:

Out of the box, Magento promises to deliver on its core promise - to add products to a catalog, sell them online, and ship out effectively.

Cons:

Our business requires many areas where we need to customize our technology in order to do business more effectively. We tried, many many times, to customize Magento to our specific needs, and the more we went down the rabbit hole the harder it was to not only implement but maintain longterm. Eventually, it becomes pointless to effectively grow when your technology hinders your progress.

Suryansh
HR Manager in US
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My Review of Adobe Commerce

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

It comes with great data security and has best ecommerce features It is not only secure but also customizable to meet business needs.

Cons:

Handling and using Adobe Commerce has been smooth and no issues to list.

Fabian
Fabian
digital marketer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

My Magento Review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Magento is the future of online shopping. You can truly customize your shop for any look, feel or functionality you need.

Pros:

I could customize my online store to look the way I want it while giving my customers the online shopping experience they deserve. The reviews extension really helps with building credibility.

Cons:

I found that starting to use Magento was extremely overwhelming. I had to spend hours just setting up a few features that I needed.

Ashwani
Project Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good Ecommerce Software with Powerful Interface

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Administrator- Features availability for admin is very good and if you are used of it then you can get each and every bit of data whatever you want to extract.

Cons:

Biggest problem with the software is its complexity. If you are beginner then it is very difficult to understand the structure of its panel. Also plugins customisation seems to be very tricky. You have to look for many options if you want to explore this.

Daniel
Daniel
Founder in Argentina
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Adobe Commerce is one of the main ecommerce platforms in the world

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Adobe Commerce it's a very detailed, very ecommerce focused piece of software. It has many features other solutions lack

Cons:

It can be too complex for small and medium business. It takes a very skilled team to work it properly. It's expensive.

Krunal
Cyber Risk and Analysis in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Adobe Commerce

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Adobe Commerce has the favorable ability to integrate with other softwares, which stands out amongst competitors. It also offers flexibility and customizable features to adapt to different work-related conditions.

Cons:

Customization can be tricky, especially for new users. A tutorial to make navigation easier can be extremely beneficial in order to sustain long-term users.

Joanna Marie
Associate in Philippines
Consumer Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My experience

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Overall all is great, Adobe Commerce is absolutely amazing for us.

Pros:

The features of Adobe Commerce are easy to use. It has been excellent tool for inventory management

Cons:

Adobe Commerce has been amazing and helpful. No issue.

Maria
CEO in Bulgaria
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

One of the Best

5.0 last month New

Pros:

I really liked the functionality and all the features offered

Cons:

Maybe the price, but considering the functionality, it's a good option

RAMAKANTA
CEO in India
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Ecommerce Platform

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, Magento is a very good platform for me to start immediately an Ecommerce site. I have many clients and i have done very good design works for them over Magento. Easily add features according to client specification, very high secure and fast site.

Pros:

Magento is a very good platform to make eCommerce sites easily and a lot of features inside it. Easily create a layout, adding multiple languages, adding manual codes easily. Apart from that Magento is a free platform to install it to server and start a website easily. Magento is a highly secure and fast loading site. Easy SEO platform.

Cons:

Magento is a very good platform for Pro-Magento persons. But if you are a new person and plan to start magento then it'll take more time to know about the features inside it.

magatte
freelance in Senegal
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Magenta: The best CMS platform for e-commerce sites

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: MAgento CMS has many flaws, which must be corrected as quickly as possible. Another software like prestashop is much better than it.
You can easily interact with customers, and you can also send automatic e-mails to customers.
The customer positioning feature allows you to configure the relevant product set for each customer group.
You can integrate fraud detection tools to minimize the risk of fraud from customers or suppliers. It allows administrators to easily customize its management interface.
If you can avoid Magento, it's very good for you or your company.

Pros:

The best CMS platform for e-commerce sites. It contains huge functions. Although I don't know all its features yet, I use it often. If you want to do something on an e-commerce website, Magento can deliver it to you. There are many free and paid extensions to extend the features. It is very easy to write code, so you don't need to hire a programmer to use this CMS for a great customization job.

Cons:

It is a frequently used platform and always vulnerable to attacks. As a result, both in-house and outsourced IT teams must perform regular security updates. I think there is a version of Magento that has been discontinued, but for small businesses, you almost need something that can give them complex community publishing features, but it can be exploited by Magento. In the next few years we have to decide whether to stay in Magento or move, Shopify offers a very attractive hosted version.

Karolina
Project Manager in Poland
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Advanced tool which gives you many possibilities

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

- as Magento is one of themost popolar e-commerce platform many external softwares has ready Magento plugins so integration with third party software is quite easy - can manage e-shop with different language versions, many currency, many warehouses - SEO friendly

Cons:

- be prepared to spend money - you will have to engage IT specialists for any modyfication

Stephanie
CFO in US
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Flexible and Administration Ease

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Enterprise and dealing with the development company that supported us was terrible but community and a local developer has been great. We didn't have the budget for the big version but were sold into it by the developer when the community version was more appropriate.

Pros:

We are a small family business and reliant (for many things) on our ability to manage the back end of our site. Neither of us have a background in building sites, managing integration, etc. but we have been able to get very comfortable with the back end of the site. For a novice or inexperienced person, I was surprised that I could pick it up quickly. We use the community version which has been critical to controlling costs. At that same time, we haven't sacrificed functionality in that there are some incredible plug-ins that ultimately replaced the Enterprise functionality (which we moved away from because of the annual price tag). We also work with a small development company locally who manage the set up of the plug-ins (but quite honestly it seems fairly straightforward). As the site "breaks" (for lack of a better word), we have our developer do it.

Cons:

It's possible that it is far more plug and play than I realize for plug-ins but would love to see something user friendly created. There used to be some version of Magento that I think was discontinued but you almost need something for smaller companies that gives them the sophistication of the community edition but potentially managed by Magento. In the next few years, we need to make a decision to stay on Magento or move and Shopify has a managed version that is very intriguing. Our computers are using it and Big Commerce and they look every bit as sophisticated on the front end as we do but we are reliant on a separate developer who could move on or go out of business. A stable subscription based product for larger small businesses would be great.

Letlet
Sales and Marketing in Philippines
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Adobe Commerce: The Game-Changing E-commerce Platform You Need to Know About

4.0 last year

Comments: The difficulty in creating and managing personalized customer experiences on our e-commerce websites was one of our primary business issues prior to implementing Adobe Commerce. However, we have been able to easily develop and modify our websites to meet the specific requirements of our clients thanks to Adobe Commerce.There are numerous advantages to using Adobe Commerce. First, we were able to divide our customers into groups based on factors like their demographics, user activity, shopping cart, and previous purchases. We have been able to tailor content, pricing, and promotions to specific customers thanks to this, which has resulted in increased sales and customer satisfaction. Additionally, our website has seen an increase in traffic and conversion rates as a result of Adobe Commerce's SEO-friendly features increasing our website's visibility and ranking on search engines.We have also discovered that customization and ease of use are benefits. Customizing usability, shopping carts, and online store features has been simple for us thanks to the rule-based product relations and drag-and-drop page builder. In addition, we have been able to test new modules and roll back changes if necessary, ensuring that the customer journey is always optimized.In general, working with Adobe Commerce has been a fantastic experience.

Pros:

I can confidently assert that Adobe Commerce has revolutionized our e-commerce operations. We were able to create and manage our e-commerce website with minimal technical expertise thanks to the drag-and-drop page builders. We have been able to provide our customers with a more individualized shopping experience thanks to the features for targeting and segmenting customers, which has resulted in increased sales and customer loyalty.The ability to create pricing and promotions for multiple e-commerce sites is one of Adobe Commerce's main advantages. We are able to offer discounts and promotions to a variety of customers and market segments through multiple channels by using rule-based up-selling and targeted promotions. We have been able to offer personalized discounts and promotions to our customers, which has not only helped us increase our sales but also strengthened our relationships with them.Adobe Commerce's drag-and-drop custom page builder is yet another great feature. We can now tailor content to specific customer segments and upload it, ensuring that only relevant content is included in the customer journey. Site owners can view and experience the site's content as a customer because all edits and changes are saved for future reference and content staging preview.Overall, I would highly recommend Adobe Commerce to any company that wants to improve its e-commerce capabilities and give its customers a personalized shopping experience.

Cons:

I must admit that the platform's steep learning curve is one of its biggest drawbacks. For new users, it can be frustrating because it can take some time to comprehend all of the platform's features and functions. However, Adobe Commerce can be a useful management tool for your e-commerce business once you get the hang of it.The platform's high price is another drawback I've encountered. Adobe Commerce is designed for larger businesses, so it can be quite pricey. For smaller businesses looking to enter the e-commerce market, this may be a barrier.However, Adobe Commerce's advantages far outweigh its drawbacks. I believe it is well worth the investment for businesses looking to expand their e-commerce capabilities.

Chamath
Chamath
Chief Technology Officer in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Magento makes your investments very worthwhile

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Magento solves your eCommerce solutions even if you have an online business which requires scaling. Magento helps you to be hosted by eCommerce solutions like Volusion and Shopify that gives the flexibility you need.

Pros:

Are you looking for a solution in eCommerce? Magento provides you the solution of eCommerce. Magento makes your investments very worthwhile even if it is your main business. It has been recommended as one of the best solutions to eCommerce since it is flexible and scalable. It has also become so much popular for the fact many companies bear its name. Pros - 1. It is user-friendly. Magento’s administration is has a very simple back end which is easy to navigate and has very perfectly arranged store management features. 2. It is affordable for anyone. The community version Magento doesn’t require any money to afford since it is free. 3. It is flexible. You have the chance to create anything in Magento because it has been designed in a way that you can customize anything you want. 4. It also gives the ability to fully control the code thereby developing the type of functionality you require. 5. It is easy to scale. Magento designed in a scalable way on any amount of products you are selling.

Cons:

Cons- 1. Only the community version of Magento is cheap. The other versions of Magento including support and enterprise and the premium enterprise versions aren’t freely available. Their prices are very high for every person to afford. 2. Magento can only be hosted on dedicated servers. Since it is large, it can’t be hosted in small servers that aren’t dedicated because it needs to be configured. 3. It requires a lot of time to customize using magneto. The architecture who have designed it have made it complicated and hence it takes a lot of time to learn the learning curve and make customizations as compared to other eCommerce solutions.

Steve
Steve
Team Member in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Magento Among the Best for eCommerce

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, I have been very satisfied with Magento Commerce. It did take some getting use to, and now that there are some other competitors in the market, I'd say that Magento has passed my expectations and I would consider Magento as a top competitor for eCommerce. Definitely watch a few tutorials to get an idea about the initial setup, and give Magento Commerce a try.

Pros:

Magento is incredibly flexible, it allows you to start with a framework that has the function to develop an eCommerce platform / store just how you'd want it. There are numerous add-ons that intergrate effectively making it somewhat of an easy plug and play. Considering that I was working on one platform to run several micro-niche stores, it works extremelly well. There's a lot to learn, but it's a superb platform for eCommerce.

Cons:

Just like any business, there will be some investments to make in order to get the eCommerce platform to perform the way you want it to, however, there's a steep learning curve at least from my experience. I had to read and watch a lot of tutorials to get the websites where I wanted them to be but it was also educational since this was the first time I was setting up multi-stores. It was a rather complex procedure, and I had to rely on Magento experts at times to help with the development of the site.

Oshan
Oshan
Mobile Apllication Developer in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Magento : Perfect eCommerce platform

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: More than just an ordinary eCommerce platform which is efficient and effective .

Pros:

Magento is suitable for any business group whether it is a small or large business and its admin dashboard will provide a perfect overview of the business.We can use free and paid plugins as our requirements.It is a Responsive eCommerce platform which can runs on any mobile or computer devices and also Highly customizable and developer friendly CMS platform.Enriched with important features and functionalities to provide everything in a one platform. Magento is capable for integrations such as payment gateways and able to set up currency and languages depend on the location.

Cons:

I'm using magento 2.2 . The main con according to me is, when i need to edit the content of a page it will give us only a small size text area(text box) which is difficult to work with using mouse scroll and also If we are having large number of products website may slow with its performance. Developer skills are required if we want to customize the platform.

Oren
CEO in Romania
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Not always the easiest

3.0 3 years ago

Pros:

A lot of options for customization and development.

Cons:

Do not like the heaviness of the site. In addition, sever hosting extremely expensive.

Anna
Operations Manager in US
Sports, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Though it is too complex for our needs, the more I learn the more useful I realize it can be.

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: It is a big, clunky, complex tool that takes a lot to learn and even more to remember. However, the more familiar I get with it the more useful it is. I just think it is way more complex than necessary for a small company like ours that sells guided trips.

Pros:

Once you figure out how to use different functions in Magento, it is fast and easy to use for most things. I can go in and change dates and click "save," then go to our website and click "refresh" and the change is instant. I do not think this is unique to Magento at all but it is pretty nice! There are so many nuances to it that take time to learn and more time to remember how to do each time, but every time I master a new skill in Magento I definitely feel a feeling of success and I like its capabilities.

Cons:

There are parts of Magento that are overly complicated, and the general feeling is that is was created by software developers without the end-user in mind. You almost have to learn a new language as some of the terminology for some of the features and functions are not logical terms used by the average person. You have to switch back and forth between different parts of the software multiple times in order to create one product that is linked to another product. We use it to sell trips that have dates, and the software is more geared toward something like hard goods that have attributes such as size or color. Therefore it is not the best product for the job for us. You have to create a drop-down menu for people to pick dates, but after they pick the date and click on book they have to pick the date again. Not very professional looking.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Super powerful, but can be cumbersome

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Magento is clearly one of the most powerful and robust ecommerce tools out there. The Shopify approach, while great, takes a lot of the tools out your hands—tools you may need to make important technical changes to your store. Magento is very flexible, fast, and able to suit stores from small level to enterprise billion dollar retailers.

Cons:

Where Shopify hides or locks certain technical settings from you, Magento gives you more access. But this can also leave your store open to being accidentally messed up by an employee that hits the wrong button. I've often said that while Magento can be fine for small start up ecommerce stores, it is best suited for bigtime enterprise level retailers with a team dedicated to fully utilize the tools Magento makes available to you. For the average employee for a small boutique, for instance, Shopify seems to make things a bit easier.

Elena
Marketing Manager in Israel
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great and Efficient platform

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Great platform for ecommerce.

Pros:

This platform is very easy to use. The integration is ok. There are many additional optional modules to add.

Cons:

I like this software in general, I wish I could do more bulk changes for the products

Katie
Katie
Digital Content Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Customization = Best in class

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: To customize the user experience and create clear brand awareness. With premium content and an intuitive UX/UI comes increase to website conversions.

Pros:

Customize your heart out! Magento's base functionality has thousands of custom configurations that can be combined to create an intuitive user experience no matter how you want your site/store to function. If you're setting up an eCommerce store, this is by far the most amazing option as far as CMS is goes. Their user guides and training handouts make it easy to learn. Magento U training courses are invaluable to understanding the verbiage and concepts used across the software. (Scopes and creating any type of rule)

Cons:

Extensions requires to further customize can be a bit clunky. I wish further analytics were provided based on marketing features and rules created. Also, for a CMS that provides such a seamless user experience, the admin tool is quite clicky. The return key should work to apply filters and such- instead it requires clicks to move forward and such.

Michel
Michel
CCO in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Scalable product, not cheap or easy to use in comparison to other e-commerce platforms

4.0 last year

Pros:

Scalability, a lot of functionality and extensions

Cons:

Ease of use for merchants and developers, value for money

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect enterprise level eCommerce platform

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: There are definitely (cheaper) alternatives to Magento, but not many with so many features, plugins, and customizations available. The price tag can be high, but with a large budget, it will definitely pay off to go this route.

Pros:

There are two offerings for Magento, a free open source version, and a paid enterprise version that builds on the same open source framework with additional features. This can be incredibly helpful for a smaller company that wants an enterprise-level eCommerce platform, but has a smaller budget. The application has many builtin features with even more available via third party extensions.

Cons:

New versions tend to be rather large, code-breaking upgrades. When upgrading, it is necessary to retest lots of features and can require several code updates.