Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.8 /5

About Kayako

Kayako - Straightforward Live Chat to quickly connect for customer service across devices and platforms.

Learn more about Kayako

Showing 158 reviews

Mark T.
Account Manager
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018

"Powerful System, Steep Learning Curve"

Comments: Kayako is where we manage all of our client tickets. It is great for my daily work routine and allows me to stay on top of many tasks at the same time. I have been working with it for 1.5 years and it works great for me now, but the first few months took a long time to get used to. Things are not where you would think they would be. The system is VERY customizable, however, and if you have a person that can put in the work to set the system up, it can be bent to fit your specific company needs.

Pros: Kayako automates a lot of the communication and tracking processes for us. Since my company has put the time into setting up Kayako to meet our companies needs, I am able to focus mostly on client communication and not administrative tasks.

Cons: The system is very particular about what you can and can't do. Things that seem like they would be obviously included do not exist (seeing all open tickets from an organization, for example), and must be either set up manually or gotten to in a roundabout way. Kayako also requires a steep learning curve and is not an intuitive system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018
Allison S.
Marketing Executive
1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Kayako is an advance in potential customers."

Comments: I have been able to establish better attention with potential clients within my company, in this way, it has had a better control and thus obtain better finances. Potential customers have been satisfied when we use Kayako because we serve them at any time of the day.

Pros: The best thing about Kayako is that it has many, many ways to communicate with a potential client, and this is very important and very influential because it allows a connection with more progress and makes the client get more attention.

Cons: I think you should improve a couple of things, such as prices, and customer service, the design should leave it as it is since it gives a lot of comfort and is nice, but should fix the support by 80% so that a better customer service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Ed C.
Technology Support Supervisor
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/06/2018

"Great product. Works well. Customer Support stinks."

Comments: Just a very nice, easy to use helpdesk service.

Pros: Layout is nice, many great features, customize-able, good price, very easy to use, very easy to set up and implement.

Cons: Customer services stinks. If anything goes technically wrong their tech support is outsourced. The workers work 9-5 so the only way to talk to them in the USA is by staying up until 2am. The tech support that you talk to during USA hours are fairly helpful with basic things but take a long time to get back to you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/06/2018
Hamzah T.
IT Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2018

"Great product for any company looking to up its customer service and support game"

Pros: Multi-channel support, live chat, time tracking (makes support we provide over live chat easy to track and easy to bill), shared inbox and FREE collaborators in the growth plan make supporting customers simple and effective.

Cons: It would have been great if Kayako was also built for sales and lead gen. Currently our support team gets more value out of the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2018
Rodrigo C.
Senior Technical Support Engineer
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018

"Support system missing a CRM"

Comments: We had Zendesk before but Kayako is a really serious support ticket system
I wish the price were better

Pros: Easy to use, depending on your license is very customizable.
Once the ticket is created adding notes, screenshots and files is really simple and fast

Cons: API or link to CRM directly is really needed
External add on works but with serious limitations.
Old kayako had a voip system to do phone calls

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018
Verified Reviewer
Software Support Specialist
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2017

"Kayako is either very helpful or very unhelpful"

Comments: I was able to perform my job.

Pros: The interface has not changed in a very long time. For a quick open/close ticketing system it works great. It is very easy for a person to just start using it with about a 15 minute explanation.

Cons: The software hasn't changed in a long time. It looks very dated. The functionality is very much lacking. There are bugs that are unresolved. Things can get very lost very easily. There are some easy features that can be added that would enhance the software a lot.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2017
Verified Reviewer
IT Technician
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2018

"Kayako Review"

Comments: Overall, Kayako works fairly well. I use it daily in my IT role to support our organizations users and to manage tickets.

Pros: Kayako is an efficient ticket management system and it's affordable.

Cons: Occasionally there will be issues when creating tickets or adding attachments and multiple attempts will need to be made.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
System Engineer
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2018

"Fairly robust software that will work for most organization"

Comments: This has allowed us to track and monitor our incidents and support issues pretty easily and has streamlined some of our processes.

Pros: This software is fairly simple to use and can handle quite a bit of data. There is a lot of customization that can be done which makes the software quite flexible. The audit log feature is very simple to use and provides all status entries and updates in one easy to access location.

Cons: This can be unstable at time but the fixes are always quick and easy to accomplish. The automated routing is lacking and I with there were more options for ticket generations and closures. The classic interface can be hard to navigate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2018
B. B.
Digital Team
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2018

"Kayako has been effective for our company."

Pros: I most like the easy real-time communication that is possible through Kayako. We are able to quickly assist our customers because of it.

Cons: I wish I could delete the feature that tells the customer approx. how long it will take us to respond. When we receive a chat outside of our business hours, we aren't able to get back with them until the next day. This causes our "time to respond" to give an inaccurate estimate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2018
Gabrielle L.
Dir. of Client XP
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2018

"Fairly robust support software at an "ok" price"

Pros: The older "classic" version is very customizable, but does require considerable technical aptitude.

Cons: The interface is a bit clunky and isn't very intuitive. You need need to know how to do basic html, css and even some js to get the client-facing side usable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Product Management Intern
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018

"Excellent Help Desk Software"

Pros: 1. Easy to install
2. Intuitive UI
3. Very responsive customer support

Cons: 1. Tickets searching should be improved to make it faster and more efficient

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018
Gurpreet S.
Desktop Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2018

"great application for ticketing system, still some things can be added to make it more productive"

Comments: manage tickets and departments.

Pros: It is very easy to use and real easy to manage user and staff. Very easy to create department and assign permissions to users.

Cons: Sometime its hard to find the last reply from user. feature like minimize old reply(responses) and just to see latest one would be useful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2018
William E.
Owner
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018

"Proven but costly."

Comments: Setup a good service desk with high customer satisfaction.

Pros: Easy to use, customer-friendly, customizable. Easy to setup and low-maintenance. Good balance between ease of use and developer tools.

Cons: Vague support policies, not clear where to contact and when support is available. Cost: too expensive for the offering, yet proven.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018
Katherine P.
Owner
Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2018

"Very happy with our contract with Kayako"

Pros: We switched from Happyfox to Kayako and haven't looked back! The price is cheaper per month and the functionality is 10 times better.

Cons: Strangely enough, there's no easy way to put links in your form reply emails. Some of the more advanced programming stuff and automatization is hard to understand.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2018
Gary scaife
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2014

"Robust and flexible helpdesk software"

Comments: We started using Kayako back when it was still on version 3 ( current version is 4.64 ). At the time we had several issues keeping track of the workload our staff were under, and this resulted in very poor customer service. Kayako helped us to organise our staff, and start putting our resources where they were needed. The SLA management is fantastic and lets you build nested levels of support to ensure we know only meet our SLA’s, but we also ensure that important customers are always dealt with asap.

Pros: The ticket management, from automated replies, SLA’s, canned responses, follow ups to detailed audit logs.
Kayako is a huge product with so many features that it will undoubtedly be able to meet any requirements, even from the largest of companies.

Cons: There is no real con I can think of, the only issue we had was the time it took us to learn the software, it can do pretty much everything, but it takes time to learn where everything is configured from. ( The admin CP is full of options all over )

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2014
Oggy S.
Manager
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017

"Great software for new start-ups. Easy to use with many functionalities at your disposal."

Comments: Provided ticketing system for customer support.

Pros: The software is intuitive and allows for many functions to be used in different settings. Great tracking capability and is fairly inexpensive compared to most competitors.

Cons: Reporting may require some coding skills which may result in contacting customer support for assistance. Weekly/Monthly reports lacks comprehensible user interface .

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017
Bryan M.
Co-founder
Wireless, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/10/2018

"Has great value with free live chat and knowledgebase"

Pros: You can integrate your social media so that messages and tweets create tickets. Free live chat widget and customization knowledgebase. Also can create multiple knowledgebases.

Cons: Can't really create tickets internally. Everything is based on 'conversations' that come in.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/10/2018
Johann K.
Customer Support Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/08/2019

"The review"

Comments: Kayako's goal seems to be ambiguous, but with this UI, it's a long way to go.

Pros: It's easy to see that Kayako has put the focus to the customers. It's really easy to track your customers route to you and help them with all the background information.

Cons: The user interface looks just plain bad. Chat and knowledge base tools are also mediocre. None of the features can be considered exceptional.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/08/2019
Gary M.
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2015

"Saved us countless hours of support time and improved our service"

Pros: The extensive configuration really helped us ensure we met all our customer SLAs and ensured our staff gave out consistent help and advice to our customers.

Cons: I don't really have too many complaints. I guess I would like it if the pattern matching rules were a little easier to configure.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2015
Verified Reviewer
CEO
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2020

"Zero new features in last 2 years. Deceptive billing. Avoid."

Comments: When we wanted to cancel and downgraded through their admin portal to smaller number number of users. They billed us for the OLD number of users (thousands of dollar) and then refused to reimburse us. Deceptive, bad business. DO NOT RECOMMEND.

Pros: Software is basic, has basic helpdesk. The basic helpdesk worked for us for some time, chat worked for us for some time, but literally did not keep up.

Cons: The software has not kept up with the rest of the market. Zero product innovation in the last 1-2 years.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2020
Madde N.
Underwriter
Insurance, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2021

"Great Starter Product"

Pros: This product was great for our starter company. I loved the ease of communicating with clients and the messages were all in the same place. It worked for our company in the early stages.

Cons: I wished that there was a sounds when you received incoming messages or chats. It was hard to keep up with who was chatting if you had another window open.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2021
Vincent po B.
Managing Director & Global Chief Marketing & Technology Officer
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2019

"Good helpdesk tool until they stopped offering the free plan"

Pros: Very elegant and well-produced helpdesk app. I was in the middle of switching over to Kayako until they stopped offering the free plan, so had to scrap the migration.

Cons: No more free plan. I was using Freshdesk and liked Kayako better and was starting to migrate my own and clients over to Kayako until they scrapped the free plan, so stayed with Freshdesk.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Director of Technical Support
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/04/2018

"Pretty easy to use and simple. Makes completing tickets easy."

Pros: I like the UI and again, the ease of use. The system is quick to pick up and is easy to recommend to someone.

Cons: It is hard to manage all the information you have when you are searching for things. This causes issues especially if there are tickets from the past you need to do research.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/04/2018
Pravin J.
Founder Director
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2017
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2017
Andres J.
CEO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/08/2018

"Great partner for customer support"

Pros: Very complete tool for customer support. Having tickets, knowledge base, assistants, escalation rules, custom templates and chats are very easy to setup.

Cons: Pricing could turn high with a big team of agents. If you need custom development or training you must hire third party companies.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/08/2018