SAP Business ByDesign Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.8 /5

About SAP Business ByDesign

A single cloud ERP solution for fast-growing, mid-market businesses to scale and compete without the complexity and cost.

Learn more about SAP Business ByDesign

Showing 27 reviews

Fatma G.
Dealer Management Specialist
Automotive, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2021

"Good solution for small and mid enterprises"

Comments: Overall i was very satisfied with the product, it is futuristic and offers efficiency for small businesses. But they need to offer more trainings to use this ERP system very efficiently.

Pros: It is very good that SAP has also thought to develop ERP system for small and mid business enterprises. These enterprises has generally messy documentation and financing systems, so when you have this ERP system, it makes your job very easy. Just like Business One for big companies, they offer what is necessary for small and mid companies. You can enter your order, follow your invoices, track your budget with account receivables and payables, Also the report are very useful. The list goes on.

Cons: The least i can say is like Business One system, you need to spend some extra time to enter manual, it is mostly challenging in the beginning. You need to fill all data for CRM system, so when you skip making these, you are not using CRM system efficiently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2021
Jane S.
Finance
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2018

"SAP by design - very cumbersome and confused"

Pros: SAP is very good in creating tasks, has many, many modules, good cloud system, document flow, personalisation.

Cons: SAP ByDeign seems to have been programmed by people with lack of accounting. VAT returns have no date or suppliers/customer names, they only show ID ref, journal red, any kind of reference except what you need to see. You are able to view these in another report after you have done VAT return!
Payment runs and customer statements are the same thing, it throughs out report which you have to accept with no view of what is in the report, assuming that everything you put in it is correct in the first place.
Very cumbersome, too many processes to do simple tasks. Very confused system!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2018
Morgan F.
Finance analyst
Aviation & Aerospace, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/05/2021

"Nice but could be improved!"

Comments: I enjoy using SAP I feel very confident with it

Pros: I like that there are so many functionalities. It’s great for financial analysis
SAP ERP is a very comprehensive tool that is very helpful to my companies business to achieve best financial and customer support results

Cons: This software needs more shortcuts
There also needs to be a way to pull more than. 1 invoice at the time
This part is such a waste of time

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/05/2021
Verified Reviewer
QA Analyst
Food Production, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2019

"Inventory managing, production planning, there's nothing SAP won't do."

Comments: SAP Business has allowed us to take production planning and inventory management to a whole new level. Logging entries and checking on data has been made easier with SAP. For us analysts checking on production process information to determine potential flaws is key, and SAP allows us to do just that with the help of our operator friends and their diligent logging.

Pros: SAP is an extremely powerful software that allows you to do just about anything that a company needs to operate smoothly. I particularly enjoy production planning and management from this software.

Cons: I cannot stress how difficult SAP is to use compared to, for example, Excel which we occasionally still use. SAP experts had to come in to the company and explain everyone how to use it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2019
Roie B.
Buyer
Military, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/08/2019

"SAP"

Comments: I use the system daily and after few moths I feel that I can work smoothly, but still only 70% is what I feel that I use.

Pros: Powerful tool for the business, can bring me the information I need from the database.

Cons: It takes few months to get use to it and learn all the function you daily uses.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/08/2019
Gwen M.
Supply Chain Project Lead
Telecommunications, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2017

"Good system - hard to use"

Comments: good system if you know how to use it

Pros: Good functionality
logical system
good documentation for support
good best practice standard processes

Cons: difficult to use
lack of expertise on how to use this system in the market
rigid - difficult to do customization

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2017
Rod T.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2016

"Great platform for professional services"

Comments: Having reviews the cloud ERP landscape I found that SAP Business ByDesign is the most competitive platform for manufacturing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2016
Rhys S.
Sales Manager
Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2020

"Extensive, all encompassing business ERP system"

Comments: Implementation of SAP Bydesign across our companies means we have one system across all companies so reporting can be on a local or global level. The gold partner support is excellent and ongoing system improvements good.

Pros: Reliable cloud based adaptable ERP software that is ideal for multi-company, multi-country, multi-curency business management. Out teams accross the globe can access live data across warehouses, production, logistics, sales and finance. Enable as much or as little as required in implementation. Web services enable it to talk to other systems if needed.

Cons: Occasional minor back end issues take some time to resolve if they are not business critical. The CRM module and app are not user friendly and not feature rich like some other systems avaliable. We have integrated our SAP Bydesyn with Hubspot CRM

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2020
Rodrigoº S.
Commercial Director
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2018

"SAP Business ByDesign the real cloud ERP"

Comments: It is a true ERP in the cloud, with all the advantages of being 100% web, it is a solution in HTML5, with which you can manage it 100% on your tablet or mobile phone. It has BI and CRM, that surpasses the traditional ERPs and with Hana accounts with very good operating performance.

Pros: SAP Business ByDesign is an ERP very easy to use, to implement and that allows to have 360º information of the whole company in real time. It is very easy to learn to use by the end users. It has very good integrated BI reports. It's the beautiful SAP

Cons: SAP does not do much promotion to the product, to success stories and not much is known about its strengths in what the cloud managed by SAP itself. I consider the ERP's weakness in advanced manufacturing functions, in the management of mass purchases and in the capacity of large batches of information.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2018
Curtis C.
Computer Software
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2015

"SAP Business ByDesign: Flexible, adaptable, scalable ERP"

Pros: SAP has more than 40 years of best business practices built into the software. Then, to have a cloud-based product that reduces IT infrastructure, and keeps my business information where I need it, when I need it, is truly a win-win for any business.

Cons: If there was one thing I did not like about SAP, it would be their time-to-market. They are consistently 6 months behind. However, I also think this is one of their strengths - which is to not bring a product to market before it is ready. SAP has always done well in this regard.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2015
Verified Reviewer
Customer Serivce Team Lead
Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2019

"Great Product for Reporting"

Pros: This product has SO much packed into it. It is programs inside of programs that allow us to run numerous reports and many other tasks.

Cons: Due to how much the program can do it runs a bit slow. It gets the job done but can sometimes be frustrating.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2019
Adedayo A.
logistics
Warehousing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019

"Easy"

Comments: Not yet but short experience is easy to work with

Pros: Easy to work with.

Cons: I am still evaluating.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019
Shashank G.
Business System Analyst - Intern
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018

"All in One"

Comments: Scalable Implementations ensuring happy clients.

Pros: 1)Great Interface, Amazing Accessibility and Document Flow from one module to another. 2)Scalable to all types of small to mid-size organizations having 1-1000 employees.
3)Easy to use and learn and has provisions with Work Centers for CRM, SCM, FICO, PMO and HRM modules.

Cons: 1)Limited ability when it comes to specific module based requirements since it tends to be a generic all in one solution.
2) Has a very limited presence under the SAP Umbrella and very few people talk about it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
System Engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2019

"SAP Business One for Our Organization"

Comments: Early, we didn't have a method to monitor the cost of production, the cost for repair and material movement. Also, there was no link between the transactions.

Pros: This is the best ERP system which I used in my life. There are a lot of unique features in SAP. Among them, the Relationship Map and Query Generator are the best part I like to use. Via relationship, very much easy to get the idea of the transaction because it shows the links between the transaction. It easily gets the decision.

Cons: In Production, there is no way to get item-wise cost for the items.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2019
Success I.
Freelancer
Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/06/2019

"SAP is still the best Enterprise resource planning tool"

Comments: SAP is great as it unifies a business process into one application. I will recommend it any day.

Pros: SAP is a financial tool that integrates all aspects of a business together, it is fantastic as it enables assigning of different access levels for users.

Cons: SAP modules are very expensive as the cost of a total data migration can cost millions of dollars.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/06/2019
Simona V.
Financial Analyst
Chemicals, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2020

"Easy to use"

Pros: It is easy to use, good quality , many training support available.

Cons: A bit too expensive, but it is a good product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2020
Verified Reviewer
Key Account Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2018

"Accounting tool for you"

Comments: I was able to automate certain processes in the business thanks to SAP.

Pros: Able to customize the software as per the business requirements was something I needed and there you go I found SAP Business.

Cons: Took me little time to get familiar with the product. But overall I love it because of the report creation and it is cloud based.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2018
Vitor P.
Senior Financial Analyst
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2019

"Powerful tool for decision making"

Comments: A powerful tool for decision making and business insights.

Pros: The tool does not require IT investment to be implemented.

Cons: The tool is not accessible if you are not familiar with SAP products.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2019
Christopher P.
Global Systems Administrator
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2018

"Junk By Design"

Comments: I have used and configured many ERP systems and with out a doubt this is the worst system money could buy. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.

Pros: The only pro would be it is cloud based. Beyond that there is no reason to use this in your business unless you would like to lose customers and employee's

Cons: Slow performance, terrible interface, not intuitive, not configurable. Crashes constantly. Poor online support, poor training guides. Ten steps to do one task. The service, HR , Marketing section are worthless. Good luck finding the correct design studio tools Absolute junk.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2018
Bo Z.
SAP Specialist
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2016

"SAP ByDesign"

Comments: It's a one of the best ERP solution from SAP for small to midsized companies. It's cloud based ERP which reduces the implementation cost, and you can customize the way you like it, as well as flexible integration with other products. The UI is very user friendly too.

Cons: Some times it is very slow

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2016
Jérôme B.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2020

"The best choice for mid-size companies that looks for a complete suite in the Cloud"

Comments: This is our management system
We recommend it for every company that looks for multi-"all" ERP from 10 to 999 users

Pros: The product is very easy to use. SAP provides mobile applications ready to be used
All the functions that a midsize company needs are pre-set in the solution : project management, contract management, field service operations, manufacturing, acounting, finance, builtin analytics, AP, AR, inventory, crm, srm, supply chain. A great vision, well packaged product, scalable from 10 to 999 users.
It is more than robust, stable and there from 12+ years, benefiting from 42+ years of SAP experience in ERP Suites

Cons: A tighter integration with other SAP products but now we can use SAP CLOUD PLATFORM to connect everything and use RPA functions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2020
Angela N.
Controller
Logistics & Supply Chain, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2021

"Do not even think about implementing this without the proper staff, who are also trained"

Comments: I do not like it and find it difficult to work with.

Pros: SAP is very robust and I suspect with proper training and the correct implementation team, it would really help with the everyday functioning of the company.

Cons: I am not a fan of SAP BYD because it is cumbersome and difficult to use without intense proper training. It is European based and not intuitive at all, so those combined make it difficult to find what you need and get it to work correctly for you. I'm not shy about trying things on my own, but I find myself giving up and reaching out to our AMS team, which results in charges for help.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2021
Verified Reviewer
Data manager
Building Materials, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019

"SAP as a long relationship"

Comments: It's kinda like a relationship. First you are amazed on how complete it is and how it can fill your needs. Then your needs evolve and it dosen't evolve quite on par with you. Then you have to do a lot of work and money in order to be able to do have it do everything you need, Finally, you stick with it because you are dependent on it but you basically have to do everything it dosen't like on the side with excell because you don't want to spend money or time on your old girl (You should though, its healthier for the company) and may even sucumb to temptation and start spending money on other software that wont work with SAP, Then your going to be using both, becuse you are already got them, until you tier out. Basically a double life. Still love sap all & all. Couldn't live without it.

Pros: I has absolutley everything needed and more. Its very well integrated throught all the company and enables you manage all company records at any specific times.

Cons: Graphs are no use. If you need a dashboard or simple presentation you are eventually gona need to export data to excell.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019
Sheetal S.
BSA hr systems
Human Resources, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2020

"Simple compared to normal sap software"

Comments: It’s good but need to improve on performance and features.

Pros: Easy to configure,has a lot of applications.intutive user interface.this has got good finance features.

Cons: It cannot be compared with sap on premise ,way less features and has a small scope compared to it.other cloud solutions are having better performance then this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2020
Patrick M.
National Sales Manager
Plastics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2017

"SAP Business ByDesign"

Comments: Overall, a very robust and insightful ERP system that connects all departments and ensures workflows and processes are being done correctly.

Pros: The fact that it's cloud-based is great for getting insights from any device, anywhere. Also, the extensive reports you're able to generate gives you great real-time data of your KPIs.

Cons: The customer support could use a little improvement in terms of data migration and system implementation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2017