Ascender Payroll and HCM Reviews

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Ascender Payroll and HCM

Unlock the full potential of your workforce with an award-winning end-to-end integrated Payroll and Human Capital Management Solution.

Learn more about Ascender Payroll and HCM

Showing 38 reviews

Natasha B.
Natasha B.
Executive Manager, Sales & Marketing
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2018

"Easy Performance Management"

Comments: Our Customer Success Manager has been a fantastic support for us along this journey. He is very knowledgeable and happy to help in any way. It took us some time to implement due to the project being managed by only one person - but this goes to show that it is a truly scalable solution for large and smaller businesses.
We will soon implement the Learning & Development Module across our teams and know it will lift our training and personal development to a new level with this professional and well-structured solution.

Pros: Peoplestreme is customisable and is very 'follow your nose' in terms of employee and manager use.
Dashboards are great to easy report on individuals, teams and also for compliance requirements.
For a business which did not have anything in place previously it has helped is to implement a performance management program which is best of breed and best practice.

Cons: There were a couple of items with our version which meant we needed some manual workarounds but with our upgraded version ready to go live next month everything will be resolved.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 15/10/2018

Hi Natasha,

Thanks for your kind words and the trust you put in us. This is the reason we come to work every day and hope the team can continue to add value to Northern Inland Credit Union and the team.

Jean-Paul

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2018
Laura S.
Organisation Development Consultant
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2018

"One platform for all our HR initiatives to be housed making it easy and straight for our staff."

Comments: It's a great tool to engage our staff in our HR initiatives. The platform allows our processes to be uniformed and create a professional environment for all things people/HR.

Pros: - One platform for all our HR initiatives
- It is easy and straight forward to use
- We can add new modules at the time that suits our organisation
- Easily monitor completion rates etc.
- Ability to export data into excel in a friendly way
- Friendly helpdesk if support is required
- Engages team well
- Ability to have single sign on

Cons: - Fixed structure so can be difficult to make bespoke for our business when required
- Can take time to set up new modules

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 26/06/2018

Laura, thank you for the great review! We¿re so happy PeopleStreme can play a part in Audi's HR initiatives and can¿t wait to see future outcomes. Keep up the good work!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2018
Ann S.
General Manager, Corporate
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2018

"Performance and Learning & Development modules"

Comments: Now that we have been through a performance review cycle, the benefits are apparent to everyone, Managers can see how powerful it can be and they want to use it! We now have plans that are truly tailored to each individual and everyone's KPI's actually link back to our Company Strategic objectives. There is greater clarity for all about their futures and were their development is headed. There is greater engagement in general across the board. We also like to ability to be able to add relevant additional modules as we like as we evolve.

Pros: Its has allowed us to adopt some of the latest HR strategies in this area by replacing our paper based performance appraisal process, providing alignment with our company strategy and improved employee engagement and development.
Ease of use is also key.
It also provides an easy to use tool to for all our Learning and Development which ties back into our Personal development plans and is constantly being referred to and worked on via the 1 on 1's. We were never good at this in the past.
After sales support has been excellent as you are proactively contacted to ensure you are getting the most from the software.

Cons: Some of the data entry is into windows (rather than into a field ) which when they open are too big and take up most of the screen

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 18/09/2018

Hi Ann,

Thanks for your glowing review. Glad that the PeopleStreme team could be a part of your journey and I'm sure it's only the start of it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2018
Ruta B.
Human Resources Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2017

"Great product with great support."

Pros: Ease of use, allowing for a much more efficient recruitment. Support for the product is excellent and no question is considered trivial; no problem considered too difficult.

Cons: Some of the configuration seems unreasoned but nothing that can't be worked around. I am sure it is that HR meets IT scenario with perhaps slightly different outcomes/focus.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2017
Michelle N.
Recruitment Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2019

"Peoplestreme Review"

Comments: Staff are friendly. If I have had an issue or question it has been resolved quickly.

Pros: Ability for the software to grow and able to easily add and change templates and processes

Cons: Not always smooth and step by step. Alot of going in and out of stages

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2019
Simon H.
Dealer Operations Manager
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2017

"Excellent, user-friendly tool and great support"

Comments: Totally transformed our performance management process from a paper based, out of sight process to a visible, accessible and engaging mechanism. This was the platform for launching a new approach to not only performance management but also L&D, recruitment and talent management.

Pros: The admin interface is quite intuitive and the software is designed to support key HR and L&D principles (e.g. 70/20/10 learning)

Cons: The LMS can feel a little cumbersome until familiarity is established. This can result in a user experience that isn't the best.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2017
Petar J.
HR Project Officer
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2019

"Great software and support"

Pros: Easy to use and navigate, behind the scenes support.

Cons: Somewhat rigid, occasional errors that seem to appear at the most inconvenient times. Having said that, the support team are always prompt to action and assist.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2019
Kim L.
HR Advisor
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018

"A great tool that allows HR processes to occur electronically"

Comments: Real time data and eliminates manual paperwork

Pros: - Easy to use
- Accessible from anywhere
- Accountability and monitoring of goals are linked together

Cons: This system is great but our business is slightly unique and require some customizations which will come at a cost. This will improve over time with system upgrades.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 25/04/2018

Thanks Kim for the great review. We're glad that you're finding the tool easy to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
HR Business Partner - Projects
1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2018

"Easy to use and value for money"

Pros: Peoplestreme is quite intuitive and a simple to use system as a user. Our customer manager is approachable, knowledgeable and friendly and the helpdesk understanding, responsive and know their product!

Cons: The backend doesn't seem to be as intuitive as the front end, however the support from the helpdesk etc made up for this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2018
Rebekah L.
General Manager, HR and Organisational Development
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2017

"Comprehensive easy to use product"

Comments: Great piece of software, particularly when it is integrated with payroll software so that new starts and terminations are automatically updated live.

Pros: Has good features that can be turned on or off depending upon the needs of the business. From a front end it is well laid out and logical to follow. Fully hosted off site so low reliance on internal IT requirements.

Cons: The back end administration of the system requires some time to understand and will need to be well resourced so that changes can be made regularly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2017
Stephanie C.
General Manager Human Resources
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2016

"A good product"

Comments: PeopleStreme has proven to be very easy to use. The staff has been able to work out the functionality for themselves after one quick training session. Feedback has been very positive.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: Software seems fine. Well, developer and mature so no bugs have been encountered.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2016
Ben J.
Chief HR and Technology Officer
Medical Devices, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2017

"Mobile Performance Management Solution"

Comments: The system has a great mobile platform for remote employees and promotes self reliance. Features single sign on, digital sign off, activity feeds, high frequency one on ones, diary notes, recommended on-the-job development activities, tracking of aligned strategic objectives, technical competencies, quick reference guides, secure and unlimited data, customisable fields and rating scales, practical reporting. Looking forward to more Peoplestreme modules.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2017
Barry B.
Managing Director
Civil Engineering, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020

"Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere"

Comments: We were sold a puppy when we purchased this software. The salesman promised the world and the reality of what has been delivered is quite underwhelming compared to the previous software we used. We have escalated on three occassions and each time have been given a different senior executive to talk to, each promising to fix the issues, but nothing being done. They seem to worry more about their restructure, than they do solving client issues. Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere.

Pros: Nothing that is worth writing about.

Cons: It's slow, not interconnected, limited in capability

Alternatives Considered: ELMO Software

Reasons for Switching to Ascender Payroll and HCM: big mistake I know

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020
Carley M.
Finance Manager
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2019

"PeopleStreme Performance Management"

Comments: The PeopleStreme Performance Management software has taken our business from an adhoc, paper-based performance management system to a clear, accountable, streamlined system readily accessible by management and staff

Pros: Straightforward, easy to use with good functionality
Taken up well with buy in from all users and positive feedback
Well supported

Cons: Some initial difficulties with logins and Single Sign On

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 25/02/2019

Hi Carley,

Thanks for the great review.
I hope the team can continue to add value to Air Powered Services. Keep up the good work.

Jean-Paul

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2019
Sheralyn S.
Senior Consultant
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2020

"Ascender Payroll - sound and proven payroll for complex configuration and requirements"

Pros: Our current Account Executive is great, always ready to help and is easily at hand whenever we have any queries or issues. She is very professional and provides a level of assurance over working with Ascender. We have used Ascender Pay for around 30 years since it was first released and find it suits our complex enterprise agreement requirements. There is an abundance of new functionality being released for review and implementation. Ascender is a big part of my life and I am very attached since my connection goes back some 23 years. I almost feel part of their family working with some of the long-term staff for such a time – they are just wonderful people.

Cons: With all the new functionality being released it is hard to keep up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2020
Danielle R.
HRBP
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020

"System lacks basic Functionality & Oversold Product"

Comments: Overall, my recommendation is to avoid this product, it is not worth the increased administrative burden that the modules come with. The product is expensive for the lack of functionality and the presentation of the modules.

Pros: Performance Management Module is only Module I would recommend purchasing.

Cons: Customer Service:
-Disconnect from the sales team and product delivery team
-Sales team over sale PeopleSteme Modules that doesn't save time but increases administrative tasks
-Product team provides workarounds to compensate for the lack of the system functionality once you have purchased the modules
- PeopleStreme can't commit to timeframes for the companies 'road map' on new features
System:
-There is minimal automation provided by the purchased modules
-System is extremely slow
-Inability to bulk upload all historical data (e.g. Job Ads, Position Descriptions, Resumes)
-Purchased modules don’t communicate to one another, requiring a increased workload for the HR team
-There is no Employee Landing page that displays basic employee data (hire date, department, job title), which is collected from the Onboarding process. Sales team now tells us that this is only available to them because of their access permissions and not part of the package sold
-Onboarding Module does not allow for cross-boarding to be captured in PeopleStreme

Alternatives Considered: ELMO Software

Reasons for Choosing Ascender Payroll and HCM: To improve employee engagement and reduce the admin burden amongst the HR team, however PeopleStreme has significantly increased the admin burden.

Reasons for Switching to Ascender Payroll and HCM: PeopleStreme has a good Performance Management system. The company sales a false product of the Ascender Payroll as an all-in-one HR system, but the modules (eRecruitment, OnBoarding, Performance Management, Talent Management module) do not communicate to one another and require the user to enter the information more than once.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources Manager
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2017

"Great affordable product"

Comments: Saving on time and money!

Pros: The software is easy to use and more affordable than others on the market. The system allows you to easily find a candidate using the search function and has saved our company thousands in recruiter fees as a result. As adverts are directly uploaded to SEEK and our website the software has saved me time. In addition, the ability to mass (personalised) respond to candidates has saved me time and ensured a better candidate experience with our organisation.

Cons: The software does not imped itself into our website to suit our style guide. It clearly looks like it has been added, rather than matching the rest of our webpage.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2017
Laure S.
Senior HR Advisor
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018

"Great HRIS for SME"

Pros: The modules are user friendly and intuitive.

Cons: The control panel was a little harder to navigate and to understand where and how certain areas/fields could be customised. Upgrades could also be improved with some customisation getting reset.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 15/10/2018

Hi Laure,

Thanks very much for your great review! We work hard to offer the best HRIS and services and I'm happy to see that reflected in reviews such as yours. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need any help.

Thanks.

Jean-Paul

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018
Steve K.
Group HR Manager
Automotive, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2018

"Peoplestream staff have been a pleasure to deal with, outstanding professionalism, great product."

Comments: Implementing this software as a tool in our performance management process has lead to improvements in alignment, engagement and outcomes. We are able to easily review progress and take appropriate steps in a timely manner to ensure we are achieving our key objectives.

Pros: At Emmetts we are pleased with our choice after reviewing many options. Employees have adjusted quickly to the system following initial training and change management support from the PeopleStream staff. The design of the software makes it very easy to use, following processes is intuitive and flows well. Reporting functionality has given us a more timely line of site to progress on strategic and key objectives across 12 locations.
We love that we no longer have a paper chase on reviews, with this tool we have confidently increased increased the frequency of 1:1's.

Cons: That we did not find it sooner, we have found that implementing this software has improved our performance management process.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 26/04/2018

Hi Steve. Thanks for leaving such a glowing review. The team here at PeopleStreme is thrilled to hear such good feedback and we're proud to be helping Emmetts on this journey.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2018
Karen R.
HR Manager
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2017

"An efficient package which enables managers to conduct structured one-on-one's with their staff."

Comments: It has introduced structured one-on-ones within the organisation.

Pros: The software is easy to use and is also flexible with different roles. It ensures that staff and managers are accountable for the responsibilities within there role and allows for detailed notes to provide evidence for the ratings.

Cons: The only negative is that the staff within the administration area have found it difficult to create tangible objectives but we are working on this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2017
Mohamed H.
HR/OD Advisor
Environmental Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018

"Great Experience"

Comments: Fantastic. Very highly recommended and would willingly advocate for the software in most organisations.

Pros: Feature Rich - excellent customer service - ability to customise as the organisation sees fit. Incredible functionality in terms of end-to-end HR

Cons: Can be aesthetically more appealing, but could be due to being on an older version

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Christine W.
Sr. Consultant
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2017

"Our experience has been great, training was excellent and we love the application suite."

Pros: User Friendly/Intuitive and easy to use. Many modules to choose from going forward that we can grow with that enables us to have access to the entire Human Capital Management ecosystem in one place.

Cons: Nothing, other than we wish they had more US based support. Initially we thought we had a lot of bugs, but as it turned out it was more just administrative user error. Orchestrating feedback from technical support 12 hours apart was sometimes difficult to answer things quickly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2017
Felicity M.
Former HR Manager
Defense & Space, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2018

"PeopleStreme eRecruitment Module"

Comments: Excellent.

Pros: PeopleStreme's recruitment module enabled CEA to move away from manual recruitment processes and manage a very high recruitment workload for the last few years. The support we received from representative and the Helpdesk was excellent.

Cons: The version we used meant that at times, it seemed there were too many tabs to click through to get to the information we wanted, however, it was not something that seriously impeded the way we worked.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior HR Advisor
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2018

"Great cloud based application that manages the whole employee life-cycle for us."

Comments: Streamlined employee on-boarding and administration, greater understanding of employee performance and a platform to manage learning & development, as well as remuneration reviews more effectively

Pros: Whilst the application is module based, all data is interconnected so that you can build a full view of your employees as individuals as well as a collective.

Cons: A few more system configuration options as the system administrator would be useful, particularly when trying to build or customise reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2018
Helen C.
Talent Aquisition Specialist
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2018

"Great value for money, easy to use system - with the option to add modules over time.."

Pros: - Easy to use as both an administrator & end user
- Simplifies the recruitment process end to end. For us it has improved compliance & cost cost management significantly
- Online onboarding - esignature approval is great feature!

Cons: - It can be costly to make custom changes to the platform post implementation
- At some points the process the system could be more intuitive, we have overcome this with training and support

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2018