M1 Reviews

by ECi Software Solutions

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.7 /5

About M1

ERP software for job shops, custom and mixed mode manufacturers and make to order manufacturers.

Learn more about M1

Showing 25 reviews of 64

Lauren B.
Industrial Engineering Manager
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2019

"M1 Review"

Comments: I use the software daily. Like I said it is very easy to navigate. I wish I knew more about the capabilities and what we can use it for in our industry.

Pros: Once you understand the features and how to navigate, it is a fairly easy software to use. Information is easy to find. It is also easy to query for information.

Cons: There are not any modules available that we know of that can assist in training to understand the features that M1 has to offer. There are several features that we don't use. Features that we wish we knew more about are scheduling and the possibility of integrating a bar code scanning system. Our IT admin has been working on this with M1.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Sales Engineer
Machinery, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/03/2019

"M1 gets the job done but there are better options to be had"

Comments: Everything from sales and marketing data, to employee data as well as financial data is housed in our M1 system.

Pros: All the data you could ever need about your business can be housed in M1, between the data and the custom reports that can be made, it is a valuable tool to have.

Cons: Its clunky to use, most things take too many clicks to find and it feels like you have to go out of your way to find what you are looking for. It takes some work to make it user friendly in the least bit

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/03/2019
Grant K.
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2016

"Do not use M1"

Comments: The implementation was extremely difficult with very little support from M1. We were told 6 weeks but 14months later it was working although still many unanswered questions. Then the support for real live changes has been terrible

Pros: Excellent promises by the sales people - they never eventuate though!

Cons: Support - they are the worst

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2016
Todd M.
Director of Operations
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2018

"Lifesaver"

Comments: For us it was really the staff that made us feel at ease with out decision, from the salesperson to our implementer to the folks in support. They have really come through for us over the time we have used M1.

Pros: M1 has helped us track serial and lot numbers effectively and allowed us to streamline many processes across the company. Have used it for five years now, we rely on the data it generates to run our business in the most efficient and cost effective way possible. Our implementer took the time to learn our business and made suggestions on how the software could assist us in areas we had not even considered. We definitely choose the right software!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2018
Kody F.
Director of Operations
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2018

"Great Software"

Pros: We have been using this software for 10 years and I don't know how we ever survived without it.
Product Configurators really helped us streamline our estimating and planning processes.

Cons: We have tuned M1 to a point where we have very little issues. It took some time to really figure it out but we realized that the core system didn't really need a lot of the customizations that we thought it did.
I'm not good at cons...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2018
Pam G.
Director of Procurement/ Special Projects Manager
Mining & Metals, 11-50 Employees
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/09/2017

"ERP made your way"

Comments: This is a great solution for a small or med sized business that feels they are unique or different. The intergration with 3rd party software(s) that are commonly used by businesses looking for an ERP system, The add on modules are robust but some are lacking, such as the purchasing planner. With any software, each has something special about them and for me, M1 has a special niche in the software customizations and ease of use.

Pros: This is the most customizable ERP I have ever dealt with or implemented. Love, Love this as it easily can modify to serve the challenges of about any size company, growth rate, and experience levels. This is the best feature of this software.

Cons: The main con from my exoperiences has been the support personnel and the lack of knowledge of the product and the response. With that said, let me say that it is not complelely fair as the compaqny has experienced a rapid growth and with that comes new personnel and the years of experiences are just not there.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/09/2017
Marie R.
General Manager/Owner
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2018

"Try M1 First!"

Pros: We replaced Global Shop with M1. We like M1 because is quick and efficient. We are working on more customized reporting and moving to the newest version - very exciting for our company!!

Cons: Getting new downloads up and running is a little difficult. Hard to coordinate M1 Support with our outside IT Consultant

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2018
Benjamin B.
Project Manager
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2019

"Good ERP System"

Pros: The software makes it easy to find a lot of data that can be exported and used as necessary

Cons: It is more difficult to set up reports and customize fields for users that do not want to see all fo the background data and only want specifics

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2019
Pierre P.
Production & Business Systems Manager
Pharmaceuticals
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2015

"My experience with this product is positive"

Pros: All the functionality of a larger program without the big program cost and the flexibility to do minor customization.

Cons: Slow performance. Some reports of tools are at times very slow. Our Job Analysis report runs very slow at times. Usually when the quantity is more than 1 and the material quantity is more than 100.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2015
Bill R.
President
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2017

"Frustrating to Deal with!! Poor Customer Service!! Implementation process is terrible!!"

Comments: We purchased this program more that 3 years ago, the implementation process was horrible! and they have done very little to help us get this program up and running as a result we are using about 10% of the program that we have paid for. we purchase a copy of Sage every year to handle our accounting, because we have not been shown how to use the accounting side of the program( I have never even looked at it to see what it looks like). We have tried to use the payroll side of the program and it was not accurate so we stopped using it.

Cons: Terrible customer support right from the initial implementation, we have had issues with this program from the very start and get 0.00 help...there is some hype that they will get our issues solved with no, or very little follow through, we just get sent from one person to the next and start from square one each time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2017
Susan S.
Administrative Lead
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2009

"M1 Review"

Comments: This software continues to be extremely reliable. M1 is very innovative and always increasing the capabilities of the software by listening to the customers' wants and needs. We have been able to grow with this software and will continue to do so in the future. It was the best buy we have ever made in software.

Pros: Highly customizable to fit your needs
User friendly
Tremendous search capabilities
Great service staff
Highly reliable

Cons: Quality Module. Quality module lacks reports and some linking of data, however, we can create any report we need through Crystal Reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2009
Phillip H.
General Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2009

"M1 User Review - Metlink"

Comments: I am certainly happy we chose M1 for our ERP software. It has been enhanced and updated in line with our own business growth. One of the biggest pluses for me is that it helps communication throughout the business. For example, any user can add comments that are then available to all users.

Pros: All modules integrate together.
One ERP system covers all areas of the business.
Ability to customise for special needs.

Cons: On older computers it can be a bit slow. Especially if you have multiple windows open.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2009
Nate G.
Special Projects
Aviation & Aerospace
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2016

"Great support, good product"

Pros: I very much so like the ability of user customization on tables and search grids.

Cons: Some things that I was lead to believe were not true about the capabilities of the product

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2016
Carol C.
Document Control Mgr and Senior Mechanical Design Engineer
Information Technology & Services
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2015

"My experience so far with ECi M1"

Pros: Most expandable system for up and coming manufacturing companies that do mixed mode manufacturing for OEM equipment. Very complex equipment that requires many different disciplines of manufacturing.

Cons: I would like more training videos for standard usages and work flows.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2015
Rex M.
IT Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2009

"M1 Very User Friendly"

Comments: I would definitely recommend this product

Pros: User Friendly, Easy to implement, easy to administer, very customizable

Cons: Weak Quality module, Poor Lot number capabilities

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2009
Sean F.
IT Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2009

"Bowen & Groves Review"

Comments: strongly recommended.

Pros: Very intuitive, very customizable

Cons: I can't think of any.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2009
Timothy M.
CFO
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2018

"M1 - A very visual ERP"

Pros: M1 is incredibly visual; whether you prefer traditional forms or spreadsheet views, you can customize the navigation and data forms with ease. Search features are robust in the spreadsheet style views. M1 is also fairly flexible for customization regardless of programming skills. We can easily add fields to any module and forms can be manipulated to match our information flow. In our business every order is a custom order yet the straight forward manufacturing module makes planning and scheduling simple. Dashboards on the start screen are great to monitor daily activities. While most ERP implementations require significant work, the visual nature of M1 really helped us keep the project on track. The M1 implementation specialist spent time to learn our business and specific information needs. 9 months running and we are very happy. We have added several additional modules since the implementation and have linked M1 to our sales tax service provider. The suite of included reports are handy, though they need some customization when you start up. Export to Excel is very easy. We added Spreadsheet Server option to really increase the capability to share data with Excel. Security controls are very robust.

Cons: At times customer service response is a bit longer than we would like though once they are working on an issue, they are great at resolving. Some of the included reports are fairly complex yet require customization in Crystal Reports. Best to have some working knowledge of Crystal reports. Some modules in M1 are not consistent with others - probably different programmers or different schedules for upgrading - however that slows the process just bit when you move module to module.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2018
Joseph F.
Systems Integration Engineer
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2019

"Administrator Review"

Comments: As someone who was not involved in the purchase of M1 I have been please with the freedom and flexibility the system provides me as an administrator. Most complaints would be from end users who some times have a hard time with the interface. These complaints are often easily solved with training and super user engagement.

Pros: This software is highly customizable and provides freedom for the many integrations that we implement regularly.

Cons: This software is not the most user friendly for a sizable chunk of our end users. Customers with limited computer experience find the interface difficult to use outside of tasks they perfomr regularly. This issues are largely easily solved by regular attention from the software administrators or super users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2019
John W.
President
Warehousing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2019

"looking to upgrade"

Pros: Abilty to customize per user and not effect others.

Cons: Clear upgrade evaluation from V 8 to V 9.2

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2019
Jessica E.
Project Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2017

"Used in a manufacturing facility - great for showing detail, time cards, completion percentage, scheduling, purchasing, etc."

Pros: The outside service function is fully developed to allow for estimated cost and lead time to roll up for quoting, and actual to roll into job cost.

Cons: Server based - not internet accessible. Would prefer links rather than the "where used" functionality. Works very well, but you have to dig a little for connected items.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2017
John E.
Mr
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2009

"At last, a software system that delivers on its promise."

Comments: We purchased M1 with a view to tidying up the obvious weaknesses and limitations of our previous system.
M1 has achieved this plus more, very often providing easier solutions to everyday tasks than we anticipated, and 2 years later on we are more relaxed then ever with the ability of the system to cope with whatever workload is demanded from it.
We are extremely pleased with our choice in M1 and everything that was promised to us has been delivered with a tremendous support backup when required.

Pros: After months of appraisal we chose M1 because of its ability to to be configured exactly to our requirements, as opposed to the one size fits all approach of so many other ERP packages.
M1 straight out of the box was immediately able to satisfy most of our needs, however, with its ability to be easily customized to suit our various processes, the system is intuitive to use from shop floor requirements through to full financial reporting and control.

Cons: Same as any other system out there, rubbish in, rubbish out. Once we had that sorted out though by ensuring that all users had an understanding of how their inter-reaction with the system was a benefit to all, themselves included, we gained a complete buy in from all staff along with the required real time and accurate data input on which the system depends.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2009
David P.
President
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019

"Used to be good"

Comments: I would not recommend this software. It is shameful how un-customer friendly this company is.

Pros: Although not intuitive at all, once you get used to the system it does work and prior to this year, it has been infallible.

Cons: Customer service is fair to poor as we did not receive any contact from this company regarding upgrades, etc. Carefully read the maintenance agreement as it apparently does not cover repairs and upgrades - which begs the question, what is that payment for exactly??

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019
Carl B.
Director of Sales
Automotive
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2016

"Extremely negative"

Pros: The only thing that was good was the dashboard
The software appeared to be ideal for a company making thousands of components in production runs - the very thing that we don't do.

Cons: The software is extremely clunky. it seemed that anything that could be done with 1 click in our old program program takes 5 clicks.
Support was often vague - it didnt sound like support personell had the correct training
They sold us a web app that they said was up and running, which was a large influencer in our decision as we required remote access to the CRM, however they hadn't finished developing it.
They didn't seem to understand NZ laws
Overall, the recommendation made by the company seemed to be motivated by getting the sale, rather than providing a solution that was fit for purpose.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2016
David B.
Plastics
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2015

"Keep a keen eye on implementation"

Pros: I like the software platform, and it generally works well for our specific manufacturing business. The vendor was very convincing at the sales pitch.

Cons: Our implementation and set up was managed very poorly, and we feel that we were cheated by the team responsible for our Implementation and set up. They clearly had ulterior motives in taking our money per hour above and beyond what we purchased in the original fee. The software company we purchased from has not called or reached out to us once since our investment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2015
Sean M.
VP
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2009

"M1 ERP"

Comments: Very good product

Pros: Customizable, covers accounting and Manufactoring. Good reports that are easily changed

Cons: Could push towards iso controls, we use the call management to handle feedback and CAPA's

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2009