15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Learning Stream

A robust training and multi-class registration solution that works great with synchronous and asynchronous classes for one flat fee.

Learn more about Learning Stream

Pros:

In the end, the software accomplishes the intended goal of successful event registration and billing, though we do feel “lost” when using it a lot more often than I desire.

Cons:

Many features are unintentionally “hidden” and difficult to find. The overall GUI needs serious reconstruction.

Learning Stream ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

Learning Stream has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 98 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Learning Stream before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (98)

Rebecca
Rebecca
Business Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Learning Stream has been a great fit for our agency; exceptional customer service!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: As a non profit agency this software provides a low cost solution to online purchasing of our low cost training.

Pros:

Learning Stream's flexibility is by far one of its biggest pros. We have been thrilled with the mobile responsiveness as many of our clients don't have any other access.

Cons:

Due to the amount of flexibility within the program it can be a little difficult to learn initially but their customer service by far makes up for it!

Pam
Program Coordinator in US
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Experience Using Learning Stream

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Learning Stream has automated our registration and reporting process. Also, our registrants find it simple to setup an account and register for classes.

Pros:

1. After the initial setup of courses (confirmation emails, reminder emails, evaluation forms, and certificates), the registration process has allowed registration to be automated and registration easy to track. 2. The ease of cancelling / refunding registrations. 3. The ease of transferring registrants to a different class. 4. Ease of running reports 5. Automatic emails for waitlisted attendees and when a person cancels, waitlisted receives and automatic email letting them know that they have been moved to the registration list and has 48 hours to pay the tuition fee. 6. Ease of seeing how much revenue is being received for each course. 7. Courses can be easily copied for ease of setup for future courses. 8. Account setup allow attendees to maintain a central location to view their certificates as well as track previous courses, and print receipts. 9. Learning Stream customer service is the BEST! They always respond quickly to any of our questions.

Cons:

1. Attendee notes can only be written for confirmed registrants. It would be nice to write a note for non-confirmed attendees. For example, if a person does not complete the registration and a follow-up phone call is made by a person on our staff, a note cannot be made to record the phone call. This results in making duplicate calls to this person. 2. I wish the registration lists could be sorted by different columns without generating a report.

Allison
Office Manager in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Learning Stream

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: We moved away from learning stream to use another program because it wasn't solving any problems for us.

Pros:

This program was the first one of it's kind that I had used when I started my role with GLS. It was easy to learn and understand.

Cons:

There was not enough automated features and a lot of things had to be done/followed up on manually.

Jim
DIrector of Operations in US
Events Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Online Registrar (Could Great With a Little Work!)

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Learning Stream provides a cost-effective online interface for online registration acquisition and data management. A first-time online registration service customer might face a significant learning curve to make the software fully operational. The e-mail help & support team is very effective, though I dislike having to contact them for often simple tasks that should be self-resolvable with a decent online support module. With a re-build to the back-end client interface, this would be a top-notch online registrar service.

Pros:

The form-builder is fairly straight-forward an easy to work with. Manipulation of form-builder hues and such to generally match the appearance of your existing website is easy. Interfacing billing with our Merchant Account provider was not an issue. In the end, the software accomplishes the intended goal of successful event registration and billing, though we do feel “lost” when using it a lot more often than I desire. The overall cost of use is the most attractive feature of this software.

Cons:

The back-end of the software is extremely "clunky" and difficult to work with in most all respects. The client messaging module is outdated and unable to even provide a true proof of your message appearance before being sent. Many features are unintentionally “hidden” and difficult to find. The overall GUI needs serious reconstruction. Data reporting for each form item/question is available, though no filtering of data is offered, you must take data outside of the software (Excel, etc.) for filtering. One of the most significant issues is the lack of a quality (self-initiated) help & support module. The existing help feature is poorly designed and rarely actually provides a customer solution. After an initial telephone consultation for software set-up, all help & support is by e-mail messaging. Problem issues are typically solved in a relatively short order, but there is not a live support desk to turn to. A good online help & support module would be, well, very helpful!

Connor
Executive Director in US
Higher Education, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The backbone of how we do business.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Fantastic, the customer service is really good.

Pros:

Its value. Without this software, we simply couldn't do business. It easy to use and easy to customize.

Cons:

It's hard to understand all of its capabilities. It can cost money to have changes or improvements made to fit your business's needs.

Cameron
Media Technician in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Learning Stream is flexible and robust and has handled every situation we've thrown at it.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Learning Stream is flexible and robust and has handled every situation we've thrown at it. We were starting from having a lot of manual processes for our course registration needs, so in one sense, anything would have been an improvement, but we really defined what we needed from a bonafide registration system, and Learning Stream rose to the top of the list in our search and evaluation. This past year of usage has only confirmed the validity of our findings, as we've thrown both anticipated and unanticipated situations at it and the system has always had a solution that seems in line with its design, and not a "workaround." Our daily user of the system, who shouldered all those past manual processes, is thrilled with the system.

Cons:

If you want breadth of choice, that tends to mean complication. So Learning Stream has a bit of a learning curve and a lot of settings that you need to make sure are set properly before making an event live. You want things to be simpler, than you get fewer choices, and that's just the trade off. That said, Learning Stream's support is top notch, both in the implementation phase with individualized training, and help desk support in terms of responsiveness and clarity. Their knowledge base is also very detailed, and will get you most of what you need to know. If there are any questions, they have always been there to answer them.

Mason
Director of Information Technology in US
Higher Education, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An Admission Team's Greatest Tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Learning Stream has allowed us to be the leader in our market, allowing us to do business even outside of our normal business hours. Learning Stream also helps us keep our administrative costs low through the ability for us to automate messaging for our students, keeping our need for more administrative staff to a minimum and allowing us to pass along that savings to our students.

Pros:

Learning Stream allows us to be flexible and scale properly as our business grows. Many platforms like this are built to do one particular type of enrollment management but Learning Stream allows admins and users to flex the way the system works which allows our business to grow incrementally and test new ideas in a scalable manner. The support team is also amazing and can help you find new solutions whether via new specialized developments or currently available add-ons to the platform.

Cons:

There are lots of add-on options for this software but it can be difficult to find out what exists without asking specific questions of your support team.

Gina
Office Manager in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Learning Stream is a great product!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, so far has been a very positive experience.

Pros:

We really like how Learning Stream has transformed our signups for conferences and workshops. The system is pretty intuitive and easy to use. We love the reports that Learning Stream has built in. It embedded into our website seamlessly and works very well with authorize.net. We have been really happy with this product and look forward to the ongoing improvements and upgrades. Also, I personally reach out to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and get superb customer service every time. She's very professional, knows the product very well, and is always willing to help and make suggestions. She is great to work with. Learning Stream provided very good training at the onset and that was a big plus! Thank you!

Cons:

I really do not have that many cons...it's a great product. The only thing I can think of is sometimes I feel like the editors are a little "old school" as far as the layout of the event page, emails/correspondence and adding graphics.

Brad
Brad
Director of Operations in Germany
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use software that meets my needs

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The software is easy and natural to use and, for the most part, the features meet my current needs. I have experienced very little issues with bugs or down-time. Cloud-based, so I can use it wherever I am. The cost fits more in-line with my budget (no per registrant fees) than other software I have looked at. Doesn't have a million features (that I, at least, don't need) that can just confuse things. Support is timely and helpful.

Cons:

I wish there were more options to customize how the registration page looks visually (looks just a bit "amateurish" compared to cvent and others); more options to customize statements (specifically statement when using [StatementMain]; a more streamlined/efficient way to do group registrations (in my experience, users find the current way confusing and too much work). Would also like the option to customize the credit card receipt that is sent to customers and have the ability to turn that off (i.e. just have the statement that shows the payment). Would like the ability to share a link with registration information with others. Less important, but worth mentioning, is the File Library, which I feel needs a major overhaul as far as how files are managed.

Ann-Marie
Community Education Coordinator in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Parenting Education Registration

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: I've enjoyed using Learning Stream and find it to be a wonderful fit for our needs.

Pros:

We have been using Learning Stream for almost a year and it has significantly streamlined our process. While there is a learning curve, the onboarding and customer service has been top notch.

Cons:

Learning stream is an expensive program but it does streamline our process which saves us time.

Helena
Web and Multimedia Developer in US
Higher Education, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Learning Stream Review

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall Learning Stream has been a good tool for us for registration management.

Pros:

The ability to customize messages to registrants. The ability to customize the look and feel of registration pages to match our website. The Learning Plans feature to track Learning Plans. The registrant access module that allows registrants to track their own attendance and Learning Plan status.

Cons:

Customizing the look wasn't intuitive. Really took a while to work with it. There are areas that you can't customize for each division that's using the system that is problematic.

Judi
Director of Professional Developemnt in US
Higher Education, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It grows with you!

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We started out small, using Learning Stream as a convenience for customers wanting to register on line (before the internet was an everyday necessity. As we have needed to grow and add classes, change focus, restructure offerings, and provide superior customer service - what Learning Stream has made available has grown with us. Newer features keep coming that even add to what options we have. But most important we have been impressed with their outstanding customer support - real people getting back to you quickly, with real solutions.

Pros:

ease of use, and superior customer support

Cons:

Sometimes hard to figure out how to make certain features work in our environment.

Melissa
Institute Assistant in US
Medical Practice, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for events

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use learning stream to track all event activity from registration to sending a completion certificate. This program helps streamline registration for conferences and other events.

Pros:

It helps considerably to have each event within its own page, and maintain individual registrations and registrant information and options.

Cons:

Some of the formatting and coding features for page and form appearance seem inconsistent and options are not all encompassing.

Keith
CRC Asst. Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Learning Stream

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: we needed some customization for our business purposes and the LS team accommodated all our needs. We have been having very good results since the launch and having great reviews from our customers.

Pros:

Very Robust feature offering, intuitive layout , and the ability to customize.

Cons:

navigation for end users registering for classes, the back button can unknowingly result in strange errors occasionally.

Taylor
Office Manager in US
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Quick, Easy, Enjoyable, Little Stress, Helpful

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Simplicity, professional and clean look.
Helpful and friendly help at a click of a button.

Pros:

The ease of adding courses, simple registration process, attendance report, sign in sheet printable, certificates printable, online survey sent, professional looking registration page, professional e-mails.

Cons:

Discount set up ( we use buy 1 get 1 free or buy 1 get a certain percent off), adding multiple dates when setting up a course (it is just not needed in our line of work)

Laura
Operations Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Platform with Excellent Support

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

We looked for a platform we could use in a specific way and had a hard time finding one that fit our needs until we came across Learning Stream. It is very customizable and the support we've received throughout the process has been wonderful!

Cons:

With the software being so detailed it can take a while to get used to and understand just how much needs to be added or changed depending on the event. The language used in Learning Stream is very different from our organizational language so it was a little tough to get used to.

Anne
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

CUNA Mutual review

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We had a great experience from the start talking with customer support representative. He took time to understand what we wanted and how we would use the system and ensured we were getting what we needed. To help us with training and set up was Leslie. As I started the building of the system for what we needed, I contacted her and she was always available. She still is as we are adding additional functions to our system. What's great is how Learning Stream appreciates feedback so if a suggestion for improvement or addition can be made to their system, they work to see if it's feasible to add as a feature to the system. They want to ensure the customer is receiving what they need. Great tool. Once set up, it was a 'set it and forget it' system. Easy to add additional courses and great for the reporting we require. Besides the consultation with representative, what sold me was the connection to WebEx so we could track attendance. What keeps customers are the relationships built, and working with customer support representatives have been a pleasure.

Kelly
Enrichment Director in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Breakwater Enrichment and Summer Programming

3.0 9 years ago

Comments: I enjoy many features of this product. It is simple to use for our needs regarding payment, course listing, etc. And I love the financial detail reports as well as the class listings. However, the product is not pretty or modern. It looks like a very dated website and is yet to be responsive to tablets and smartphones, which I view as a major issue. So many parents complain about their inability to use their phone or tablet at home, especially those who no longer have a desktop in their home. I also struggle with the inability to capture one invoice for one registrant. If you can pull a concise financial history report, why isn't there a function to pull a concise invoice? At some points, this program is not able to keep up with the multitude of our program. But our program is very heavy with the amount of events we offer and how often we are changing our course listing (38 options 6 times a year). The company itself is very quick to respond if you need help or have questions, which is great.

Ann
Employee Services Coordinator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best thing I have to say about Learning Stream is their customer service.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Time savings and registration accuracy

Pros:

I like the ease of copying events from year to year and the ability to save data from each event over the years.

Cons:

There are few things that cannot be changed, as they're built into the system. That makes some tasks that you would think would be easy to do, impossible. I'd like more flexibility to the reports you can print, by being able to select different things that you would like to print instead of having to select one of the standard reports, (i.e. Financial reports).

Regina
Professional Learning Director in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Coastal Plains RESA Loves Learning Stream

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

This software is so user friendly from the administrative side to the user side. Technical support from Learning Stream is always available and super responsive.

Cons:

Nothing! We are extremely happy with this product.

Jeff
Associate to the Bishop
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Very Pleased with Learning Stream

5.0 12 years ago

Comments: Our organization highly recommends Learning Stream for anyone who wants to streamline online registration and save time and money. It is a great bargain for all of the features it provides.

Pros:

Our organization has used Learning Stream since 2008, and we continue to enjoy how easy it is to use, and find new uses for the many features that this online registration software provides. It is easy to use, makes great reports, and the customer service is outstanding.

Cons:

More themes would be a great addition to the product.

Lumaverse Technologies Response

9 years ago

Wow. We¿re almost blushing. Thanks for your support and the kind words. And do note, we¿ve added additional themes ¿ and more important, sleek new page design templates ¿ to give you additional design capabilities to create better customer-facing web pages.

Cynthia
Community Services Summit Coordinator in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This company is easy to work with- very responsive to my needs. The software works very well.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The staff is wonderful and very responsive. She always replies right away and has helped me brainstorm ways to make the software work for me. Once set it up, there are no flaws in implementation. It works very well.

Cons:

There is a a learning curve to using some aspects of this software. But the staff is very helpful and patient and will walk me through what to do step by step.

Robert M
Manager, HR Training and Development
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Everything we need

5.0 12 years ago

Comments: It's a great product and they are a trusted partner for us in managing our events. I would recommend them to everyone.

Pros:

This product couldn't be easier for us to use. We have many users across the university and Learning Stream allows them to be posting and managing event registration in no time. Simple to understand, very feature-rich and great reporting. We don't have many questions, but we have had them the customer support has been exceptional.

Cons:

I have no cons to list.

Lumaverse Technologies Response

9 years ago

We recommend Kent State to everyone! Thanks for the high marks, kind words and the inroads you have helped us gain in higher education.

Kathryn
Team Coordinator
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

NYC DOE Review

4.0 12 years ago

Comments: Would recommend.

Pros:

The system is easy to navigate and use. The customer service is spectacular! Our customer support representative (Ron) is quick to respond and always provides solutions and clarification.

Cons:

There are limitations related to graphics/font/set up for calendars, email notifications, etc. It would also be helpful to not just archive, but delete events.

Lumaverse Technologies Response

9 years ago

Thank you NYC DOE for being a great customer and for the kind words and ratings. Since their review, we have enhanced graphics and theme-design functionality. Also, we will be glad to show you how to archive then delete events.

Anne
Administrative Assistant
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Learning Stream is Great!

5.0 12 years ago

Comments: I highly recommend this program. It allows PTEC to monitor registrations easily, pull reports for each school district of attendance at the workshops and much more. It saves hours of time and paper with the on-line evaluation tool, and on-line certificates.

Pros:

Easy to use, excellent customer support. The company consistantly updates and modifies their program to add additional features to give the customer additional options.

Cons:

None that I know of at this time.

Lumaverse Technologies Response

9 years ago

Thank you Piedmont for your partnership over the years, and for walking the talk. This reviewer has indeed recommended ABC Signup to others.