15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Arena PLM

Arena PLM enables collaboration between dispersed teams and supply chain partners for fast and efficient new product development.

Learn more about Arena PLM

Pros:

Since it works on the cloud, you don't need to invest in a dedicated computer server to operate it.

Cons:

Often I forget to add sourcing because it’s in a whole new tab.

Arena PLM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

7.6/10

Arena PLM has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 70 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Arena PLM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (70)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The best Product Life Management platform I ever used

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have been using it for the last three months, it required that I attended a one hour training to learn the ropes, after the training it was very easy and simple to work with it. It's the PLM tool I have ever used.

Pros:

Since it works on the cloud, you don't need to invest in a dedicated computer server to operate it. It runs in Windows, iOS, Mac, and Android OS so I can easily switch from one device to another and keep track of the approvals on my documents. It's user friendly, which reduced the learning curve and allowed me to ramp up my productivity in a short time. You can upload several documents, and the system will merge them as only one, which is very useful. It's an excellent tool for document control, it helps me to update versions, and nobody has to worry about finding the new version, they only need to know where is the master document.

Cons:

There are some process that has to be done manually, like for example when you request the approval of a document once all the approvers give the ok, the platform still requires that an administrator approves the process.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your great review of Arena PLM, rating it the best product lifecycle management platform you ever used! We're glad your experience with document and revision control has been so positive and we appreciate your feedback.

Normand
R&D Hardware Eng. Technologist in Canada
Utilities, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ARENA PLM...Creating faster, greener and better products on a daily basis!

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: ARENA PLM has been a valued partner for us for many years. It helped us create products faster and reduced our time to market, not to mention the errors we preventing because having clear and correct BOM'S the first time was so critical to us.

Pros:

Creating full product BOM's and parts on a daily basis with ARENA is really easy and fast. Using their great application and integration specialists also permits fast product imports when rolling out new products from a new partner or a new acquisition.

Cons:

Some features would gains to be redundant in some areas, like BOM'S and parts world, it would ease new user learning curves and speed up creations

Alternatives Considered: SAP Business One

Reasons for Switching to Arena PLM: Its price and features and also its quality/price ratio which was hard to beat.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

11 months ago

Hi Normand, Thank you for leaving us a review! Your feedback helps us let us know how we're doing and determine what enhancements to make. We're happy Arena PLM has helped your business create greener and better products.

Chelsea
Electrical Engineer in US
Defense & Space, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Could be better

3.0 last year

Pros:

I like that things are in steps. Makes it easier.

Cons:

Our old software let you put in a MPN and will basically create the part for you. I really miss that. Often I forget to add sourcing because it’s in a whole new tab. Also searching can be improved, outs hard to find the parts you want.

Eric
Mechanical Engineering Manager in US
Consumer Electronics, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Arena For Product Develpment

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Overall it has been a very positive experience. It easily allows us to review part history, have a single source of truth for file releases, and provides easy to find/read/review BOMs. It also allows for a great amount of flexibility on release workflows and approvals, as well as easy to review sharing settings for releasing parts to suppliers

Pros:

Arena easily allows for a single source of truth for parts, assemblies and related documentation. It provides a quick way to view part status, history, and release state and easily allows these parts to be shared with external suppliers. It allows for a complex linking of files between multiple parts, as well as being able to track parts through the development cycle

Cons:

Setup, migration, and training were difficult. Some things still need manual interaction on a daily basis such as marking primary files. Integrations with external software such as Jira and SolidWorks are non-existant, and custom integrations need to be created and maintained. Workflows need to be manually created to match workflows in other systems.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

10 months ago

Hi Eric, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're glad you've had an overall positive experience and appreciate your feedback about training and set up. We will let our team know so these insights can be part of future enhancements.

David
Sr. Dir., Quality Assurance and Regulatory Affairs in US
Medical Devices, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Great PLM for Medical Device Manufacturers.

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Close integration with our Contract Manufacturers and Suppliers. Ability to link the PLM with Non-Conformances (NC), Corrective and Preventive Actions (CAPA), and Complaints.

Pros:

Ease of use, customization, integration with Arena QMS, CADTALK, Rimsys, and FlowEQ.

Cons:

The Help Pages are text only; remember, a picture is worth a thousand words.

Alternatives Considered: SAP Analytics Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Arena PLM: Price, price, price.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

10 months ago

Hi David, Thank you for leaving Arena PLM a review. We're glad that we're able to provide your company the integrations you need. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the Help Pages. We're always working to make continuous improvements to our solution and will share this with our internal team to consider for future enhancements.

Cathy
Quality and Regulatory Manager in US
Medical Devices, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review of EQMS Useage

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: The above being said, I do feel we have realized benefits from using the system in the way of organization and being able to process changes in the way they should be.

Pros:

I do like the Engineering Change function and that fact that with the change function as well as others you can attach files.

Cons:

I do not like the fact that some of the features needed for quality functions have to be made in the Quality World and require alot of clicks for approvals, complete etc. Currently to set up annual procedure reviews we are having to set it up as a project for notifications to go out 1 year from last revision. One of the most troubling areas for me is that if something changes in one document, such as a revision to a stated value the system does not provide you a list of all documents that the value is found in as some other systems do. For Engineering I think a very good system; for the actual needed quality actions I feel there are some areas lacking. Also have not been able to find an escalation process.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

9 months ago

Hi Cathy, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're glad you've been able to find benefits from using our product and appreciate your feedback. We will pass this to our internal team to consider for future enhancements.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Devices, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for design managment

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: Overall the experience is great, but the options are so extensive that it can be quite overwhelming at times. Due to this it would be great if a person could save templates for ECOs and DCOs for example, even at a corporate level, to help save time on repeated tasks.

Pros:

I like the confidence in knowing that we are all working with the same documents and revisions, without a risk of misalignments between teams.

Cons:

DCOs and ECOs should have pre-defined macros especially in terms of approval matrices.In addition, the fact that Arena does not integrate with SolidWorks is a shame, as we have to manually create files every time which is a time consumer.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

9 months ago

Thank you for reviewing Arena PLM! We're glad your experience has been overall positive and appreciate your feedback regarding DCOs and ECOs. Please take a look at our integration with our partner CADTALK for a way to connect with SOLIDWORKS and get in touch with us if you have any questions: https://www.arenasolutions.com/solutions/marketplace/cadtalk-mcad/

Michelle
Document Control in US
Pharmaceuticals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Daily User

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: Overall experience has been great. Arena support, Arena Help, and pagetips is are very helpful

Pros:

Ease of use! Able to train users very easily

Cons:

Searchability is a bit wonky and it causes users to be confused

Arena, a PTC Business Response

9 months ago

Hi Michelle, Thank you for leaving us a review! We're glad Arena PLM has been easy to use and that you've overall had a positive experience with the tool.

Julien
Quality Manager in Switzerland
Medical Devices, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Arena PLM

4.0 7 months ago

Pros:

The configuration possibilities, the compliance to CFR for electronic signatures

Cons:

Bill of Materials versions management does not allows to have a picture of old revisions.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

4 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate your feedback on the BOM versions and are glad you are enjoying the configuration possibilities.

Nancy
Quality Engineer in Sweden
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great system for a small company

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: It's been pretty great. it definitely has a learning curve to get things set up and understanding what you can do, but once that's done, it's pretty straightforward to use

Pros:

I liked how easy it was to see how each part and product is connected across Bill of Materials and revisions.

Cons:

I don't like that we can't overwrite a revision in Design.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

11 months ago

Hi Nancy, Thank you for leaving us a review! We're glad it's been a great system fr your company and will share your feedback regarding overwriting revisions with our team.

Michelle
PLM Manger in US
Computer Networking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PLM Project Mgr

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I have implemented Arena PLM over the years. The basic PLM information is easy to create and control. The new features and functionality always make for a centralized location for all information on Products in all lifecycle phases. Supplier access allows seamless communication for critical changes incorporation to product lines throughout various product lifecycles. Change Order/Deviation/ Corrective Action Request interface for contract manufacturer to collaborate actions to take on factory floor with critical actions for inventory dispositioning, for material planning and procurement. Centralized location for compliance documentation associated to items within a product. Workflow for Change Orders and Change Requests. Redlines for all Change Order controlled revisions on BOM's. The system is easily modified for unique requirements per company policies. Cloud application eliminates maintenance and hardware requirements which reduces IT cost. Incorporation of best business practices for the release and controlling all product data. New enhancements make this PLM a gem in a fast pace industry.

Pros:

Ease of use and all the features to control changes of product lines. On cloud enhancements and maintenance done by software provider. Many ways to make this software

Cons:

Spellcheck. Minimal issues

Arena, a PTC Business Response

8 years ago

Thank you for providing us with the review! We appreciate the feedback and look forward to continuing our relationship with you as well as Nimble Storage.

Jeff
Sr. Document Control Manager in US
Wireless, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Arena is a FANTASTIC solution for the small to midsize company

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Ability to manage the product record and collaborate with supply chain partners

Pros:

In the startup environment with fewer than fifty employee Arena is simple to deploy, maintain, and exceptional for collaborating with key supply chain partners. Arena's ability to scale with the growth of the company and our expanding supply chain is critical to our success. As the company evolves and grown to more that 200 employees, Arena can evolve and keep pace when your business model. The ability to add additional features such as Quality, speaks well for the capability of the Arena Solution to grow.

Cons:

As an Arena system administrator and user I would like to see more flexibility to develop custom work flows. The stage one, stage two methodology is perfect for managing the review and release process gates. However, I need the ability to customize the workflow after the change orders has been released and locked. There is a need for review and approval after release with supply chain partners that can not be addressed and part of the Implementation process.

Amy
Document Control Manager in US
Consumer Electronics, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Arena PLM

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Revision control, products being fully tested, any product related approvals come from Arena. We have established this with our suppliers and email approval from [sensitive content hidden] no longer works. It has really saved us.

Pros:

Where do I start? Arena has been a fantastic tool to get everyone working with the same data, it has helped eliminate silos and everything product related can be found in one location!

Cons:

I think the admin side of things can be a little burdensome, but overall, I would still recommend it!

Arena, a PTC Business Response

11 months ago

Hi Amy, Thanks for your review of Arena PLM! We're glad that our solution has helped eliminate silos in your team and that you'd still recommend it after using Arena for years. We appreciate your feedback greatly.

Isaac
Operations Systems Analyst in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Arena PLM an excellent tool for managing product data

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Arena PLM has been a core part of my work for over 5 years, it continues to improve with helpful features that improve user experience. I've never felt like I was forced to change my workflow with any of the updates, and if I need any help their customer service is excellent.

Pros:

I really like the continual effort to provide more features and customer support to implement your PLM environment in a way that works for your company.

Cons:

The only thing that I have a difficult time with is making editing multiple lines easily if all parts are rolling to the same status, but that's a minor issue.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

10 months ago

Hi Isaac, Thank you for leaving us a review! We're glad to hear you've had an overall positive experience with Arena.

Joe
Electrical Engineer in US
Medical Devices, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Arena review

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

Arena is a straightforward tool to learn and use.

Cons:

The search feature within Arena is terrible and it seems to get stuck with Chrome and firefox unless cookies are deleted weekly. The search feature is limited to a limited "world", and gets stuck with limiters (e.g. search only within completed changes) that aren't apparent when starting a search. If you don't know the naming conventions used prior, Arena makes finding information time-consuming.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

11 months ago

Hi Joe, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate your feedback regarding the search function and will share this with our internal team so it can be included in future product enhancements.

Brandon
Product Manager in US
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

VERY FLEXIBLE AND POWERFUL, BUT ALSO CUMBERSOME

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Arena has served us well as our PLM. It does what we need it to do!

Pros:

The thing I liked most about the product was the ability to customize it to fit our needs. Once you understand how to use it the software can keep an excellent record of your product, parts, documents etc. that is easy to navigate.

Cons:

The thing I like least about this product is the number of steps required to complete a task. Updating information for lots of items is cumbersome and the import tool that is meant to speed this up lacks documentation making it frustrating to learn. While I understand that some of this might be related to the flexibility that it offers there are a few features that could greatly improve efficiency, specifically related to making the same change to a large batch of items.

Brian
Senior Materials Engineer in US
Consumer Electronics, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Arena for a Small Materials Start-Up

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We primarily utilize ARENA for part and document management. The main feature of ARENA that makes it an efficient tool is the ability to easily connect related parts. If a new part is generated, it is very easy to build out a BOM and attach all relevant documentation. And from the other side, it is easy to locate these items when searching for a particular part. Generating new items and documents is simple and straightforward, and the reviewing system is simple to use (and includes notifications for those who need to complete reviews).

Cons:

The search function can be tricky to utilize, and is occasionally glitchy. Sometimes searches for known item numbers of document names will return no results, and wild-card searches seem finicky at best. On occasion, the behavior of the Changes functions can make Revisions somewhat difficult. Depending on whether a change has been rejected or withdrawn, it is sometimes impossible to make further edits to a revision until that change is "deleted", even though it had already been rejected. So there are a few minor issues that can impact the ease of use of the system.

Madison
Product Manager in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Well rounded and easy to use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We predominantly use Arena for BOM tracking/DHF/DMR creation and maintenance, and quality. The experience for both has been great. Easy to use, clear rev control, and sign-off abilities were the stars of the show.

Pros:

It is quite a bit more easy to use than competing products (once you get the hang of it). Everything is sorted into categories ("Items", "Requests", "Changes", etc.) so there's no one massive database one must search through. Prescriptive instructions both within the body of the website and in the instructions sections.

Cons:

I wish the advanced search was a bit easier to use. Relies a bit on preexisting knowledge to use, i.e. when to use asterisks, etc.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

2 years ago

Hello Madison, Thank you for your review of Arena PLM and QMS. We appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience so far. We're glad you find the solution easy to use. Please submit your feedback on Advanced Search through the product so our product team is aware. Thank you Alaine

Brenda
QA Engineer in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great value and features

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Many useful features that allow for supported processes to be robust

Cons:

many clicks needed to execute tasks such as adding items, adding files

Alternatives Considered: Polarion REQUIREMENTS and SolidWorks Enterprise PDM

Arena, a PTC Business Response

2 years ago

Brenda, Thank you for your positive review of Arena! We appreciate your feedback.

Yuliya
BOM Administrator in Canada
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, very user friendly software.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I use the software since 2014 and I love it. As I already mentioned, it's super user friendly and it takes no time to work comfortable with it. I contact support service few times and received the feedback in less then 24 hours. I like that developers listens users inquiries and improve Arena in new releases. Also it's very important that they provide webinars before software updates and send video that Administrators can share to all users.

Cons:

It's hard to say because the product is great. However I wish it would be less limitation with number of items mass uploading. For example sometimes our ECOs have more then 100 items but we can not upload more then 50 in one shot

Angela
Manager, Configuration Management/PLM System Admin in US
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Arena is a very intuitive and easy tool to manage.

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: When used by our team, most all love the ease of the system and the overall functionality.

Pros:

Arena is easy to use and offers a detailed breakdown of our BOMs and tracks our change management with ease.

Cons:

There are some features that can be improved upon but more so from an admin side and not from the user. It all in all is a very good tool.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

9 months ago

Hi Angela, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're glad it's been easy and intuitive to use for both you and your team.

Nancy
Component Engineer in US
Semiconductors, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I recommend Arena PLM since it is friendly user

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Arena PLM is a friendly user tool.

Pros:

The features I like most about Arena PLM is the software memorirzed what I searched so I do not need to re-enter the part number again. It is an excellent feature.

Cons:

I need to set up correctly to get the correct export file in Excell format

Arena, a PTC Business Response

11 months ago

Hi Nancy, Thank you for taking the time to review Arena PLM. We're happy to hear you've found it to be user-friendly. We hope you continue to enjoy and find efficiencies using our solution.

Bradley
Professor
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great for planning an expansion without risking huge CapEx.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall this is a really great product. The high level actions are easy to understand, and there are even graphics that can be used as specific inputs and outputs so that a presentation can have products rather than widgets. Also, the negatives of the strange statistical anomalies really are not a big deal. An experienced operations manager or engineer will know what to pay attention to and what is noise.

Pros:

This program's biggest upside is its ability to provide a testing ground for potential upgrades, expansions, or new factories, facilities, etc. without needing to spend huge dollars on a physical pilot or building or the labor cost of a time study or statistical analysis from a Black Belt or other highly paid employee

Cons:

Some of the random variables do not take into account reality well enough. I understand that true AI is not possible right now, but the fact is that purely statistics based tools can produce results that would never occur in the real world (i.e. A factory only attempts to build 3 units in an entire day and 3,000 the next day because it is possible in a Poisson Process).

Chris
Sr RF Engineer in US
Military, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Straightforward, easy to use PLM

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Having used a different PLM before, I do like this one a lot better because of how straightforward and easy it is to use.

Pros:

Ease of use, decent amount of customization, straightforward BOM/Parts and Documentation revision/tracking.

Cons:

Some options/fields don't jive with other tools we currently use. Customization needs customer support though in some cases.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

9 months ago

Hi Chris, Thank you for leaving us a review! We're happy to hear Arena PLM has been straightforward and easy to use. We appreciate your input regarding customization and the different fields. We'll share with our team to consider for future product updates.

Claus
Product Mananager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Arena PLM insights

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall the experience is good compared to other PLM software I used in the past.

Pros:

Streamlined workflows. Being on the cloud not worry about updates.

Cons:

Some features are hard to use, in particular when it comes to creating ECOs. We have a dedicated product documentation team to help with that.

Arena, a PTC Business Response

2 years ago

Hello Claus, Thank you for your review of Arena PLM. We're glad your experience has been good, especially compared to your past use of other PLM systems. Please reach out to support or consider online training classes to help with the ECO creation process. https://www.arenasolutions.com/customers/education/