Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.2 /5

About HotSchedules

Transform your scheduling process with the industry's most widely adopted forecasting, scheduling and communications tool.

Learn more about HotSchedules

Showing 406 reviews

Jess H.
Executive Administrator
Restaurants, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2020

"Extremely helpful!"

Comments: I would highly recommend. It is easy to set up and is user friendly for all ages. Since it helps with scheduling, dropping shifts and picking up shifts, our Managers are able to focus more of their time on other aspects of the business.

Pros: The ability to save a template for a weekly schedule. At our job we put a schedule out on a weekly basis and we don't have to start from scratch every week. It used to take use 5 hours to do the schedule and now it takes us 1 hour. A huge lifesaver!

Cons: The look of the software feels a tad outdate. Though that is not a huge deal, it tends to have unnecessary pop-ups or "menu" buttons. However, not enough of a con to ever have me consider using a different product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2020
Ashley L.
General Manager
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2020

"Overall Fine"

Comments: Overall, I would probably use again. I imagine after they finish all of the big updates, it will run a little more smoothly.

Pros: This product made holding the staff accountable for knowing not only their schedules, but also any messages that needed to be mass sent out.

Cons: This software had frequent updates that caused glitches often. They also changed key features often, which made weekly logins a surprise.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2020
Carisa D.
General Manager/ Partner
Restaurants, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2017

"General Manager and partner"

Comments: It is very difficult to get responses from customer support. It will take a day and up to 3 to hear anything back and that is in several different support groups. Also, the fact that you get shuffled from one type of support to another is quite frustrating. When you start you have 1 person that owns the majority of the experience.She was great! But once you get passed on to customer support it feels like you are lost. I also have an issue with the scheduling functionality. It is impossible to view an entire day of a schedule either in the schedule or the template. There used to be a button at the top of the schedule that allowed you to see the entire day, who was scheduled in each station, all at a glance. The new functionality makes it incredibly difficult to manage the level of staff on a shift.

Pros: The logbook feature, the advanced floor maps (which are an additional cost..), and the messaging feature.

Cons: Again the scheduling software is not very user friendly. Clearly there were some adjustments made that helped with writing a schedule, but not being able to view it as easily is frustrating.

Vendor Response

by HotSchedules on 09/02/2017

Hey Carisa!

Thank you for the feedback. We apologize for the frustration you've been experiencing with our product and customer support services. Here is an article to an overview of the new scheduler that might be helpful.

https://help.hotschedules.com/hc/en-us/articles/218408118-HS-New-Scheduler-Overview

Please reach out if you are continuing to experience difficulty with the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2017
Francis P.
Owner
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2017

"Ocean Blue Review"

Comments: We use a few of your products, HotShedules, LogBook, Inventory. All of them make our job easier and more affective. There is a lot of room to grow with the Inventory product. Hopefully we will see improvements in the future. Still, very pleased with all the products.

Pros: IOS Compatibilty, cloud based.

Cons: Reporting can be cumbersome at times. Not all functions work well on Safari Browser.

Vendor Response

by HotSchedules on 16/02/2017

Francis,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it! We value any and all feedback for our products to influence updates in the future. We have a community request forum where you can voice your ideas and insights directly to a Customer Care specialist. Thanks again!

https://help.hotschedules.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200388757-Feature-Requests

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2017
Connor W.
General Manager
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2018

"HotSchedules does a great job at presenting all your scheduling/reporting data at a quick glance."

Pros: A couple things that I really enjoy about HotSchedules is the reporting and future forecasting functions. You can also teach HotSchedules how to auto-schedule based off of those patterns from previously scheduled weeks. It is pretty user-friendly and when you launch for the first time - you have plenty of help. They give you a contact to assist you and provide plenty of step-by-step tutorials for all of the included functions of the software. They also give you styling options for how you would like to view and edit the schedules. The reporting data is quickly accessible and can be pulled from a large range of dates (this helps with payroll verification).

Cons: HotSchedules, at times, can be a little buggy. There have been instances where I have completed a full schedule and upon saving my data, it would revert to the previous schedule before the changes had been added. This can be a tad frustrating when trying to crank out schedules quickly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Substitute Teacher
Primary/Secondary Education, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/03/2019

"HotSchedules Review"

Comments: It was good experience. I was able to see when I was working and who was going to work with me. I was able to see the messages that the manager put out. I was able to respond the messages, if need be.

Pros: I had to have this software when I worked at a restaurant. It was pretty simple and easy to use. Once the manager had posted the schedule, you could see who was working and what shift it was. If there was an open shift, you could grab it and see if it would get approved. You could also switch shifts with someone, if the managers approved it. Message came in and were easy to read.

Cons: I did not really have any issues with this software. I had to have it and it worked fine with my phone. I was a bit mad that I had to pay for it, but I understood why.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Server
Restaurants, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2019

"Hot for HotSchedules"

Comments: I love HotSchedules as a server, this app is a dream. I am able to see how many people are scheduled ahead of work, who I'm working with, what section or what my in and out times are and have a clear idea of my responsibilities going into work. I am also able to negotiate shift swaps and adjusting my schedule within the app with coworkers that makes it easy to find coverage or pick up some extra work!

Pros: HotSchedules is a user friendly interface that makes scheduling, adjusting schedules, swapping shifts, or viewing staff rosters, sending messages with coworkers incredibly accessible and easy to use.

Cons: No cons, this app is a dream for people with a dynamic and hectic schedule and good management running the app for their staff.

Vendor Response

by HotSchedules on 08/04/2019

Thank you for the great review - we really appreciate it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2019
Heather S.
Server
Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2020

"User Friendliness"

Comments: The manager cant change the schedual, not tell you then say its always been this way. Love that!!

Pros: Its super easy to get new schedules and the managers know we have seen them. Also we can trade, drop and pick up shifts as needed. Overtime is already tracked so accepting a new shift is fine as long as the dining room is covered. I like that I can see my paycheck too great way to budget.

Cons: The app is 2.99 ok not a lot but without tje team app why should staff pay for an app the company is already paying for?

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2020
Verified Reviewer
Trainer
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/03/2020

"Not so stressful scheduling"

Comments: Everything is in one spot which makes my day a little easier and my desk less cluttered. Easy to address questions and concerns from employee's.

Pros: This app makes it very easy to check your schedule at anytime. Makes requesting time off or switching a shift with another employee easy as well. Far from time consuming and easy navigation around the app. Your schedule is with you where ever you go!

Cons: Having to pay $2.99 for the app is pretty much everyone's only dislike about this app.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/03/2020
Michael R.
Owner
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2018

"So awesome!!"

Comments: Overall experience is amazing! This company does amazing work!

Pros: Love Hotschedules!! They are amazing at what they do and make my life so easy when it comes to scheduling my staff and letting them switch and pick up work shifts. This is definitely something that employers with many employees need to use to make their schedule!

Cons: Non at all. This software does exactly what it says and it is amazing!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2018
Victoria B.
HR Admin
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018

"HotSchedules has solved so many of our scheduling issues!"

Pros: Easily accessible by all employees. We can make edits and changes to the schedule, and the employees instantly have access to see them. It's also a great way to communicate with all of our employees at once.

Cons: That we didn't find it sooner! We were using an excel doc for scheduling before finding HotSchedules, and we thought that worked just fine - we didn't know what we were missing!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018
Joey B.
Safety
Construction, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2020

"Very convenient for workers and managers"

Comments: Flawless module for picking and dropping shifts. Approval is based on managers not the app itself.

Pros: The instant option to pick up or drop a shift is extremely convenient. The scheduling calendar is very easy to understand for double shifts.

Cons: The message system for co workers could be a little easier to understand as well as the notification previews.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2020
Verified Reviewer
Director of Training and Service Excellence
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Been a HotSchedules user for over 16 years. Love it! Great tool that is always adapting"

Comments: Helps us manager the staffing, labor, and communication component with our team.
The add-ons for Training and Checklists is a great help.

Pros: Built for restaurants.
Over the time I have worked with the HotSchedules team they are fully engaged in making this the best product that they can.
The add on tools that they are building help drive our business.
They are true partners.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Tj S.
Director of Food & Beverage
Hospitality, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2017

"Hotschedules"

Comments: Easy to use, good reviews from staff and manangement. Worth the investment of time and money to get started

Pros: User friendly, lots of reporting capabilities, mobile app available. Helpful for budgets, forecasts, execution

Cons: Mobile app doesnt have all the features i used daily. A little more expensive then others. Some reports should be on a main screen, for quick view.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2017
Sarah A.
Waitress
Hospitality, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019

"HotSchedules is great for those in hospitality!"

Comments: I have used HotSchedules while working for Red Lobster for 3 years, it has made my life so much easier!

Pros: This product easily allows me to pick up or post shifts for work so that other employees can pick up, release, or trade shifts.

Cons: The only thing that is a little tricky with this software, is setting up availability requests/schedules.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019
Kyle J.
General Manager
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2019

"Trying too hard"

Pros: Hotschedules has the ability to keep everything in on location in terms ignored messaging, staffing, and forecasting.

Cons: Over the last four years there have been many updates which were supposed to be convenient but instead have made the web based program very difficult to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2019
Lauren F.
GA
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"So easy!"

Pros: This is the best! So easy to view and use. so many helpful features. I have the app which makes all of it even easier. can trade/ask for shifts in seconds, request time off, etc. love it!

Cons: Can't think of any cons! This software does everything a restaurant needs it to! easily accessible for all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Kikombeeusizuri B.
Server
Food & Beverages, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/02/2017

"Hotschedules"

Comments: Using hotschedules really helps restaurant employees easily access their schedules.

Pros: As a server you can easily pick up an available shift that someone else can't work, and also release/post a shift that you cannot work in order for someone else to grab it.

Cons: Sometimes it is difficult knowing where to go in order to find out certain information, such as if somone sends out a message for all employees to see, but for some reason I won't be able to locate where to see the message.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/02/2017
Jennifer M.
Bom
Cosmetics, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2018

"Schedule and communication hub"

Comments: We have been able to stay fully staffed and correct common schedule issues like call outs or schedule conflicts now that staff has an easy, user friendly way to communicate and actually help fill the gap that they are leaving. It keeps everyone accountable.

Pros: Ease of use and functionality. Options for schedulung employees and communicating with individuals or groups with ease. Also allows employees to communicate, helping schedule gaps and issues be corrected and prevented.

Cons: There is nothing to not like. However, adding a print option for staff to print out a clear, enlarged copy of their schedule would be grand.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2018
Chad H.
Manager
Restaurants, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2018

"Recent update"

Pros: This program was very easy to use from day one. Yet the most recent update is not as satisfying. The program is still effective but some changes were not necessary.

Cons: As I stated prior the most recent update made the use a bit more complex and not as pleasing to use. I would like to see an update that adds projections to the shift approvals for easier viewing. This would improve the decision making process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2018
Jennifer P.
Event Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2018

"I have been a Hot Scheduled user for almost 8 years now, and it's a great way to keep track of labor"

Pros: The ease of putting in availabilities, and how easy it is for an employee to use. It is also very user friendly.

Cons: They often change things without a lot of notice. Sometimes some extra help before the change happens would be a lot more useful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2018
Andrew W.
Development Coordinator
Restaurants, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2017

"Great Product, Better People"

Comments: Our specific representative was phenomenal! He stated from the very start that he was going to be my guy and so far he has made it an easy process that doesn't cause me to have to think about how it is going all the time. Definitely using in the future.

Pros: It's compatibility with our other systems

Vendor Response

by HotSchedules on 14/02/2017

Andrew,

Thank you for the great feedback! We're glad you are having such a great experience with your representative. We appreciate your time and our Customer Care team is always available to help with any challenges!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2017
Jaime C.
General Manager
Food & Beverages, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2017

"Great product"

Comments: Helps us with staffing as well as projecting out sales and labor. Plus having people be able to drop shifts and have their colleagues be able to pick up those shifts without them having to call in and have a manager find a replacement makes things much easier.

Pros: Able to do everything I need with this software to make my job easier. Schedules, forcasting, staffing

Cons: Nothing software is great

Vendor Response

by HotSchedules on 21/02/2017

Jaime,

Thank you so much for the great review! We love to serve those who serve and are happy to help your business run more efficiently. Thank you for being a part of our community.

Happy Scheduling!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2017
Nichole S.
Server, bartender
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2016

"Make your job easier"

Comments: I have used this product as both an employer and employee. I work in the food service industry and I can't tell you how time-consuming scheduling can be. Hotschedules allows my employees to request time off, swap shifts, release shifts, and receive mandatory messages all online or from their phones. This saves everyone time and cuts out the possibility of requests being forgotten.

Pros: As an employee, it's great to have my schedule sent to me weekly on my phone. If I am out of town, I don't need to
Make any extra stops or phone calls to find out when I am working next. I can also request time off online months in advance and my employer can approve it- making reservations and guaranteed time off more convenient.

Cons: to download the app for your phone it costs a small sum of money and some people don't like that. However, this really isn't an issue because you can still access the schedule from anywhere online-so it really isn't a con at all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2016
Verified Reviewer
Project Coordinator
Wholesale, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2016

"best for retail/restaurant"

Comments: I used this app when I worked at Chili's (Brinker). It was so convenient to swap shifts or get yours picked up at any time of the day. I loved it and was sad when I changed jobs and my next job did not have that app available.

Pros: You had easy access to your schedule for switches, pick ups, etc.

Cons: It was tough to have to wait on the manager approval.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2016