15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About PostgreSQL

Free open source post-relational database system. Leading choice by Developers and DBAs world-wide. Robust, secure, high performance.

Learn more about PostgreSQL

Pros:

The price vs others other there ie, MSSQL is a lot better. It is able to capture and process data very quickly.

Cons:

If your software requires over 10k transactions per second, you're gonna have to put in some serious work make Postgres scale. This is where Postgres becomes a pain to optimize.

PostgreSQL ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

PostgreSQL has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 410 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used PostgreSQL before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (410)

Arjun
Arjun
Founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The Reliable Workhorse with Infinite Flexibility

5.0 last year

Comments: Nothing short of exceptional. It covers all the bases with its reliability and performance, and its flexibility is unmatched. I've found it difficult to recommend any other database unless you have specific requirements, such as a document store or a graph database. Postgres fills in all the gaps and has become my go-to choice for any project that requires a rock-solid, flexible relational database.

Pros:

does the basics like a pro while offering infinite flexibility. From JSON columns to full-text search, there's a plugin for every need. Plus, it plays nicely with every ORM known to man. Postgres has mastered the art of doing the basics exceptionally well. It's reliable, performant, and stands strong as a relational database. But what sets it apart is the remarkable flexibility it offers. Need to store and query JSON data? No problem. Looking for full-text search capabilities? Postgres has your back with plugins that can handle it all. This database truly adapts to your evolving needs, making it a versatile choice for any project.

Cons:

No Issues at All, Just Vendor Restrictions. Now, I have to dig deep to find something negative about Postgres. The truth is, I haven't encountered any issues with Postgres itself. Its robustness and stability have been flawless in my experience. If I had to point a finger, it would be at the vendors (like Heroku) who occasionally restrict certain plugins. But hey, that's not Postgres's fault—it's still a champ in its own right.

Janne
Janne
Technical Product Manager in Finland
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

One of the best overall databases in the market

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: For overall backend database purposes I would currently not choose anything other than PostgreSQL. Widely known, easy to hire talent for, secure and reliable.

Pros:

PostgreSQL is well supported by backend frameworks like Django. Getting into the command line of PostgreSQL database isn't necessary that often, but when a must, it works very robustly.

Cons:

Not suitable for some data types as well as some of the competition, like time series data, that is becoming more and more important via IoT use cases.

Ana
Ana
Security Architecture Discipline leader in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Relational database with less capability

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is used when a commercial partner vendor introduces a commercial system and creates a small-scale system. If you connect multiple units, it is easy to use with a response that can support the operation without installing a dedicated server machine. When using packaged software in a large-scale system, there may be restrictions on the number of data elements and the number of servers connected, but we were able to reduce installation and operation costs. I was able to keep the cost of the database low and spend money on packaged software options.

Pros:

Since it was developed to comply with SQL standards, there are no problems migrating from other RDBMS. I think the popularity of MySQL as an RDBMS is split in two, but PostgreSQL does not have the following MySQL keylogging problem, so it can be said that it is an RDBMS with little custom. We recommend PostgreSQL as the first choice for RDBMS unless otherwise specified because it works stably and can support real operations. When a small business is a customer's system project, the RDBMS license fee is often too high to pay. In such cases, customers will be happy to propose PostgreSQL, which is stable, reliable, and free to use. Unless it is a situation that requires a paid database, I think PostgreSQL is sufficient. It is not inferior to the function.

Cons:

When you are looking for something you want to look up in a manual, it is often difficult to find it and, in the end, you often consult blog articles written by experts instead of the manual. I want the structure of the manual to be easy to understand.

Jorge
Jorge
Software Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

PostgreSQL - A World Class DBMS that you can have for free

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have used PostgreSQL for Windows since 2008 and it has been a pleasure. Some DBs have tables with more than 1 million records and performance seems not to be affected.

Pros:

It is free although there are some paid options that include support and special configurations. It is very stable, I have not had any critical situations like data loss. As a ASP.NET developer, it integrates easy using ADO.NET Data Providers for which there are many choices. Concurrency control is included which is very useful for data integrity. Versions for Linux, Mac, Solaris and BSD are available which increases the integration power. A huge number of third party add-ons (paid and free) can be found. PostgreSQL is being continuously improving, there is a well defined plan of maintenance and new versions are coming out regularly.

Cons:

I have not found anything against this DMBS product. I have accomplished all of my goals successfully.

Tigran
Tigran
Developer in Armenia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

PSQL databse.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall this is good software to use when you in a large applications.

Pros:

This is one of the best database software I’ve used. It has a lot of features/functions that are usable for Big projects. One of them I've use is the PSQL vector search that is not widely used but very important feature that built in PSQL, beside that it has a tons of usable functions to do operations inside database and then get the result for example timezone adjusting, manipulation with data, string function and etc.

Cons:

Trully telling there should be few cons in this software. I've used this for over 4 years sometimes find to difficult to configure it it linux environments compared with mysql.

Adolfo
Adolfo
System Administrator in El Salvador
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very complete and stable database

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have very good experience installing and configuring databases with PostgreSQL.
Once installed and configured it is very stable, almost without errors and one can rest assured that the data is fine

Pros:

It is very complete for any type of project or application. It is stable, easy to use and can handle a lot of structured data. It is free software and is very well documented It is very popular and has a very varied community around the project

Cons:

Its installation and configuration can be a bit complex at first. Being free they are not obliged to provide support Requires specific tuning for each possible scenario

Diego
Diego
Technical Director in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Market Research, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The database everyone should be using

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: PostgreSQL is an incredibly powerful piece of software that should be the RDBMS in every software project instead of less powerful but more famous alternatives.
Personally it will be my choice for every future project.

Pros:

PostgreSQL is so powerful, complete and stable. This should come with no surprise given the long history behind it. At the same time it's incredibly modern and supports new paradigms (like NoSQL, JSON data types) and it's also very simple to familiarize with.

Cons:

It's unbelievable how PostgreSQL is not as well-known as one of his competitors (MySQL) notwithstanding the fact that is so much more powerful.

Abdelhakim
Abdelhakim
PhD Researcher in Morocco
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best user tailored db experience.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I use PostgreSQL with almost every endeavor nowadays. Both at work and with personal projects, it is very robust when used in my research field which is optimization and operations research, but also flexible enough to help me quickly deploy web apps.

Pros:

PostgreSQL is by far the most user friendly and most advanced database system out of the top 5 popular choices. It's inherently relational making it easily compatible with ORMs, has many smaller quirks like jsonb storage, the WITH keyword, and a vast amount of data types. It's also one of the most dynamic DBMS as it releases major changes more than once a year, with an ecosystem that consistently adapts to these versions.

Cons:

Extensions in pgsql could use a bit of streamlining (extensions like pg_cron or similar), which was a bit complicated to do in with CI. Another concern would be some stability issues with the latest pgAdmin database interface, but in all fairness that isn't directly an issue with pgsql.

Jonathan Alexander
Jonathan Alexander
IT infrastructure analyst in Dominican Republic
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A robust database engine for your web projects and platforms

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have used this database to carry out web projects in the health sector and it has been of great help to manage processes and data in a very efficient way and with the best performance that I have seen.

Pros:

What I like most about this database engine is its security, scalability and high performance for the development of platforms and web applications, easy to maintain and manage

Cons:

That I did not like the product, its difficult or complex syntax, sometimes the very tedious query error

Lindokuhle
Developer in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My Go-To RDBMS

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

It is fast, reliable and scalable; the perfect RDBMS in my humble opinion.

Cons:

The learning curve, but even that wasn't actually so bad.

KARTHEKEAN
Senior Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Perfect open source relational DB

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall experience with PostgreSQL is great and it had very little learning curve in moving away from other proprietary DBs.

Pros:

This is perfect replacement for any proprietary relational data bases as it provides most of the features from traditional relational DBs. It helps us in data storage and retrieval with good level of flexibility and performance.

Cons:

Not much as this is used as free or opensource alternative the performance matches very closely to it's paid competitors. Adding in more GUI support tools could be helpful.

Brunei
Brunei
Développeur Full Stack in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

PostgresSQL Review

5.0 last year

Pros:

PostgreSQL is highly regarded for its robustness, scalability, and reliability, making it the perfect choice for businesses looking for a dependable and secure database. It has a wide array of features such as advanced indexing, support for stored procedures and triggers, as well as a wide array of data types, making it ideal for creating complex applications. It also supports an extensive range of languages and tools, making it easy to use for developers and administrators. Additionally, PostgreSQL has high availability and fault tolerance, making it suitable for mission-critical environments. Furthermore, PostgreSQL can be used in the cloud, making it an ideal solution for businesses looking for a reliable and secure database solution.

Cons:

PostgreSQL can be a challenging platform to learn, especially for beginners. Its steep learning curve, complex structure, and lack of user-friendly documentation make it difficult to get started. Furthermore, troubleshooting and debugging can be difficult, causing even more frustration for those just starting out.

Rishikumar
Student in India
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

"PostgreSQL: A Robust and Reliable Database Solution"

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, my experience with PostgreSQL has been positive. It is a robust and reliable database system with advanced features for data management and analysis. The active community and comprehensive documentation make it easy to get started and the software is well-suited for a wide range of applications.

Pros:

PostgreSQL is a powerful and flexible open-source relational database management system. It offers high performance, rich SQL support, and advanced data types, such as arrays, hstore, and JSON. It can be used for a wide range of use cases, from small web applications to large enterprise systems. The active community provides a wealth of resources, tutorials, and support, which helps to easily create custom functions and operators. It also allows scalability, which makes it suitable for handling an increasing amount of data and users. Additionally, it supports ACID properties, which ensures data consistency and integrity in the database. Overall, PostgreSQL is an excellent choice for businesses looking for a powerful and flexible relational database management system, it offers great features that make it a great tool for most of use cases.

Cons:

PostgreSQL is a powerful and versatile open-source database system that offers many advanced features for data management and analysis. Its robust SQL engine and built-in support for advanced data types make it a great choice for a wide range of applications. While the software can be a bit complex to set up and manage for beginners, the comprehensive documentation and active community make it easy to get started. Overall, I highly recommend PostgreSQL for anyone looking for a reliable and feature-rich database solution.

Khelvyn
Khelvyn
Consultor de operaciones de tecnología de la información in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best database managers for the world.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: From my point of view postgreSQL I consider it one of the most powerful database managers, since I use it daily, from my role as a database administrator, as well as a web developer, since it allows to manage environments put into production easily, with an acceptable and intuitive configuration.

Pros:

1164/5000 -Easy installation and configuration in other environments. - Pgadmin management interface of the databases, very intuitive and complete with the necessary to a few clicks, I recommend keeping the graphical tool for the stability it offers. -It has a connection balancer, known as pgpool that allows to manage the cluster structure well. -Principles of replication between active-active or active-passive servers Variety of console-level command options for restore or backup tasks and maintenance tasks -principal manager for developers for the scalability and stability it offers. -Management of free access, which allows the use of it without any problem, without any cost -Ideal manager for the management of relational databases -Allows the management of different versions on the same server with multiple database intentions with different listening ports.

Cons:

- Poor documentation - Functional technicians commonly report a slowness at the BD level, but that depends on how the DB is structured and especially if good database practices are applied

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great, yet not perfect Rdbms

4.0 last year

Comments: I will use it as long it is the best in the marke

Pros:

It supports a wide range of data types, which makes it a great candidate.

Cons:

complex to set up and configure, especially for those new to RDBMS

Muhammad Adil
Muhammad Adil
Technical Analyst in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

PostgreSQL

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: One of the best open source relational database in the market. Large support of data types make it powerful and lots of storage of less schema data. ACID compliant and lock management support.

Pros:

PostgreSQL has a wide support of server operating system e.g. windows, UNIX, Solaris, Linux, FreeBSD, Open BSD and OS X. Large support of APIs like ADO.NET, JDBC, ODBC and native C library which makes it easy to connect with any module. Good support of programming languages as well i.e. C, C++, JAVA, .NET, PHP and Python.

Cons:

Wide support from community but some times its difficult to track any issue and get support. Reading speed is bit low as compared to other DBMS. Documentation is only available in English.

Pasquale
Software Engineer in Switzerland
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spartan, robust

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Using PostgreSQL is hard and sometimes frustrating but once set up it gives sys admins a great peace of mind.

Pros:

I've been using PostgreSQL since 2002. It is not easy to install, deploy and manage compared to other relational database of its class. It is though rock solid, incredibly fast and there are a lot of great features.

Cons:

A modern management system would be very welcome. There have been several attempt to make it more user friendly by honestly none has been successful so far.

Paolo
Software Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Open Source RDBMS by far

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I am a web developer and geospatial analyst. I am using PostgreSQL daily to store spatial datasets using PostGIS, its powerful spatial extension

Pros:

PostgreSQL has been on my tech stack since 2006. It is an impressive open source software, really reliable. I love its PostGIS spatial module, which enables powerful geospatial functions.

Cons:

I like everything and I can't think of something which I don't like. This is by far the best open source RDBMS

Petr
Petr
Developer in Czechia
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Object-relational open source database

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use PostgreSQL mainly for heavy load projects because to high write performance due to its MVCC approach, it largely eliminates the need for locking, and that the database effectively meets ACID principles.

Pros:

Supports functions where the results are suitable for use as with tables. We can define own aggregate and window functions on that. Includes built-in support for B + tree, hash, GiST, GiN and custom index types. Support access using a system known as Multi-Version Concurrency Control (MVCC). Native support for many data types including XML support for Xpath queries or UUID. User defined objects, posibility to create new types of almost all objects in the database.

Cons:

Possible worse performance in read operation.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

PostgreSQL for Database

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

PostgreSQL is one of the most popular choice for Database now and it becomes more popular as many people and companies starting to use it. PostgreSQL has great features and performances, so I'd like to recommend PostgreSQL to those who needs a reliable RDBMS.

Cons:

One thing that i dislike from PostgreSQL is it's hard to setup and install PostgreSQL at the beginning. Especially the syntax and command that PostgreSQL use.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Reliable and performant RDBMS

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

Much better performance and consistency vs other RDBMS, eg MySQL. It doesn't hide the complexity beyond being a DBA, which is kind of a double edged sword.

Cons:

Manual intervention needed for version upgrades, but nothing terrible.

Danny
Danny
Software Engineer in Uruguay
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PostgreSQL is a free and robust relational database management system

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: With PostgreSQL we can manipulate our databases that contain large volumes of data. The main benefit is that it is completely free. Also, there is no limit amount for users that can be added in the administration of the database. Another benefit is that it is compatible with different programming languages.

Pros:

I like PostgreSQL for different reasons: - It has flexible implementation options. - Large volume databases can be stored. - It is possible to have multiple databases on a single server and have different configurations for them. - PostgreSQL is completely free. - Its base language is SQL, making it very easy to manipulate. - It has excellent administration toolkits.

Cons:

I dislike PostgreSQL for different reasons: - I don't like that the more detailed documentation is only available in English. - It has a high CPU consumption.

John
Data Analyst in US
Railroad Manufacture, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amaing SQL Dialect and Database

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Having PostgresSQL has enabled me to streamline development of many data pipelines. Not having to fumble over function parameters because of PostgresSQL's intuitive operations has improved my ease of work.

Pros:

Love this dialect. I find many of the built in function improve experience but simplifying the needs for cryptic code. For example, changing from data type to another data type, one can use the :: operator. This operator is quick and easy to understand.

Cons:

Unfortunately, sometimes code needs to be translated to more standard SQL that would work across multiple dialect. While the built in functions of PostgresSQL has improved my easy of use and because some of these functions are not standard SQL, I find myself having to continue using more cryptic, yet standard, SQL.

George
George
CEO in Spain
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The most advanced open-source database management system

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use PostgreSQL in most of our projects as a primary backend and our experience has been positive.

Pros:

PostgreSQL is one of the most feature-rich, powerful and advanced open-source database management systems. Though this power comes at a cost. Using PostgreSQL in the best possible way takes some time. PostgreSQL is a real beast and it takes time before one becomes fully familiar with it.

Cons:

Even with all the power that PostgreSQL gives, there are certain things that are missing. For example, until the latest versions there was no support for partitioning. Lack of a great graphic admin tool is a con in my opinion. Yes, it's possible to use (and we do) third party tools like DBeaver but a great database system must simply have its own admin GUI.

Juan Carlos
Juan Carlos
Lider de area de desarrollo IA in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The open source db for bussines

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I implemented a Solution on Infonavit the biggest credit giver on México they needed to save AND process data about their clients so I saved all the data on PostgreSQL everything worked like a charm ok PostgreSQL side

Pros:

Free to use Robust technology Reliable Full compatibility with most integrations of AWS , Azure , Google , IBM Gasto , secure Not so hard learning curve Great community Constant upgrades

Cons:

It feels a little bit overwhelming at the beginning Sometimes can be difficult to enable ok servers for the PDO driver