Windward System Five Reviews

by Windward Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Windward System Five

Windward System Five on Cloud is a full business management system for companies that sell, service, or rent inventory.

Learn more about Windward System Five

Showing 147 reviews

Muhammad M.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2016

"Quite reliable"

Comments: We are using this software in our small startup for managing the different operations and till now it is quite reliable and working well. Features are good and the interface is also better. Hope it will help us in doing the different operations like keeping the record in the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2016
Jag S.
Manager
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2015

"Easy software to use, Provides us with lots of quantifiable data"

Comments: User friendly inventory management software to use. It has also shown us analytics of so many different parts of our business that has helped in narrowing our buying and really targeting the products that do well for us. Would recommend to anyone, the customer support has helped us out quite a bit when we're stuck.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2015
Juan carlos C.
Internal Control Coordinator
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/03/2018

"Easy to control your inventory."

Pros: 1. Easy reports.
2. Easy to track what is going on with all your SKUS.
3. The interface is easy and able to use If you don't have to much experince on It.
4. Price is valuable.

Cons: It should be better If It is posible to conect this software to Power BI and all this online tolos that office 360 has.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/03/2018
Michael M.
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2016

"BAD out of the box!!! And they re-nag on the refund aspect"

Comments: Windward software was a complete disaster from original install by them on our server. Required a lot of time from our own staff and each work station to be down for multiple hours. The blank slate install produced errors throughout the program. DO NOT Purchase, period. REALLY do not purchase if you use roll-up accounting for your GL.

Our implementation was halted by Windward themselves due to their program producing errors and crashing.
We were never given true solutions, only band aids and work arounds. If your issues are not a priority, you will wait in the queue while others are dealt with. Upon the demo and trial version, we asked what the refund policy was, we followed the protocol and asked for a refund being that even a clean slate install was producing errors. The long ledger function we required was never working and we were told by our implementation "expert" that we were on our own using long ledger. They have refused refund, despite us having emails from the sales person before completing the transaction stating we would be entitled. We have tried to pursue legal action. Again, stay away from Windward Software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2016
Kevin M.
Operations Manager
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2014

"Great product straight out of the box!"

Comments: My company has used the Windward software since 2006 and we have been very impressed with its short learning curve for new employees and powerful reporting system for the back-office. Compared to our previous customized software, Windward has saved us time and money at POS, EOM reporting, inventory controls and vendor/customer maintenance. Windward has been an extremely dependable product and we are very pleased with their support. Pro: No software customization needed for our company. Everything worked right out of the box.
Cons: They were a little hard to find and had limited user reviews when we were doing our research back in 2004-2005. I wish we would have made the move a year or two earlier.
**Bonus**
The employee time sheets, rental module and training database are great for our multi-location company. We run 1 distribution center and 4 retail stores with this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2014
Larry H.
CFO and Owner
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/01/2021

"We rely on Windward System 5 every day for our business"

Comments: Generally, our experience with WW implementation has been very favorable. We have been using the software now for 3 months and, after WW helps us to get a few kinks ironed out with the software, we will be very happy with the software.

Pros: The cloud-based system is easy to access and use on a daily basis.

Cons: The program lacks in the accounting and reporting area. Daily closeout and accounting reports are difficult to work with if you are using an outside accounting package.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/01/2021
Fj H.
Managing Director
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2018

"Don’t, just don’t"

Comments: Staff and customer service who don’t care once you have transferred your funds.
Issues will be addressed in a timeframe that will not only frustrate but will cost your company from making money or being able to grow.
This company has a terrible attitude and software package that has become so unstable windows 95 has become jealous.

Pros: Finding new and interesting and better software after being driven to the brink of insanity from a under performing, under maintained and un stable product.

Cons: Updates, did I mention updates, they don’t work, they simply fail, it’s like gambling when you update, will the software work tomorrow.... probably not.

Vendor Response

by Ben on 12/03/2018

We are sorry to hear that you have encountered issues with our Windward System Five product. Upon close review of your file, I can confirm with you that the three software bugs that you identified were efficiently addressed and have been corrected in a short time frame. Our customer service department and your Account Manager have reached out to you on multiple occasions to notify you of this solution and to complete a software update such that you may operate the corrected version; however, we have not been able to reach you nor have we heard back from you. Please contact your Account Manager, Joleen, at +1 (800) 663-5750 at your earliest convenience and we will certainly work with you to ensure that your updated version is installed correctly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2018
Jeremy M.
General Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2017

"We've been using this software for 8 years and couldn't be happier with it. Support is incredible!"

Pros: Even though Winward has great customer support. They have video tutorials and online support that make it easy to learn new aspects of the software.

Cons: As we are on the extreme east coast of Canada our time zones are mis-matched with the head office in British Columbia.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2017
Jeremy P.
General Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017

"Too new to the retail firearm area and lacking basic reports needed"

Pros: There are many options as far as some reports go. I like that the bound book and point of sale software is linked together, that's the best thing about it.

Cons: There are still many reports and functionalities of this that don't function properly. Customer service is not good.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017
Mark C.
Vice President
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2017

"software is OK. tech support is THE WORST!"

Comments: OK POS system
works OK for our business

Pros: easy to install
works as advertised, barely
customize able with difficulty
stable to run
small footprint on system

Cons: hard to update
bug fixes are non-existant
tech support is worthless
security isn't worth
sales team never calls back EXCEPT for payments

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2017
Verified Reviewer
General Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017

"Straight forward to use. Does not seem to have limitations to business growth."

Comments: better control of inventory and sales.

Pros: Visually appealing and easy on the eyes. Is very robust and functional. Implementation following Windward recommended practice is seamless.

Cons: It has so many features, one often feels like your not making the most of the program. It is sometimes slow to compile lists.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017
Jason H.
President
Automotive, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2017

"Runs my business for me."

Pros: Inventory capabilities, Daily reporting, Reorder process, all make my daily job much easier. Could not ask for more, and if I do Windward adds the function.

Cons: Overseas tech service, outside hardware integration (i.e. credit card readers), it works flawless until you try and make a big change like that, however lots of times its not windward's fault but that of the processor like Microsoft.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2017
Bruce G.
Co Owner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017

"Overall a very versatile product!"

Comments: Having a true view of the numbers on all levels of the business.

Pros: They've made reporting very simple to really dive into the numbers. The inventory side of things has made it a breeze to keep track of inventory as a great feature is costs vs landed costs.

Cons: They online feature is outdated and not mobile friendly for today's marketplace. The actual software would be great to have availability for web based.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017
Kristofer K.
Store Manager
Furniture, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2017

"Overall experience has been very good. A very reliable system with little to no freezing."

Pros: I like the speed of use and all the options for inventory. The point of sale side is pretty straight forward. The customer support is great, always helpful and very fast. It has features that could be great.

Cons: What I like least is the back side of it is not as user friendly. Feels like you need to have a degree in programming when trying to setup printing forms. Setup wizard could use simpler terms.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2017
Shantel W.
Office manager
Business Supplies & Equipment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2017

"Been using this system for 5 years now. Such potential, but a disappointment in customer service."

Comments: It has worked out well for our business. It has been relatively user friendly, easy to learn and train others on, and it does everything we need it to.

Pros: I like how it is inventory control and accounting integrated into one system. The system has great abilities.

Cons: My biggest complaint about the software is the lack of customer service. Prompt customer service is key. Prompt service seldom happens and at time I feel I know more about the system than the person I'm on the phone with.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2017
Stephen B.
Owner
Sporting Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017

"They follow up any concerns promptly. Realistic software that works, does what it's claimed to do."

Comments: Time and insight.

Pros: We can run our whole business from it. A consistent interface across all areas helped with the initial and inevitable hugh learning curve. The online Webinars, manuals and training videos allow us to get the most out of our investment

Cons: It's so comprehensive and covers so many scenarios with alternate ways of doing things through its cusostimizable settings. Implementation requires a massive commitment of time and resources

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017
Gary G.
General Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017

"Fabulous inventory control and with the touch screens very easy to use"

Comments: Far better inventory control, web integration in process and we must absolutely compliment the tech support team. Their response is generally very quick and knowledgable.

Pros: We love the integration with our payment processing, easy cash balancing, multiple warehouses and the speed of reporting.

Cons: Not as strong on sales reporting as we would like...though I am told it is coming???? The lack of ability to compare year to year sales through vendors and drill down to the various products is a big one for us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017
Ian K.
Director
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/09/2017

"I have a 8 user licence. Many bugs and some functionality falls short. As if they did not think the whole process through properly. Financial side is very cumbersome. I am looking for alternate solutions."

Comments: Read all the reviews. This software could really be good if it was finished strong and some further thought was applied to the processes. It seems 80% complete with shortfalls in many areas. Financials are just not suitable for our size of business. It takes 4x the amount of time to complete a task compared to QB. My accountants find this aspect frustrating. They really should offer an integration with QB for those who want it. It feels like they are trying to cover too much in this software. I have some tickets on issues and bugs for over 3 months now and they still have not been completed. Of what I know now, I would not have purchased this software. I am looking for alternate software.

Pros: The sales aspect is good. POS is acceptable. Easy to find a product and sell it. Kits work well. Reporting is somewhat good. Support tries to resolve issues.

Cons: Financials - If you are serious about your business, this is not for you. It is not comparable to Quick books. They have flatly refused to integrate with QB. Their financial side scores a 1/10. The Multi currency module is full of promise but has many problems and bugs like display and operational issues. You have to be very careful when dealing with multi-currency. Procurement is quite basic and could have been thought through more. No real science or maths behind ordering so you better know your high, lows, trends etc. Some aspects are good but fall short in some areas. They state they are PCI compliant but fall short on monthly account payments. There is a work around but wastes time. If you do job cards or outwork, this is a challenge and you have to invent your own internal systems. Not sure on stock value integrity? Stock take process could have some enhancements to make it quicker for the user.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/09/2017
Russell S.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2018

"Not the company they used to be"

Comments: Tech support, unless you are down, may take days. Wasn't always that way. I used to praise them. I lost a feature to my program due to a bug problem....1 year later it is fixed but requires another upgrade to get it back. Worst thing I had to call to find out it was fixed even though I had an open support ticket for over a year

Pros: Very versatile, seemed to be the best for lawn and garden industry when I bought it over 10 years ago. Overall it works great.

Cons: Bug fixes can take months to fix and you could lose basic software features until next upgrade. 10 years ago it wasnt that way.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2018
Gord H.
Owner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2017

"Using Windward software for our small business has saved hours of time"

Comments: Improved inventory management and tracking of customer service orders

Pros: We like the way we can track service and parts for our customers and how the point of sale system tracks our inventory

Cons: The payroll module isn't as easy to use as the point of sale module and fine tuning forms can be very confusing

Vendor Response

by Windward Software on 06/11/2017

Hi Gord -- Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate it. We're happy to hear that you are pleased with Windward System Five!

In terms of operating the Payroll Module more efficiently, please contact your Account Manager at +1 (800) 663-5750 to register for The Windward Learning Academy. This online training resource will show you all the tips and tricks to operate Payroll more efficiently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2017
Nicole S.
Finance Administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2017

"Windward can't do that, but let's try to come up with a "Workaround" for you...."

Comments: Headaches

Pros: I like the ability to special order a product on a work order and have it directly linked to the purchase order. Great for tracking an item through.

Cons: INVENTORY!!!! There is no direct link between the inventory sub-ledger and the ledger. There is no transaction list of what is recorded in the sub-ledger, so balancing inventory and determining where an outage may have occurred is a long, tedious process that involves tracking every purchase order received, bill, work order and invoice put into the system. Implementing the software is very time consuming and self-regulated. Enhancements to the software can be requested if your company agrees to pay for the programming time to develop it.

Vendor Response

by Windward Software on 03/11/2017

Hi Nicole. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback with regards to Windward System Five.

Glad to hear that you are finding our Special Order Tracking feature useful; it's a popular one among many of our clients.

In terms of your concerns, upon review, it appears that there are, in fact, methods of solving some of the issues you are experiencing through existing product functionality. We encourage you to contact your Account Manager at +1 (800) 663-5750 to become registered for The Windward Learning Academy. This comprehensive online resource of easy-to-use product tutorials clearly demonstrates the most efficient means to use System Five by feature and scenario.

In addition, we value your feedback in terms of custom enhancements. In some cases, with requested enhancements that only pertain to a very small subset of our clients, at least a portion of this development work may be billed. Widely beneficial enhancements are completed in future releases at no fee.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2017
Jennifer L.
owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017

"This software is the most in depth software program we have found."

Comments: The best benefit is being able to control inventory.

Pros: It tracks model and serial numbers of appliances for customers and stores the details. Easy to use.

Cons: Set up was a little hard just because you had to create every outstanding work order you already had and every inventory item you have and when you are dealing with appliances, furniture, mattresses, and appliance parts it was a lot to do. The system upgrades and up front costs are somewhat pricey.

Vendor Response

by Windward Software on 08/11/2017

Thank you, Jennifer, for taking the time to provide a review of your experiences with Windward System Five; we appreciate your feedback!

We are working diligently to provide advanced solutions to ease the initial data load for non-digital records, and continue to provide expert implementation to quickly port data for existing digital records.

All of us at Windward Software look forward to continuing to serve you in the future. If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact your Account Manager at any time: +1 (800) 663-5750.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017
Ralph M.
STORE MANAGER
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2017

"Customizable to a variety of business types. Fairly easy to use and learn the basics."

Comments: One software that we can use for the front end of the business and the back.

Pros: I like being able to customize buttons at the cash registers and change them seasonally as we are a garden center and our products do change drastically with the seasons.
Customer support is always very helpful and has fixed most issues that I have had in the past.
We make our nursery signs, labels, and a variety of different types of price tags within System Five. No need for another program as we did need one in the past.
I have not used them yet but having webinars and a learning area available to us is an excellent way to get more out of our software.

Cons: Customer tech support is very good, however I think that it is a bit expensive annually.
The label and form designers work but do not seem to be what you see is what you get. It takes a little finessing to create a label that fits your media properly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2017
Jim P.
President
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/01/2017

"Windward- Success for Power Equipment, Construction Supplies and Rental"

Comments: We have been using System 5 since 2003. The system has scaled to our operation as we grow. The accounting side is robust and handles all our AP- AR- and General Ledger needs. Purchasing is fully automated. Billing customers can be fully modified with "Types" and "subTypes" to keep the status of orders updated and classified. Our inventory and product locations have been controlled and managed with the Advanced Inventory Control. The system is constantly being improved with fixes and new features multiple times per month. The database is rock solid. After 14 years, we never have had data corruption requiring the loading of a backup. All our employees depend on the info from system 5 to make decisions and give customers information. The ability to customize and provide information to users is endless and grows each year. We have used the barcode function and have 40,000 SKUs barcoded and labeled. We have even barcoded our rental equipment. We rely on this system for everything and for 14 years it has been bulletproof. Because we sell, service and rent serialized equipment, the "UNIT" way of handling things is great. Provides cost, service and income information.

Pros: We could not run our business without the information and order that the system provides!
1. Ease of use- Everything is in one program
2. Total integration- We don't need to transfer data to another program like QuickBooks
3. Strong Accounting, Control, and reports- Ability to customize GL and P&L format and multiple years.
4. Hundreds of pre-built Reports- We rarely do custom
5. Ability to create custom reports
6. Barcoding and Barcode printing- Couldn't live without it
7. Integrated Credit card Processing-Vantiv- Saves errors and time
8. Moves easily from desktop to desktop - configures easily when replacing stations
9. Weekly online training to learn features.
10 Responsive support staff who find the answers to any questions.
11. Ability to attach pictures and documents.
12. Unit history on serialized items.
13. Automated output of data, pictures pricing and descriptions to our Website

Cons: Probably not really a con But there are so many features available, it take some time to learn and put them into daily practice. The rest are just enhancements we'd like to see !! First, We would like to see the RMA system simplified. Second, we would like to see the E-commerce platform developed more. We are using it now for our website, but we would like to see more features and search options. Third, we would like to see the Timecard function developed and enhanced. Fourth, we would like to see the offering of more credit card processing options. Fifth, we would like the ability to attach PDF's to items, instead of JPG. But all in all, the system works really well!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/01/2017
Colin M.
Inside Sales and Marketing
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2017

"I depend on Windward every day for my role in sales and marketing. I couldn't do my job without it!"

Comments: It's integral to my role in the company. In fact everyone in our company uses Windward on a daily basis. We use it in every aspect of our product based business from order processing, to sales, management, warranty, accounting and inventory management.

Pros: I like the ability to generate custom sales reports so I can see who my top dealer accounts are, and which accounts I need to incentivize. I need to quickly check stock of products in all four of our warehouse locations, and when a product is out of stock, I need to be able to quickly see what's been ordered and when we are expecting it to arrive at our warehouses. In a "just in time delivery" business world like ours, giving customers an accurate ETA can mean the difference between closing the sale and not closing it. As a sales manager, I like to look at what the top selling products are by customer and by regions. I like to review our sales trends month by month and year by year, and see where we need to improve. I also need to see the full financial picture of sales, cost of goods sold and company expenses, to make sure we continue to run a streamlined operation and remain competitive in a constantly changing marketplace. Windward's reporting features are excellent in this regard. Windward is an extremely powerful and feature packed program. It does everything we need to run our business, from accounting to sales; order processing to invoicing; warranty claims and product returns; and generating reports that all levels of management can use to efficiently run their department, or the whole company. In summary, Windward is an extremely comprehensive program that is well suited to our product-based business.

Cons: Like any feature packed program, intuitive menus are critical to accessing all the nuances of the software. Most of power software programs leave something to be desired in the area of intuitive interfaces. Windward is no exception to this. Thus, task specific training modules and quick customer support is of utmost importance to users being able to shorten the learning curve when expanding their knowledge of Windward.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2017