Excellent Tool for Calculating and Estimating Route Mileage

Reviewed on 05/03/2019
Adam S.
Master Scheduler
Packaging & Containers, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We use PC*MILER on a daily basis to calculate and estimate route mileage in a strategic modeling tool that we utilize for our network. PC*MILER saves us literally hours of time and I don't think our strategic modeling tool would be nearly as effective without it.

Pros: What I like most about PC*MILER is that it can be integrated into Microsoft Excel, which makes it easy to calculate and estimate route distances for large amounts of data.

Cons: There's not much to dislike about the PC*MILER since it does everything I need it to do, but my only complaint might be that it was a little difficult to install the Excel add-in. However, once it was installed and up and running there have been no issues.

Good; but....

Reviewed on 05/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Quality & Claims Administrator
Mining & Metals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Decent program. The thing that keeps us coming back is the ability to save routes that we use weekly and not have to continuously run them over and over again and it also saves the pricing per mile. If it weren’t for that, we might just use Google maps to do the same thing for free.

Pros: Pretty easy to use. Moving the routes around is fairly easy. Plugging in stops on a route is very simple and then it will order then for you. If you need to change the order, it’s simple to do.

Cons: Customizing pricing and routes can get a little confusing. It’s not impossible or even infuriating. Just not as simple as you may like it to be.

Great Program

Reviewed on 10/09/2019
Mark P.
Logistics Coordinator
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I could not put a value on this program.
That is how pivotal this program is to my life on a daily basis.

Pros: If you work in the trucking industry this is a must have tool.
You can work out the mileage on a 10 stop load if you needed.
It gives you the miles and toll totals.

Cons: It's only because it is a part of our internal system, but the program times out after about 2 hours.

PC*Miler Review

Reviewed on 06/02/2017
David B.
Director of Logistics Engineering and Consulting
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I've been using PC*Miler for more than 20 years, starting with their earliest versions to today current release and have found them essential to the logistics analyzes I perform daily. They do a great job of continuously upgrading their products with meaningful changes and enhancements.

Pros: The product is easy to use and very intuitive.

Cons: Icons on toolbar need updating.

use this program daily and its always a perfect match for my needs.

Reviewed on 21/02/2018
Catherine F.
accounting admin
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: expensive program if you have to buy it alone without a package or program with it installed on already. would use this alone without any program if less expensive

Pros: easy to use. no instructions needed, every thing straight forward and right there on one screen no flipping back and forth for the miles and hours you need

Good mileage lookup tool in the trucking industry.

Reviewed on 05/12/2017
Michael B.
IT Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Standardized with many different vendors and customers. Accurate mileage and ties in with other software we use.

Cons: New versions come out frequently and the mileages change. different customers and vendors use different versions spanning years.

Everyday Essential

Reviewed on 08/01/2019
Caleb C.
Senior Carrier sales manager
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Exact Miles, Adding Multiple stops, Toll Roads and Fees, Calculates fuel. This software does it all!

Cons: Nothing. The older versions had bugs but the latest release i use every single day

Love this Product

Reviewed on 16/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Safety Director
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This product is GREAT! We use this everyday, and really wouldn't want to function with out it.

Pros: Easy to use. Great for the permits and routing.

Cons: The Cost. To expensive for multi users.

Better than Google

Reviewed on 11/11/2018
Elizabeth I.
Client Support Representative
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: PC Miler keeps me informed on the routes our trucks must go in order to not have any issues, ie low bridges. This helps for planning trip cost.

Pros: This product is better than google maps at giving truck routes and route miles in planning truck routes.

Cons: The only issue that I have had with PC Miler is that it crashes occasionally.

Great product for our company

Reviewed on 24/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Account Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: PC Miler is perfect for our transportation company. It integrates with our software program for billing and mileage.

Cons: At times, it takes a while for PC Miler to load or open on the computer. I do not have it open all of the time.

PC*Miler has been a staple for transportation routes and fuel tax all my time in business.

Reviewed on 08/08/2017
Gregg C.
Document Controls Lead
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: This software is simple to navigate and the frequent updates keep your road and fuel tax info always current.

Cons: As a long time industry leader this company has made a superb product. I have no bad things to say about there service, support, or staff.

Excellent Routing Software for your transportation needs

Reviewed on 02/02/2019
Jeff D.
IT
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Clear and concise mapping options. Numerous add-on to fullfil your routing needs such as Haz-mat, Streets, Zip Codes both US and Canada. Very reliable APIs for integration into home grown software and 3rd applications. Updated regularly to stay current with updated roadways and potential pitfalls.

Cons: Add-ons can get pricey as many used to be included in the base product but have been rolled out into separate modules over the past 8 or so years. Licensing is fairly expensive.

It gives very accurate mileage and integrates very well with top systems with ease accurate billing

Reviewed on 10/05/2018
Francis M.
program trainer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: It is simple easy to use and direct .It helps reduce fuel cost by getting rid rouge routes. Assist monitoring driver behavior breaking and acceleration.

Cons: Very expensive to acquire especially for short term purposes and the icons need to be re designed and updates take a lot of time and bandwidth.

Know your miles!

Reviewed on 05/09/2019
Brandon R.
Sales
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall, I trust this to get mileage to price FTL lanes.

Pros: It's a great tool to know how many actual miles should be charged for a certain full truckload lane.

Cons: It doesn't always give accurate routing for certain lanes which can be confusing or cause wrong mileage for a rate.

Easy to Use Mileage Calculation Tool

Reviewed on 21/08/2018
Adam S.
Master Scheduler
Packaging & Containers, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I use PC Miler occasionally when I need to calculate the distance between multiple locations in Excel, and it works great and has all of the functionality I need.

Pros: The thing I like most about PC Miler is the integration into Microsoft Excel which makes it possible to easily calculate the distance between two locations within spreadsheet using formulas.

Cons: I mainly use PC Miler to calculate distances between locations in Excel and the functionality is pretty straight forward and it works well, so there's not really anything to dislike about the software.

PC Miler is right on point

Reviewed on 13/01/2017
Matthew B.
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I use PC*MILER to map out lines and find the best routes for my loads. It is usually right on point every so often there are hiccups as with any software. There are times when the zip code or postal codes are not recognized but those are few and far between. Overall a very good tool to use for anyone in the transport industry.

Accurate Mileage

Reviewed on 04/10/2016
David H.
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: We operate a 3rd party logistics company. We use the online version of PC Miler. It is accurate and helps us with our pricing and routing of shipments.