15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About PC*MILER

Industry standard commercial routing and mileage software for rating, billing, and driver pay.

Learn more about PC*MILER

Pros:

PC MIler is straight forward and easy to use. If you work in the transportation industry on the dispatch and tracking side, then you are familiar with this program.

Cons:

Customizing pricing and routes can get a little confusing. It’s not impossible or even infuriating.

PC*MILER ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

PC*MILER has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 24 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used PC*MILER before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (24)

Adam
Adam
Master Scheduler in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Packaging & Containers, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Tool for Calculating and Estimating Route Mileage

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use PC*MILER on a daily basis to calculate and estimate route mileage in a strategic modeling tool that we utilize for our network. PC*MILER saves us literally hours of time and I don't think our strategic modeling tool would be nearly as effective without it.

Pros:

What I like most about PC*MILER is that it can be integrated into Microsoft Excel, which makes it easy to calculate and estimate route distances for large amounts of data.

Cons:

There's not much to dislike about the PC*MILER since it does everything I need it to do, but my only complaint might be that it was a little difficult to install the Excel add-in. However, once it was installed and up and running there have been no issues.

Frank
Project Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Trucking Software

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: PC Miler is specific to the trucking industry allowing us to know the directions we receive are truck approved. We no longer are burdened with additional work to confirm all routes are truck approved. This saves us time and money!

Pros:

Being designed for the trucking industry it know where trucks are allowed and where they are not.

Cons:

It is an excellent tool, but it is a pretty basic tool compared to other routing software currently available.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Mining & Metals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good; but....

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Decent program. The thing that keeps us coming back is the ability to save routes that we use weekly and not have to continuously run them over and over again and it also saves the pricing per mile. If it weren’t for that, we might just use Google maps to do the same thing for free.

Pros:

Pretty easy to use. Moving the routes around is fairly easy. Plugging in stops on a route is very simple and then it will order then for you. If you need to change the order, it’s simple to do.

Cons:

Customizing pricing and routes can get a little confusing. It’s not impossible or even infuriating. Just not as simple as you may like it to be.

Ryan
Fleet Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Game Changer

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with PC Miler has been a good one. I highly recommend it.

Pros:

PC MIler is straight forward and easy to use. If you work in the transportation industry on the dispatch and tracking side, then you are familiar with this program.

Cons:

There is nothing that I dislike about PC Miler. It is industry leading for a reason. Google maps may be good in a pinch, but nothing can compare to the accuracy of PC Miler.

Daniel
Daniel
IT Manager in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great to use, easy to setup

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall very positive with some bumps along the way.

Pros:

Super easy to setup, users are able to share routes and trips. Very intuitive and accurate. Makes sure trucks stay on truck routes. Integrates with TMS programs easily for accurate Fuel Tax Info.

Cons:

Pay for each new version. Very dependent on microsoft .net, which causes periodic errors with updates.

Mark
Logistics Coordinator in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Program

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I could not put a value on this program.
That is how pivotal this program is to my life on a daily basis.

Pros:

If you work in the trucking industry this is a must have tool. You can work out the mileage on a 10 stop load if you needed. It gives you the miles and toll totals.

Cons:

It's only because it is a part of our internal system, but the program times out after about 2 hours.

Jagjit
President in Canada
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Most popular route planner in trucking

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

- Easy to download and use - Gives to best and fast truck routes - Preferred by drivers, trucking companies and customers - Keep getting updated according to new construction changes

Cons:

- This is a paid applications only, no free app.

Catherine
accounting admin in Canada
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

use this program daily and its always a perfect match for my needs.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: expensive program if you have to buy it alone without a package or program with it installed on already. would use this alone without any program if less expensive

Pros:

easy to use. no instructions needed, every thing straight forward and right there on one screen no flipping back and forth for the miles and hours you need

Caleb
Caleb
Senior Carrier sales manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Everyday Essential

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Exact Miles, Adding Multiple stops, Toll Roads and Fees, Calculates fuel. This software does it all!

Cons:

Nothing. The older versions had bugs but the latest release i use every single day

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
Client Support Representative in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Better than Google

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: PC Miler keeps me informed on the routes our trucks must go in order to not have any issues, ie low bridges. This helps for planning trip cost.

Pros:

This product is better than google maps at giving truck routes and route miles in planning truck routes.

Cons:

The only issue that I have had with PC Miler is that it crashes occasionally.

David
Director of Logistics Engineering and Consulting in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PC*Miler Review

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I've been using PC*Miler for more than 20 years, starting with their earliest versions to today current release and have found them essential to the logistics analyzes I perform daily. They do a great job of continuously upgrading their products with meaningful changes and enhancements.

Pros:

The product is easy to use and very intuitive.

Cons:

Icons on toolbar need updating.

Michael
IT Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good mileage lookup tool in the trucking industry.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Standardized with many different vendors and customers. Accurate mileage and ties in with other software we use.

Cons:

New versions come out frequently and the mileages change. different customers and vendors use different versions spanning years.

Harry
President in Canada
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best truck route finder

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

- Best truck route finder to avoid low bridge, toll routes, avoid traffic and construction. - Hepls to pay the drivers

Cons:

- Little expensive, as there are also free softwares available

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Love this Product

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This product is GREAT! We use this everyday, and really wouldn't want to function with out it.

Pros:

Easy to use. Great for the permits and routing.

Cons:

The Cost. To expensive for multi users.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Logistics & Supply Chain, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect for transportation routing

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use this to calculate transit times between shipping and receiving locations.

Pros:

Good tool that assists in the routing selections of different transportation modes. Also factors in other variables.

Cons:

This is a very complex tool and is quite cumbersome. Some of the parameter settings need to be adjusted frequently.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product for our company

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

PC Miler is perfect for our transportation company. It integrates with our software program for billing and mileage.

Cons:

At times, it takes a while for PC Miler to load or open on the computer. I do not have it open all of the time.

Gregg
Document Controls Lead in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PC*Miler has been a staple for transportation routes and fuel tax all my time in business.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

This software is simple to navigate and the frequent updates keep your road and fuel tax info always current.

Cons:

As a long time industry leader this company has made a superb product. I have no bad things to say about there service, support, or staff.

Jeff
IT in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Routing Software for your transportation needs

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Clear and concise mapping options. Numerous add-on to fullfil your routing needs such as Haz-mat, Streets, Zip Codes both US and Canada. Very reliable APIs for integration into home grown software and 3rd applications. Updated regularly to stay current with updated roadways and potential pitfalls.

Cons:

Add-ons can get pricey as many used to be included in the base product but have been rolled out into separate modules over the past 8 or so years. Licensing is fairly expensive.

francis
program trainer in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It gives very accurate mileage and integrates very well with top systems with ease accurate billing

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It is simple easy to use and direct .It helps reduce fuel cost by getting rid rouge routes. Assist monitoring driver behavior breaking and acceleration.

Cons:

Very expensive to acquire especially for short term purposes and the icons need to be re designed and updates take a lot of time and bandwidth.

Brandon
Sales in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Know your miles!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, I trust this to get mileage to price FTL lanes.

Pros:

It's a great tool to know how many actual miles should be charged for a certain full truckload lane.

Cons:

It doesn't always give accurate routing for certain lanes which can be confusing or cause wrong mileage for a rate.

Adam
Adam
Master Scheduler in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Packaging & Containers, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to Use Mileage Calculation Tool

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I use PC Miler occasionally when I need to calculate the distance between multiple locations in Excel, and it works great and has all of the functionality I need.

Pros:

The thing I like most about PC Miler is the integration into Microsoft Excel which makes it possible to easily calculate the distance between two locations within spreadsheet using formulas.

Cons:

I mainly use PC Miler to calculate distances between locations in Excel and the functionality is pretty straight forward and it works well, so there's not really anything to dislike about the software.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Extremely helpful

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: As stated above, The software has helped to reduce costs and improve efficiencies.

Pros:

This tool has been pivotal for mapping distances and creating analyses regarding transit times and cost reductions

Cons:

I don’t have any major complaints about this product. I wish there had been a better tutorial when I first started using it

Matthew
Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

PC Miler is right on point

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: I use PC*MILER to map out lines and find the best routes for my loads. It is usually right on point every so often there are hiccups as with any software. There are times when the zip code or postal codes are not recognized but those are few and far between. Overall a very good tool to use for anyone in the transport industry.

David
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Accurate Mileage

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: We operate a 3rd party logistics company. We use the online version of PC Miler. It is accurate and helps us with our pricing and routing of shipments.