15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Legal Files

Legal Files matter management is ideal for corporations, universities, governmental agencies and insurance companies.

Learn more about Legal Files

Pros:

It is user friendly, easy to learn. You can totally go paperless with this software which saves you money and time.

Cons:

So IT needs some time to devote to it. But once installed, there are no errors or usage issues.

Legal Files ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Legal Files has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 23 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (23)

Sort by

Have you used Legal Files before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (23)

Jillian
Jillian
Staff Attorney in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Legal Files

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

the new web based platform is easy to use and works anywhere.

Cons:

In the web based version you can't open multiple windows at once.

Estela
Legal Assistant in US
Higher Education, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Legal Files Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The organization of Legal Files is outstanding.

Pros:

It is user friendly, easy to learn. You can totally go paperless with this software which saves you money and time.

Cons:

When transferring information from one file to another, it is difficult to transfer emails, you have to do them 1 at a time which is time consuming. It would be very nice if LF can figure out a way to be able to transfer a bulk of emails at a time. Thank you.

L. Eowyn
L. Eowyn
ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTOR in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MEH

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: IT GOT US THROUGH UNTIL WE FOUND SOMETHING BETTER.

Pros:

IT WAS KIND OF MEDIOCRE FOR EVERYTHING. IT SYNCED WELL WITH MICROSOFT OFFICE PRODUCTS AND ADOBE ACROBAT.

Cons:

SO DIFFICULT TO LEARN/USE (I AM PRETTY TECH SAVVY). TERRIBLE REPORTING.

Legal Files Software Response

5 years ago

Thank you for being a customer of Legal Files for 10 years. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was less than satisfactory. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you personally to address any issues that we may be able to rectify. We value our partnerships with our customers and aim to provide top-notch customer service. We provide training services at the outset of every relationship and encourage refresher courses. The members of our training and project management teams offer more than a decade of experience with the company. Each individual welcomes the opportunity to help customize the software to our customer's needs. We wish your law firm success moving forward. We thank you for your feedback and will take your comments into consideration as we further refine our product for the tens of thousands of users who benefit from using Legal Files on a daily basis.

Angela
Executive District Administrator in US
Law Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Program

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We have had Legal Files since 1999 and I can't imagine how I would have been able to accomplish all that I do in any given day without Legal Files. It has helped us tremendously to work as one unit even though we are in 22 offices. As a manager, not always on the scene, it is detrimental for me to be able to access any information I need and it lets me do that without being in the office.

Steven
Staff Attorney in US
Government Administration, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Legal Files has provided a valuable tool for our agency

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Leal Files as a product and the customer support has been excellent.

Pros:

The functions including the drop box from Outlook

Cons:

documents are not arranged chronologically so it is difficult to find the most recent version.

Susana
Analyst in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Everything done.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Extremely useful in the legal field. It takes time to learn how to use it, but once you get the hang of it it's amazing. The reminders are excellent and you can send reminders to others.

Cons:

Learning curve. However, you need to think of it as a paper file with the different tabs . It takes some time to learn how to use it but it's great.

James C.
James C.
Attorney in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Useful put clunky

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall it gets the job done, providing essential filing services that can be shared across users and permits a variety of important controls.

Pros:

Many features of this software are useful to the practice of law. It loads documents, tracks clients, tallies hours and more.

Cons:

However, it is not intuitive and requires significant amount of time to learn the system compared to other software. The interface is also a bit dated, looking like something from Windows XP rather than modern day softward.

Zia
Sr Systems Analyst in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

You will not find another product in the market to track your audit/legal needs

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Our Corporate Compliance uses this app for corporate compliance issue tracking/matter management

Pros:

1. It runs on multiple DBs 2. Customer Service is great 3. On site Training is included 4. Easy to learn and use 5. It is error free once installed.

Cons:

1. User Interface is a little oldish and although can be easily assimilated & understood, is not 21st century 2. Every installation is customized. So IT needs some time to devote to it. But once installed, there are no errors or usage issues.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

if you have a legal practice... you need to try this software

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

what I like the most about this software is that it facilitates our teamwork at the office because every document of every case we handle is available to everyone in the office so you don´t need to send them anything, they just need to get use to the software.

Cons:

At the beggining it was not easy to understand all the features of the software but as everything it was just about time to get used to it.

Michal
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Does Everything, But at a Cost

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Legal Files is definitely extremely capable software. It is very field-dense, allowing users to keep track of an extremely large amount of data. It does almost everything a law firm needs to have done by practice management software. However, Legal Files needs to be set up correctly to get the maximum benefit of the features. This requires paying the Legal Files support staff (likely) or having someone in-house who knows or can quickly learn the software well enough to do set up (not likely). Firms must also be willing to put in the time necessary to learn the software to get the benefit of the many features. Firms without a culture of innovation may struggle to learn Legal Files well enough to use the features for which they purchased it. Additionally, Legal Files is not cheap software. I do not think it is overpriced for what you get, but it does require a substantial up-front investment for software, training, support (billed separately every year), and either an in-house or virtual server. The fact it is server based makes it less adaptable as firm size fluctuates than cloud-based software.

Marry
Deigner in Ukraine
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best Legal Software

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use, detailed consultation, constant help from the manager

Cons:

There is nothing in program that I could not like.

Debbie
Paralegal in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Dedicated user since June 2011 and familiar with the software since 2007.

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: Pros: Immediate access to documents by any assigned user (in or out of the office). Our office is trying (and succeeding) to go paperless, so LF allows us to do so the majority of the time. The ease of closing a file in LF is both time-saving and money-saving with off-site storage fees eliminated for 90% of our files. Cons: Would very much like to see improvements in indexing methods (electronic tabbing, if you will) for final/executed documents when there are multiples; i.e., real estate closings (sales, deeds, affidavits, etc.) or litigation (pleadings, briefs, etc.).
I need to remind myself to get up from my desk now that we have Legal Files, because everything is at my fingertips at the touch of the keyboard - no need to go to the filing cabinet, etc.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very functional program for small to medium sized law firms

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Outlook integration is key. Additionally, I found Legal Files did not overwhelm the user, which makes it perfect for small to medium sized law firms. Larger law firms may want more complex feeling programs.

Cons:

I found functionality was not consistent across the various forms of the platform (i.e. web vs PC)

Eyüp
Industrial Engineer in Türkiye
Financial Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Legal Files EO

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very nice software to do more work in less time

Pros:

I did not get any errors after performing the installation. It's nice that it can work across multiple databases as well.

Cons:

It's not an easy software to learn, to be honest. The interface should also be renewed, it looks very old now

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good software for law firms

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The features that connect the software to Outlook are very useful.

Cons:

Not everything is very intuitive about the software. Less experienced computer users have a hard time with it.

Brett
Associate General Counsel in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great software and great service

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: I have worked with Legal Files software at two different companies now. I find it to be easy to use and very good for keeping our documents and matters organized. The integration with Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Word, and Adobe Acrobat is seamless. In addition, whenever I have had occasion to work with their trainers and customer service personnel, they have been very knowledgeable and helpful. I highly recommend Legal Files.

Deborah
Firm Administrator in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Easy to use & does everything we need

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: We've been using Legal Files for many years, and even the new staff members take to it quickly. It handles any type of case. I am a law firm administrator and so what I like about it personally is that I can customize it myself. Our lawyers really like that they can access Legal Files from anywhere and are crazy about the iPad app. And, we all love the fact that we can save email directly to case files.

Shirley Taft
Legal Administrator in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Positive transformation!

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Legal Files became a vital part of our civil defense team. It transformed our practice, and provided an efficient means to meet the needs of complex litigation cases. We appreciate that it is completely customizable, and continues to meet the changing needs of our firm.

Kay
Special Projects, formerly Operations Mgr in US
Legal Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Legal Files Review

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: A Legal Files Administrator/User/Trainer since 2010 for the Client/Server product.
Would like additional report writing capabilities.

Pros:

The groupware concept

Cons:

Limited standard reports

Paula
Sr. Paralegal in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great for case managment

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: Legal Files is a great application for keeping your case files in order. All emails, documents and notes are stored in one place making the job easier and helping the user stay organized.

Katie
Paralegal in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Legal Files in Corporate Legal Dept

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: I have no complaints with the system--easiest way to store files of all types.

Lanny
General Counsel in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Excellent, Simple Solution

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: Legal Files is a great solution and the service is excellent.

Meredith
Meredith
Attorney in US
Law Practice, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Works well with a small firm

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use and navigate for a solo firm

Cons:

Little bit complicated initially learning the software