15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

Microsoft 365 Defender Reviews

About Microsoft 365 Defender

Microsoft 365 Defender enables businesses to stop attacks with automated, cross-domain security and built-in AI.

Learn more about Microsoft 365 Defender

Pros:

The advantages of this program is that since it comes integrated with Microsoft, it makes an analysis, that you can make it deep or make it fast, towards all your files in your pc.

Cons:

Can sometimes forget it is on or running because there are not many notifications.

Microsoft 365 Defender ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Microsoft 365 Defender has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 58 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Microsoft 365 Defender before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (58)

Abirami
Abirami
Programmar in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Defend System with Microsoft Defender

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Excellent

Pros:

Continuous Monitoring the system, easy to useHave variety of scan options like quick scan and Full scan, where you can choose according to your time limitNotifies immediately whenever defender founds out any virus or abnormal activity

Cons:

The full scan takes longer time to completes and it uses maximum power to complete the full scan

Leonardo
Cyber Security Specialist in Netherlands
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Microsoft 365 Defender Secures your Endpoints, but...

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Microsoft has improved its security solution for businesses a lot. I can say that Microsoft 365 Defender is a very good solution when it comes to staying only at Microsoft. But I do have to admit there are better solutions with better accuracy. Microsoft does have to improve its notification schema regarding end users. The costs for internal use are ok, but selling this to customers does not generate a lot of revenue. Other vendors generate more profit when selling their security solutions to customers.

Pros:

- The dashboard's simplicity - Detection and response - Automatic updating via Windows Updates

Cons:

- Technical knowledge - A lot of settings that also require some technical knowledge - Notifications on user level

Beltran
Beltran
Accounts Receivables Lead in Costa Rica
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Microsoft 365 Defender pros vs cons

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: What I discovered maximum treasured in Microsoft 365 Defender is that it is capable of experimenting with emails and shielding customers from risky hyperlinks or attachments. I like it

Pros:

This nice tool has carried out a first-rate task on the dashboard. The appearance withinside the incidents queue, you can notice the incidents indexed through severity, which permits the administrator to fast discover and take action. A short review is more capable of stopping threats.

Cons:

There are a few fake positives and, in some instances, you could get inundated with alerts. Another feature to improve is hard to deactivate all functions when the user does no longer wants them.

Stacy-Ann
Stacy-Ann
Student(Former Accounts Clerk) in Trinidad & Tobago
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft 365 Defender - " Protection at its finest"

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Microsoft 365 Defender has protected me a lot. I do not have to worry about downloading unsafe files or software, clicking unsafe links or getting malware. Microsoft 365 Defender promptly alerts me about any threats and suggests the actions that should be taken. Moreover, a detail analysis of the threats and their risk level are also provided to me. Furthermore, in my previous job as an Accounts Clerk, I had sensitive financial information about my company on a Desktop. Fortunately, I did not have to worry about the computer getting hacked because Microsoft 365 Defender provided malware protection and prevented me from clicking on unsafe links that could cause unauthorized persons to access the sensitive information.

Pros:

I love that Microsoft 365 Defender is very easy to use. It is also very effective and efficient, which has provided me with protection at home and at work. When I am at home, I can surf the internet safely because I know that Microsoft 365 Defender is protecting me. I can click on emails, links, and visit pages without the fear of getting malware on my computer or getting hacked. At my previous workplace, Microsoft 365 Defender was used by many employees, including myself, because the Microsoft 365 Defender was very efficient in alerting us about any threats and what actions need to be taken to eliminate the threats.

Cons:

Microsoft 365 Defender is a very good software. However, since Microsoft 365 Defender is running in the background, it can sometimes cause my computer to freeze or cause applications to crash. This makes me very frustrated. Additionally, the constant notifications can be a bit annoying. Nonetheless, Microsoft 365 Defender is doing what it does best, which is to protect the user and his/her device.

Abid
Abid
Manager Operations in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft 365 Defender is the Best Security Solution

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am using Microsoft 365 Defender from last 3 years for security of my PC and it always protects from the malaware attacks, security threats and viruses. Microsoft 365 Defender always alerts me about possible threats and guide me what action should be taken to avoid malaware / virus attacks.

Pros:

With the help Microsoft 365 Defender now i can easily surf internet without any security threats because it always provides me shield from virus attacks. Microsoft 365 Defender regularly updates and protect your computer from all kind cyber attacks. Some of their important features includes Malaware detection, continuous monitoring, blacklisting and root cause analysis.

Cons:

There is no con in this amazing security solution the only thing which i face is that sometime my system gets little slow because of Microsoft 365 Defender is running in the background.

Vinoth
Quality Analyst in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Protect your System with Defender

4.0 11 months ago

Pros:

It helps me in identifying and blocking various types of threats, malware, phishing attempts, and other advanced attacks.integrated with Microsoft services, so it helps in providing holistic security approach.Microsoft provides continuous update for Defender to emerging security risk & threats

Cons:

It consumes significant amount of storage space & powerChallenge in integrating with non-Microsoft environmentsSometimes it alerts the standard activity as potential threats, this lead to investigation & wasting of time

Arun
Business Analyst in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Be Safe & Secure with Microsoft 365 Defender

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

Microsoft 365 defender continuously monitoring the system & immediately alert the user whenever it found threats/ malware. Email security helps in safeguard from phising mail, Malware & spam mails. We can also have option to allow the threats which was blocked by defender wrongly by mistake. It has seamless integration with Microsoft 365 services.

Cons:

Integration with Non- Microsoft or third party services is challenging

Ashok Kumar
Functional Analyst in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Safeguard with Defender

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

It continuously monitor the system & if they found any security threats like malware, suspicious activity it automatically block the process. By using AI & Machine learning helps in reducing the human efforts & saves time by automate the process.

Cons:

Integration with non-Microsoft or third party tools is challengingContinuous background scanning impacts system performance

Shilpa
Pricing Lead in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Defend from Malware from Microsoft 365 Defenfer

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

It helps a lot to prevent from malware and many threats.It increases more security.It helps to detect and act accordingly.The programs are transparent and easy to use.

Cons:

Integration with other Apps should be increased.The App which gives security needs security.

Virginia
Author/Designer in US
Online Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft 365 Defender

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

The product is simple to use. Plus, it is software protection that I don't want to live without!

Cons:

There's nothing that I dislike about Microsoft 365 Defender.

Eric
IT Manager in Canada
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Working with what you have but this time it makes sense

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I recommend it more these days over the other antivirus solutions as I know I wont run into troubles with the operating system and some update not working correctly with it.

Pros:

The software you know will work with Windows no matter the version and gets updated frequently. It will stop viruses and malware in its tracks and I have not had an issues for as long as I can remember. It will even detect problematic software before its installed.

Cons:

It may not give you as much visibility into the virus and what its doing or give you updates on user pcs and how up to date it is but overall it does what needs to be done

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Microsoft Defender for Office 365 (MDO) Reviews & Product Details

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Design everything with 'against' in the name. against malware hostile to phishing against spam I like those things most. rather than that. Email is one of the most inescapable and strong types of correspondence in the present workplace - we depend intensely on messages to carry on with work and to speak with associates, teammates, and clients. Notwithstanding, email is likewise the most productive assault vector that danger entertainers are effectively involving to target and think twice about clients with an end goal to break your association's security climate! I additionally involved it for the email security. which is additionally incredible.

Pros:

A portion of the important highlights on the email side is hostile to phishing, against malware, and Safe Links. I would say that 90% of the spam and phishing assault messages get a closed first thing. Safe connections, approaches, and the capacity to shield from zero-day dangers are the most significant elements.

Cons:

There should be an improvement in coordinating the item to work across different working frameworks and to have better help for non-Microsoft record types. The custom alarms need to work on a great deal. I'd like a few extra highlights any item can give me to safeguard our current circumstance in a superior manner.

kalo
Owner in Greece
Accounting, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Protector that meets generally my wellbeing and security needs

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The main part I detest about this arrangement is, it just can be utilized with Windows working framework. Similar to a result of Microsoft, other working framework clients can't partake in the advantage of this lovely safeguard.

Pros:

The constant highlights are not difficult to utilize. It is better against malware and chugs along as expected behind the scenes with practically no observable changes in the working. It fixes practically all dangers. It's the main programming I use for assurance and up until this point I never wanted to purchase extra infection security. It is routinely refreshed by Microsoft. Best thing about M365D is that it is a truely one umberal insurance against all dangers connected with Email, Endpoint and presently Identity security. Likewise gives great look at Threat and Vulnerability of your organization.

Cons:

The main part I disdain about this arrangement is, it just can be utilized with Windows working framework. Similar to a result of Microsoft, other working framework clients can't partake in the advantage of this wonderful safeguard.

Hoàng Tuấn
IT assistant manager in Vietnam
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Defender for Office 365 Reviews

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Keeping applications from different assaults was incredibly fundamental as we were attempting to convey an intimidation free climate. Microsoft 365 defender was a saver for ourselves and with it, we were at last ready to characterize identification strategies to consequently take more time to forestall the impacted assault and self-recuperate impacted post boxes. It ended up being incredibly fundamental for our association.

Pros:

The benefits of this program is that since it comes incorporated with Microsoft, it makes an investigation, that you can make it profound or make it quick, towards every one of your documents in your pc. This makes it extremely proficient since it recognizes potential dangers that can genuinely influence the presentation of your PC. What I preferred the most is that you can make the tests manual, or make them programmed to have your PC at 100 percent execution. Something else that I preferred a great deal, is that you can investigate a program explicitly to check assuming it has some sort of infection, and subsequently have the option to escape inconvenience, overall this product is very fundamental for clients to have a solid PC.

Cons:

I might want to see Defender all the more proactively alert you to filters it is doing and the outcomes.

Gideon
Gideon
Information Security Analyst in Ghana
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft 365 Defender

4.0 last year

Pros:

Threat Intelligence and Analytics: Microsoft 365 Defender leverages Microsoft's extensive threat intelligence capabilities, including machine learning and AI algorithms, to detect and respond to advanced threats. It analyzes vast amounts of data to identify suspicious activities, malicious files, and potential security breaches, providing actionable insights and alerts to security teams.

Cons:

False Positives and Overlapping Alerts: Like any security solution, Microsoft 365 Defender may generate false positive alerts or overlap with other security products. This can result in additional work for security teams in terms of investigating and filtering out false positives or managing redundant alerts.

Viviana
clerical and inventory in Puerto Rico
Nonprofit Organization Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the apps that works well, Improve by location and price

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Once I paid a one-year membership and, as I repeat, very unlimited and when I try to find better versions or other alternatives, we cannot help you with a message for your location. I write to them and they tell me that my membership has already expired, I tell them why they are so unlimited because of their location and it's already been a year. I stay with the free version and even so it is unlimited.

Pros:

I have been using it since university, it is my first experience in this world and I feel very comfortable wearing it. It's easy and they keep getting better. I am a user for many years.

Cons:

Although I feel comfortable using this software, I see that it is very unlimited and more so for the free version and for many locations. I am from Puerto Rico and the e-store has NEVER worked, not even for rewards, for the price it is very UNLIMITED.

Gary
Data Analyst in Philippines
Marketing & Advertising, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft 365 Defender Review

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It is easy to use. Detection rate is decent. Alert and notification is not overly obtrusive.

Cons:

False positive is a bit high compared to other anti-virus/anti-malware softwares.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Microsoft 365 Defender review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Its the easiest malware protection tool to use. It has an easy to navigate UI and its inexpensive. Whether one uses it personally or in a business its very beneficial.

Pros:

I like how the software is automated and easily integrates with default software on my windows operating system. Its very easy to use, all I need to do is update the software and it will scan my pc automatically. I also Like the fact that the system periodically does full scan and it only does them in my inactive moments like during midnight when am asleep.

Cons:

Honestly there is nothing I don't like about this antivirus software.

Steven
Steven
Site Manager in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Effective Data Protection Solution.

5.0 last year

Comments: Excellent data quality managementctool and Agile work management and real time analytics generation this platform is effective.

Pros:

Data security with Microsoft 365 Defender is excellent and the user experience management also is incredible. Data processing is cost effective and the integration to other third party tools is amazing. The access control tools and alert functions are very responsive.

Cons:

None at all the Microsoft tool was easy to implement and the configuration also was very simple process.

Jerald
OWNER in US
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft 365 Defender, Defending?

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Defender has advanced such a huge amount throughout the most recent years. It currently has implicit AI and is substantially more fit for halting dangers. It gives occurrence alarms and all your security data is in a solitary dashboard making location and remediation a lot simpler.

Pros:

Gets the workplace deck. Identifies and reports any dubious records/Mail. Detection level is higher than different items.

Cons:

Information recuperation and reinforcement functionalities can be improved.

Arturo
Arturo
Multi-Tasking in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The only anti virus you should have on your pc

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Having this program integrated into the Microsoft service is very helpful because you can at any time scan your files and detect either threats or viruses, instead of having to buy an antivirus, which then basically do not have very helpful.

Pros:

The advantages of this program is that since it comes integrated with Microsoft, it makes an analysis, that you can make it deep or make it fast, towards all your files in your pc. This makes it very efficient since it detects possible threats that can seriously affect the performance of your computer. What I liked the most is that you can make the exams manual, or make them automatic to have your PC at 100% performance. Another thing that I liked a lot, is that you can analyze a program specifically to check if it has some kind of virus, and thus be able to get out of trouble, in general this software is quite essential for users to have a healthy computer.

Cons:

What can I say bad about this software, it is quite reliable as it is integrated with microsoft and the analysis it does is very helpful.

Ambrose
Selfemployed in Hong Kong
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft 365 Defender reveiw

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Defender for Office 365 is an excellent software in general. It provides so many special tools that may be used to check, safeguard, and test your environment. Defender provides attack simulators, hunting and vulnerability scans.

Pros:

The dashboard is a fantastic achievement by Microsoft. The seriousness of each occurrence is indicated in the incidents queue, making it easy for the administrator to locate and eliminate threats.

Cons:

There is nothing about this program that I genuinely find objectionable.

Jerome
Business owner in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Windows Defender Review by iGot Holdings LLC

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is great. I use the product often and have no problems with it. Is also a great product for the value in which is presented by the makers of this product.

Pros:

It is a standard given piece of technology that is well known and used by tech savvy individuals and make things easier for anyone who uses this product.

Cons:

It does not have top level options when it comes to the settings and layout of the product as other softwares in the arena does.

Melokuhle
Melokuhle
Freelancer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Broadcast Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very simple microsoft 365 defender review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Microsoft defender is the very effective and most versatile software when it comes to eliminating threats and viruses in your computer system

Pros:

With the microsoft 365 defender automatically prevent the threats including malware and spywares from happing in your system. It understand threats in the sytem and prevent them form reocurring again and again. View prioritized incidents in a single dashboard to reduce confusion, clutter, and alert fatigue. It hunts threats from a variety of domains and eliminate them before they cause furthure damages in your system.

Cons:

The free trial for the defender is much smaller as com[red to other significant anti-virus softwares. It makes the system to be much much slower when running in the background for a quick scan.

Jermaine
Jermaine
Internal Audit Officer in Jamaica
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Added security for your PC

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I like the fact that Defender comes integrated with Windows. It offers protection against malware and is a great layer of added security. The interface is organized and allow for ease of use and additional features may be purchased for protection against more severe threats.

Cons:

Integrated version might not make a good stand alone defense against more severe threats