15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Ruddr

Ruddr is the Modern Professional Services Platform built for SMB to mid-market professional services organizations.

Learn more about Ruddr

Pros:

It makes it easy for engineers who just need to get in and submit time and get out. I also appreciate the connection to Quickbooks so timesheets don't need to be sent back and forth via email.

Cons:

After using Harvest for years, our team misses the toolbar feature they have for quick time tracking. We are waiting with baited breath for something similar from Ruddr.

Ruddr ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Ruddr has an overall rating of 4.9 out 5 stars based on 22 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Ruddr before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (22)

TL
TL
Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best PSA software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Ruddr has saved me hours each week on generating invoices. I can also see where all my time is being spent, and the intuitive charts/graphs are extremely helpful in managing my project workload. The design is top notch and everything “just works” — the adoption as the primary tool for managing projects was seamless. Game changer from my old system of Excel files.

Pros:

The UX and QuickBooks integration were a game changer for my small business, everything is intuitive and just works

Cons:

Ruddr appears to be a rapidly growing platform, from their support emails they are continually adding more features but there are a few specific enhancements I’ve requested that are in the dev pipeline

Alternatives Considered: Harvest

Reasons for Choosing Ruddr: Integration for tracking time and segmenting billable hours — great visibility into managing projects and seeing where my time was actually being spent. can’t imagine NOT using Ruddr now.

Switched From: Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Ruddr: simplicity, data-driven charts, and invoicing integration

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks for this review TL! We are adding features on a weekly basis. Customers like you are helping shape the product with their feedback.

Michael
Principal Consultant in US
Environmental Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best project management program for Environmental Consulting

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We had been using Quickbooks projects and Quickbooks time but the features were lacking. We tried Bigtime which was heavy on the sales pitch and had 0 customer service help. When we connected with Ruddr we were given a free demo, direct access to the customer support team, and no up front cost. This allowed us to make a decision based on the quality of their product and not the demands of a contract and a forced sales approach. We have been on for only a few months and every time I have a question we get an answer in a few hours.

Pros:

This is a fantastic and easy-to-use software with an amazing price point. The modern feel and ease of quick integration with Quickbooks make this a true winner for small consulting firms.

Cons:

It really has no faults for our needs. My only faults would be a wish list of features like an online app, and more branding opportunities.

Alternatives Considered: BQE CORE Suite and Monograph

Reasons for Choosing Ruddr: Bigtime has the worst customer service experience I have ever seen in mid-market software.

Switched From: BigTime

Reasons for Switching to Ruddr: The lack of a true trial in some of the other products and the fact that they required a large upfront cost that was nonrefundable was a turnoff on other products. Ruddr gives you a real trial and you pay only for what your needs are at the time you need them. As a small company, we fluctuate in size as we work with multiple contractors. We only pay for the seat when we have those people employed and we turn it off when they are nonactive and are not billed for the seat.

Lydia
Head of Content in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good experience, wish more people could approve hours

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use, functions quite well. Easy to track hours

Cons:

More people should be able to approve hours

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks for your review and feedback Lydia. We have additional time/expense approvers and approval workflow on our roadmap. We will get those built into Ruddr just as soon as we can!

Mike
CEO in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome UX and Slack Integration

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: For my team, Ruddr was a big step up from the simple time trackers we have tried in the past. It is more of a professional services automation platform but it doesn't have the big price tag. I love that we only have to pay for our billable personnel. This allows our administrative folks to access the platform and all the data but they just can't record billable time to client projects.

Pros:

Our agency has tried several different time/expense trackers over the years. Most had a clumsy user experience. Also, the basic time trackers don't provide all of the information I need to run the business. What I like about Ruddr is 1) the user experience is super clean and simple; 2) the Slack integration is better than any other PSA product I tested; 3) I don't have to pay for non-billable users; and 4) the reports and metrics are much better than what I was getting with basic time/expense trackers.

Cons:

It could use some more integrations with modern SaaS products. I currently use the Slack and QuickBooks integrations and those work great. But, I'd like to integrate with a few more products that my team uses every day.

Alternatives Considered: Avaza , Kantata , Harvest , BigTime , Accelo and Toggl Track

Reasons for Choosing Ruddr: Harvest's Slack integration is fairly basic. Also, it is missing some key metrics and reports that I need to run our agency (like billable utilization rate). Harvest feels like it is meant for small firms but we are trying to grow!

Switched From: Harvest

Reasons for Switching to Ruddr: The user experience, Slack integration, and pricing model were much more attractive with Ruddr.

Ruddr Response

4 years ago

Thanks so much for this feedback. We have a list of integrations that we will be building out over the next several months. We appreciate your business!

Daniel
VP - Engagements in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great product and service

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's been great. It's an easy tool with NO workarounds that we needed to utilize. With functionality that we needed that was not present in the base application, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was great in understanding our need and getting what we needed.

Pros:

It had over 95% of the functionality we were looking for without having to customize or use workarounds for employee time entry and for invoicing

Cons:

There were a few items around the timesheet and invoicing functions that were critical to us. They were not there, but Ruddr has been very responsive to our needs

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks Dan, we appreciate your business and these comments. We will continue to be responsive to your team's needs as we rapidly evolve the product over the months and years ahead.

Ryan
Head of Creative in US
Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great reporting, time tracking can be easier

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Our account team needed better reporting on usage and efficiency of our creative teams, and Ruddr seems to tackle reporting and dashboards with more effectiveness than the competitors that we considered.

Cons:

It really needs to be easier for our employees to track their time. After using Harvest for years, our team misses the toolbar feature they have for quick time tracking. We are waiting with baited breath for something similar from Ruddr.

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks for this feedback Ryan! We have the MacOS native app on our road map and we'll also be developing iOS and Android apps as well. We will get these important features built just as soon as possible!

Mark
Managing Director in US
Information Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Selected Ruddr after evaluating 4 other competitors

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Customer service was ridiculously good. While onboarding, worked with me over the July 4th weekend. They paid attention and demonstrated that they are a new and hungry player in the Pro Serv ERP game. From my evaluation / assessment time I know that none of the competitors were going to pay attention to us like they did

Pros:

The price to feature ratio is ridiculous for this product when compared to its competitors. The critical features for me were project expense and time tracking, burn rate management, monthly budgets, project budgets, roles budgets and task budgets.

Cons:

Resource planning and new budget features are not there yet, but coming late July. Timing works for us. Wish they had project management ala SmartSheets or MS Project or integrations with those. Also wish the open API was published. These are coming later in the year.

Alternatives Considered: Kantata , Birdview , BigTime and monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Ruddr: Price to value ratio and customer service

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks for this detailed review! We will have resource planning and budget analysis released this month. Our public API will be coming a bit later.

Michelle
Owner in US
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Makes My Invoicing Breakdown Easy

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very good experience. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] in tech support is very informative and helpful.

Pros:

I like how I can break down the client, then project, and then task and track my time. I also like the integration with Quickbooks Online for easy invoicing and payment receipt.

Cons:

I haven't had any issues with the software.

Alternatives Considered: Asana

Reasons for Switching to Ruddr: I like the ease of use with Ruddr much more.

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks Michelle! We appreciate your feedback. We take a lot of pride in giving our customers an unmatched level of customer support. We look forward to continuing to work with you!

Ji
UXUI Designer in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Recording work time is fast and easy on Ruddr!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: So far has been amazing! The [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] of Ruddr even had a Zoom meeting with us to walk through all the features. The software itself has a very modern design, and very user-friendly, I guess their team must have done many user testing at the early phase of the development.

Pros:

I like the way Ruddr allows me to record my work time by just input a couple of numbers. For example, if I worked for 4 hours and 30 mins, I just need to input 4.5. Ruddr is easy to use and fast, also very intuitive that it only took me 30 mins to grab the basic features that I need for my job.

Cons:

Just some small things, I wish some of the text colors can be darker, so it will be easy to scan fast.

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks for your review Ji! We appreciate your feedback and continued support. In terms of some of the text color, we are regularly testing out small tweaks to colors and font sizes. We will improve the readability as we experiment with these options.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ease of Use blows away competition

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Simple, easy to use, does what we need. Most importantly I think end users will find it more pleasing to work with since they have to touch it at least weekly.

Pros:

For products like this, ease of use is critical. This category of software is often a pain for users because it is critical (they have to use it) but the experience is often so bad they end up hating it. Seems like they had the opportunity with new tech to design the experience from the ground up "the way it should be". Reporting is also a huge plus.

Cons:

Integration wasn't hard but we are sub 500 FTEs

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your feedback! We will continue to keep a simple User Experience as a guiding principle as we add features to Ruddr over the months and years ahead.

Jonathan
Account Director in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Ruddr Review (The ABM Agency)

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use, relatively intuitive and great product support to help with ramp up/onboarding to the larger team.

Cons:

There are some quality of life type features / functionality where Ruddr is lacking that I think could go a long way with stepping it up to the next level. Mostly around items that would be efficiency gains when filling out timesheets and creating similar products or tasks. Also notable, Ruddr seems to be greatly lacking when it comes to the ability to assign different approvers for particular employees' timesheets and/or assigning different approvers depending on the client and/or project. This seems like something that should be a "default" or natural feature when rolling a tool like this out. It should be expected that there will be more than one person that would need to be responsible for approving timesheets so having the ability to assign approver based on employee and project/task should absolutely be incorporated as soon as possible.

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks for this feedback Jonathan! We will work hard to satisfy these product gaps for you. We do currently have the ability to clone a project as well as a project task. In terms of approvals, we just added a client approval in addition to our internal approval. So, you can now send a time/expense approval to a client for approval before invoicing. In terms of multiple time approvers and approval workflow, that is on our road map. We will get that built into the product as quickly as we can!

David
Founder in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

An intuitive and nimble PSA

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I needed a way to log and track time against projects and send an invoice to my client. Ruddr does this seamlessly.

Pros:

With a modern and fresh interface, Ruddr has up-leveled what an expected UI/UX should be for PSA software. It has all the core features you'd expect for logging time entries and billing customers.

Cons:

Not much to dislike. The software has just launched (at the time of this review) so I'm confident that additionally expected features will roll out over time to complete the solution (i.e. integrations, advanced reporting).

Ruddr Response

4 years ago

Thanks David! Our road map for this year includes several additional reports and integrations. Once we get those into production, we'd love to get any additional feedback you might have on them.

Christy
Client Services Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Product and Customer Service

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our overall experience with Ruddr has been fantastic. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is extremely helpful and very quick to respond back to any questions that we may have.

Pros:

The software is extremely easy to use. The invoices are perfect for what we need for our clients.

Cons:

There were a few changes that we questioned if they could be made. The Ruddr team jumped right one it and has made the software work for our company. They are quick with changes and listen to their clients on what would be nice to haves.

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks for your review Christy! The NXT Level Technologies team has provided helpful feedback that has led to several new features in Ruddr. We look forward to continuing to improve the product with you!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Professional Training & Coaching, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fabulous software for very low price

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This is the sole software I use to track my time/projects and invoice clients.

Pros:

I really like that I can track hourly or fixed fee products. I like how easy it is to use. I can create clients, projects and budgets with just a few button clicks. There's even a timer if I want to just start and stop the clock to track my time.

Cons:

Nothing so far! I wish they also had an accounting software, I'd use that too!

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks for your review! While Ruddr isn't an accounting package, it does have a great integration with QuickBooks Online. You can create invoices in Ruddr that automatically publish to QuickBooks. Also, any updates to the invoice (or payment) in QuickBooks will immediately be reflected in Ruddr.

Justin
Co-Founder in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Must have for our business

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Having the insight into our projects and business has been invaluable and the team at Ruddr is the definition of responsive!

Pros:

This tool provides the insights into our business that ensures we are making the right business choices. Profitability, utilization, invoices, expenses, it does it all.

Cons:

If you are new to the services business this tool might seem like overkill with the configuration options. Start simple and grow into the tool, you'll think yourself later.

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks Justin, this is great feedback and we truly appreciate your business! We are excited to make Ruddr even better for your team over the months and years ahead.

Griffin
Operations Coordinator in US
Packaging & Containers, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simple yet effective

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I enjoyed the ease of switching through projects in the timing section of the software. The data feedback has been invaluable for our company and has helped us see where we are actually spending our time and resources.

Cons:

There was a bit of a learning curve, especially with others whom I trained on the product. However, after several days everyone had the methods down.

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks for your review Griffin! We have some features on our product roadmap that should make Ruddr even easier to learn in the near future. We will keep working to make the product better and better for your team at Craft!

Mariah
Professional Services Resource Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Ruddr is a Great and Easy Solution for Time Management and for Capturing Utilization

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall a great experience and I hope to continue using Ruddr in the future.

Pros:

I appreciate the ease of reviewing utilization and timesheets in one spot. It makes it easy for engineers who just need to get in and submit time and get out. I also appreciate the connection to Quickbooks so timesheets don't need to be sent back and forth via email. Its a one stop shop for us, which we greatly appreciate!

Cons:

Only item I wish it had is an integration with google drive so we can upload files/documents to specific projects.

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks Mariah! We will be adding Google Drive integration (along with other cloud storage providers). We will let you know just as soon as that integration is live and ready!

Kristi
HR in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Ruddr

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Ruddr has been great and easy to use, love the ease of the platform and the support team has gone above and beyond.

Pros:

Easy to use, love that it integrates with QuickBooks!

Cons:

Getting set up had some troubleshooting but the support was always available and jumped on any issue quickly.

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thanks for your review Kristi! We love working with the team at Tensure and look forward to making Ruddr even better for you.

Jeremiah
Software Engineer in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing service review

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Mainly time tracking since that is all I use on a day to say basis

Cons:

For what I use and need no cons but could see a little more user friendly ux done

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review of Ruddr! We will continue to focus on UX and make improvements moving forward. We appreciate your support!

MARY
MARY
cmt in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Defense & Space, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Good

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I'm in love with this software..cuts my time

Cons:

Nothing it's great software for the price

Ruddr Response

2 years ago

Thank you for your review!

Katrina
Associate Account Manager in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

It's been good.

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I like that you can copy the fields from the previous week. This features cuts down on the time it takes to record my time.

Cons:

I'm not sure. I do feel like it has a lot of features in it that I do not use.

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Hi Katrina and thanks for your review! Any time you need customer support always feel free to use the in-app chat feature by clicking the "Need Help?" link at the bottom-left of the screen. Or, just email [email protected] and someone from our support team will be in touch with you ASAP.

Constance
Senior software engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

So for so good

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to track time spent on different projects and tasks

Cons:

Unfamiliar with how to add new tasks to a project

Ruddr Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review! In order to add tasks to a project, your security role must have the "Edit Project" permission for the projects that you are able to access. Just ping your Workspace Admin to see if this security role adjustment can be made for you.