15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

Australia Local product

DaVinci Resolve Reviews

4.8 (225) Write a Review! Australia Local product

About DaVinci Resolve

Video editing app that enables production through color correction, visual effects, motion graphics and post-production audio.

Learn more about DaVinci Resolve

Pros:

There is a limitation to 8 bit and UHD size, but the app is quite complete. Dedicated hardware created by black Magic Design integrates perfectly with DaVinci Resolve.

Cons:

If you’re a Final Cut user, this will take done time to adjust to because there is so much.

DaVinci Resolve ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.8
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

DaVinci Resolve has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 225 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used DaVinci Resolve before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (225)

Henry
Henry
Digital Marketing Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Restaurants, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best there is.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Extremely positive, to summarize it. DaVinci's editing tools are as simple or complex as you need them to be, with separate lighting, timeline, and FX suites. Transition and effect libraries have more than enough options. The exporting process deserves a shout out - it has prebuilt channel-specific export templates, i.e. "export for Vimeo," "export for Instagram," etc. The times when I have gotten stuck, I was able to figure it out searching online forums. I do have to point out, though, that figuring issues out for yourself would be much harder without a background in film editing. This will be a rough learning tool if you're new to film editing - not an impossible one, and definitely worth the money. But you have to be comfortable operating on your own.

Pros:

Well it's free. And there's no hidden nonsense there - you download and install, and you have a full-scale ad-free film editing suite. I've been using DaVinci Resolve for 3+ years and I've never hit an ad, paywall, pop-up, or anything of the kind. Aside from being free, DaVinci Resolve has all the features from Adobe and Final Cut that a beginner-to-intermediate user would want. I am still shocked it's free. DaVinci is one of the few software tools that I am genuinely happy to open and start using.

Cons:

Because it's free, there is no customer support. The forum and knowledge library ecosystem is dense though, and you should be able to get most questions answered easily. It's also a bit less user-friendly than other bigger name film editing tools. If you have experience using film editing software, the transition won't be too bad as it operates essentially the same as the others. If you have minimal or no experience and want to use DaVinci as a learning tool, it is going to be a harder (and entirely self-taught) transition.

Jean Philippe
Consultant in Canada
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The industry standard in color grading is now a superb editor too!

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Resolve is free, with very few limitations. Sink that in: you can get a very-modern, timely-updated, fully featured video workstation for free. Pros don't often use free software, mostly because it lacks support: BMD is definitely the counter to these with Resolve. The paid-version allows for greater resolutions and more customization.

Pros:

We've come a long way since the early Resolve versions. So many tools added release after release (and they also come often), it is now a full fledged one-stop video solution. Node canvas is very easy to work with. Clip management is intuitive and fast. BMD's vision is clear: they create the best editor they can to work with their own hardware, but unlike others they make it as easy to work with BMD-camera captured footage than it is with other formats. All this for a very, very cheap price and the option to actually own the software rather than renting (wink wink Adobe?)

Cons:

Resolve is a professional video workstation, and like every software of this caliber the learning curve can be a bit steep for newcomers; it takes time and practice to really master it. You want pro results? You better get studying!

Mark
Film Editor in US
Motion Pictures & Film, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Davinci Resolve Editing

2.0 7 months ago

Comments: Frustrating. This was an opportunity for DaVinci to do something special by combining Editing with heavy VFX, Color Grading, and Audio Mixing in the same comprehensive package.

Pros:

It’s either free or inexpensive depending on which version you use. If you buy, It’s a one time purchase, not using the “subscription model,” which I feel is exploitive. The ability to do color grading, VFX, and sound mixing in the same program is convenient, but not central to editing.

Cons:

The basic editing functions, which should be very simple and intuitive, are unnecessarily convoluted and user hostile. Too many “modes” and keystrokes. A million things must be selected or de-selected to perform the most simple of functions. It really seems that either the editors who helped develop this program were amateurs, or ignored by programmers.

Penisoara
Photographer in Romania
Photography, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

it is a good video editing software for professionals

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: It's excellent for the more experienced editor and highly professional. The DaVinci Resolve free version is, in my opinion, fantastic. As a wedding video editor, the free version fulfills my needs. I use davinci for color correction, and after export, I can edit the clips in other software, a little more user friendly

Pros:

it is a very good software for video editing, although it is a little difficult to use. But it does a quality job once you learn to use it. there is a free version that helps you with 90% of what you need . color grading is the best on the market

Cons:

it is a little hard to learn how to use it It is a little less intuitive to use than other well-known film editing programs. you will have trouble with parts of the playback when editing if your computer isn't powerful enough.

Angelo
Angelo
Video producer in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A good editing tool but not user friendly

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: I was an Avid media composer user for long time then convinced by a friend I switched to DaVinci Resolve in 2017.
The learning curve it's very steep and after these years I still need to go back to the user manual for finding functions not so easy to discover. It's a great gear for colorists but not so easy for making simple editing.
It can be improved under many points for instance is not backward compatible so must keep a backup of your project in case of. Difficult to use in a laptop and I use it in a 17" FHD laptop. Anyhow as any software cannot satisfy everyone. I go on use it because at least the updates price (zero) is still fitting my pocket.

Pros:

The price was why I choose it at first, then after using it for a while I found it having a plenty of tools in the same box. I still use it since 2017. I Use the studio version which has good tools and permit me to complete a work even I'm alone.

Cons:

It's not very user friendly. The UI is not very easy to understand and to much tools are fit in a single screen. Unless I'm not able to discover it the different UI sections are not detachable so Timeline area results sacrificed unless do you have two monitor and move timeline to one of them.

Anil
Editor in UK
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Creative Alliance Review

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: We have been using Resolve since past 2 years and we find this is the ultimate software for video editing and post processing. Motion tracking is one of the key features that we like in this software.

Pros:

We here at Creative Alliance use Davinci Resolve daily to edit our videos. We produce daily videos in our multiple YouTube Channels like REACTION RETREAT and occasionally in our another channel CREATIVE ALLIANCE MUSIC. Editing videos have never been this fun and wide variety of features make this software a must have!

Cons:

A small integration of post production capabilities like that of After Effects would make this software complete.

Allen
Pastor in Canada
Religious Institutions, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Literally the best, and for free

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Resolve is the best video editing software on the market hands down.

Pros:

The free version of this software is almost 100% of the what the paid version offers. No watermarks or sly ways of getting you to pay. Simply great.

Cons:

It has a learning curve, but nothing that is greater than any other software of this caliber.

Meagan
Design Curator in US
Furniture, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Make your next video accurate and beautiful.

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Fabulous experience. I have all the confidence in DaVinci Resolve tool.

Pros:

Good are the times when a good software helps you achieve the best of your goals. I have used this software in many concepts both personal and work based. Its visual effects builds great presentations. I also appreciate the ease of use for this software. Very intuitive and professional.

Cons:

All is well with DaVinci Resolve. No complaints from my side.

Elijah
CEO in US
Computer Games, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The DaVinci Resolve Experience

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

It is a great software for free and it matches the best. Adobe Premiere Pro. It has many great quality features that you would want in a video editing software.I really like all of the functions of this software.

Cons:

The only major issue is that it can be quite hard to read and understand. I also think that it is missing some small but major features like a skip 5 seconds. It can also be hard to find certain things.

Jeff
Service and Events Manager in Canada
Executive Office, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Full featured software that is free

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

The fact that it is free but functions like most professional software is great. Lots of Youtube videos out there to allow for easy learning.

Cons:

Not too much. On the odd occasion you may encounter certain bugs that come up, but nothing that a good reset of the software would fix. Plus software updates usually fix it.

Daniel
Director in Haiti
Import & Export, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

DaVinci Resolve Review

4.0 last year

Pros:

Non-destructive editing : DaVinci Resolve allows me to make changes to my videos without altering the original footage, which is a great feature for those who want to experiment with different edits without worrying about losing their original work... Which is my case.

Cons:

Limited video export options : DaVinci Resolve has limited options for exporting video, which is frustrating for me who need to deliver my videos in a specific format.

Richard
Freelancer in Greece
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best Partially-Free Editing Software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall I really like this editing software because it is easy to use it and it gives you a very high quality end-product. Also, the workflow is quite fast and smooth.

Pros:

I strongly believe that DaVinci Resolve is the best partially-free editing software out there for the following reasons: 1) It has many free features. 2) There is no watermark on the export of the video. 3) Nice environment to work and and edit your videos. 4) Cool transitions. 5) Supports many formats of materials. 6) It has a one-time payment to buy the full program and is quite cheap. 7) Easy to learn it and many more.

Cons:

The only think that I liked the least about this program is that when you hover over some Pro features with your mouse, a window will pop-up that says that this is the limit of free version and you have to buy the full version so that you can access this feature.

Cody
Owner in US
Photography, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Davinci Resolve free is all you need for most small to medium scale video editing projects

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The free version of Resolve is by far the most functional and feature rich video editing software out there. It beats out Adobe Premiere in the overall feature set you get, especially when you start to get into building effects in Fusion. Each update has helped Resolve take more advantage of powerful GPUs so when you're working with VFX you're rewarded by having a high end GPU during playback and rendering. The color modification options are rich and can do incredible things with your footage. You can easily take non-log footage and apply pre-existing effects and layers to get the look you want. Fairlight is their audio editing suite, which is how this application started out as so you can imagine that the audio editing tools are amazing, and they are. One of the most convenient tools is the ability for Resolve to use audio analysis to automatically line up multiple clips from different cameras that filmed the same scene. If you find yourself often using a clapboard to align your footage, say good bye (assuming you're capturing audio from each camera). The community of creators on Resolve is massive and you can find tutorial son how to do almost anything online. It's how I got started learning how to use the software and I'm still scratching the surface of it's capabilities.

Cons:

The software is huge and cumbersome to learn. Luckily there's tons of tutorials on youtube from many creators that can show you how to do simple to super complex tasks. If you're moving from Adobe Premiere, you're going to miss the ability to import content from other apps directly inside of your project. Resolve doesn't support integration into Photoshop and whatnot so you can't go from editing an image in PS then open it up in Resolve like you can in Premiere. If you're someone who heavily relies on the Adobe apps, this will be the hardest thing to get past, but once you've adjusted your workflow it doesn't really add that much time to your projects. You're more so losing out on the convenience. In previous versions it had a tendency to crash randomly. Sometimes effects you create would go corrupt or prevent the project from successfully rendering or the Resolve to crash during rendering. This would require you to pinpoint what part of the video where the failure occurred, find the offending effect, delete and recreate it from scratch. This could be caused by something as simple as a scrolling text box. It was impossible to know what would prevent a video from rendering, which was super frustrating especially when considering the error message doesn't give you any info into what caused the render to fail. They've since made fixes to prevent this from happening, but just something to keep in mind when working in large projects: save often and test your exports.

Sugam
Sugam
Project Manager in Nepal
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A Comprehensive Video Editing Solution

4.0 7 months ago

Pros:

DaVinci Resolve has been an invaluable asset in my part-time gig as a YouTube tutorial video creator. Whether I'm editing, color correcting, working on audio post-production, or creating stunning visual effects, DaVinci Resolve has my back. Even when handling high-resolution and complex video projects, it consistently delivers exceptional performance. The fact that a free version with robust features is available is a massive bonus for someone like me on a budget. Moreover, DaVinci Resolve supports collaborative work, allowing me to work effectively with my team and fellow creators. Its extensive library of tutorials and a thriving user community have been invaluable resources for my learning journey.

Cons:

While DaVinci Resolve is a powerful tool, it can be resource-intensive, requiring a high-performance computer to fully leverage its capabilities. The learning curve can be quite steep, especially for newcomers like me, who are just starting their professional video editing journey. I've encountered occasional stability issues and crashes, but the software's regular updates have been addressing these concerns. It's worth noting that some advanced features are exclusively available in the paid Studio version, which may necessitate an upgrade for specific functionalities.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best Free Software for Color Grading .

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: At first I had difficulty learning the program, but after practice I learned how to use the tools correctly, and the most important thing I learned how to correct colors professionally.

Pros:

The most important thing I loved about Da Vinci Resolve is that it is free and I can use it for several uses, but my favorite use without any comparison is color correction, you won't believe me how powerful it is in color adjustment and correction, I can modify the colors of my videos now as we see in the movies, it really is Very nice I know there are many programs out there that offer color correction benefits, but none quite as professional as Da Vinci Resolve. Believe me, DaVinci Resolve is currently competing with paid programs with a high strength of its features such as video editing, adding colors, removing noise, adding echo and some other effects, it accepts importing subtitles from other programs.

Cons:

I think the only problem is that the user interface is complicated, so if you are a beginner, get ready to invest your time and effort to master the program and use the tools.

MICHAEL
Content Creator in US
Media Production, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Full Featured NLE for Content Creators at an Accessible Price Point

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall I have been very happy with what I can accomplish with this NLE. It's not hard to use if you are used to similar software yet it's very powerful and full featured.

Pros:

Having used other non linear editing software such as Final Cut and Adobe Premiere, it was easy to jump in and start editing with Davinci as the interface is pretty straightforward. It features different tabs for focus on various aspects of the editing process such as managing your media, color correction, special effects, audio, exporting and of course editing. Davinci Resolve comes in two basic versions... the free application and the paid Davinci Resolve Studio. Unlike most free software, there are no watermarks or other crippling limitations on the free to use version. If you are a hobbyist vs a professional, you can really do quite a bit with the nonpaid version. I opted to upgrade to Studio which does offer a fair amount of advanced features which at the time of this writing was a one time cost of $300. In contrast to Adobe's subscription service for their products, this is quite affordable for those that want to use professional package for a very reasonable price. The publisher, Blackmagic Design appears to make their editing software accessible at this price point due to generating most of their revenue from their high end cameras and editing consoles. Lastly, like most software, there is an abundance of instructional videos on YouTube from third party content creators on how to use Resolve which has been very helpful in ramping up my skillset quickly.

Cons:

I'm hard pressed to find any cons so far. My experience with Resolve has been primarily a positive one thus far.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Davinci Resolve - the editing king

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Beautifully engineered, powerful, convenient, affordable, and most importantly intuitive.

Pros:

The level of professionalism, the massive quantity of features, the industry leading algorithms and color manipulations, and the constant updates make for an editing platform that beats out all others.

Cons:

There are components of the editing workflow such as the special effects tabs that aren't as intuitive as after effects and other vfx applications.

Joshua
IT support and Video editor in Oman
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Software with great capabilities for free or a fraction of the price

5.0 last year

Comments: i am so glad i was put in touch with this software as it has made my editing experience so much better, more professional and faster than when using other software.The capabilities it also great and encouraged me to use it more.The other great thing is that there are tons of people using it and so there is a wide amount of help video tutorials and sights to help with things you need to do in it.

Pros:

I really loved the colour grading tools, these are very good with better features than other products at higher price points.It has also a very good editing system and export system. this will meet the needs of any amateur to semi professional users. I am not a fulltime Hollywood editor so i cant really comment on above what I make use of it for.

Cons:

This has been able to deliver on all that i have needed it to. There are features that I am not able to use because those are only available in the paid version but it is a small price to pay for what you are already getting and more.

Abhilash
Abhilash
Colourist in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Graphic Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Da Vinci Resolve!! The Best Colour Grading Software Out there!!

5.0 last year

Comments: Video editing application that facilitates production with tools for color correction, visual effects, motion graphics, and post-production audio.Resolve is tremendous, and is fortunately separated into different 'Pages'. There's one to actually look at your 'Media', one more to plan and 'Cut' your recording, one more to 'Alter', despite the fact that you can likewise do altering in 'Cut'. 'Combination' allows you to collect and apply impacts to cuts through a hub based interface (it's more befuddling and less direct than how different editors work with enhancements, but on the other hand it's hugely strong). 'Variety', is where your variety evaluating happens, 'Fairlight' is for escalated sound work and control, and 'Convey' focusses on sending out your completed item.Regardless of not being a significant jump in rendition numbers, this cycle of Resolve actually packs a decent lot of upgrades, from the unobtrusive connection point change, to the huge in the engine execution improvements.

Pros:

Best in the colour Grading softwaresUser Freindly UIThe software is pretty smooth and responsive in terms of rendering the FootageBasic System Requiremennts are enough to run the software SmoothlyAll the tools required to edit a video is built in the software itself which makes it easier for the user to complete the project in one software itself

Cons:

Noise Reduction is only available in paid versionWhile it has all the features ...all of them are not well integrattedpaid version costs a bit higher

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Machinery, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best free video editing and production platform

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall the tool gets the job done at the end of the day.

Pros:

The product is very stable, mature, and gets constant updates almost on a monthly basis. The platform surprisingly handles huge volume video files with ease. There are loads of features and effect library considering it is a free tool. The text intro library is quite extensive for video intros and credits.

Cons:

The UI/UX can take time to get used to, especially if you're an novice user. Also some of the features are hidden inside menu which would be easily missed. Also some of the terms are specific to this tool for ex. 'Fusion' for 'color grading', this can cause confusion sometimes.

Matthew
Owner in US
Consumer Goods, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ease of use

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

It's simple, Davinci Resolve is easy to use, I had 0 editing experience before Davinci resolve and it honestly was a cake walk to get started. I recommend this product to ANYONE that asks me about video editing, seriously, I tell everyone that even mentions video editing that this is the program to get.

Cons:

honestly not much, there was one update that came along randomly where you couldn't right click the timeline anymore and click "split", which as any video editor knows, you need to do about 500 times every time you open any video project, had to google it, now you can only do it by pressing "ctrl+B", so that problem was solved in about 2 seconds, but it would have been nice after the update if they took like the main components that they changed and add a little tip box next to it "hey, this thing that you have to do all the time, you can't do it like you did anymore, this is the new way", I just got in there after the update and just couldn't start my project until some random guy online let me know why splitting clips didn't work anymore.Extremely specific, just giving something that I least liked just to give one, but as you can see, that's literally nothing, the product is fantastic.

Oumarou
Oumarou
CEO in Cameroon
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

So Good but so heavy

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Not bad but can be better

Pros:

Da Vinci resolve he’s one of my best video editing software. I love it features that combines the equivalent of both adobe premiere Pro and adobe after effects in one and only software.

Cons:

I dislike the wait of the software. I almost every time notice lags while editing in 4K video on my Windows PC. It requires so much cpu and gpu ressources to run properly.

Judah
Lab Worker in US
Media Production, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Best Video Editing

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I would argue that DaVinci resolve is the best video editing platform out there. From looks to price to features, it has it

Cons:

Davinci doesn’t have the ecosystem that adobe does.

Michael
President in US
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best software!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I was using Newtek Speed edit for over 25 years (8 years after it was discontinued) because i could not find software to my liking and that was as easy to use as SpeedEdit. I have tried a couple of those out there and was not satisfied with the performance or workflow and i did not want to pay every year to use the software!
Someone told me to try resolve, I downloaded the free version and ended up editing my next project on it. After that i was hooked! because SpeedEdit had been discontinued it was not accepting certain formats. Resolve took anything i put into it and let me know if the frame rates were different as i put them in timeline. If you are looking to upgrade your editing software resolve is where you should start - you will be hooked

Pros:

How you can customize it to fit your workflow. The color grading is amazing. I am learning new things every day. The software allows you to produce amazing work. The cost is great i got the studio version and a control surface for under $400! no yearly subscription fees and free upgrades! No software out there is doing this! You can even get the basic version for free to work with it to see if you like it.

Cons:

I have not found any yet. I have worked with it over six months and have had no problems that were not solved by a visit to You Tube

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

One of the top video editor

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I am using Danvinci Resolve 17.4.2 it gives this professional feel from its interface, layout and features one can tell that he or she is using an advance editing software. I love the advance color grading and correction tools. I love the fact that under Resolve FX color there is color space transform with preset color schemes that matches the type of camera that one used, applying these the footage dramatically transforms the footage before one proceeds with color grading. Under fusion tap there are nodes that takes this software to the pros. One can color grade or correct separately using nodes separate layers, for instance one can color grade or correct the skin tone, grass or sky separately using nodes layers. What is amazing is that under fusion the nodes allow the editor to fuse and customize the motion graphic effects, also creating awesome 3D text.

Cons:

I started using version 16 I have been struggling with constant crushing and GPU error message. I thought upgrading to version 17 it would be better but it was the same thing. My major issue with Davinci Resolve is constant freezing, crushing during editing and exporting.