Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About OWNA

All-in-one childcare management software for daycare centres in Australia & New Zealand. Join 2,000+ centres who already love OWNA!

Learn more about OWNA

Showing 54 reviews

Susie C.
Director in Australia
Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

THANK YOU for your great software

5 4 months ago

Comments: Your team are the best and I especially love the fact that the team always call back if they don’t have the answers to my myriad of questions.

I have felt really supported and am so happy that I have made the switch.

Pros:

Just want to give you a huge THANK YOU for your great software, but more importantly for the awesome help and support that your team have been providing over the past few months whilst our service has transitioned over from another software.

Cons:

I would like there to be an easy-print one page A4 daily rolls for admin purposes.

OWNA Response

4 months ago

Thanks Susie! It means a lot to us that you've found the switch so worthwhile. Support is something we place a lot of importance on and it's good to see that we're giving you a good experience. Thanks again, - Jack

Brannan L.
Assistant Coordinator in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best move we made!

5 8 months ago

Comments: Everyone in our team is able to use it as it is so user friendly and not complicated even for our non techy staff.

Pros:

We loved how everything we use was on one platform and how inexpensive it was. I also appreciated how amazing the customer support team is and nothing is every to much for them. We have also had so much more parent communication about the children's learning

Cons:

I find the billing side includes a lot of steps and the statements are difficult to read.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks Brannan! Really happy to hear about your increase in parent engagement, and always good to see compliments about the team. Appreciate the billing side can be a somewhat rigorous process. It's something we're looking to streamline as we refine the software this year. Any ongoing issues or suggestions, don't hesitate to contact the support team. Thanks again! - Jack

Liz H.
Chief Operations Officer in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

OWNA # 1 Platform for Childcare Services

4 8 months ago

Comments: SmartPlay's overall experience is very good. We have been proud partners with OWNA and believe in the clever, overarching plan to lift the Early Childhood sector out of the 20th century clunky and paper-based nightmare of compliance regulations. We love that [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] makes himself accessible and does whatever he can to accommodate our needs.

Pros:

We love OWNA's vision to be the best and provide a single platform to serve our Early Childhood and School Age Care services. The management for our national group makes it easy to see what is happening across every centre from the big picture, down to the fine detail. SmartPlay has continued to work with OWNA and increasing the on line, anywhere, anytime features that allow parents easy access, instant staff communication and compliance features and management at centre and national levels to keep a finger on the pulse.

Cons:

OWNA is a new and emerging platform - the work done so far is brilliant. We have asked for some features that are yet to happen as the company has grown so quickly and there is not always the people power at the office to get to all tasks e.g. not providing a break down of the carry over balance which creates extra work for centre directors to interpret a family invoice.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks for the kind words Liz, and appreciate your feedback. I'll pass this onto the team, who are currently reviewing the invoicing process. Thanks - Jack

Maili C.
Authorised Provider in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

OWNA

5 8 months ago

Comments: OWNA has allowed us to be relatively paper free, from programming, observations, reflections, staff and parent input. OWNA allows famillies to see what is happening with their child in real time, for example when nappies changes, how many portions of food at meal times, how long their child has slept for. Families can see photos of their childs day and management can monitor ratios, rosters and events at the centre.

Pros:

There is not a thing that OWNA does not do that is required for compliance in the Early Childhood Industry. From the setup and support to everyday use it has been and is the easiest platform for Educators and families.

Cons:

There is nothing that I dont like about OWNA

Alternatives Considered: Storypark

Reasons for Choosing OWNA: needed to be more interactive with families.

Reasons for Switching to OWNA: Loved that we can customise for our centre.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Wow - thank you Maili! Love to hear feedback like this and so happy you're enjoying the software. - Jack

Jessica L.
Director in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

OWNA is a overall standout.

5 8 months ago

Pros:

For my team, using OWNA across the service means that we are all on the same page, everyone is up to date with all new and current information. The biggest overall application that I love is the ability to view attendances and ratios easily and across the service ensure the correct ratios are met. My team really love the program and staff reflections and the ability to do team reflections benefits our teams allowing all educators to contribute.

Cons:

There are some buggy issues that challenge me and I really hope they roll out the new timesheet/ rostering section as this would be a massive benefit.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks Jessica! Glad to know you're enjoying our software. Please feel free to get in touch with support and explain your timesheet/rostering issue in more detail - unfortunately, I can't answer that right now with the information provided. Thanks again! - Jack

Mechaela B.
Director in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Best Decision

5 8 months ago

Comments: An 'exceeding' experience!

Pros:

The OWNA Team have made our transition and experience with the software extremely smooth and positive. Since making the decision to transition to owna, we have not looked back, going on almost 3 years now. The Team have excellent customer service, attending to our requests and needs straight away.

Cons:

We are unable to fault this software. Especially because all feedback is taken seriously and used to improve the software straight away, sometimes over night!

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Wow thanks Mechaela! Really happy to see you're still having an 'exceeding' experience after almost 3 years with us! - Jack

Daniele D.
Centre director in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Complete package

5 8 months ago

Comments: Amazing customer service. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] even came to visit us in person couple of years ago...

Pros:

The checklists notifications, rosters, medication and incident forms

Cons:

The small amount of photos that can be posted at each time. The notifications of expiry documents as it does not state which document is expiring.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks for the feedback Daniele! Happy to see you're enjoying the app, and I'll pass your comments onto the team to see if there's anything we can do. Thanks again - Jack

Alana A.
Director of Kindergarten in Australia
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

OWNA Review

5 8 months ago

Pros:

I love how user friendly OWNA is. It makes programming so easy and I love how you can customize tags and categories. Our families are finding OWNA easy to use and it is a great way of communicating. There are so many features on OWNA that is really helps in running a quality service.

Cons:

The only thing that is a bit tricky is how different the app is to accessing it on a computer... there seems to be some restrictions when using the app on a phone/ipad.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks Alana! Happy to know you're enjoying our app and software, and you're able to maintain a quality service. Regarding the app and the admin dashboard, we want to make the app something which is on-the-go, whereas the dashboard is more in-depth. In theory, the app should be primarily used by parents and educators for things that require immediate attention (posts, sign in/out etc.), whereas the admin dashboard is where directors go to have a 360 degree view of the centre. Thanks again for your feedback, and I hope you keep enjoying our software! - Jack

Diane M.
Centre Manager in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Rosebud Cottage

5 2 months ago

Comments: One of the easiest software systems I've used and navigated

Pros:

Very easy to use on all levels, user friendly and offered a great deal on data entry

Cons:

Some info is doubled up to access some areas

OWNA Response

2 months ago

Thanks Diane, Glad to hear you're enjoying the software. Ease of use is something we've focused a lot of time and effort on in recent months, so really happy to see that you're enjoying the platform how we intended. Thanks again, OWNA Team

Neisha P.
Owner in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Can’t live without it !!!

5 8 months ago

Comments: Very happy with the service as product I do t know who we managed before we had our app !!

Pros:

Compliance at your fingertips!! All staff details and ratio checks available live

Cons:

I would love to be able to bold text when required

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks Neisha! Good to know you're able to manage your centre and navigate compliance with our help. - Jack - Jack

Jennifer B.
Centre Manager in Australia
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review

4 8 months ago

Pros:

Combining of all systems , rostering, ccs,children accounts, and checklists.

Cons:

When parents need to confirm if their child is away, please include the name of the child. Some families with multiple children don't know which one they are signing for.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks Jennifer. I'll pass this feedback onto the development team, and see what we can do. - Jack

Courtney F.
Director in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

More sustainable

5 8 months ago

Comments: My overall experience with OWNA has been good. I am still getting use to the platform and how to use it, but I enjoy the tutorials that offer guidance navigating the platform and particular features.

Pros:

I like that there is less paper trail and everything we need is easily accessible on OWNA. Families enjoy the ability of being able to view particular documents when unable to visit the centre. This offers another platform of communication for all stakeholders.

Cons:

That I am unable to make multiple selections to delete particular documents.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks Courtney! Appreciate the feedback & good to know you're enjoying the app. - Jack

Carlyn R.
Director in Australia
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One stop shop!

3 8 months ago

Pros:

One stop shop. Being an OSHC, there are features that need tweaking - but loved it when in LDC

Cons:

Tricky with OSHC services, but the team make regular changes and upgrades to accommodate us.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Hi Carlyn. Sorry to hear about your experience with OWNA. I'll pass this feedback onto the team. - Jack

Stephan T.
Director in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent Child Care Centre Application

4 8 months ago

Comments: We are quite happy with the OWNA product and the support team. We have not moved to the CCS feature because of concern with glitches. We plan to move in the future when the system is stable.

Pros:

Parents have access to real time information (daily menu, curriculum, meal consumption, sleep times). The OWNA platform reduces the need for paper-based records and the educators have access to record information online (incident reports, checklists, medication records, hazard reports, evacuation drills, etc). Responsive support team.

Cons:

Rostering feature is not flexible so we do not utilise. The QIP feature is not well developed for our usage. Occasional glitches.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks for the feedback Stephan. Good to hear you're enjoying the app, and appreciate you letting us know what's not working so well. Could you please contact support and explain the issue with inflexible rostering & QIP suitability? Regarding glitches - we've been growing rapidly this year and recently increased our server capacity to cope with this, so stability shouldn't be an issue anymore. Please contact support if you're still having issues. - Jack

Jennifer S.
Coordinator/ Licensee in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect all-in- one solution

5 8 months ago

Comments: Exceptional

Pros:

OWNA offers a perfect product! The app and admin portal combine for ease of use for management, staff and families. Developers are continuously adding benefits and value and respond immediately to ideas and requests.

Cons:

Can’t fault this product. Streamlined all our day to day requirements and activities.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Perfect? Wow, thanks Jennifer! Always good to hear from centres that love using our software, and glad to know you're still enjoying after this time. - Jack

Rita L.
Educational Leader in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My views on owna

3 8 months ago

Comments: - i think when we first began with OWNA the app/portal was more stable, we now constantly have issues with the app/portal and girls losing written work. -

Pros:

- it allows our centre to be paperless - app is easy to use - families are able to view their child's day easily - communication via families/educators and educators/educators is simple and effective

Cons:

- feel like i have suggested several ways that the app can be improved but its always placed on a waiting list such as making the linking of goals to posts via the app - we have several issues with girls losing their work via the app and portal - that only 20 photos can be uploaded at any one time

OWNA Response

5 months ago

Hi Rita! Thanks for your feedback. As you may be aware, we've been undergoing some rapid growth this year, and there was a period of time where our servers struggled to handle the amount of people on the app/portal. We've since increased our capacity and everything should be running smoothly now, so let us know if this is an ongoing issue and we can troubleshoot some stuff with you. Regarding losing work, the portal logs you out after 60 minutes of inactivity, so we encourage you to save your work before you leave your desk for any extended period of time. Thanks again for your feedback and don't hesitate to contact the support team for any ongoing issues you're facing. - Jack

Sid Y.
Director in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Industry Leader. Innovative and Always Improving.

4 8 months ago

Comments: We were one of the first during the pilot and have been a dedicated customer ever since.
Relationship with Owna goes up to management level.
Feedback and response to issues or improvement requests are dealt with on a personal level.
Always adding community requested feature or even custom features for our specific needs.

Pros:

Real-time updates on attendance and ratios. Privacy and security-aware. Meets regulations and tight policies in the industry. Intuitive and easy to use interface. Platform independent and customised apps for Android/Apple devices.

Cons:

The product is great but there are still areas/processes that we believe can be integrated to reduce paperwork and improve efficiencies in our industry. We're sure these will come in time but would be good to have now.

Alternatives Considered: QikKids

Reasons for Choosing OWNA: Cost savings. One app vs multiple apps. Platform independent. Can use on a mobile device via the app or via a web browser. New functionality improved efficiency of business. One dashboard for a birds-eye view of everything.

Reasons for Switching to OWNA: Cost savings. Additional features.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks Sid! Appreciate your honest feedback. Feel free to message the support team with your suggestions re: integrations and we'll take a look at implementing them. Glad to hear you're still enjoying the app. Cheers! - Jack

Rajai W.
Managing Director in Australia
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Panda Review on OWNA

5 8 months ago

Comments: Very happy and have recommended you to many of other childcares.

Pros:

1- We liked the super fast and helpful support team 2- We liked the flow of the system and the way different aspects are organised 3- User-friendly and not complicated to learn

Cons:

1- Parents faced errors in enrolment form and child care subsidy calculator, we feel they should have been tested more thoroughly by your tech team before rolling those features out 2- We signed up for the Premium Plus + but were disappointed that you are unable to commit to the customisation of app etc and had to downgrade us to Premium due to being "busy". Again, I would suggest that you remove this product from your website if you are unable to commit to the features listed on it.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks Rajai! Happy to hear how much you're enjoying the software & thanks for recommending us. The enrolments & CCS calculator should be fully functional now for some time, but if you're still having issues, as always feel free to get in touch with our support team. We've been going through a big period of growth recently and unfortunately had to slow down the roll out of the premium plus package. We should be able to get back to full capacity soon, so watch this space! Thanks again - Jack

Kirsty S.
Area manager in Australia
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing user friendly app

5 8 months ago

Comments: Amazing experience, both staff and parents love the app and all of its features.

Pros:

The app is very user friendly and new features are always being added. The support team are fantastic and are very quick to respond to all questions and queries.

Cons:

There is nothin I would currently change about the app

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks Kirsty! Happy to hear your staff & families are enjoying the software. - Jack

Ash G.
Assistant Director in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Owna as a platform

5 8 months ago

Comments: We use it as communication tool and it works well for our service.

Pros:

User friendly - Everything is accessible at one spot.

Cons:

Sometimes it glitches on the ipads- n it freezes but overall really good.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks Ash! Glad to know you're finding the app easy to use. Appreciate the feedback! - Jack

Ashley G.
Nominated Supervisor in Australia
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

OWNA review

4 8 months ago

Comments: Overall we love it.

Pros:

I really enjoy having all my information for the entire centre in one place. Our families love that they can get up to date information on their child's day as it is recorded.

Cons:

The accounts, invoicing section etc is confusing and takes a lot to understand queries from families etc. A more streamlined easy to read transaction screen and accounts would be great. The pricing for using FatZebra is quite expensive also.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Thanks Ashley. Glad to know you like our software. I appreciate a new system can be hard to understand when it comes to invoicing and accounts. We've got a heap of tutorials and webinars on our YouTube channel, so feel free to head over there and see if it can help you get familiar with that side of the app/dashboard. - Jack

Kim P.
Nominated Supervisor in Australia
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Feels like its in its baby stages of development

3 8 months ago

Pros:

Support team are very patient & responsive although e mailing is pretty pointless as ends up in a completely misunderstood to and fro situation. Phone call support is fantastic. Features are being considered/added quickly as suggested/required.

Cons:

I dont find this software at all user friendly in comparison to other childcare software platforms I have used in OSHC. Lots of opportunity for error, difficult to manage basic tasks such as navigating around a child's complete details (usually kept in one space/page not multiple different areas) tricky to learn as does not seem logical/practical to the average person without formal IT training!

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Sorry to hear about your issues with the app. We do offer lots of training for the software, including webinars and tutorials that can be accessed via our YouTube channel, or you can take part in our weekly webinar that we send round to all our centres. Any suggestions, feel free to email us at [email protected] and we'll review them. Thanks! - Jack

Tanya C.
Owner Director in Australia
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Muddy Puddles

4 8 months ago

Comments: More time on my hands.

Pros:

Ease of use, linking to CCS automatically to process payments, allowing direct debit features, casual booking feature.

Cons:

Would like to add a couple of more things to the software to suit my Centre.

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Hi Tanya! Good to know you're enjoying the software - if you'd like to discuss adding some features, feel free to get in touch with our support, and we'd be happy to accommodate your feedback. - Jack

Sandra C.
Nominated Supervisor in Australia
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Review on OWNA

2 8 months ago

Pros:

The support from OWNA has been very good. OWNA are looking at ways to help develop the programme to more suit OSHC

Cons:

There are too many steps ,it is not an easy to follow programme . I don't think it suits our purpose

OWNA Response

8 months ago

Hi Sandra, Sorry to hear about your experience in finding the software hard to follow. Much of our positive feedback includes comments around how easy the software is, so maybe we're missing something in getting the use of the app over to you and your centre. We're currently reviewing how we do our webinars and tutorials, but in the meantime, feel free to head over to our YouTube channel for some video help: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoBvQ25fLqArfxH0CicGqVQ Or head to our help centre or some common tasks/FAQs: https://www.notion.so/OWNA-Help-Centre-720e68c03205487eb81483c944d3f6df And as always, our support team will be on hand to solve anything else you're struggling with. Thanks for the feedback - Jack

Konstantina B.
Assistant Director/ Kindergarten Teacher in Australia
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic application, highly reccomended

5 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

This application allows for a more streamlined service, easy to access by educators and families and supports a more inclusive a encompassing environment.

Cons:

Small bug fixes. timers for breaks and nappy changes. hiring features ie. position title, staff handbook all requiring signatures