15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Labguru

All in one LIMS/ELN/ Informatics - Manage data & inventory, automate workflows, create dashboards, share information & much more.

Learn more about Labguru

Pros:

The easy interface allows me to better control the Lab goals. The fact that the LabGure also backup all the data stored in another advantge.

Cons:

The second aspect of using Labguru or any similar platform is the heavy reliance on the internet. Labguru is certainly not solely to be blamed solely.

Labguru ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

Labguru has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 18 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (18)

Sort by

Have you used Labguru before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (18)

Elisa
Elisa
Lab Director in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Comprehensive and flexible ELN system. Powerful rodent features

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have put Labguru at the centre of our day to day labwork, both for lab management and to organise experiments and data.
We migrated our consumables, mice list, etc using their template files and use it daily to log experiments, data and protocols.

Pros:

It allows to effectively organise your stocks, whether they are cells, reagents or rodent specimens. Allocate them to locations (rooms, racks, boxes) and consume reagents in the experiment records helps keep track of what needs ordering. The experiments can be created, organised, moved and even saved as protocol templates which allows flexibility, as it does the option to link resources. To import and export list of any stocks is very easy and fast using the excel templates. As a manager, is very easy to distribute roles and access to the different users.

Cons:

Sometimes the local edit plugin function to edit a document embedded in an experiment doesn't work properly and requires manual editing, which is more time consuming. Overall it requires to spend time learning how to use it, but this is because it's very comprehensive and has many functions.

Yasmin
Senior scientist II in US
Biotechnology, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Customizable ELN with amazing customer support

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

We most liked how customizable most features in this ELN are. We can edit the existing inventories, create our own inventories, customize equipment maintenance, and protocols. This has made it easier to easily log and search for scientists' work. It has also made setting up consistent workflows easier.

Cons:

Uptake has been difficult especially with lab members who are not comfortable with adapting to software that requires a lot of clicking and many different steps to setup features. We also wish there was a way to integrate our purchasing with automatic inventory updates. For now, we have to manually enter new inventory stocks.

Lucie
Lab Technician in Belgium
Biotechnology, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A great all in-one data management platform for Biotech

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: In a nutshell, Labguru allowed us to conduct scientific activities quickly and efficiently. The entire platform is made to offer a customized experience based on the needs of the company. It’s really interesting for young startups like Equaly to start with LabGuru, since it can evolve and adapt to our changing needs along with the development of our company.

Pros:

We particularly appreciate the Excel spreadsheet tool and the possibility to connect an experiment to any other element inside LabGuru with the Linked Resources option. In only one year of use, we experienced the platform evolving.

Cons:

The text processing is tricky, and sometimes the program crashed while working, but this last issue seemed to be solved now.

Jennie
Principal Scientist in UK
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Cannot live without it

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Amazing experience. Tracking and usage of antibodies and when any reagents are consumed. Help us to keep track of consumables and when to order items in good time. Labguru helped us to keep track of when to clean, calibrate, service and audit (etc) equipments so we don't need to rely on the use of google calendar for example.

Pros:

Labguru is very user friendly. Although there are still minor things to be tweaked, I like the appearance of the LIMS as a whole and how easy it is for our internal developers to use API and customise the LIMS to fit our needs. It is great with integration with our other sample collection system. It is very easy to import in samples and link experiment and reagent usage to each sample. All actions are tracked and there is a trail log which is super useful if needed for troubleshooting and also for the purpose of auditing and eventually accreditation of our lab. I like that we can customise to get notifications when reagents are running low and when items have expired in addition to when and what maintenance are due for each equipment. Not forgetting it is easy to set up label template and print labels to stick on our lab tubes/plates during our choice of label printer.

Cons:

At the moment it seems that moving items between storage location is not very specific but this is on their list of things to do to make it better. When we have documents to upload for certain equipment, we cannot yet upload them to specific service date that is logged but only upload to the main equipment inventory page, which is ok but would be great to associate documents to corresponding maintenance event. It would be useful to get notifications at a specified time (i.e. 1 month) prior to reagent expiring and not just when the reagents have expired. Our developer had sorted out customised emails for this (again indicating how easy to customise Labguru to suit our needs) but if this setting could be implemented in Labguru it would be very useful.

Anindita
Postdoctoral fellow in US
Research, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Labguru: It wears many hats at the same time

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I feel Labguru has its own set of advantages but at the same time, it has some risks associated with it. So, I believe the company should bring about some changes in its data backup policies, most importantly, to be in the competitive market.

Pros:

Our laboratory has purchased several licenses for Labguru and we have been using it for several years now. 1. One of the biggest advantages of Labguru is that one gets to consolidate all data all content and written matter in one place. So that allows people to be more organized. 2. Besides, most people can then access other's content as well. This may sound bad but is not really, because say I need a protocol for an experiment from my colleague, he tells me exactly what to look for and from which experiment on his Labguru. I simply go and take a look at the protocol instead of bothering him for his notebook or his time. 3. Labguru can be used to maintain instrument usage, bookings, and service which was particularly useful for us during the COVID no contact protocol. 4. Also, maintaining Labguru records allows the authorities/Professor to keep a tab on the progress of their students/staff.

Cons:

The biggest con of this software is that it does not have a backup policy. You can physically store the pdf of the Labguru virtual notebook but what do you do for the data? The moment my lab or research group decides to quit Labguru, all the data will be lost. There are generations of work in Labguru that were saved by my other colleagues, all that would be gone. The second aspect of using Labguru or any similar platform is the heavy reliance on the internet. Labguru is certainly not solely to be blamed solely. If someone has a bad internet day then he/she will not be able to work on Labguru at all.

Brian
Assistant Professor in US
Higher Education, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Labguru is a great choice for academic labs.

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Easy access to all of our laboratory information and research results online.

Cons:

The inventory search feature would benefit from a "search all fields" option, but it's an easy issue to work around.

BioData Response

4 years ago

Hi Brian, Thank you for taking the time to review Labguru ELN, LIMS and Informatics solution. I have forwarded your comment about the search capability to our product team. We always look for constructive comments that help us improve our service. All the best, Michal

Erez
Head of Analytical Development in Israel
Pharmaceuticals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best ELN I used! easy, user-friendly, highly recommended!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: As a team leader, Labguru made it easy for me to review my team experimental design and results. I could electronically sign and approve their work and communication became much easier thanks to the vast features Labguru is offering. in addition, Labguru offers an inventory feature which is very useful for sample management and orders.

Pros:

Labguru is a use-friendly ELN which allows the use to effectively manage And review their data, plan their experimental work, store inventory and more. Labguru is also align with the regulatory compliance demands which makes it a very powerful tool.

Cons:

Rarely there were some missing features but with the help and support of the Labguru team, I managed to overcome this and often these features were added following my request.

BioData Response

4 years ago

Hi Erez, Thank you for taking the time and writing your review. We appreciate your feedback and are happy we can grow our product thanks to partners like yourself. Your feedbacks are always helpful and constructive.

Keren
VP R&D in Israel
Biotechnology, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerful ELN Tool for R&D

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: All the protocols, results and reports are available and organized in one place.
Data is accessible for review and easy to navigate.
Importantly, We are able to create customized forms and documentation according to our methodology and fields suitable for our nature of work and in-line with QA/GLP requirements.
We are able to create forms that allow unanimous data documentation with mandatory fields to allow traceability and better reproducibility.
Admin can electronically review, comment, and approve the teams results, progress etc.
Labguru also offers an inventory feature which is very useful for sample management and orders.
Storage is updated and documented including customized expiry/stock alerts.

Pros:

Labguru supports all R&D aspects, which makes it a great R&D tool for data arrangement & management.

Cons:

Inserting data manually and understanding the different features. However, with great support we received from Labguru team support we were able to implement the module rather easily. Better tutorials of system features and how to use it are recommended.

BioData Response

4 years ago

Thanks Keren for the nice review. we appreciate your comments and will do our best to improve.

Dino
Principal Scientist in UK
Biotechnology, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Intuitive and complete eLN with good Project Management capacity

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's just a very good system to use to record and share experiments and the very importantly the customer service is very responsive and helpful.

Pros:

- Intuitive to use - Ease of copy and paste anything - Folder type of structure - Inventory/Storage module - Project Management capabilities

Cons:

- Not fine control over the rights to change Project folders - Not being able to impose the use of 2FA to users - Very frequent password change

BioData Response

4 years ago

Thanks Dino! We appreciate you took the time to write a review. We will definitely take your comments under consideration.

Egehan
Egehan
Senior Resident in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Keeping lab files organized

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Labguru especially made a difference in terms of collaboration among lab members working on different projects.

Pros:

Labguru makes collaboration among lab members easier by providing access to various ongoing projects.

Cons:

Calendar feature could be improved. An add-on making integration possible with other calendar apps might come in handy.

Frederik
Professor in Belgium
Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use ELN with makes academic research more efficient

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The ELN really helps to have a good overview of research that is conducted in an academic research lab. As professor and promoter of several PhD students and supervisor of tech staff for contract research, a good overview is crucial and Labguru offers this. Labguru makes the research also more efficient and standardized, the inventory of chemicals/biologicals is also coupled to experiments which make tracking much easier. It is for our laboratory the ideal tool to manage our research lab/ manage the inventory and supervise different research project in an efficient way.

Cons:

I have no major remarks about the software, is very user friendly and self-explaining.

BioData Response

3 years ago

Thank you, Frederik! We highly appreciate you took the time to write a review about Labguru. We are happy to hear that Labguru helps you manage your research and become more efficient. we will be happy to hear more about how we can give you more value and understand your concerns in this matter.

Joseph
PI in Israel
Biotechnology, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Aizen lab - guide for success

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

As a young PI, organizing a new Lab with new students make all the process much easier. The ability to know online how every project is advancing is an advantage for a PI. The easy interface allows me to better control the Lab goals. the fact that the LabGure also backup all the data stored in another advantge.

Cons:

I think that the LabGure should have the ability to be linked to Graphpad Prizm and other statistical softwaers. it will make all the data analysis much more easy and user friendly.

Kellen
Director of Operations in US
Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great LIMS, informatics and automation solution

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The platform is very versatile and can be customized depending on your organization's needs. We use the barcoding, inventory management and data management features on a daily basis. We find LabGuru to be a great "all-in-one" LIMS solution.

Cons:

I really don't have any complaints. Like all platforms, it does take some time to get setup--but the customer support team is very helpful and responsive.

Laureana
Scientist in Israel
Pharmaceuticals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Electronic notebook for labs

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Interface is good and easy to use. Documenting every day work on this lab notebook is optimal.

Cons:

Word documents can't be add it to page. Also the copy and paste from excel and word is not easy to edit.

Terezia
COO in Norway
Biotechnology, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Comprehensive ELN and Inventory for A Biotech Startup

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Labguru is a user-friendly ELN which allows efficient design and monitoring of the experiments. Great support of the LabGuru team.

Cons:

A bit overwhelming at the beginning, quite some time needed to be able to use it efficiently. Once customised, the ELN and inventory are making the work much more efficient.

Paulo
Post Doctoral Researcher in Denmark
Research, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Powerful Tool for Laboratory Management

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been working with Labguru for 5 years.

Pros:

Interconnectivity of experiments, samples, reagents, and equipment, everything can be tracked down.

Cons:

The price is above average in the market.

vincent
CSO in France
Biotechnology, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

implementation of an electronic lab book

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

this software correspond to all our needs, the transfert from paper to electronic lab book is very rapide and easy

Cons:

at the moment, there is no problem around the utilization of this software

Andrea
Group Leader in UK
Biotechnology, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use ELN and inventory management software for organising the lab and experiments

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

User friendly system for storing protocols, writing up experiments, useful inventory for cold storage, equipment, samples etc. Easy to share and witness experiments. helps to manage and organise the lab. Good support from the company.

Cons:

When trying to import a large amount of data the system sometimes is slow or import fails occasionally. Sometimes the search function fails to find all documents. Otherwise, no problems.