15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About GOAT Risk

GOAT is an easy to use Enterprise Risk Management system expertly designed to help non-risk experts. From £30/mo for up to 5 users.

Learn more about GOAT Risk

Pros:

Really helpful in structuring the risk management approach, also, user friendly and very intuitive.

Cons:

The ability to aggregate themes i.e., number of people risks identified in all profiles, or IT risks identified in all profiles.

GOAT Risk ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.9

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

GOAT Risk has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 49 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used GOAT Risk before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (49)

Dougie
Head of Risk in Estonia
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cost Effective Solution for ERM

5.0 last month New

Pros:

The GOAT Team are continuously improving he product based on feedback

Cons:

Formatting issues with text input sometimes impacts reporting tools

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

last month

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review Dougie :) With regards to the formatting issues, we're assuming this is relating to where text is being copied and pasted between fields? We'll drop you a private message in this regard.

Mark
Enterprise Risk in UK
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Enterprise Risk and GOAT

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Great product and very easy to set up and use.

Pros:

The ease for all people throughout the company to use the product and update the risks. Whether they are risk professionals or new to risk management.

Cons:

More information could be displayed on the screen but instead there are blank spaces.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

9 months ago

Thanks for taking the time to write us such a positive review Mark - that's much appreciated. We're delighted to hear how GOAT Risk™ is helping both risk experts and non-risk experts alike to get hands on with risk management there.

Faizah
Credit Risk Manager in UK
Financial Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great product, as a non risk expert

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use and ease of deployment, no training needed whatsoever

Cons:

Some of the functionality was a bit basic but that's also a pro

Jenny
Risk Officer in Isle of Man
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Straightforward Risk Management System

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: [sensitive content hidden] from GOAT are approachable, helpful and knowledgeable about the system and risk itself. They have regularly reached out to offer assistance. Embedding GOAT is taking time but the base framework fits with our business and is working well.

Pros:

The dashboard, functionality, and the reports.

Cons:

Would suggest more tips/examples around KPIs and the ability to attach documents.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

2 months ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a helpful review Jenny. It's much appreciated, and we're delighted to hear that the system is fitting with your business needs and working well.

Doug
CFO in Australia
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Reporting Risk to the Board

4.0 5 months ago

Pros:

It sits on top of our existing reporting and does not add to the workload by creating a seperate standalone system

Cons:

The hardest part is not the system but the education of users to understand how to use it. We had a lightbulb moment where we nailed down the interaction between the register and the other reporting so that it was fed from the other reports rather than competed with them.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

5 months ago

Hi Doug. We just wanted to say thanks for taking the time to leave this helpful and positive review. It's really appreciated. Great to hear about your 'lightbulb' moment with regards to reporting too! Just let us know if there's anything we can ever help you or your growing user community with.

Tanya
Hospital Director in UK
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Feedback for Goat

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Excellent -ease of use and fully supported

Pros:

Affordable and easy to use. Great support too

Cons:

Nothing to mention that had any significant impact

Alternatives Considered: Datix

Reasons for Switching to GOAT Risk: Cost and not user friendly, over complicated

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

5 months ago

Hi Tayna. What a lovely review! Thank you so much :-) It really does mean a lot to us as we grow our business. Hope to speak with you again soon and best wishes for the festive season.

Marian
Interim Operations Manager in Ireland
Public Policy, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

One home for Risk Management

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

This is a great piece of software that has helped us engrain risk management in our decision making and helped our reporting requirements to committees that run/govern our organisation.

Cons:

We are happy overall with this software.

Alternatives Considered: Decision Time Risks and BoardEffect

Reasons for Switching to GOAT Risk: Mainly the price point was the key benefit of this package.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

5 months ago

Thanks for leaving us such a glowing review Marian! Everyone here is really delighted to hear that the system is helping you to embed risk management and improve decision making. Exactly what it's designed to do!

bert
VP Corporate Risk in Netherlands
Dairy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Starting to work with Goat Risk

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Very knowledgeable people, super easy to work with Goat employees, quite easy to share "wishes".

Pros:

value for money. Very easy going company. Easy to setup (does take only a few hours)

Cons:

It is almost to easy to do business with them when you are part of a multinational and you have stakeholders like a legal and IT department.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

3 weeks ago

Hello Bert. Thank you for taking the time to post such a helpful review. We're delighted that you're enjoying the experience so far, and look forward to building a long and healthy working relationship with you :)

Marius
Manager Health and Safety in Canada
Mining & Metals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Ease of overall use

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Very positive overall. The customer support function and abilities are superb. Calls are answered within hours.

Pros:

The setup was painless and the ease of use in general is very good.

Cons:

None comes to mind. It was however slightly difficult at the outset to draw reports and to customize reports.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

3 weeks ago

Hi Marius. Thank you very much for kindly taking the time to leave such a positive review. We're all really delighted you're enjoying the system (and our support function too!).

Kane
Head of Risk and Compliance in Australia
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing Enterprise Risk Management System

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

We are a mid-sized personal lending company and GOAT Risk is perfect for our needs. We need a platform to regularly assess, manage and monitor our Enterprise Risks and Incidents and GOAT is exactly the solution we were after. GOAT is industry-agnostic and could be utilised by a number of companies - I would highly recommend, especially if you do not require a fully integrated ERM/GRC system.

Cons:

Certainly not a con, although the navigation of reporting is not quite as agile as I would like, however this is a very minor drawback.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

4 weeks ago

Thanks for leaving us such a helpful and glowing review Kane :) We're absolutely delighted you feel the system is perfect for your needs. Just let us know when you'd like to have that discussion around reporting.

Daniel
Information Security Risk and Compliance Officer in UK
Biotechnology, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The Only Option!

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: The problem with conventional risk management toolsets is that they are usually built around GRC tools that require huge amounts of configuration before handing over to the client and constant support throughout the use of the product. They are often complicated to use, require users to undergo substantial training, and cost an absolute fortune. GOAT Risk is the exact opposite of this!If you're looking for a completely customisable risk management tool that doesn't require any support and comes jam packed with features straight out of the box at an incredible price, there is no other option. This tool is incredible and the team at GOAT are so helpful and willing to chat at any time.

Pros:

OUT THE BOXStraight out of the box this tool is packed full of customisable features that allow you to manipulate the tool to fit seamlessly into well established risk management processes and procedures and instantly take you away from endless spreadsheets. Within 15 minutes I had our current risk assessment template configured in the software and was inputing data to test out how reports would export.TEMPLATESThe templates feature allowed me to push the customisation to not only include Open, Accepted, and Closed risk registers as well as risk assessment processes, but I could also utilise the customisable templates to create Remedial Action Plans to track actions from Audit and IT Health Check reports, Third Party Risk Registers to track security assessments carried out on partners and suppliers along with any incidents that may have an impact on their overall risk rating, and even Continual Service Improvement Plans to track progress on improvement projects. REVIEWING AND UPDATINGAll actions/risks are assigned to someone and the simple notification email including a link that takes the owner straight to the update section is so useful and increases risk engagement from none risk team members exponentially. This is invaluable, and due to the way that GOAT has been developed requires no configuration other than adding the users email address.

Cons:

Dashboards have fairly limited customisation in comparison to every other feature in the tool.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

9 months ago

Hi Dan, Thanks for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive (and glowing!) review. It's really appreciated :-) We hope it will help other buyers in the market for a simple, yet effective risk platform at a sensible price with their decision process.

Steven
Head of Enterprise Risk in Isle of Man
Gambling & Casinos, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Do more for less!

4.0 last year

Comments: GOAT Risk is a perfect for our current needs. It's a great tool that we are using to map out our risk landscape in a structured and comprehensive manner. The software provides a low cost option to build out your risk management framework on your own terms, and can help avoid costly consultancy and implementation fees associated with the bigger GRC platform providers. The service from [sensitive content hidden] and the Team is exceptional.

Pros:

The most impactful feature by far is the level of customisation available straight out of the box, particularly with the Enterprise PRO subscription. This is of immense help if you are iteratively building out risk profiles for the first time. GOAT Risk couldn't be easier to use and is super intuitive for risk and non-risk professionals alike.

Cons:

The Enterprise PRO version would benefit from the addition of an individual control RAG rating, in addition to the overall control effectiveness rating. This will help Managers better identify control hotspots at a glance.

Alternatives Considered: Camms.Risk and Microsoft Access

Reasons for Switching to GOAT Risk: Overall, it was more suitable for our current level of risk management maturity. Cost, ease of use, and service were significant factors too.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

last year

Hi Steven. Thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and helpful review. Everyone here at GOAT Risk really appreciates it! We've noted your comments regarding the individual control RAG rating and will let you know if/when system development in this area is planned.

Angelique
Vice President of Governance and Risk Management in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

GOAT Risk Review - Paul Davis Restoration, Inc.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have found GOAT to be a useful, cost-effective tool as we are maturing our Risk Management program.

Pros:

Overall the tool is very easy to use and implement, especially for small to medium-sized organizations looking to "get off spreadsheets" and manage and report risks in a more automated fashion. The tool allows us to create multiple Risk Profiles specific to our organization's requirements. For example, we started with a risk profile for our franchisee network and are planning on additional risk profiles for other areas of our organization. Each Risk Profile allows us to create/assign specific risk items to that profile. The tool provides standard risks, and also the capability to create risk items specific to our business and operations. We are able to create and assign objective criteria for Likelihood and Impact. There is guidance within the tool on what to consider for this criteria. In our case, we customized the Likelihood and Impact definitions so the risk assessment respondents could move from subjective to objective risk assignment. By placing these on the Heatmap, our teams have a great visual of the risk ranking. The Dashboard presents a great visual and overview of the Risk Profile. We are able to assign owners, create controls, KPI/KRIs, and document actions taken on specific risk items. There are standard reports available in a .pdf format which makes it easy to create and share information on the Risk Profile.

Cons:

The standard reports are a great out-of-the-box solution. And yet, we are finding the need for some custom reporting to support the requirements of our Senior Leadership team and other stakeholders.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

2 years ago

That's a great review Angelique, thank you very much for taking the time to explain how you use it in your organisation. I'll be in touch to see if we can help you further on the reporting perhaps on a custom development basis.

Reece
Group Operation Risk Officer in Isle of Man
Financial Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Simple and Effective

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: The overall experience with GOAT is one which is positive. It is a system that will help drive a stronger more embedded risk culture and help people manage their risks effectively. GOAT helps take away the mundane experience of excel and turn the risk identification into a more pleasing and engaging manner. This has helped massively with building a more proactive nature when identifying, scoring and reviewing potential risks to our business.

Pros:

1. Easy to use for all layers of the business. this is a massive pro as it increases the awareness and visibility when conducting Risk Assessments. 2. The System provides fantastic reports which transport data from a profile to an easy to understand compound sheet helping the executive teams understand the risk data and take correct actions. 4. The interaction created through this tool helps create a stronger bond between risk functions and those risk owners - GOAT helps articulate Risk Management in a non-complicated manner

Cons:

The ability to aggregate themes i.e., number of people risks identified in all profiles, or IT risks identified in all profiles. This would allow us to see those areas which have a number of risks associated to deep dive into the issues at hand. This has to be done manually at the moment but is still feasible to do with some guidance form the GOAT Team. other than that, there are no cons with this product

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

5 months ago

Hi Reece. We just wanted to drop you a quick note to express our thanks for this detailed (and glowing!) review. We're really pleased you're enjoying the simplicity and effectiveness of the system, and hope to continue our partnership for many years to come.

James
Head of Internal Audit and Risk in UK
Higher Education, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

GOAT risk management - user review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall my experience so far has been very positive. It is a very quick and easy system to use, and capable of handling our existing risk methodology, with options for further development as our risk maturity improves.

Pros:

I most liked the reporting options which allowed me to assign risks to more than one reporting structure (e.g. risks are tagged to the profile of their individual register, but can handle multiple 'tags' which allows me to extract by committee as well (to multiple committees where required)). Also it was really easy to set up, and it is really good value for money

Cons:

There are options for reporting, but it would be great to be able to create and add your own reports and edit the report templates. Once extracted i am manipulating the data in microsoft office to display it according to our own reporting templates (e.g. in excel and powerpoint)

Alternatives Considered: Ideagen Risk Management

Reasons for Switching to GOAT Risk: Cheaper and didn't and our organisation's risk maturity was low so didn't need advanced risk functionality.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

2 years ago

Thanks for the review James, its great to hear how GOAT is being used and adding value in your business. It's also valuable input to hear where we can improve.

Stuart
Managing Director in Australia
Professional Training & Coaching, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Goat Risk Leadership

5.0 last year

Comments: Our client was working with an excel spreadsheet as their risk register and it was ineffective in supporting risk management, leadership and capability in the organisation. The Goat Risk platform has allowed this business to have a clear line of sight of risk, owners and controls that is up to date and most importantly the leadership from Board through to frontline have altitude control and can review designated risks in real time. This has reduced cost for the business and allowed for greater transparency for the business and regulators in that industry.

Pros:

The platform is easy to use, dynamic and supports the teams to understand and effectively lead and manage risk in the organisation. It allows non risk experts to achieve a capability and understanding of their critical part in the risk environment.

Cons:

No issues with the Goat Risk platform at all.

Karen
Finance Director in UK
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple, affordable risk management

4.0 5 months ago

Pros:

Simple to use online system that allows us to focus on the content of the risk register rather than the administration.

Cons:

The heat map can be a little messy with a lot of risks, but it's a lot easier than trying to produce in Excel or similar.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

5 months ago

Hi Karen. Thanks for leaving us this helpful review; your time is very much appreciated. With regards to the heat-map becoming over-crowded, some of our clients find it helpful to switch one or two of the scoring 'dimensions' off e.g. Gross/Inherent and/or Target within their template before then running reports. We recommend that individual Profiles should ideally contain no more than 12-15 Risks, but appreciate that subscription costs increase in line with the number of Profiles being created! Just let us know if you'd like to jump on a call at any time to discuss this area in more detail.

Jørgen
Quality Manager in Norway
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

GOAT is simple and straight to the point

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We need a good risk evaluation tool that makes it simple to create and get an overview of the risk in our organisation. This is both for our ISO 27001 certification, which GOAT helped us get in place, and in general. We tried several competitors, and they all made it so complex.

Pros:

It is very simple and easy to use. The limited features are straight to the point, not a whole lot of admin, categories, or other distractions. It is even possible to turn off the features we don't use, so they don't get in the way.

Cons:

The set of reports and options on the reports could be larger.

Alternatives Considered: Synergi Life and Confluence

Reasons for Switching to GOAT Risk: Confluence was too manual, the others were too complex.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

3 years ago

Thanks so much for the review @Jorgen. It's funny how simplicity is one of the hardest things to achieve with software because the inherent trade-off is to limit features and flexibilty. The report options are a case in point, it is very simple in that there are only a handful of report options to choose from which we feel are the staples but if you have other report ideas and options you'd like to build in, we can speak about custom developments whenever you are ready.

Rosalind
Head of Governance in UK
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

GOAT Risk Management

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: Pretty good with some niggles, although recognise that you get what you pay for!

Pros:

Mostly intuitive and user friendly. Lets us choose who to give access to which risks. Range of reports.

Cons:

You can't customise the reports to deliver what we need for our committees. For example, would be good to have a report which ranks the risks based on the gap between the net and the target risks. There are a few features that are not intuitive - for example, to save a report to your computer, you need to click on 'print' and to replace a user with a different user who is going to take on all of their risks, it is hard to find.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

5 months ago

Hi Ros (and a very Happy New Year to you). Thanks for taking the time to leave this helpful review. With regards to the net and target risk score gap report you mention, there is some advanced reporting functionality available in our 'Enterprise PRO' subscription..... We'll drop you an email separately with more details!

Ben
CEO in Australia
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software and approach to risk managment

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: GOAT has been really useful for us and the level of support from [sensitive content hidden] and the team has been nothing short of outstanding!

Pros:

The ability to simplify risk management, allocate to users and move away from spreadsheets!

Cons:

Some admin work can be 'clunky' but [sensitive content hidden] and the team have been incredibly responsive in taking on feedback and developing solutions!

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

5 months ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review Ben. Your ongoing support is highly valued by all of the team here at GOAT Risk, and we hope to continue our partnership with you for many years to come.

Susie
Head or HR & Risk in UK
Insurance, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and very cost effective.

5.0 last year

Comments: The system is intuitive, when we have needed support it has been easy to liaise with someone and it has really helped with managing operational risk at our business.

Pros:

The product is very easy to use and it was really helpful that we were able to trial it before we signed up.

Cons:

It would be good to have recurring actions on there.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

last year

Hi Susie. Thanks for making the time to leave such a helpful review. I will, if I may, drop you a separate email, just to ask if you'd like to find 5 minutes to discuss the 'recurring actions' mentioned.

Lisete
Risk Manager in Isle of Man
Investment Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easiest RM system to use

4.0 last year

Comments: Love how easy and simple the system is to use/navigate, the flexibility to change/amend almost all existing fields is a bonus as you can align to your own terminology .

Pros:

Its intuitive, easy to navigate and find your way around without much training required. The Dashboards and Risk Register reports are great providing a clear view of the risk assessment, risk exposure and all linked items (such as actions, controls, KRIs) in one place.

Cons:

Control assessment/rating is at all controls only rather than each control separately, No Risk Event reporting directly into the system, additional boxes to record relevant risk event data, and reporting extraction into EXCEL not just PDF

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

last year

Hi Lisete. Thank you for leaving us a review. That's very much appreciated. I know our CEO, Danny, has dropped you an email to organise a catch up call.

Jennifer
Principal Risk Management Officer in UK
Government Administration, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

GOAT Review

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are introducing GOAT to centralise the recording and reporting of risks across the organisation. In turn, GOAT will help improve the risk culture and awareness of risk across service areas, especially where there are relationships and interdependencies.

Pros:

I like that the software is intuitive and simple to use without over complicating the risk information which is needed from each risk owner.

Cons:

Due to the fact we have to create multiple reports with multiple contributors with varying formats, the pdf reporting functionality doesn't suit our reporting processes. Having the ability to download the report into Microsoft word would allow us to better customise the risk report, dependant on the audience who is reviewing it.

Mary Dimple
Risk Manager in Philippines
Food Production, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Manual Risk Assessment to Cloud-Based Online Tool

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: Though, we are still on a start-up stage we are happy with the overall experience with GOAT Risk.

Pros:

What we like about GOAT Risk is the ease of use. It very user-friendly at a very reasonable price. We can also customize the system according to the business needs. Now we have one single source of truth as we can easily see per departments risk register.

Cons:

I just experience system glitch during the customization stage but it was resolved by the Dev Team. Consider also adding more than one system administrator.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

5 months ago

Hello Dimple. Thank you for taking the time to write us this helpful review. We very much appreciate your time. Thank you also for your thoughts about 'Multi-Admin' functionality. This is on our Development Radar and we will make sure to let you know if/when it makes it onto our stack for implementation and has subsequently gone live :-)

Ian
Managing Director in Ireland
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Goatrisk review

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Exceptional value for money and overall a great package.

Pros:

Ease of implementation and customer support.

Cons:

At lower levels reports aren’t as in depth as you would like.

GOAT Risk Solutions Response

5 months ago

Hi Ian. Thanks for taking the time to leave this very positive and helpful review - we really appreciate it! Let us know if you'd like to chat through reporting with us in more detail - we're always listening to feedback to inform our development roadmap. Our 'Enterprise PRO' subscription does include a Custom Scope report engine as a part of its suite of advanced functionality, so it might be that the 'depth' you mention can be delivered there.