Microsoft Dynamics GP Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.6 /5

About Microsoft Dynamics GP

Efficiently manage accounting and finances, distribution, projects, HR processes and customer relationship management.

Learn more about Microsoft Dynamics GP

Showing 107 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Buyer
Machinery, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2020

"User friendly and versatile ERP"

Comments: I really liked using and implementing this ERP as users tends to like it and adpat very easy to it

Pros: I work for several years as a consultant implementing Microsoft Dynamics and I likes how user friendly this ERP is, is compatible with every Microsoft software, it is versatile and easy to use

Cons: It is not as strong in the manufacturing module as the most famous ERPs as it lacks on some concepts for manufacturing best practices, but for a small or medium company this ERP is more than enough

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2020
James X.
Senior Accountant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2017

"Senior Corporate Accountant"

Comments: I love GP. I have for years. I've been a GP consultant, and have been a user for eight years. Before making the decision to select an accounting package, ask such questions as: What types of financial statements do I want? How detailed do I want them? Do I want to create separate entities or will departments work? GP has a very simplistic, onboard report writer. But if you need the ability to customize your reports, you should consider FRx. I believe FRx may be called something different now. It has a very advanced set of allocation accounts that I highly recommend to anyone that has to allocate expenses.

Pros: t's role tailored software that's easy to implement and use
It looks and feels familiar to software your people use every day: Microsoft Office Excel, Outlook, and Word
It enables fast, relevant access to current and complete information about your business activities and operations
It goes beyond basic reporting and extends insight across your entire organization
It seamlessly integrates with your other technology platforms
It permits one to over 1,000 concurrent users
It's highly customizable with dozens of industry-specific solutions
It automates and standardizes recurring tasks
It's scalable, versatile and flexible

Cons: With respect to the allocations, once the expense is entered into the allocation account, you lose the ability to run any detail on just the total of the expense. It would be nice if you could run a trial balance on the allocation accounts the same way you can with regular accounts.
I've always thought security set up could be a bit simpler. It actually has gotten better through the years. Specifically, with eight separate entities, it would be nice to have a "master" setup where you could call up one group entity, assign the users rights, and then be finished. Currently, whenever I have a new user, I have to call up each individual entity and select all of the features I want the user to have. That means I have to do eight steps for each user.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2017
Judith F.
Accounts Receiveable Technician / Rental Credit Officer
Industrial Automation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2016

"Microsoft Dynamics GP Manufacturing Rave"

Comments: I am a true believer in Microsoft GP products. This accounting software, although a bit cumbersome to initially learn, is well worth the education. The ease with which you can navigate from customer related transactions, to back end AR functions, and over to strictly financial entries, is incomparable. Many accounting software systems, although quick and easy, do not give you a clear overview of distribution and coding layout. GP allows you to clearly access what has been recorded, and makes it easy to reverse anything if necessary. The "Smart List" is one of it's finest features. This tool allows you to not only access reports, but to streamline, and create reports that are tailored specifically for your needs. I believe this is one of the best systems out there for processing of manufactured goods, and inventory control. I highly recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP - Manufacturing!

Pros: Report Building
Distribution and coding clarity
Easy navigation
Excellent Customer support

Cons: Product does bog down occasionally, if too many people are on it ( usually more a month end kind of issue)
Very detailed - makes for slower learning of system **However, in the end is worth the work**

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2016
Linda R.
Procedure Control Manager
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2018

"Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Pros: This system is laid out like a folder on your PC, making it intuitive for most users to learn. The import/export functionality is robust and allowed my organization to seamlessly integrate external website sales into the order processing/accounting module. This was possible because the solution is sequel based.

Cons: In order to share reports, the solution requires SharePoint, and there are times when the system processes slowly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2018
Michael W.
Professional Services Director
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2018

"Dying product"

Comments: It is too bad that this product is being left behind as the push becomes for Dynamics 365, which is a completely different product and will require a complete reimplementation (if the features we need are even in there).

Pros: Used to be very easy to use and was cutting edge for several years. Great functionality for distribution.

Cons: Microsoft is no longer developing the product, so it has become very stale. Hardly any new features and no current online resources.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2018
Tesa D.
Administrator
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2018

"Simple and easy to add SKU bulk tool. Appreciable dynamic data integration"

Pros: The easiness to start even if you've never used a ERP before and tracking things (contracts, clients and other documents) in one place for your clients is a plus.

Cons: Limits in the customization areas. licenses are restricted to full access or read only.
Not knowing the amount of data which is stored in entities is also a minus (Especially when you have a lot of data integrations and add-ons).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2018
Lewis M.
I T Support
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2017

"Microsoft Dynamics Solomon Iv"

Pros: Has all accounting features,
Best for manufacturing/production
Accounts for all raw materials for manufacturing through ease of use in the inventory

Cons: Poor customer support
No ease of upgrade
Frequent error messages after longterm use which freeze or quits the system

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2017
Tracey K.
Finance Manager
Government Administration, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/03/2017

"Dynamics GP for Government (Version GP 2010)"

Comments: The basic accounting functions are fine and compares well to peers.

Cons: We have yet to find an add-on to handle our grant billing that isn't either too simple or too complex for our needs.
Reporting sucks.
Annual maintenance is expensive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/03/2017
Sean A.
Controller
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2015

"Moved from QuickBooks to GP!"

Pros: Express Information Systems out of San Antonio, Texas worked REALLY hard with me and had me up and running in no time! I didn't miss the cut over and was even able to process my first payroll ON TIME!

Cons: A bit difficult to set up the way I needed it, but works great now!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2015
Terry W.
Consultant
Food & Beverages
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    1.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/03/2016

"Underwhelming Business Optimization"

Pros: GP has the potential to do much of what you would expect from an enterprise software system.

Cons: Inspite of its potential to integrate many of the essential information activities within a business, GP falls short in making this an easy or intuitive task. A particular problem for our business is that we receive product in cases; however, GP apparently works in pounds. Therefore, we have had to purchase a third party software to dual track / translate cases and pounds --- this is a clunky process. Substantial custom Sequel code had to be written give users visibility to key data. Although we operate in the Seattle area, high quality VAR support options are limited.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/03/2016
Michael S.
Operations Manager
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2017

"Accountant"

Pros: -GP has a great user interface
-It is easy to both teach and learn the software
-Can generate lots of reports
-

Cons: -It can be time consuming to correct simple keying errors
-The training did not cover all the aspects we needed

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2017
Laura L.
Head of marketing
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2019

"easy and organized overview"

Pros: I really enjoy using this ERP, since i work in retail it offers me dashboards that gives me an overview of the finances. I can access into the real-time information anytime and from anywhere. It has an AI that keeps a record of the information you put in so It also helps in cutting down on entering information manually by automating daily tasks and include tracking abilities

Cons: at th beggining it requires a lot of money, so for an startup or a small company its a big investment though it will be compesanted in the use of the ERP

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2019
Joshua E.
Controller
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2020

"Not Ideal for Me"

Comments: Overall, I had difficulty with any customization(s) of this product. It was not very user-friendly.

Pros: I like the reliability of the system. Being able to view "batches" and edit them before posting was helpful.

Cons: The software was too complex for my needs. I was looking for a basic Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, and GL transaction software. This software would be a better fit for a large corporation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2020
Ric D.
Custom Interface Specialist
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2015

"Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Pros: Microsoft Dynamics GP is easily integrated with other Microsoft products making the user experience much more rewarding. The integration with Active Directory allows all your users to enjoy a simplified login process. The reporting and tracking capability is extensive and can be expanded even further due to it integration capabilities.

Cons: The integration is great but it can add on to your overall system cost quickly. It also does not integrate well with non-Microsoft products.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2015
Tony L.
Recruiter
Accounting
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/09/2016

"Strong recommendations from industry leaders with all the bells"

Pros: Strong recommendations from industry leaders with all the bells

Cons: Microsoft software difficulties and difficulties in talking with a real person

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/09/2016
Ariday R.
Owner
Building Materials, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2016

"Great System"

Comments: It really helps to ease the with the distribution at our company. Helps us keep all our sales and items very organized and its easy to keep track of them.

Pros: It is very easy to use and functional once you get the hang of it.

Cons: It takes a while to understand at first.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2016
John P.
IT Admin
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016
Matthew M.
VP
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2016

"Dynamics are a good solution"

Comments: Overall we have been using dynamics for years and I will say it's better then any other conventional accounting software. We use mainly for accounting and generating P&L's Very user friendly compared to others. Small learning curve for newer employees

Pros: How easy it is to run reports

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2016
Marielis H.
Cashier
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2016

"Marielis hernandez"

Comments: Is an excellent program. I like how it works is very professional and easy to use.

Pros: I like how it works when it comes to placing orders

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2016
Tela B.
sales represenative
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2016

"microsoft"

Comments: love the product. makes it easy to get my work done and organized.

Pros: easy to organize.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2016
Mckay S.
Shift Supervisor
Mental Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2019

"Fun and Easy."

Pros: This product worked great. I loved the UX even though at first it was hard to get used to, but in the end it worked great for me.

Cons: The UX needed a little bit of revamping. I prefer my apps to be stupid simple. I felt this app was a little more smarter than I wanted.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2019
Fábio roque da silva R.
Theology
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2020

"Great business solution excellent support"

Pros: In addition to offering a great business solution with integrated tools, it has excellent technical support.

Cons: I don't see any negative aspects, since the platform exceeds expectations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2020
Avinash R.
Systems Integration & Salesforce Consultant at Avankia LLC
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2016
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2016
Radu I.
SENIOR ELECTRICAL ENGINEER
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2017

"Good"

Comments: Good - it is reliable and easy to use but I do have limited exposure

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2017
Verified Reviewer
Systems Consultant
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2020

"Not quite caught up to newer software"

Comments: I have used Microsoft Dynamics GP for over 20 years for various companies. The distribution modules are pretty strong and I have used those in many industries. There are a lot of options available now for automation and workflows which save time as well as missed opportunities. I have also been able to connect Dynamics GP to many external industry specific programs, saving data entry and errors.

Pros: It has a very strong financial backbone. Users are forced to view and verify accounting data during transactions in many areas. Since the software has been around for many years, there are a lot of ISVs offering add-on products for various needs. The backend is strong in that it is MS SQL Server.

Cons: There are some features that do not automatically come as part of the main package. Reporting, operational and financial, has been all over the place and is still not where it needs to be. There is not a lot of remote capabilities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2020