15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About NordLayer

Designed to adapt — secure network access solutions tailored to evolving business needs.

Learn more about NordLayer

Pros:

I love the easiness of adding new users, and adding subscriptions. Simple billing and online portal.

Cons:

Counting the time spent on a machine or in a group over a given period is problematic. Last week, it was impossible to identify whose computers had been accessed.

NordLayer ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

NordLayer has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 29 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used NordLayer before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (29)

Mas Idayu
Mas Idayu
Information Technology Assistant in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Remote workstation is great with NordLayer

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

iPhone, Android, Linux, and Macintosh are all supported devices for this VPN, which allowed me to run the same VPN across all of my gadgets and get an excellent connection. Even during a trial version, NordLayer offers the most reliable IP address selection from various countries.

Cons:

Currently, the only details accessible are a detailed description of the remote device's CPU and RAM and its connection time. Counting the time spent on a machine or in a group over a given period is problematic. Last week, it was impossible to identify whose computers had been accessed.

Fred
IT Admin in UK
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastically easy to use but support not always helpful with backend issues

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: With all staff suddenly working remotely, we needed a secure option that allowed a dedicated gateway for remote staff to use. NordLayer allowed us to configure 50 staff easily and without any major disruption to business thanks to useful team admin interface and ease of setup/installation via the Windows and Linux client.

Pros:

The online user interface and the software interface itself are easy enough for all staff to navigate, in particular admin can restrict settings within the app to ensure correct use and reduce tickets from staff having issues connecting.

Cons:

Downtime on our dedicated UK Gateway has been frequent enough that we had to provision a backup server located in France which we end up using several times a month. Support not always helpful and tend to refer to basic troubleshooting when clearly a server issue.

Alternatives Considered: Perimeter 81

Reasons for Choosing NordLayer: Went from having a small number of staff who needed remote access to the entire workforce and Nord was much easier to scale for the whole team.

Switched From: PureVPN

Reasons for Switching to NordLayer: Based on a recommendation from a partner and our sister company were also making the switch to Nord at the time.

Lawrence
Head of Service Operations in UK
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good VPN but lacking features and customisation

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

User interface is very simple and straightforward. Easy to install and deploy. Team management is also easy.

Cons:

Having used NordVPN, it seems it has less features. Customer support is very unhelpful. When trying to use other protocols, they don't always work.

Chris
CTO in UK
Package/Freight Delivery, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Doesn't get in the way of your day today work

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent. Easy to setup. Easily forgotten once connected. I never think; will I be able to do my work today? Will I be able to complete my work before the VPN provider kicks me off my dedicated IP? I haven't needed to contact support. As far as I know, we've only had a handful of issues connecting which were solved by a local (home) router reboot.

Pros:

We as a team love that NordLayer doesn't get in the way of our work. Previous VPN providers we used were constantly causing issues. Once connected to NordLayer's VPN, you forget that you are connected. This is, in our opinion exactly what a VPN should do.

Cons:

The software delivers on everything we need. There's nothing to complain about.

Joel
Financial Representative in Canada
Insurance, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great solution for site to site connections

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: It's mostly great. The channel account manager has been helpful, was able to connect me to the right people in support to get me up and running.

Pros:

The ability to connect the VPN in a router in order to connect a device to their VPN that otherwise wouldn't support VPN on its own. Their desktop clients are easy enough to use, even on Linux (which is entirely done in the terminal using the command line interface).

Cons:

Hard to use without a static IP. I intend on getting a static IP later, but for now I have been holding off. Every time my public IP changes, I need to get level 2 support to update the VPN server to connect to the new IP. They say they'll have a feature in the portal some time next year allowing me as the admin to update it myself, but I'll probably have a static IP by then.

Alex
IT Manager in US
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nord Layers is great for our business needs.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This has been really useful for allowing our international workers to easily connect to and user services inside the US, since many websites and services block international connections. Since this is our major use, our experience has been mostly great. Occasionally it appears that the IP our employees our using seems to get blocked by some sites, so they have to disconnect and reconnect a few times to try and get onto the site.

Pros:

This allows us to easily manage VPN connections for remote employees without having to run a dedicated VPN service in our office. This keeps our bandwidth needs in office lower. It’s also super easy to manage our users using this software. Very customizable, with us being able to add dedicated IPs as needed.

Cons:

We had a unique situation where we wanted to connect some of our multimedia devices to this service (Firestick, Apple TV), but we were unable to because no app was available to connect these. I know a NordVPN app exists on these devices, but it would be nice if a NordLayer one did as well. Or, if we could sign into NordLayer through the NordVPN app.Also, I can’t seem to find a way to request the app cycle your IP to another address. We have had issues where websites we connect to seem to have blocked the IP address currently used.

Taylor
IT Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Logistics & Supply Chain, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Affordable VPN for remote needs

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Enabling Remote Workers to access work resources that are not typically available in their country has been incredible. Our alternative was a cloud based private VPN solution that was going to cost $6k to deploy and hundreds per month in operational fees. NordLayer does it for less than $100 a month.

Pros:

The ease of use for both the admin configuration and the end user setup portion. Inviting new users is easy and teaching them how to connect to the VPN is quick. The network quality is also impressive. Our primary use is for our VoIP system, and there are no latency issues compared to local workers.

Cons:

I don't have any cons. NordLayer has met all of our needs and I have never needed support, the product has just worked as advertised.

Alternatives Considered: Azure VPN Gateway

Reasons for Switching to NordLayer: Pricing, ease of set up.

Florian
Florian
Owner in Thailand
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great and reliable VPN service

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I mostly like the ease of use and the pro features like having company gateways with dedicated IPs in different locations worldwide.

Cons:

I have to re-login from time to time on my devices. But I'm not sure if this is something NordLayer is responsible for or the OS.

Sean
VP of Technology in US
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to Buy, Easy to Use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This allowed us to get a VPN up and running quickly to provide secure access to our systems during the pandemic.

Pros:

The ease of setup allows you to get a VPN up and running for your company within minutes. Getting a gateway means you'll have a static IP for all of your VPN users, making it easy to poke holes in your firewall/add IPs to your cloud allowlists to get your users connected to your assets securely.

Cons:

The app requires updates constantly, which is annoying to end users and tech support. A third party app is required to manage updates silently.

Deborah
Deborah
HR Manager - Learning and Development in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

NordVPN for Protection

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I am a personal user of NordVPN. Although my home router provides security, I wanted an additional layer of security for myself and my family. This allows me to feel safer, particularly when we use our smartphones outside of our home Internet connection.

Cons:

It's annoying to keep having to connect each time and there is a bit of a slowdown in data on smartphone, but it's a "con" that I will live with in order to have the security I want.

Benoît
CTO in France
Banking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Useful and secured VPN - used for security in a banking software environment

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Easy to setup, easy to deploy, easy to manage, and secured.

Pros:

Easy to setup, easy to manage access for teams and members.The dedicated VPN server with static IP address.New members joining the team are activated with only a few actions and are ready to work within a few minutes.The security is really important to us, and we rely on NordLayer to access protected IT resources securly.We also appreciate the availability on multiple devices (smartphone, Windows, Mac OS...)

Cons:

Sometimes, the network fails to establish connection and we need to reboot the computer to get network back - mainly after application updates.But it seems that since latest versions we don't encounter this issue as much as we did.

Brian
Sys Admin in US
Professional Training & Coaching, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

NordLayer VPN

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, the experience has been good. Could be improved with more fine-grain settings that provide more control which is needed in an enterprise environment.

Pros:

NordLayer integration is fairly easy. The App is straightforward and easy to use on both computer and phone. Seamless login with Azure AD SSO.

Cons:

More control over how the admin settings apply to users could be improved. For example, I may want a subset of users to see only the dedicated VPN Gateway and have another group of users able to see all country gateways. Some settings are all or nothing and it would be better to be able to have more control. Having to download the MSI package for an RSS feed is a little wonky. It would be an improvement to be able to easily preconfigure settings and have a custom-built MSI for mass deployment in an enterprise environment. For example to be able to set the Protocol to IKEv2 instead of Automatic. Have had issues with Automatic Protocol since it pretty much defaults to NordLynx which doesn't seem as stable. Most issues we come across are resolved by switching the protocol off Automatic (NordLynx) to IKEv2. Lastly, it would be nice if setting the Automatic update setting would just automatically update the app instead of notifying the user that an update is available. Users without admin rights on the machine can't perform the update and are continually prompted that there is an update.

Raymond
AV Director in US
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fast VPN, Mac App need some improvement

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It has been good and done the job for our company. The service is extremely fast and works all around the world (which has been tested by our staff).

Pros:

Super fast VPN, we are able to host and stream with no issues and very little delay. Straight forward user panel and very friendly support.

Cons:

The Mac App though the Appstore has caused me some issues in my MDM environment. The start with computer start features turns off sometimes and it is recommended to add the programs manually to the start up program on System Preferences. Also is there a way to link the app and the device so it will not sign out on occasion. Dropbox app has a way of doing this, and it remains signed in, even if your Mac Keychain is reset (in the case I user gets locked out of Mac and needs to use recovery / FileVault keys to gain access).

Madhav
Junior Assistant in Nepal
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Why NordVPM Teams

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with NordVPN is very good. I use NordVPN whenever I need to change my IP address.

Pros:

NordVPN Teams is my favorite VPN because the data security and online privacy feature provided by this VPN is the best.We can change our IP adress and bypass geoblocks easily with Nord VPN. Online gaming experience is best while using NordVPN.

Cons:

The internet connection gets reduced to a great amount while using NordVPN.

Nord Security Response

3 years ago

Hey, Madhav! We appreciate the comment and thanks for the feedback.

Jaime
Technical Director in Spain
Telecommunications, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Nice Product

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Really good opinion about the product. We use the VPN every day, easy use and Multiplatform. We need to dig more about the other options like Remote Desktop etc. But for the moment we will continue using NordLayer because is a product that fit perfect with our daily business.

Pros:

We made an extensive search looking for products like this. Finally this was the selected one, because it fit perfectly with our needs, and besides is really easy to use, Multiplatform and nice price.

Cons:

Sometimes we have some issues depending on the computer and we need to modify the settings on the app. Minor issue.We need to dig about more possibilities like the Remote Desktop, now only made a heavy use of the VPN.

Abhishek
Developer in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best VPN so far

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am overwhelmed by this VPN. Highly recommended.

Pros:

It is very easy to access the vpn with NordLayer tool. VPN gateways can be changed within a second.

Cons:

There are so many updates and sometimes it it slow.

Kate
EA to CEO in Philippines
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best VPN I've used and recommended

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: NordLayer is the best VPN I've used so far especially when I started working remotely. As the Admin Lead of our organization and the EA to our CEO, security is our topmost priority so the peace of mind that this software provides us is the number one selling factor, followed by its competitive price point.

Pros:

Ease of installment and deployment and adding team members

Cons:

Failure to connect to the internet when VPN is on -- does not happen as frequent though and is usually resolved by restarting the application

Ned
CEO in US
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Implement a company wide VPN easily and inexpensively, with great support

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

NordLayer makes it easy to implement a company VPN and secure company communications and traffic at a reasonable price. Great customer support makes it even easier.

Cons:

Monitoring reporting is very limited, requiring the use of other tools if that’s important to your organization.

Harsh
Helpdesk Manager in Canada
Telecommunications, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nordlayer vpn

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Nordlayer VPN is good, only used to connect to DC.

Cons:

Sometimes connection is intermittent....

Mario
Training Manager in Croatia
Consumer Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Samsung SEAD review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Daily usage for remote work and access to restricted servers from home. All admins and agents working with the Nord Layer are very happy

Pros:

Ease of setup, how easy it is to obtain a static IP address in a country that we needed. Very easy for all users to use the software. Great customer support that replies in a short time and answers the questions.

Cons:

Nothing to note, we didn't find anything so far that we don't like.

Brandon
Lead Software Engineer in US
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very happy with Nord for our Team.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The UI is very nice and easy to use. Easy to setup and remove access. Works well on all devices.

Cons:

The seperation of nord and teams is a little confusing. You can't tell at a glance on the device which "service" is being used.

Luke
Admin Asssitant in Canada
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

VPN Software - NordLayer

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I love the easiness of adding new users, and adding subscriptions. Simple billing and online portal.

Cons:

I feel as if the customer service and custom options could be improved (i.e. bulk discounting)

Leonardo Jr
Technical Support Consultant in Philippines
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Best VPN for remote work

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Our employees connect to our overseas clients that have requirements to have the IP coming from the client's region

Pros:

Easily manage user access and a breeze to setup

Cons:

No negative experiences as of the moment.

Greg
President in Philippines
Insurance, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Nord 2022

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: good experience

Pros:

easy vpn usage, was easy to roll out with team

Cons:

pricing is a little high, I heard from staff they sometimes get kicked out of VPN

Andreas Dreyer
Cloud DevOps Engineer in Norway
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: .

Pros:

It works. It is easy to install and runs on both Mac and windows.

Cons:

Configuring new gateways. The documentation for Azure is outdated.