Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Simphony POS

Simphony Point of Sale fits every restaurant size and format: casual, quick service, independent, franchise, pubs, stadiums, and more.

Learn more about Simphony POS

Filter reviews (20)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used Simphony POS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (20)

Matt F.
Project Co Ordinator in Australia
Hospitality, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Oracle = A great global partner

4 last year

Comments: I have been happy with our experience with Simphony. They provide a great product

Pros:

One stop shop. POS, purchasing and reporting. The software has great capabilities and covers all areas a hospitality business requires

Cons:

Most adjustments to the program involve an additional purchase. Immediate support not often available

Mike P.
Operations Director in Australia
Restaurants, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simphony

5 last year

Comments: effort put in on setting it up - worth it - architecture is good & functional. Never really had any down time - if internet down - all printers & KDS still work on the LAN. Have a good account manager too which helps!

Pros:

Moved into teh cloud from Res to Simphony - was a great move for us - less spend on hardware, updates through icences /subscription to services. We integrate a lot through simphony with accounts, loyalty, takeaway/delievry platform, Gift certificates. Has great inventory mgt capabilities with theoreticals. We manage the one database across different concepts and countries pretty easily. Integretaed with payroll, Open table, Windcave - Tablets for servers. Real time updates pretty much on phone app. Kiosks integrated. It all works!

Cons:

Sometimes support a little clunky, but we get there in the end.

Fabiana S.
Management Training and Development in Australia
Food & Beverages, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Versatile and user friendly

5 last year

Comments: Had great technicians helping with installation, for any

Pros:

Very easy to handle database, integrates with 3rd parties applications (i.e Givex, WindCave, Omnivore, Open table, OrderUp!, HotSchedules), outstanding installation team and great support technicians ready to help 24/7.

Cons:

Labour Management and Table Management System are both very basic. The functionalities offered are not sufficient to our company's needs.

Sam W.
Hotel / Restaurant Owner in US
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Run Away. Do not look back

4 10 months ago

Comments: Completely horrible. This company has got to be the WORST company to deal with, I can't imagine a worse roll out. Oracle did not honor the date they committed to having us up and running so we were forced to opened our location without a POS system (recipe for disaster). They sent a drunk programer to our location that was incompetent, followed by other programmers that always left us with varying issues that consumed hundreds of hours to resolve with customer support from India and other parts of the world that takes hours to get an actual live person. Their account representatives do not respective you as a client with valid concerns, nor do they accept accountability and will continue to charge you to fix their own companies screw ups. This POS is far too expensive, compared to others. My employees hate the system and it takes too long for them to navigate through it, costing them time in providing good customer service. SAVE YOURSELF THE PAIN AND STAY AWAY. I greatly regret not having chosen a different company and system.

Pros:

The reporting software is pretty thorough

Cons:

The complexity and backward nature it was set up, with an inability to modify it without great expense. Everything not completed on original set up will cost thousands of dollars to correct by an oracle programmer.

Emre S.
Emre S.
IT Manager in Turkey
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Leader in the market

5 5 months ago

Pros:

Nothing to say for this perfect programme

Cons:

Nothing i am using this programme almost for 15 years

Adarsh N.
Food and Beverage Associate in India
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Oracle Micros POS is very good

4 11 months ago

Comments: This is a great software i have ever used, easy to use, easy to learn and very user friendly, i don't think there is anything else who can compete with this particular software, i have been using this software everyday from last 4 years, its been a great software and it has become part of my life now.

Pros:

I have been using this software on daily basis from last four years, it is a great software for billing purpose, you can get a personal id for yourself, everyone can findout who has punched or voided the order, easy to use, and bills can be printed easily when needed.

Cons:

I don't find any cons in this software apart from one thing, whenever we are printing bills it make lots of printing noise.

Markus R.
Manager in Switzerland
Restaurants, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

reliable and easy to use

5 last year

Pros:

Cloud based usage easy to manage different stores

Cons:

it offers a big variation of functions, but to get customized solutions is a long way...

Courtney T.
Assistant manager in US
Restaurants, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Not my favorite

4 5 months ago

Comments: Prefer other pos softwares over micros but it is a simple yet powerful and versatile option.

Pros:

The best feature of this product is the ability to look up and print recipes right out of the receipt printer.

Cons:

Didn’t love all of the colors on the display. Not the most user friendly pos system I’ve used. Button interface feels weird.

Kendall L.
Business Systems Analyst in Australia
Entertainment, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Finally a POS for the Events Industry

5 last year

Pros:

The biggest win for us was that this product recognises Events against transactions. For any business in the Event Industry this is always a struggle in POS and has enabled us to develop integrations with our other corporate systems. Additionally I'd like to acknowledge the Project Team for their supportive and motivated implementation.

Cons:

The EMC user interface is due for a refresh

Brian H.
Restaurant manager in US
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simphony

5 3 months ago

Pros:

The software is amazing. It helps keep confusion down with online and dine in orders during covid. It also helps keep track of inventory.

Cons:

The system is complex. It took some time to get set-up to the standards that the restaurant requires.

Anders L.
Field CTO in Sweden
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

POS platform, not just a POS

5 last year

Comments: We are integrating self-service ordering with Simphony, and it is a good solution that works for a huge amount of monthly transactions. Simphony gives us great flexibility and supports our solution in a good way.

Pros:

Simphony is a whole suite of software including Gift & Loyalty, Reporting & Analytics and also provide extensibility by developing additional modules that can extend functionality in Simphony. It has API:s for integration and is well documented.

Cons:

It was hard to find out the correct deployment model in some cases. Setting up a large Simphony installation comes with a large amount of options and choices that is needed to get it up and running in a stable production environment. It takes some work to find the optimal deployment.

Verified Reviewer
IT Manager in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simphony POS for Hotel

4 5 months ago

Comments: Over all, POS Simphony is a reliable POS used in the hotel. I'm hoping for the latest development when it comes to report generation.

Pros:

Simphony POS is our standard POS in our chain hotel and it can interface to our Oracle Opera PMS & Sunsystems FMS that's what I like the most in this software. Very smooth processing of ordering and payment method. PCI DSS compliance.

Cons:

The only challenge for this software is it's not yet register to Philippine government and the application is still on-going for more than a year. The reporting module is not as easy to generate.

Lars S.
Founder in Switzerland
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simphony POS

5 last year

Pros:

Very functional system, we like the professional handling and it is easy to use. Important for us is the use as cloud service AND on - premise (not only cloud like other POS systems)

Cons:

Some interfaces are missing (Liquid Dispenser System). Kitchen Display System (KDS) does not meet all of today's customer requirements.

Kiran N.
National General Manager, Technology Solutions in Australia
Facilities Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Modular SaaS for Hospitality

5 last year

Comments: Oracle's team have gone above and beyond in supporting us with the roll out from the initial days to getting data setup orchestrated and delivered.

Pros:

-Enterprise architecture -Data Modelling of the application which aids in a multi-tier data setup but rolls up efficiently for reporting purposes. - Offline Mode

Cons:

- Browser compatibility - Device Flexibility

Minar K.
Minar K.
Banquet Sales Manager in Bangladesh
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very comfortable and Easy to use

5 last year

Comments: Billing system not taking that much times. Item wise report can generate very easily. Also any new items can add easily. Simply its very easy to use for everybody. Can teach to others very smoothly.

Pros:

Its very positive program and very easy to use also easy to maintain the inventory system.

Cons:

Inventory system is very good. Can control the costing very easily

Tyler W.
Assistant General Manager in US
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Worst vendor experience of my life

3 6 months ago

Comments: Worst experience of my life in terms of customer service, and ease of use. I cannot express enough how much I do not recommend.

Pros:

It looks cool. Nothing else positive. Stay away

Cons:

Getting in touch with customer support is next to impossible. You’ll be in hold for an hour for them to hang up without notice. Getting them to actually resolve an issue is quite literally impossible. We have had ongoing issues with cash payments for over a year. Absolutely no sense of urgency, and either they are unwilling, or unable to help with every issue that has arisen. I’ve never wanted to throw a companies products off the roof until I dealt with oracle. Stay away.

Christian K.
Christian K.
Technology Operations Manager in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simphony Review - Minor DKL Food Group

5 last year

Comments: Overall the software is a decent POS software, the customisation ability is a good fit for our business with the ability to fluidly adjust our products and menu to maneuver our business into strong customer sentiment positions. Earlier versions were prone to bugs, however the later versions appear more streamlined and database resource utilisation is lighter than it used to be. Once knowledge base is established and internal support personnel skills are enhanced the support of the software is quite easy.

Pros:

The software once configured and implemented is easy to use, it's heavily customisable, allowing the ability to adapt for changes within the business and products. The ability to update the software from the enterprise level out to all Properties\Workstations, is a convenient ability to have when managing a fleet of stores and POS terminals It ties into its own reporting system and the MyMicros App makes store sales checking a breeze

Cons:

The software and the back end design is very complex, it takes a lot of training with skilled trainers in the Oracle business to build and maintain those skill sets. Cost can be quite expensive when starting out, when there is a sufficient retail footprint the pricing can be negotiated to competitive rates

Jean R.
Office Manager in US
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

What Happened to Micros? Oracle. Make a wise choice don't choose Simphony.

1 last year

Comments: We used Micros Res 3700 and loved it had no choice but to make a switch as Oracle is not supporting Micros Res 3700 any longer. We choose Simphony because Micros Res 3700 had the best support, including live support. Micros had service was 24/7. It was a really bad choice. Oracle Simphony has basiclly no support, you call support, they issue a ticket or tell you that someone will be calling you back and you never hear back from anyone. There is no support live help desk . Since, Oracle purchased Micros, service and support has suffered greatly. They are always trying to upsell you to purchased 3rd party items, that they eluded where included in product during the original meetings. Micros NYC/Oracle is by far the worst software installers/developers that I have ever worked with. Make a wise choice, don’t choose Oracle Simphony.

Pros:

The ease of menu updating and cusomtization.

Cons:

There is no live support, no service, no support help desk; most times it takes days, weeks, even months to hear back from anyone. Since our installation in July, 2020, 3 months later and there are many unresolved issues, with the credit card readers, time clock, reports not balancing to each and many other among other things, that just don’t work.

Verified Reviewer
Operation Manager in Saudi Arabia
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nice

5 8 months ago

Comments: Very helpful software , reduce the time of any paperwork , easy integrate with opera system, you can get customized reposts .

Pros:

very helpful software for running the operation , easy in use and in the era of COVIDE 19 very usful and helpful to reduce contact with the people , very easy to use and you can get very professional reports and accurate data .

Cons:

The software integrate easily with opera system and interal system as well , Software is respond to any changes and can be updated or upload to the system very accuraly and efficiently .

Vishal P.
Technical Manager in UK
Food Production, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Oracle Simphony

4 last year

Pros:

Oracle Simphony cloud solution is easy to deploy and manage while being a scalable product at a global level, this inturn enables us to move quickly to match our business needs.

Cons:

Custom development can sometimes be difficult to manage.