15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About PolicyTech

Centralize, simplify and strengthen your policy and procedure management lifecycle with PolicyTech.

Learn more about PolicyTech

Pros:

It helps us keep track without having to remember who did what.

Cons:

Chrome doesn’t safe information for both Logins. Having to repeatedly type in my credentials is unacceptable.

PolicyTech ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.2
Features
3.7
Value for Money
3.5

Likelihood to recommend

6.6/10

PolicyTech has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 27 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (27)

Sort by

Have you used PolicyTech before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (27)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good platform when you want to track compliance

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Not much to say about PolicyTech, if you have a need to host policies/procedures, and want to ensure employees are reading/signing them, then it is a solid choice to go with. You can assign policies to employees, set due dates, and have the system deliver email notifications. You can also create forms, such as Conflict of Interest, which employees can use to submit free-text information.

Cons:

As a user, I have not run into any issues using PolicyTech, as it is a pretty straightforward platform. Admins may need to ensure they consider technological capabilities when requiring signatures or other form completions.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Decent Policy Control Functionality

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Decent product - better than the manual, Word-based version we had created ourselves, however room for improvement for streamlined functionality.

Pros:

This product has decent policy control functionality - with some areas that could use improvement. When used as intended, it has good policy/procedure control and predictability. There needs to be some finessing of steps to get the final product to the end user for approval without so many interactions with others. Greater mid-level control, not so much administrative control.

Cons:

When a procedure is "in progress" it is very difficult to determine who has the procedure, what has been done to it, and in which step it is. It takes a decent amount of searching to determine where everything is, in what stage, and what has been done to it. I feel like the foundation of this product needs a functionality upgrade to assist with the hundreds of procedures we need to track and keep up to date. I should be able to determine, at any time, exactly how many procedures are in which state of modification. End users do not like being hit with individual email notifications of the need to go approve final policies - functionality needs to exist where we can notify end users of bulk approvals needed. This does not appear to exist, and we currently use an internal work-around, which is time consuming.

James
Captain in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

No working with Safari

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: Complete frustration

Pros:

Was working beautifully until recent changes. Now it’s horrible

Cons:

No longer compatible with Safari. Chrome doesn’t safe information for both Logins. Having to repeatedly type in my credentials is unacceptable

Dianne
Director of Pt Health Services & Compliance
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

P&P Software Review

4.0 12 years ago

Comments: I have recommended this company to all of the people who have been referred to me and will continue to do so as long as the product meets our needs and exceeds our expectations - which I foresee happening for a very long time. Scott Dixon in sales was wonderful to work with from the beginning and still maintains contact with us - usually once the sales dept. in a company makes the sale, they're gone. Maria Poole and Cambri Longaker in Customer Support - WOW - awesome assistance!

Pros:

Software extremely easy to work with; company frequently upgrades technology to expand features & increase ease of use; customer support is amazing - staff respond extremely fast with accurate solutions, friendly/helpful attitude & concerned follow-up; policy review reminders help us maintain up-to-date policies for general hospital operations as well as safe/efficient patient care; email feature ensures staff awareness of & compliance with new/revised policies; there are several efficient ways to search for policies - by department, by alphabetical title listing, by their status (e.g. Draft/In Review/In Approval/Approved/Archived) or by the general "Search" option, making it very easy to find policies; policy templates can be customized to the organization's preference; company took our status as a small rural hospital under consideration & worked with us to arrive at very affordable pricing; screen-sharing for trouble-shooting & learning the software so helpful!

Cons:

Have experienced various "glitches" in the sytem that neither our internal IT staff nor Policy Manager Support Staff can figure out - don't know whether it's stemming from the software or developing internally from our servers. These occurrences are not very frequent & do not render the software unusable, it's just somewhat of a nuisance.

Amanda
Improvement Specialist in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This has been a great document management software

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Traceability of documents and ease of looking for previous version or changes that were made. As well as electronic approvals from required people.

Pros:

I love the traceability this software has. You can see who has reviewed approved and rejected documents along with what was said for each step of the way. It is very nice for seeing who in our department has read a given document or what previous versions looked like or were linked to other documents. This has been great to be able to show our accreditation body.

Cons:

It can be cumbersome or clunky sometimes. As we are a large organization we have a lot of documents stored in this system as well as historical records of documents for at least 5 years.

Kelsey
Kelsey
Executive Coordinator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Gets the Job Done

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I wouldn't say policytech is the top notch software to house your policies, but it definitely gets the job done. It serves its purpose for our company and it is easy to run reports to see who has not completed their assignments.

Cons:

Only complaint would be that I wish it had more features instead of just hosing our corporate policies.

Suzanne
Practice Compliance Manager in US
Pharmaceuticals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy Document Product

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great customer service support. One of the best we have ever experienced.

Pros:

We love Policy Tech...it is easy to use. It's great all our documents are in the same place, separated by department and easy to search. The periodic review and attestations are the most convience parts of the system. It helps us keep track without having to remember who did what.

Cons:

There is nothing we really don't like. We learn something new everyday and it makes the experience ever better.

Sharon
Report Analyst
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Policy Tech Review

5.0 12 years ago

Comments: This is a very easy product to install and start using. Very user friendly for most computer users. The use of email notification for each person involved in the writing, reviewing and approving of a document is a tremendous help. I don't know of a better way to track activity involved in building a document and then who has read the finished document. As well as keeping an archived version of the document for reference, if needed, in the future. Excellent product!

Pros:

The product is very user friendly. If you let it, it will walk you thru the step by step build of a document. The email notification is a great time saver with the weekly follow up emails until a policy is reviewed/approved, to remind each involved user of their remaining tasks.

Cons:

We use the categories to define our manuals and their chapters. Right now you are required to select a department and then categories are an option you can select. This can be missed during the process so the document ends up unfiled until this ommision is corrected. The reports are great and the vareity of ways to save the report is great. It would be nice to have a couple of other reports combined but I suspect they are coming.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy Quick

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Love! The ability to use a single platform for document storage is fantastic. A big pet peeve of mine is usage of old outdated items that are in binders for years. This is a fantastic digital storage that we can change a document once and know it will be accessible for anyone. Also that we can filter out certain staff from certain items.

Cons:

I wish we could add tags to documents in a different way to make them more searchable. Sometimes a document can fit in to many different departments that need access. Also, training would be a nice feature to upgrade.

Jeanenne
Jeanenne
Human Resources Generalist
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

PolicyTech Review

5.0 12 years ago

Comments: Great product that I would recommend to any company with multiple policies and procedures.

Pros:

PolicyTech has great features and allows us to manage over 300 policies and procedures. We are also able to house staff meeting information and maintain a record of dates read per individual for their HR record.

Cons:

At times, the upgrades are a bit difficult to complete. Also we receive emails regarding downtime, which should only be sent to those companies PolicyTech is housing. This gets confusing when we receive them. Other than that the only negative in the software front is that the review months option has been hidden, which causes our company to miss this important step.

Mary
Director, Accreditation & Regulatory Services
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Use of PPM for Staff and DCAs

4.0 12 years ago

Comments: - Highly recommended as with anything, the more you work with it, the easier it becomes
- Recognition by external surveyors have commented positively on the availability of policies, and the look of the policies. One surveyor questioned, Why isnt everyone using this system?
-

Pros:

- User friendly - Integration with Word and Excel - Consistent with program intent (tracking/updating) - Technical/customer support team (problem solving, courteousness, follow through) - Help guides are excellent - Ease of back up, user manager, other administrative systems - Learning modules/webinars (although some are better than others) - Policy Share access (though I am concerned that anyone can access the policies without having a relationship with PPM ) - When updates/upgrades are made, tend to be useful - Use user feedback to improve/add features

Cons:

- Some of the reports are cumbersome and not useful; improve filtering ability - Inability to set up customize reports that draw from all available fields - Basic document search features: having to go through each field to find documents (draft/in review/in approval) Note: this is somewhat resolved using the advanced Search function with all statuses, but could be improved upon - The basic document search needs to include document owner in the show/hide list so reports can be run from this list by owner (Note: submitted a Feature Request on 7/6/2011)

Damon
Lab Director in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good policy and document control system

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Good tracking of policy versions and archiving of retired policies. Use it for forms that are used regularly. Also, for competency documentation.

Cons:

The reviewers still have to read policies that they have worked on and know inside and out. Don't route it back to them again. Waste of time.

Al
Development Analyst
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

PPM survey

4.0 12 years ago

Comments: I highly recommend this software. I have had two credit unions referred to me by Scott Dixon and I am happy to convey our positive experience. We are still very much in a learning curve.

Pros:

Email feature and sign off for reading assignments. Targetting audience for required reading. Word environment. Search capability is excellent. Auto updating of existing links from one version to another and sign off. Archive capability and access. You have knowlegable support staff and my experience with your technical team has been very good. Excellent software

Cons:

Adding additional groups or individuals to a series of procedures. To my knowledge this has to be done per procedure which can be time consuming. We are experiencning an organizational restructure, so I am not sure how easy it will be to implement these changes.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Zero developer support

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: I had to call back 3 times asking this basic question, "Do you support RESTful code"
They sent me information that had NOTHING to do with my question.

Pros:

Nothing, it's a file system with workflows... any document management system could do this.

Cons:

They do not support any custom integration.... you can't write code to extract your own information!

Rick
Q.A. Manager
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Five(+) Years with PolicyTech PPM

5.0 12 years ago

Comments: Have recommended PPM to both internal and external prospects. Many customers are impressed by the system during audits of our facility.

Pros:

Excellent support and technical service, software worked upon download (original version was the stand alone demo with MySQL, we had it up and running on an old laptop within 30 minutes). Just enough customization built in to adapt to our document control system, without requiring us to recreate the wheel. Excellent tracking of documents through all phases (review, approval, reading and training).

Cons:

New users may not consider their document system from a top-down perspective during initial setup, instead jumping right into document creation - not a software issue, more a learning curve challenge for the end user.

Stephanie
Clinical Informatics Analyst
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

PPM Review February 2012

4.0 12 years ago

Comments: We highly recommend this software. It has enabled us to "clean up" our whole process and monitor compliance.

Pros:

-Always know the status of a policy and who has acted on it. -Eliminates constant checking of e-mails to determine where a policy is in the process -Forces use of the correct template. -Reminds "owners" when a document is due to be revised. -All documents are in one place. -Auto archiving -Easy to revise a document

Cons:

There is some "clunkiness" to the review process when there are several reviewers. No place to put a "note of explanation" regarding decisions about a document

Jeremy
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Certainly evolved in the past few years

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: The hosted application is very easy to configure and workflow development is a breeze once the user information has been set up correctly. The benefit I have seen with this software is that technical support is very fast to respond and eager to solve your issues as quickly as possible to keep your instance moving along. I appreciate the updates to the application interface to make everything as easy to use for primary power users. Definitely worth the investment for a large enterprise with multiple sub-companies and thousands of users. Keeping track of policies and being notified for updates is crucial to my industry vertical.

Melanie
HR Director
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

PolicyTech Review

3.0 12 years ago

Comments: I recommended this program to the City of Sparks. I like the program, but it does have cons.

Pros:

Customer support is fantastic. I appreciate the fact you ask your users to provide feedback.

Cons:

The loss of being able to run reader reports has been a big problem. Implementation was not easy- I was not given any suggestions as to how to roll the program out to over 500 users. Users have trouble setting up the system the first time to log in. I purchased a software program after this one to train 800 employees and it was a much easier program to use.

Kathie
Executive Asst and DCA
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

CommuniCare Health Services (CHS)

5.0 12 years ago

Comments: Yes, I have recommended your products to several vendors.

Pros:

Firefox problem and they fixed it in 2 days WOW! Any suggestions I have sent, they make/change on the new version.

Cons:

IT (My IT group) would like to be able to to have a primary key that ties an EE to a specific e-mail address. Example we have 7K EE's and we don't all need e-mail addresses but we want to put in a Kiosk and do trianing but want a way that we can capture they individuals who will only log onto the system each quarter. Any suggestion we will accept and appreciate.

Joe
Chief Quality / PI Officer
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Selecting PPM

5.0 12 years ago

Comments: We are just beginning our installation and conversion from another system, but so far we found the people at PolicyTech to be knowledgable and friendly. We look forward to having the system up and running in a short time with their help.

Pros:

Very user friendly product Great demo and follow-up conference calls Ability to host software, which was a big plus for us Ability to accept input from previous system Willingness to work with us on contract language

Cons:

None so far

Chad
Assistant Controller in US
Banking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Policy Tech has offered us a much needed solution for housing our policies and procedures.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: This product helped our company centralize our policies and procedures and implement a system of responsibility for keeping them in good order.

Pros:

The software is very intuitive. It is a great tool for not only centralizing policies and procedures but also for implementing controls that help keep things up to date and accurate. This helps keep employees informed and educated on the things they need to perform their job at the expected level.

Cons:

The software does not appear to have the ability to "speak" to other documents that have been submitted. For example, if there is a company-wide policy or procedure that has been uploaded in multiple places, there is little chance that the "true" or most updated/correct version will be shared with everyone. The burden of determining redundancy or duplicate documents is on the users.

Susan
Senior Accountant in US
Accounting, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great for keeping the company policies and procedures all in one place.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: All of the bank's policies and procedures are kept in a centralized location.

Pros:

I like that it has everything in one place. Every department used to keep there own, and I think that centralizing our policies and procedures in PolicyTech has been a great move.

Cons:

The software takes a little getting used to on where the buttons are to read and approve the policies, but it just takes a little getting used to.

Jeremy
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Gets the job done

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: I've been using PolicyTech in an administrative capacity for the past three years. Overall I've been satisfied with the tool; it gets the job done. The major challenge we experience is the lack of consistency in our desktop environment that leads to various UI issues depending on the browser, WordPlus module version, etc.

Steve
Business Application Analyst
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 12 years ago

Comments: If you are looking for a solution that is simple to use, user friendly and will document/track your policies and procedures this is a very good application for doing this.

Pros:

Simple to use tracking of document versions electronic process throughout easy to approve documents quick response from support

Cons:

On Mountain Time

Lisa
Compliance Specialist
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

OUTSTANDING PRODUCT !!!

5.0 12 years ago

Comments: 5 stars !!! ***** We are extremely pleased with this product !!!

Pros:

Extremely easy to use. All aspects are user friendly for both the beginner and the experienced user. Easily customizable to individual site or organization. Customer support is OUTSTANDING !!

Cons:

None at this time.