15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

Dynamics 365 Business Central Reviews

About Dynamics 365 Business Central

Business management solution that includes features for financial forecasting, supply chain optimization, and project planning.

Learn more about Dynamics 365 Business Central

Pros:

The program is very easy to learn and use for sales team, customer service team, accountants and warehouse team.

Cons:

ClickDimensions as a marketing tool is hard to navigate.

Dynamics 365 Business Central ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
3.6
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.6

Likelihood to recommend

7.1/10

Dynamics 365 Business Central has an overall rating of 4.0 out 5 stars based on 166 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Dynamics 365 Business Central before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (166)

ADEEL
ADEEL
Digital Marketing Assistant in United Arab Emirates
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A review of Dynamics 365 Business Central

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Overall very satisfied with the service and want to continue this in future as the interface is very cinvenient to use.

Pros:

The best option available in Dynamic 365 business central is very flexible planning and forecasting. Fast, consistent and very smooth access to the data and assigning it to the team is very easy.

Cons:

At sometimes it losses the connection with server and got stuck but I think in updated versions this will be sorted out.

Lora
Accountant in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Pretty easy to navigate, but the screen formatting needs adjusted

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use the collections module, sales, purchasing, service cost, job cost, subcontractor module, and more. We use purchase orders and 3 way matching and use dynamics for a wide range of use.

Pros:

You can easily adjust titles to be in red or have distinctive features to stand out, but it is not always easy to do on the financial module and you cannot do it when using features like smartlist.

Cons:

The inability to generate certain reports (you have to set them up yourself) which can be VERY time consuming.

Ruxshin
Public Health inspector in Canada
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software!

5.0 6 days ago New

Pros:

My team and I used this for our project management work and it was a great tool to get organized!

Cons:

It was a bit expensive compared to others.

Shane
System engineer in US
Computer Networking, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Dynamics 365 business central

2.0 last month New

Comments: I decided that this wasn't the software I needed and ended up getting rid of it and using something else.

Pros:

I liked that you had only one install to get everything instead of having to install ever tool.

Cons:

I think the software was to inconvenient for me.

Krystal
Software Solutions Assoc in US
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Dynamics 365: Eh, it does what it should.

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

I do appreciate the integration options for 365 and the updates it has made from great plains.

Cons:

The interface is outdated and it too difficult to find necessary reports. The report and field names are not common terms so you really need to know the software to find what you are looking for. Relying on the search feature is a bit immature to have to do.

Peter
Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Full of unrealised potential

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I've evaluated NAV for other roles and now I have been using the product I am convinced that it is a very powerful product when configured correctly. It has options for many roles and the ability to configure the system exists but is limited by design.

Cons:

Very high cost support and difficult nature of upgrades is a real turn off. Each version upgrade is treated as a new deployment. Lacks the ability to make even the most basic changes without partner assistance or developer licence. While the product has a lot of potential I would be reluctant to upgrade an old version as I feel there are other products out there which can do the same job with a much more reasonable price tag. Value for money is the main reason I have marked this application down.

Regina
Technical Customer Case Supervisor in Philippines
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

DYNAMICS HELPS smoothen your workflow

5.0 last month New

Comments: Dynamics 365 will help you organize your workflow in your business from inventory to incoming to outgoing of your items

Pros:

Dynamics will help you organize your workflow in your warehouse

Cons:

Actually Dynamic 365 Business Central is expensive but if you are going to consider value for money i should say it is worth the price.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Keeps everything in once place.

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Dynamics allowed me to stay organised. as D-365 has many tools , with all the variety of plug-ins, setting up automation and communication takes some work but it is really easy to see how my pipeline is working and have a single view of the company in one single dashboard.

Cons:

it would have been great if it had a bit more features . i think that the reporting is the Achilles heel of the platform, it's a time-consuming task and not very straight forward as done in other platforms

Michael
President in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Dynamics works

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: positive, consolidates many tasks and allows centralized management

Pros:

ease of integration and ability to centrally manage tasks and assignments

Cons:

Not all aspects are intuitive or easy for clients to setup and manage

Manon
Associate software engineer in Australia
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Comprehensive Business Management

5.0 last week New

Pros:

It was easy to integrate our sales and accounting data, making financial tracking a breeze.

Cons:

Sometimes, finding specific features required navigating through too many menus.

Ashley
Help Desk in US
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The new way to do business

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our business is running smoother since changing but we are slowly getting everything in the new system. It is taking some time but it easy to find orders/invoices when you know what to look for. I use it daily to send invoices, correct price errors, correct PO numbers.

Pros:

I like that we are able to have all of our stages in one program. From our quotes to our invoices, we can keep track of the progress of each transaction. You can search by customer, order number, PO number, amount and there are many more options. After some training and a better understanding of how accounting works, I have excelled at understanding what needs to be done to correct issues or fix errors. I appreciate the ability to put notes on each quote, order, and invoice.

Cons:

I wish there was a little more features such as having automatic invoices from multiple vendors but I think they may be working on that. I also wish there was a creation date for invoices and not just a posting date. I also wish there was a way to link invoices after you have made a change/correction such as the PO number being incorrect. Once you change the PO number, you have no idea that it went to another invoice.

Ayass
CFO in United Arab Emirates
Media Production
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Best Modern ERP Solution

4.5 9 years ago

Pros:

I joined AL FANAR Electricals Co. KSA -in 2003, it has been decided to replace ERP system with NAV, Tec.Support was provided by AL FANAR IT an affiliate company who became golden partnership with Microsoft later and provided the system if Gulf Market, the implementation was very successful, early versions of NAV in 2003 was famous as (Navision Attain) at that time, the system provided a splendid AR, AP, and inventory reports and controls, was helpful in regional trading credit controls and manufacturing process, in 2006 the company upgraded the software to NAV5 and we learned a lot about setup requirements, Posting groups, general business posting groups, sales and system generated transactions setup accounts and matrix, Exr. Var and global dimensions etc..., in 2007 I joined Gulf Capital KSA the company management recommended NAV at that time tec. support provided by (NEWWAY) and I was assigned as a project manager, later in 2009 I joined ROTANA Media Group who recommended same ERP as well. now new versions of NAV are available with business intelligence tools and some additional great features, I expect this fast positive evolvement of MS Dynamics will make them first Market Choice in a short time. I used several softwares before and after NAV like (Dolphin, Oracle, Klipper, and others..) from my experience what I like most in NAV and make it remarkable are the following : - SQL Server which provides flexible opened platform allow users to move to any information details and jump between templates they want from anywhere in the system to get information rather than closing screens and reopening another, other systems cannot provide this Dynamic feature. - Reasonable and Logical controls of the system over transactions complying with exact financial requirements, other systems have nonsense controls in useless areas and gaps in other critical areas, and stand hopeless needing customization for an axiomatic small things. - Easy and Smart setup requirements and users profiles access. - Huge bank of ready reports provided by global MSD teams and partnership - Friendly user = easy training - Easy setup of financial reporting BS, Income statements , cash flow , Budgeting and variances any other because it leaves to user to choose , items lines name , tagging accounts, dimensions needed cost centers or business units , even user can add the equations of some financial statements lines ! - Easy customization and easy editing of all tables screens - High Compatibility with Excel MS Office. - Reasonable cost with complete business solutions package and including project management, Human resources, Cash Management etc..

Cons:

No Disadvantages or defaults in my opinion if implementation requirements are clear and correct and finance knows exactly controls, processes outputs they need. everything is there in this system.

Carlene
Accounts Payable in US
Industrial Automation, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Beware!

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: None

Pros:

Nothing. It is not nearly worth the 165,000.00 that we have put in to it over the last year.

Cons:

Everything. System does not work. Too many fields to jump around to, too many pages to jump to. Unable to keep pages open to work between. Unable to see Customer / Vendor numbers. Not enough character spaces in some fields. Document date does not pull in correctly on Payment Journal. Check Stub total dollar amount prints on top of check number of lower stub. No vendor number prints anywhere on the check or stub. System creates two or three numbers for every PO, Job, Invoice. Payment Journal populates every Vendor that has a transaction then you have to choose which one to pay and then delete what you don't want. Checks do not print out in Alphabetical order. I can go on and on. Nothing good to say about this Program. It is not even written for our Industry. We were not even listed in the choices for Industry. What does that tell you.

Jose
CEO in Spain
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

AZZURE-IT as our implementation partner in the UK have hidden the renewal process to charge us more

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: The software is very powerful, the support from AZZURE-IT has been awful, slow, not transparent and very misleading.

Pros:

With Azzure-IT implementation was costly and long

Cons:

When all implemented, we need to downgrade our license, we told them, they knew but then they hid the new terms so just for 1 day we got caught into another full year license with users we didn´t need and getting charged for ir. Totally inmorale.

Yessica
Coorporate Account Executive in Dominican Republic
Hospitality, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software to support accounting processes!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: A great tool for everyday accounting processes: reports, invoices, and managing different outlets within the company.

Pros:

It is easy to run reports, since all the data you might need is in there. We use it to make invoices, and pro-forma invoices. It is great to have and keep our customer's database updated. It's easy to add new data. Be able to customize the data you use it everyday is a big plus.

Cons:

Managing this software requires a lot of practice. You have to get familiar with it before run important reports and invoices. If there are too many processes at once, it can run slow and even block you out, so you'll have to wait until the system get less busy.

Kelly
Corporate Controller in US
Oil & Energy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great software, if you're not afraid of customization

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Great software for small and midsize businesses.

Pros:

One of NAV's biggest strengths is the fact that it's a Microsoft product, so the ease of use factor is high, given the fact that virtually all employees are familiar with MS ribbons, icons, etc. NAV is also customizable (with the help of a consultant). The fact that it is customizable, yet easy to up-gradable, is a huge factor.

Cons:

There are some basic items that are only available through customization. I would like to see MS make these accessible as items that users can configure, vs. having to pay for customization.

Tausif
data analyst in India
Pharmaceuticals, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dynamics 365

4.0 last year

Comments: dynamic 365 is part of my job , i use it daily , it provides template and video to learn automation

Pros:

dynamics 365 is very helpfull in accounting jobs for in any organization, it help to make automation also.

Cons:

i dont dislikes anything about dynamics 365 business centra

JB
Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Maybe Wonderful IF You're an Accounting guru

2.0 7 years ago

Comments: As a Project Manager, MS Nav is more of a hassle than it should be. No fields automatically fill and you are often entering the same information multiple time.
For example, even though you Login with your Username and Password - You must fill in Who you are, What Division you work for, What Sub Company you Work for, List your manager, the Date - All just to write an order. Also, each line item in a PO requires the date to be entered 3x and the job number to be typed after each item. Unacceptable when it comes to productivity and user friendliness

Pros:

It better than paper...

Cons:

See review above

Elizabeth
Bookkeeper in US
Insurance, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Needed an upgraded accounting system

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

This system offers a lot of reporting options. It helps us keep track of multiple businesses in one system.

Cons:

The initial set-up and use of this system was a little difficult. The training was not as thorough as it could have been by the BC team. Once we received actual system use it was easier to kind of train ourselves on the system features and the best ways to make the system work for us.

Tim
COO in US
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Unnecessarily complicated and expensive to implement reports are terrible.

2.0 2 years ago

Comments: Terrible. I have been used at least 3 other systems and all of the others have been more intuitive. This product is a mess. Worst decision we have made with our startup is selecting this software.

Pros:

It is not a bad looking interface. That is the only positive thing I can say about this software.

Cons:

The software is not at all intuitive, very little is possible to do out of the box, everything requires expensive consultant time to set up, and even simple reports are hard to generate. Way, way too complicated to do basic things. It leaves us with little functional reporting and a lot of frustrating headaches. By the time you realize you have made a mistake implementing its way too late.

Deepak
IT Manager in India
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Our 18 month experience on MS Dynamics

4.0 9 years ago

Pros:

MS Dynamics is pretty user-friendly considering the other CRM products in the market. It's got a pretty good coverage in terms of customer engagement process. Right from Presales interaction center to post sales Services, it covers most processes. Microsoft as a vendor is placed well to offer this as a cloud offering as its also owns Azzure MS Dynamics does have a mobile app for Apple devices which is pretty useful and easy to use. That helps in user adoption on field. The support provided by MS is good, but gets activated only when situation gets into emergency mode.

Cons:

The comercials could have been more affordable. I would have loved more seamless integration between Dynamics and Navision as both are from the same family. Easy to deploy mobile applications for Andriod phone is something which would have been really useful

Shellyane
Creative Copywriter in UK
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Functional and Precise

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Great store for customer information and data, relatively simple to get to grips with, and an efficient search function.

Cons:

Can run slowly if there are a high number of users, and missing some features like batch c and p. That would be useful and time-saving.

Misbah
Finance Officer in UK
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Ease of use

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have used the software for almost 9 months, and have found it to be very user friendly, with excellent presentation. It is normally quick, software does not crash often and it works well for many different type of industries.

Pros:

Very user friendly Good presentation Excellent layout - easy to search for whatever you need Good use of headings and sub-headings Being able to import from Excel, and transfer any journals into Excel easily

Cons:

Maybe not the best for reporting purposes, or hard to find a way straight away Could be a more efficient way to import transactions from Excel

Akhtar
CPO in UK
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Feature rich and easy to use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Extremely happy and would only ever use this as an ERP

Pros:

It is so easy to use and has got lots of functionality

Cons:

Sometimes the interfaces can get a bit complex

Suman
Assistant Manager Finance in India
Consumer Goods, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

2nd Best Erp Software Available in Industry After SAP

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: It Helped our Company to Automate Essential Business Process With the help of Information Technology.

Pros:

Its User Interface and Very Less Consumption of System Resources is one of the very best Features of this ERP Software.

Cons:

Vey Bad Service Quality of The company Which Helped to Implement this ERP In our company. They Took More than a Year to Implement This Software but Yet Its under Process.