15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

Australia Local product

Datapel WMS Reviews

4.4 (47) Write a Review! Australia Local product

About Datapel WMS

Datapel is a reliable Order and Warehouse Management System that reduces costs, increases efficiency and improves inventory control.

Learn more about Datapel WMS

Pros:

Quick and relatively painless install and setup, minor teething issues like all software however customer services sorted these out quickly.

Cons:

Difficult to get slight improvements with existing processes. Example in Receiving once you Drill to Source there isn't a check box to change from Ex GST to Inc GST.

Datapel WMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Datapel WMS has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 47 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (47)

Sort by

Have you used Datapel WMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (47)

Prudhvi
Prudhvi
Business Development Specalist in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Warehousing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best in the Market

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very happy with datapel. Highly recommend.

Pros:

-Creating multiple Purchase orders from one screen - Inventory management - Multiple locations - Barcoding - Reports - Stocktake - Despatch sales orders - Can be Customized based on business requirements

Cons:

- Would be great if Integrations with E-commerce platforms are ready and available to connect ( integrations are still possible but will be a custom job)

Alternatives Considered: CartonCloud, NetSuite, Xero and Unleashed

Justin
Managing Director in Australia
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datapel WMS Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It has given us the ability to integrate MYOB with a Warehouse Management System.

Pros:

- Easy to use once you understand the system - It gives us the ability to integrate MYOB with a Warehouse Management System. - Integration between cloud based and server based applications.

Cons:

- Unable to have multiple windows open at the same time. Specifically we are unable to access important information such as customer reports, item list and New Sales Order at the same time. - Stock transfers are convoluted, and we are only able to do 1 item at a time. - Special pricing doesn't show the profit margin per line. - When confirming sales or purchases there should be an option to email reports. It would be handy if there was a script to open the email program, not just composing an email that sit in the outbox until the email program is manually opened. - It would be great if there was more specific information on customers. i.e list of lines a customer purchases with the last time they ordered them, last purchase price and product margin; customer gp for the last 3 months - Would be good if it had an integrated email client

Alternatives Considered: 3PL Warehouse Manager

Reasons for Choosing Datapel WMS: We went from a 3pl service provider to having to manage our own stock.

Reasons for Switching to Datapel WMS: For it's ability to integrate with MYOB at a competitive price.

datapel Response

last year

Thanks for your feedback here - we're excited to share that the issues you raised have an existing simple solution as below... Multiple Windows - Being a web app you pop up each form and continue to select information as required then return back to your original inquiry form. Stock Transfers - Allows for multiple stock lines including full pallets, in bulk to any bin and any warehouse location. Profit Margins - Can be added for individual products at the time of sale. This feature can be toggled on/off. Integrated Email Client - Allows users to send Sales Invoices and Purchase Orders, via email, to any contact with the click of a button. Purchase History - When creating a new Sales Order, right click on a sales line to see the customers last purchases (max of 3) and the price they paid. Thanks again for your feedback and apologies for the belated public reply. Glad to see your still with us and a growing user! We appreciate your support of our solution and services.

Jodie
Business Manager in Australia
Machinery, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: We find response to our queries is extremely slow. Queries get passed from one person to another and requires constant follow-up by us to resolve any issues.

Pros:

Easy to raise POs and sales orders. Accurate tracking of inventory

Cons:

Reporting options could be better Very limited features for recording information although we do have an earlier version of Datapel so maybe it has improved

datapel Response

4 years ago

Hi Jodie, Thanks for your review - you are correct - the version you are on is a little old and we are not able to help customers using versions of our system connecting to unsupported Accounting Software - which have been out of cycle for a few years now. We have put through a few requests for your system to be upgraded - but will try contact your team again ASAP to see if we can connect with the right person to get you on the latest and greatest WMS edition. We will be in touch soon...

Greg
Sales Manager in Australia
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Datapel WMS Solution for complex Retail Business

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Stock visibility was our biggest challenge. We are still learning and our business is quite complex. WMS has enabled us a level of visibility that we have never had before.

Pros:

The ability for the business using WMS to be able to track every piece of stock across multiple sites as well as track both agency and retail quotations and orders. WMS is a solution that saved the organisation from spending a six figure sum for a custom package. It also integrates into our current financial systems as has room to grow as the business grows.

Cons:

There is really nothing I can think of that is missing. Our experience so far has allowed us to add customised features as needed to suit our needs.

Alternatives Considered: MYOB Advanced Business

Reasons for Choosing Datapel WMS: Lack of support. Cost for customisation and support was excessive.

Switched From: Act!

Reasons for Switching to Datapel WMS: Versatility and price.

Daniel
Managing Director in Australia
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Retail Stock Control

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

We appreciated the ability for the package to integrate seamlessly with our MYOB Accounting software.

Cons:

Would be nice if WMS could integrate with our Wordpress online shopping for receiving and processing orders.

Alternatives Considered: MYOB Advanced Business

Reasons for Choosing Datapel WMS: Act were moving to cloud based, which would dramatically increase costs, and force us to move into Office 365.

Switched From: Act!

Reasons for Switching to Datapel WMS: Initial outlay was less for WMS, and due to direct integration with MYOB Accountright, the learning curve for staff was much less.

Vennesia
General Manager in Australia
Food Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Team at Datapel always friendly and suportive, responsed quickly.

Pros:

Batch control amendment, transfer betwen bins locations and the easy of work orders

Cons:

The latest update and myob are proving to be more challenging as some aspect changed.

Alternatives Considered: MYOB Business

Reasons for Switching to Datapel WMS: Recommend by [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] from Number Nine Business Services

Sam
New Product Development in Australia
Food Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

New Product Development manager

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Good

Pros:

Easy to use with flexibility & Tracks inventory well good line of site on all moving stock.

Cons:

Ideally for our business we need to do some pre planning/forecasting would have been great. Lots of paper.

Alternatives Considered: Dynamics 365 Business Central

Reasons for Choosing Datapel WMS: The above program does not manage inventory

Reasons for Switching to Datapel WMS: The size of our business at the time as we are going through some growth. Datapel seemed like a good step. Not too big.

Sarah
Financial Controller in Australia
Cosmetics, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datapel has completely streamlined our business processes

4.0 7 months ago

Pros:

The main reason we chose Datapel was due to it's integration with MYOB. Datapel manages all of the purchase order and sales order generation and then transfers the data automatically to MYOB. It is great for managing these processes and for keeping track of inventory and is extremely user friendly. The implementation process was very smooth and we didn't have any business down time. What we didn't expect was the massive impact that the system has had across all of our business processes and productivity. Datapel can be customised to meet the particular needs of any business. For example, we are a manufacturing company that exports globally and our customers all have different documentation and labelling requirements. The system can be designed to automatically generate different documents for different customers. There are so many other ways that the system has been customized to meet our specific needs.The feature that has had the biggest impact on our business is the ability to export information from the database to generate customized business specific reporting. We work regularly with a Datapel consultant to design reports that otherwise would have to be prepared manually. For example if we need to send a report to Head office regularly in a specific format, we can set the report up in excel and link the database to that report template to auto-populate.

Cons:

The only thing that we have found difficult is that Datapel automatically assigns a work order reference in the assemblies module, and there is no ability to change it to your own reference.

datapel Response

7 months ago

We're thrilled to hear about your positive experience with Datapel! It's fantastic that Datapel's integration with MYOB has streamlined your business processes so effectively. The seamless handling of purchase orders and sales order generation, along with the automatic data transfer to MYOB, is indeed a great convenience. It's particularly noteworthy that Datapel's adaptability has allowed your manufacturing company to cater to the diverse needs of your global customer base, especially in terms of documentation and labelling requirements. The ability to generate customised reports from the database has had a significant impact on your productivity. We appreciate your feedback regarding the work order reference in the assemblies module. Your input is valuable to us as we continually work to improve our services. Thank you for choosing Datapel, and we're delighted to have contributed to streamlining your business processes. If you ever have further suggestions or questions, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Eamon
General Manager in Australia
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WMS helped us go from 2million to 10million

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: We are providing better all-round service to our customers thanks to Datapel which is increasing our success in the marketplace.

Pros:

We love Datapel - WMS inventory and bin management ability to track inventory in the warehouse, multiple bins, and multiple warehouses. We enjoy the Pick and pack Smarts employed by the software. The Backorder functionality - for example identifying a percentage of an order that is stock allows us to make fast decisions on allocating or holding backorders. The Ability to export and import from xls / csv / paste functionality makes light work of lots of data. Email templates connected to customs forms expedite the communication process of stock availability / overdue / and other processesDatapel WMS's ability to overcome integration challenges with our front-end provider (E-Commerce Vision) is a testament to their technical knowledge and capacity.

Cons:

Sometimes we get duplicate orders/invoices due to syncing issues between MYOB Account right Datapel. To remedy this, we run a reconciliation report once a week to review and remove duplicates. It would be convenient to cancel multiple sales orders in the system at one time.

datapel Response

7 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic review of Datapel! We're thrilled to hear about the remarkable transformation it has brought to your business, taking you from 2 million to 10 million. It's great to know that you've found Datapel's inventory and bin management capabilities, as well as its Pick and Pack Smarts, to be so valuable. The Backorder functionality and its ability to expedite communication through email templates are indeed essential features for efficient warehouse management. We understand that occasional syncing issues resulting in duplicate orders and invoices can be an inconvenience. Your proactive approach to the weekly reconciliation report is commendable, and we appreciate your feedback regarding the ability to cancel multiple sales orders simultaneously. We're constantly working to enhance our system, and your input is invaluable in this regard. We're delighted that Datapel Cloud.WMS has not only met your budgetary requirements but has also seamlessly integrated with MYOB, addressing the concerns of your accounting department. It's excellent to hear that Datapel has contributed to your ability to provide better service to your customers and has led to increased success in the marketplace. We're committed to continuing to support your growth and success. Thank you for choosing Datapel, and we look forward to being a part of your ongoing journey towards even greater achievements. If you ever need further assistance or have more feedback to share, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Rod
Managing Director in Australia
Furniture, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Take the stress out of inventory management

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: Very statisfied. I use it daily and its intergral part of my quoting service and with a push of a button invoices are raised. These are then picked and packed and shipped, it all flows seamlessley into Xero and makes life easier for my and my team.

Pros:

Simply knowing what stock i have on hand, where is it and then being able twith a push of a button order more from my suppliers. This keeps processes simply and in the end makes customers happy with real time ETA on back orders as well as what stock is on hand for them. They can get what they want when they want and we have full trust in Datapel to deliver this.

Cons:

The search engine for prodcuts can be a little clunky. You should be able to filter the data in search. The search for inventory needs refinfing as it simply diplays too many products when you seach key words.

datapel Response

8 months ago

Dear Rod, Thank you for your review. We're delighted that Datapel has simplified your inventory management and contributed to your team's efficiency. Your feedback on the product search and inventory refinement is noted, and we're committed to improving these areas. We appreciate your trust in Datapel and look forward to continuing to support your business. If you have further suggestions or need assistance, please reach out to us. Best, The Datapel Team

Grant
Director in Australia
Food Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WMS Whare house management

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The software allows me to receive, allocate date, put into location product. This helps me track & trace product that goes to customers. Also by dating product I can track down which product needs to be moved first or needs to be moved. I can create codes or new lines of my own simply without having to ask for support to do it for me. It gives me a lot of control. By batching product i can also track with confidence if i have some issues.

Cons:

Integration was a bit of a mission although worth it in the end. When having a few users on at once there tends to be some lag and dropouts especially when other users do adjustments while others are on. Although runs smooth with less users. Emailing customers invoices is a bit time consuming buy emailing individually, although there probably is a bolt on function you could add to ease the emailing daily invoices in a single hit. Different a little bit from MYOB, when entering a new sale it doesn't hint there are other invoices for the customer in the pipeline..Other than that I think its great for what i need..

adam
Director in Australia
Apparel & Fashion, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Strong Inventory Features with eCommerce and Shipping Adapters

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Our experience working with Datapel has been absolutely first class, We have been working with them for over 10 years, they continue to add value every year.

Pros:

The Datapel WMS has a really simple to use interface. It handle all our warehouse pick pack and scanning needs with ease. The ability for us to plug in our web stores and mobile sales systems has been fantastic, now we can automate our entire process from order to printing of shipping labels.

Cons:

In reality there is not much at all that we don't like about Datapel WMS Its such a comprehensive WMS and dose its job so well that its the only piece of software that we haven't changed in the last 2 years of our cloud first digital transformation of the business.

Maxi
Director in Australia
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datapel WMS Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: The remote service was originally most helpful when we could speak with people online.
Not so easy when this service was suspended and one had to wait for email response.

Pros:

Integration with our business was not as easy as I had hoped. However don't believe we ever had enough training to use all of the features of the program.

Cons:

The integration with myob always created inventory issues. This was because we hadn't correctly moved stock one way or another, once again probably never understanding the correct integration process. Support of the Datapel and Myob provider on a paid basis was essential for us, and I constantly felt like we needed so much more training. This service provider was amazing.

Kim Hiang
Managing Director in Singapore
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great support from implementation to ad hoc assitance required

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Good

Pros:

It is easy to use. When we faced problem occasionally, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] from Seasoft is very quick to attend to our needs. Therefore, we faced very little downtime.

Cons:

1) For some transactions, there are discrepancies in the tax amount when they are replicated to MYOB. 2) Sales Reconciliation has to be performed daily to identify the above discrepancies to correct them in MYOB, but the Sales Reconciliation Report "MYOB Invoices NOT reconciled with WMS Sales" takes a long time to complete even when it is just for 1 day sales. 3) Under Stock Adjustment, after the list of items is selected and the quantities and batch numbers have been keyed in, at this point if you want to add another item, you will have to go back to the selection list but in doing so, all the quantities and batch numbers previously entered will be gone. 4) Credit Note: After credit note has been created under "Return Status" before entry of batch number, if you realised that there errors and you want to make any amendments at all, even in just a description like reference number, the area under discount will have strange percentage appearing, even though the total value is correct.

Christopher
Managaing Director in Australia
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Exactly what we needed

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Something that i think even suprised Datapel was that when we choose Datapel - we had a two week window to implement - I didnt think they thought this was possible, as software is uniquely adapted to your requirment! They arrived on the day of our first pack off, and be it only in a skeleton fashion - everything worked and we could collect and send the data required! Then over a few months they refined the process to be more automated, Still some work to be done on other areas as we develop our knowledge within using the system.

Pros:

Firstly we needed the easy integration with our Financial system, Secondly we had some unique requirments in terms of capturing and sending all the Xml data of site daily. Thirdly it has the scope for us to expand and utilise more functions interms of MRP. We have a way to go but Datapel have enabled us to use componenets we need now and we are working on establishing a plan to continue on this journey.

Cons:

Dash board is not updating very well and would be nice if i could adapt this to something more meaningfull

Matthew
Financial Controller in Australia
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Our 4 years with Datapel WMS

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Our chief requirement is a multi location inventory that functions with our our MYOB AccountRight Accounting software

Pros:

Integration was quite seamless, teething issues were less than envisaged. Training isn't too involved, so new staff can brought up to speed relatively quickly. Critical for us was the multi location capability.

Cons:

The Point of Sale module is quite dated and not ideally suited for our retail environment

Alternatives Considered: NetSuite and MYOB Greentree

Reasons for Switching to Datapel WMS: Overall cost and speed of implementation

Rachel
Finance Manager in Australia
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datapel WMS Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, it is a good warehouse management system. You can track down all assessable items with batch number. For wholesale and warehouse, maybe it is enough. But for manufactory, you may want more function. like production plan, scanning items movement to make system on time.... it has a lot of functions, we may haven't use it. still need time to find out.

Pros:

It gave us ability to track all item batch numbers which include finish goods and raw materials. It is easy to use and very good support service.

Cons:

I like their support very much. compared MYOB, their support is very good. No extra charge. whatever problem I got, I just email them or call them, they will come back to me the solution within 2 business in most time. Even I don't know how to use it, they will send me related manual. I don't need search their manual by myself. They do have online training and manual.

Angela
Accounts in Australia
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Satisfaction with using Datapel is quite high

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: When we have had issues with the system, as soon as we log a complaint datapel is able to resolve it in a timely and efficient manner. They were always very attentive to our requests and problems. Overall WMS is a great system and have enjoyed using it

Pros:

I found learning this software was quite easy and can be learnt in very short times. I use the reporting features of it and the reports are very useful for what I need to use it as I need to prepare sales reports to my team and the figures are picked up quite well. I like the drill down features on it as well as can get to many features in a couple of searches.

Cons:

Integration is very good with MYOB but we have had a couple of hick ups in the last couple of years but data pel was able to resolve it very quickly when the system was not interfacing with our accounting software

Craig
CFO in Australia
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datapel Warehouse management System

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: The after sales, technical support can be slow to respond

Pros:

It sync's seamlessly with MYOB and has become our source of truth

Cons:

Sometimes the software needs to be customised to function/fit our business process. This can be timely and costly.

Sarah
Office Administrator in Australia
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Product review

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The ease of Order tracking from start to finish can help advise internal operations of the progress of each order as well as the ability to give customers updates on their order. The integration with accounting software is seamless which saves time on uploading data.

Cons:

New online software can be slower than the desktop version. Support assistance can sometimes be a difficult process and can be lengthy at times.

Tyson
Accounts Manager in Australia
Warehousing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datapel WMS - Great Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Excellent, great software, great support, great staff

Pros:

The ease of use, great functions for any stock control with loads of modification for all your needs.

Cons:

Some minor tweaks needed after latest upgrade but were addressed and fixed straight away by Datapel Support Team.

Andrew
Operations Manager in Australia
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review of Datapel WMS

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall a positivity experience. Like all systems you only get out what you put in. Invest the time and effort into good data and you will get a lot out of it.

Pros:

For the most part easy to use after a period steep learning. However assistance from datapel and knowledge base is comprehensive. Excellent tracking of product and audit log to aid issues in the warehouse. Ordering assistant is very useful once set up

Cons:

Some features can be somewhat buried in the package. Would prefer an easier interface for file exchange like MYOB that can auto match fields. Better consistency on file exchange. Some parts requird Tab Delimited files, some Comma Seperated... but not always obvious which needs what with out experience. If every file exchance had a simple common type like CSV everywhere that would be awesome.

jeannie
warehouse manger in Australia
Warehousing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

warehouse management

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

it allows me to keep track of products, what's coming and what's going.

Cons:

there are many steps to take to get to some things which would be the same with most products

datapel Response

9 months ago

Dear Jeannie O, Thank you for your 10/10 review of Datapel. We're delighted that you find it helpful for tracking products and inventory. We understand that some tasks may involve multiple steps, which is a common aspect in many products. We're continually working on improving user experience. Your recommendation means a lot to us. If you have any suggestions, please feel free to contact our support team. Thank you for choosing Datapel Cloud.WMS.

Elena
Elena
Managing Director in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datapel WMS used for wholesale inventory management

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Good service. Good value for money solution for warehouse management software

Pros:

Easy to use. Very good integration with MYOB

Cons:

Cloud version has lesser functionality and times out

datapel Response

2 years ago

Hi Elena - Thanks so much for your review - we really appreciate you taking the time on this. I note there was an update in Chrome (refer sleeping tabs) that required an update to your service which triggered some timeouts with a number of users. I have informed our support team and they will be contacting you asap to arrange a convenient time to co-ordinate a workspace review. Thanks again - Datapel Customer Service Team

Peter
MD in Australia
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We are happy

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: never had a problem, it simply works

Pros:

Storage of Serial and Batch numbers which we need to keep by lawEase of workflowEase of identifying batch/serial numbers for saleIntegration with our accounting system (MYOB)

Cons:

missing integration into Outlook in order to run marketing excersises