15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About AppTrana

AppTrana monitors web traffic and blocks malicious attacks. It is combined with DDoS, API risk, and Bot mitigation solutions.

Learn more about AppTrana

Pros:

Not Available

Cons:

Not Available

AppTrana ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

AppTrana has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 24 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used AppTrana before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (24)

Anoop
Anoop
Lead , AWS support in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Effective and affordable solution for web application protection

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Good product and got betters results. Its a value for money product.

Pros:

Simple configuration with most of required features like, protection from DDoS , SQl injection, Bot attack , Geo - location filtering etc. at a very affordable cost.

Cons:

custom rules in the firewall can have more features.

Indusface Response

4 years ago

We are a completely managed solution and through custom rules, we cover all the cases that come under WAF preview. There are multiple ways you can request for a custom rule, for vulnerabilities that are not protected throughout of box rule set, you will see the protection status in the portal and our users can request for the custom rule where our security experts would write rules to protect those vulnerabilities. Apart from that, customers can also reach out to support any specific custom requirement they have, and on understanding the need our team will write the specific rule. We request you to reach out to [email protected] with your specific requirement and we would be happy to help. We appreciate your valuable review...!!!

Rohan
DevOps Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Does its job nicely

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Good enough experience. Helped us run our application properly and adhere to the performance and availability promises. Custom requirements have been catered to almost always.

Pros:

It is good at preventing attacks. The dashboard gives a precise update about the security/events. With the CDN and location in Mumbai, it has helped us reduce latency times and increase performance. Negligible downtime. Great service and customer support.

Cons:

Setup doesn't provide an IP but a FQDN because our application and business model works well with an IP. Not much free b/w is provided. Available only at a few locations globally.

Indusface Response

4 years ago

Thanks for your review. We have data centers in multiple Geolocation and with integrated CDN where CDN POPS are available all over the world, we ensure that there is minimal latency for our users. FQDN model is required because we provide an integrated offering of Web Application Scanning and Web Application Firewall. We are happy that you have had a good experience using our product and we were able to meet all your custom needs.

Shubham
Assistant manager in India
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good support from apptrana support team

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

WAF is good and support team is very helpful.

Cons:

All applications report are not download in single click

Shiva
CTO in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Managed Application Security

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are a SAAS solutions provider providing health benefits administration services to organization. Security of the our application is very important and was a requirement for our customers before subscribing to our service. AppTrana solves this problem and allows us to provide security reports to our customer providing proof that we take steps to protect their data behind our application

Pros:

Simplicity and takes the pain away of managing application security

Cons:

Notification alerts of incidents if any requires improvement. There is a 24x7 support team which helps, but they can improve further on the automated notification if there is any incident of attacks or downtime risks due to it

Indusface Response

4 years ago

As you rightly pointed out we provide 24*7 management and hence notification is sent to internal teams for review and take corrective action. We do not expect our customers to be security experts to take corrective action, that said we are working on providing more relevant information to customers so that they are aware of what is happening with their sites. Recently on these lines we have started sending notifications when our system identifies surge in traffic, the server is not accessible, etc. It is an ongoing process and you would see the value of the improvements that we are trying to make soon. We appreciate your valuable review...!!!

Sharad
Sharad
SVP and CISO in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Security during Application design

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: 1. Time to Market has been faster
2. Continuous Protection from known threats

Pros:

1. The detection of attack patterns and the POC which can be tested before making live. 2. Simplified single view dashboard

Cons:

Once the POC is implemented it need not be approved again for deployment Selection of POC for testing should be in single click across all onboarded application.

Indusface Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review. This motivates us to keep improving and serving our customers better.

Dipesh
Manager in India
Insurance, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good product and support

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Customer support response to any identified issues. Alerts and notifications sent by the tool on periodic basis. Protection provided by the too for onboard Ed applications.

Cons:

License model should be improved to include uat, pre-prod, and prod URL at the same cost. Predictive analytical should be included in the dashboard to highlight configuration tweaks that need to be done to improve WAF protection.

Rohit
Manager - IT
Banking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Apptrana Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: satisfactory

Pros:

Portal has most of the required controls, virtual patching option of vulnerabilities & Prompt Customer support

Cons:

More transparency on data flow on the portal itself would be of immense help as it will reduce dependency on the support team.

Indusface Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review.

Nikunj
Information Security Manager in India
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A fully integrated offering with managed services included as part of 24x7 with the product.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Loaded with features and managed service included as part of the support services is a must have for Cloud WAF offering

Pros:

Apptrana is a solid product plus service that includes following bundled in one offering and consumption based pricing model Cloud based Web application firewallApplication vulnerability AssessmentManaged Rules and Virtual Patching24x7 support and Managed servicesManaged DDOS and Bot mitigationCDN with distributed caching bundled with the product

Cons:

No major cons that effect the services.

Indusface Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review. We strive to provide a complete solution and it is great to see that the same is resonating well and are happy with the value our customers get from the product. It motivates us to keep improving and serving our customers better.

Arjun
Network Security Admin in India
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Indusface WAF for Business Continuity

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

From blocking to defending Cyberattack , it has been a great solution. It also utilizes information from the cyber Threat Alliance to help with web application attacks and threats.

Cons:

Monitoring and Alerting need to improve from product prospective, but we are seeing return on investment already.

Indusface Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review. This motivates us to keep improving and serving our customers better.

Mahesh
Deputy Vice President in India
Insurance, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Feeling secure

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Good

Pros:

Firewall and DDOS protection were quite helpful

Cons:

Custom Rules could be more versatile. Thank you.

Mangesh
Assistant Manager in India
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the Best WAF Product in market

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Ease to use features and functions in Apptrana portal.

Cons:

Many things available in portal but are not communicated to users on how to use.

Indusface Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review. This motivates us to keep improving and serving our customers better.

Arun
AGM in India
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

IT Security Head

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The support team is really helpful and always provide remediation based on our requirement.

Pros:

On the Fly implementation. No downtime for any of Public facing critical applications,

Cons:

Availability in our Geographic location

Indusface Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review. This motivates us to keep improving and serving our customers better.

Smitha
Manager in India
Human Resources, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Customer Support team

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Support team is really good

Pros:

Alert is sent on time Immediate Action taken when there is a attack

Cons:

Nothing as of now. Im not from technical team to comment on this. Need to see

Ariel
CTO in Israel
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Nice, reasonably priced WAF

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The possibility to find and occasionally patch automatically backend system vulnerabilities.

Cons:

Onboarding took some time until everything worked smoothly.

Indusface Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review. This motivates us to keep improving and serving our customers better.

Saurabh
Asst. Manager - IT in India
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

AppTrana Review

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Features and Ease of use. Very simple UI and easy to understand and navigate.

Cons:

No Cons found. Very good WAF application

Indusface Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review. This motivates us to keep improving and serving our customers better.

Manoj
DGM -IT in India
Chemicals, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

WAF Review

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Yes product is easy to use , integration is easy and support team is also good.

Cons:

As such no such issues is faced. Some feedback shared with relevant team.

Ken
Solutions Architect in US
Insurance, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Solid Vulnerability Assessment / App Audit tool with good reporting

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: The value proposition is great on the product, the cost is based on URL an dis very reasonable considering the level of analysis and data that is provided.

Pros:

The quality of the reports that are created following a scan are very good. The details provided and tips included are very useful to provide to our development staff and there is a good mixture of Executive level reporting / graphs as well as detailed level info for developers to consume.

Cons:

If you have a large list of defects to resolve, there is not a good way to re-test only a subset of defects / a single defect that the team wants to validate.

Indusface Response

4 years ago

Thanks for your review. We have data centers in multiple Geolocation and with integrated CDN where CDN POPS are available all over the world, we ensure that there is minimal latency for our users. FQDN model is required because we provide an integrated offering of Web Application Scanning and Web Application Firewall. We are happy that you have had a good experience using our product and we were able to meet all your custom needs.

Anirban
Deputy Director in India
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Product with excellent Customer Support

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use and very easy to configure which suffices the purpose.

Cons:

Nothing as such .. Good product with ease

Indusface Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review. This motivates us to keep improving and serving our customers better.

Shridhar
Assistant Manager in India
Insurance, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Apptrna Portal WAF

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The Apptrana portal is very user friendly

Cons:

Integration with other devices like SOC.

Indusface Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review. This motivates us to keep improving and serving our customers better.

Lidija
CTO in Australia
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Comprehensive security solution with a stellar support team

5.0 last year

Pros:

Very straightforward onboarding which was truly zero downtime. The featureset is comprehensive, the management console is intuitive and the application does exactly what it says it's going to do. The standout feature was the provisioning and support team. Any question I had was answered swiftly and professionally - kudos.

Cons:

It would be nice to be able to upload whitelist elements instead of adding 1 by 1.

Akhil
CTO in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Amazing support, sales & tech team

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have to say, indusface has the best client & customer support i've ever seen for any SaaS company!
i'm really impressed with the speed.
you were able to resolve my issue at 1am in India within 30 minutes including resolving the backend login issue i can't imagine this level of client support across tech, sales & operations team in the middle of the night by any company!
very impressed overall

Pros:

really quick response, easy to use and great customer support made this my favourite product in the industry! i can't imagine this level of client support across tech, sales & operations team in the middle of the night by any company! very impressed overall

Cons:

• minor login issue but that was resolved quickly

Indusface Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review. This motivates us to keep improving and serving our customers better.

Vasil
Security Analyst in Bulgaria
Consumer Goods, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very, very good web application firewall

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The easy way you could deploy over and start utilizing its capabilites.

Cons:

Not much actually but perhaps the dashboard/GUI wise it could be a bit more smooth in experience. Frequent session timeouts can be regarded as a nuisance too.

Jaime
Director of Software Development in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: - Great software, but I don't have anything to compare to
- Would like more ability to see breakdown of actual bandwidth usage

Pros:

- Seeing URL traffic - Ability to black/white list IPs and URLs on demand even non-technical users can do so - I like data, so more data points and information the better

Cons:

- Logging me out constant, even while actively using the software

Indusface Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the feedback, we try to keep our portal simple so even non-technical users can use it, happy that it is resonating with our customers. Someone from our support team will reach out to you, to understand the issue that you are facing around log off.

Mohit
IT - Manager in India
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Mohit Jain

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very Good

Pros:

Easy of Use , Good Performance , Good Support

Cons:

Some tele support required for immediate support

Indusface Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review. This motivates us to keep improving and serving our customers better.