About Jira

With 15+ years in the agile space, Jira offers teams the top tools and best practices to provide the right foundation for growth.

Learn more about Jira

Pros:

It’s ease of use to set up different help desks or ticket requests was fairly easy. Each help desk can be unique to the department it serves.

Cons:

I dislike both how it's hard for me to use and how it's hard for others to use - I run into instances of people misunderstanding the software all the time, which creates mistakes and wasted time.

Jira ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Jira has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 11,799 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Jira before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (11,799)

César josé R.
César josé R.
Software Developer in Peru
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent, perfect and intuitive

5 last week New

Pros:

Before using Jira, I found it difficult to keep my team's tasks organized in a neat and visually friendly way. In addition, it provides me with many tools that help create a more productive and efficient team, and generates reports that show if the team is making real progress.

Cons:

I consider that the price can be a barrier to entry when planning whether to decide to purchase the software or not, which can deprive many users of trying this wonderful tool. Also, the support one receives for the product sometimes does not solve the problems one may have while using the software.

Meraz H.
Meraz H.
Assistant Manager in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best-in-class and Reliable Project Management Companion

4 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Jira is presently utilized to manage our projects and workflows. We utilize it to manage team members' progress on projects, track outstanding work, and offer context for objectives and procedures. This is utilized across the organization and provides visibility for a large portion of the development effort on a range of projects.

Pros:

1) Integrate seamlessly with development tools like Slack, Github, or Bitbucket. 2) Workspace is very configurable; you may customize the components of each task on your board, as well as create your own icons, labels, and automated processes. 3) Connect all issues/tasks to Epics and view the anticipated outcomes in the Product Roadmap. 4) It offers the flexibility of a kanban board, which provides the user with a clearer view of what has been accomplished, what is in process, and what remains. 5) User story statuses may be used to monitor progress and control workflows. 6) Allows for bulk import of epics and user stories, which speeds up administrative duties if this information was previously recorded in another format, such as CSV.

Cons:

1) Only internal users may be allocated to tasks and user stories. This might result in unnecessarily long delays when external users want immediate input or participation. 2) When many boards exist within a project, statuses (user stories) cannot be established explicitly for each board. 3) User stories may be assigned to just two categories of users: assignees and reporters. JIRA does not permit the assignment of numerous assignees to a single user story.

Alternatives Considered: monday.com and Smartsheet

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Jira was more cost-effective and better for us because it met our needs more. It worked better with other Atlassian products that we were going to buy. So, it's clear that Jira is the best modern Project Tracking tool on the market right now.

Switched From: Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Because Atlassian has a lot more products, they were able to keep everything under the same roof. When we used JIRA integrations with other tools, they worked really well at the time and were very useful.

Roldan A.
Roldan A.
UX/UI Designer in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Jira is good enough, but definitely needs more improvements

3 2 months ago New

Comments: 2 out of 5 stars. In fact, we're (my company) is moving from Jira to Monday.com. It might be a little more, but the trade-off is definitely worth it.

Pros:

Well, the basics. Assignments, delegations and being able to reply to the assigner and to the client him/herself.

Cons:

I'm a UX/UI Designer. So, the workflow is convoluted. The interface needs proper blockings because there are so much thing happening on the main page. Take a look at Monday.com for comparison.

Alternatives Considered: monday.com and Wrike

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Monday.com is pretty much more comely to the users both seasoned and new. Their is more to Monday.com besides having a nice, neat and clean navigation and fucntionality.

Switched From: monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Jira: We're note really convinced, but we just tried it.

Ashish V.
Sr Solution Architect in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent solution as “One stop shop” in IT industry

4 last month New

Comments: Jira is life savior for many new scrum masters and managers for cost effective project management

Pros:

This software is very easy to manage day to day work,progress,assignments and forcast for different phases of projects..It turned out to be very effective tool in order to achieve efficient and cost efffective operational model in enterprise organizations

Cons:

This software should have most reporting widgets and open integration ports so that various data connectors can be integrated for limitless reporting

Alternatives Considered: Power BI Connector for Jira

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Jira is more user friendly

Switched From: Confluence

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Jira is easy to handle and support from maintenance perspective

Mirza S.
Mirza S.
Software Tester in Bosnia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira can help you tremendously if user the "right" way, or you can shoot yourself in the foot

5 2 months ago New

Comments: I really like it, as I can configure it to suit my needs, I'm constantly reviewing the testing process in our company, making changes to the workflow, adding custom fields, etc.

Pros:

It's rich in features it offers and it's amazingly configurable, two organizations can have Jira installations that are nothing alike!

Cons:

It's not a big issue for me, but I think they should offer more best practices in terms of templates for less experienced users to save them from headaches - they are already taking steps in this direction. Since it's a very large product there are some inconsistencies, doing the same thing in two different parts of Jira can feel like a very different experience.

Alternatives Considered: Trello, Azure DevOps Server and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Jira is the industry standard and it was more affordable at the time as well.

Switched From: Wrike

Reasons for Switching to Jira: There are a lot of people who know how to use it, both regular and advanced users.

Verified Reviewer
Senior Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great in project management and API integration but UI/UX is a little obsolete.

4 2 months ago

Comments: JIRA has been a good choice for project management overall. Easy navigation, dashboards, access controls and setup, Scrum and Kanban boards, tagging and commenting are some of the most widely used features today on JIRA in our organization. Things like simplistic UI and improved UX, reporting and insights could be improved to make the product really holistic, supremely customizable and will bring it on a competitive edge in the market as well.

Pros:

As we work in the RPA Team, API integration is the best part of JIRA offering, but also overall project management with Scrum and Kanban has proved to be really useful for us.

Cons:

The UI could be made a little simpler and UX can be improved especially with access controls and resource access management. The charts of Scrum and Kanban board also tend to fly away making it hard to understand and sometimes adds in extra effort for the managers or scrum masters.

Alternatives Considered: monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Jira: We are an old organization and tend to trust old companies and partners. Also, Atlassian is one of the leading project management suite provider and we use not just JIRA but many other product offerings from Atlassian like Confluence which is where store all our Documents and Artefacts. This is why we preferred having all things related to project management to buy from one vendor rather than many.

Verified Reviewer
Software Developer in Turkey
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Jira for Professionals

5 last month New

Comments: I ran many small-medium-large software projects with Jira. Thanks to Jira, I used the Agile software development method in the best way with technological possibilities. I think that it will greatly reduce the burden of teams working on large-scale projects in terms of project management and project follow-up, and it will make work follow-up easier for managers. Even if Jira is not your Agile methodology for individual use, it will save you a lot of time and effort in planning, managing and documenting your projects compared to its counterparts in the market.

Pros:

Jira is the most complete, stabilized and user-friendly software among many similar software on the market. Thanks to the support of the mobile application, you can follow your teamwork or individual progress wherever you are. Jira is a unique product for professionals.

Cons:

Unfortunately, we do not have the opportunity to add features for each newly added 'issue' in the 'Board' section. It would be a great opportunity to have this feature, even if it didn't cost Jira much. After adding the 'Issue', of course, an 'issue' related to a great user interface can be edited, but there is no such interface at the time of adding.

Waqas a C.
Waqas a C.
Product Owner in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Jira, the best technical task management tool!

5 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall, it was a great experience using Jira. We're still using it, exploring it and learning that how to improve our development processes and make ease for both management and the developers.

Pros:

- Easy for devs to understand - Easy to integrate with bitbucket - Easy to integrate third party apps like slack, zephyr and many more - Help employees to manage their tasks and track their production time - Help management to keep track of progress of the project and also to get an idea of employee's performance.

Cons:

A bit lengthy tool, for new users, one should be able to use it once s/he will spend 1 month on it.

Alternatives Considered: Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Because of features and ease.

Switched From: Smartsheet

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Because of having more functionalities, and flexibility.

Zack G.
Zack G.
Information Technology Security Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Top-notch issues tracker right out of the box

5 2 months ago New

Comments: We migrated our projects to Jira and are very pleased with this decision. Migration went pretty quickly, onboarding of all our key employees took about 2 weeks. And now Jira is our central tool for monitoring all projects in the company.

Pros:

Jira is constantly being improved for the better and Jira 2 years ago this is a completely different product than now. I like the ease of task management and as the other Atlassian products here are closely integrated.

Cons:

1) Settings are not always obvious. 2) With a large number of automation and integrations, the system has been slowed down.

Alternatives Considered: VersionOne, Targetprocess, Zoho Projects, ProductPlan, Microsoft Project and Basecamp

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Jira, of course, is a more powerful software for the same price.

Switched From: Asana

Verified Reviewer
Technical Lead in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best tool for Project & Product management

4 2 months ago New

Comments: Very useful , easy to use and track and monitor project management activities

Pros:

We used Jira every day for development and Product management for creating, assigning and updating tickets ,user stories and tasks.

Cons:

Though it's A very useful and easy to use and riched with features but scrum methodology I think Azure devops board is far better in sprint management

Ariel B.
Product Leader in Argentina
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Personal review for Jira Software

5 last month New

Comments: I would prompt program item proprietors ought to utilize this extraordinary item for overseeing their ventures which can allow you more understanding into the advance of your venture. No question this stage is secure as well which bolsters different security offices - getting to git information with private get to keys, SSH certificates and username/password. You ought to too see to induce a trial or free account to play around with the apparatus and at that point on full fulfillment as it were it would be ideal if you go for a permit. I wagered once anybody employments this stage venture administration continuously choice will be Jira.

Pros:

I adore the format, checking history. Being able to channel the assignments. And we are ready to see each comment's points of interest just like the correct date. Moreover it is truly simple drag a report Being able to open the task in a modern tab is additionally so precious. Attaching cards to each other moreover makes things simpler.

Cons:

Some of the time due to the stack of errands we are taking care of it may allow us difficult time stacking a entirety page. When you attempt to look something within the look bar, it may evacuate some of the letters you're writing down may cause typo otherwise you have to be compose down the precise thing to find the right issue.

Alternatives Considered: Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Jira Software meets the high-end needs of software teams with the power and flexibility an agile team needs to deliver value to customers faster.

Dilip J.
Dilip J.
Software Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My Review of JIRA

4 3 months ago

Comments: As a software developer, I have used life cycle software for many software developments. For more than two years I have been using JIRA in software development. I found it really helpful to address daily developments using this Agile software development model. I have used JIRA software to develop multiple software while using the Agile approach to work for faster software development with continuous development and bug fixes. I found it really helpful to work with JIRA.

Pros:

JIRA is one of the best known software used to develop and track software using the Agile method. Using JIRA is easy to track application usage and easy to assign to developers tasks. I have been working with JIRA in software development for over 2 years. At JIRA we used to develop software on the basis of continuous integration and continuous development.

Cons:

Honestly, I haven't found a feature or functionality of JIRA that I dislike because it comes with multiple features that are really useful when communicating on a project with team members on the stories.

Alternatives Considered: ProofHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to Jira: I choose JIRA because it's the overall package that is provided by Atlassian. In JIRA it is easy to maintain multiple projects, assigning stories, tracking issues, and moreover the user experience. It's easy to use and interact with the JIRA.

Jitendra S.
Jitendra S.
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Agile development software in my eyes

4 3 months ago

Comments: Basically using Jira as my go-to software for tracking and managing any project be it business enterprise level or personal level. I would recommend anyone reading to this review to go try it and without a doubt, certainly you wouldn't regret ur decision!

Pros:

Quick and easy management and organization of my backlog tasks, the flexibility of setting up almost any integrations for bug tracking with ease, works flawlessly when used alongside other Atlassian products like Confluence. Best pricing options seen till date. Overall takes my agile workflow to the ultimate level with the amount of extensiblity that is second to none in my opinion!

Cons:

At times there is some flakiness in the outcomes of the actions but generally not a lot worrisome. Also the availability, although can be improved using a private cloud probably, does suffer some occasional hiccups here and there. The bug tracking is comparatively the most improvable area i suppose. It is good don't get me wrong, but can be so much more better with just a few tweaks here and there that's all.

Alternatives Considered: Bugzilla, Trello and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: None of them stand a chance to match to this all-in-all amazing product!

Lawrence L.
Lead Producer in US
Computer Games, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira is great PM tool for medium to large game development projects

4 3 months ago

Pros:

Overall, I really like the flexibility that Jira provides. The one feature that I most appreciate when I use another PM tool is built-in support for Fix Versions. Being able to assign a fix version for a sprint and for each build, makes it easy to see all the tasks and bugs that are in a given full release or an individual build.

Cons:

A lot of folks, especially artists, have a general disdain for the Jira UX. It is not as ergonomic, clean, and tactile as Trello or Basecamp. I would love it if there were a way for Boards in Jira to be as simple and powerful as boards in Trello.

Alternatives Considered: Trello, Basecamp, Hansoft and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Trello did not have the reporting and searching capabilities that we needed for bug workflows.

Switched From: Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Jira was simply more powerful when it came to critical QA search and reporting needs. We still use both Trello and Asana for other sub-teams but I would like to standardize on Jira over time.

Marvin M.
IT Manager in Jamaica
Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Top Tier Organizer

4 3 months ago

Comments: I was looking for something that can give me ticket management, reports, workflow, collaboration. It is top tier product for executing coordination and arranging innovation.

Pros:

JIRA permits groups to envision and comprehend assumptions for when to convey an undertaking, have knowledge into project/group/individual limit, and track stay at work past 40 hours. In a remote-first world, JIRA permits you to keep up with tight correspondence and adjusted degrees even as groups work across time regions. JIRA is extraordinary for having the option to sort out the extent of significant elements or item dispatches in a manner that can be imagined across groups.

Cons:

There is an expectation to absorb information to working in JIRA, it isn't quickly instinctive to another client. It normally requires a great deal of learning to most actually and ideally use JIRA. A great deal of it accompanies time and experience. There are a ton of extravagant accessories in JIRA. It's truly incredible that you can mark or coordinate tickets in a wide range of ways. It is truly dependent upon the association to make a technique for getting sorted out inside those extravagant accessories. This implies each time you go to another association, there is a great deal of cross-over, however, you are gaining some significant knowledge of new techniques and best practices too.

Alternatives Considered: Teamwork, ClickUp and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Ease of use, and overall better product

Carla C.
Ecomm Director in US
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira is Great for Development, but only Good for Creative

5 4 months ago

Comments: A great way to track deadlines between silos and especially developers.

Pros:

Jira is out of the box free, and it's amazing because it works with everything by the same company. It also allows for easy organization of projects and silos, which intersect with each other. You can easily hand off tasks and allow people to collaborate.

Cons:

Jira has a very development based angle, so if you're trying to manage a hybrid team, it works well. But if your team is marketing heavy, it's very anti-user friendly unless a person has familiarity with code or databases. It's just sparse and less user friendly.

Alternatives Considered: Redmine

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Wanted more customization

Switched From: monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Jira: It had nice integrations like Trello and was easy to share between developers AND marketers.

Sudhir B.
Chief Engineer in Germany
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the greatest defect tracking and project management tools in the industry

5 6 months ago

Comments: Project and Time management in many cutomer projects

Pros:

I find this software to be very versatile and useful. It has functions that make work easier when it comes to organization, planning, and meeting goals. It facilitates effective teamwork; it is simple to keep track of the activities that must be completed and the notifications of changes to any action work well. It has multiple views and is used to manage projects, so people who want to see an overview of the work can use the To-do List or simply the Roadmap, and team members who are trying to balance their daily activities can use the Dashboard to plan their workload. I like it because it easily adapts to what you want to do.

Cons:

In some circumstances, receiving notifications has become difficult, preventing real-time monitoring. Although simple and adaptable, defining and organizing the sorts of work items might be difficult at first.

Alternatives Considered: Bugzilla

Reasons for Switching to Jira: JIRA is quite easy to migrate. Easy to train and educate the team in fastest time possible. Easy to handle the administrative tasks and correct when needed.

Gayan D.
Gayan D.
Senior Project Manager in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The only project management tool you need

5 7 months ago

Comments: JIRA has been an integral part of our software development and project management journey and has just about all the tools you need to successfully manage your project or product offerings.

Pros:

JIRA has just about every project management aspect covered in their offering and it's easy to set up and configure to suit your needs. Reporting, ticket tracking, requirement and comment tracking, workflow customization, task assignment and follow-up + more make the life of a project manager a breeze which would otherwise have to be done using a multitude of tools.

Cons:

The permissions structure/permission matrix at the administrative level could be a bit more user-friendly as troubleshooting an incorrectly configured (permission) JIRA instance can be a hassle. Sometimes when new versions are introduced, some of the older features are dumbed down to make it easier for the user but for power users, this could cause confusion if they were wired to do some tasks using the old methods.

Alternatives Considered: Airtable, Trello and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira: JIRA was more feature-rich, had all the project management tools needed under one offering and had integrations with a wide set of 3rd party platforms and programs

Switched From: MantisBT

Reasons for Switching to Jira: More customizable while being user-friendly at the same time.

Brandon S.
Brandon S.
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A robust application that can be used for everything from task management to software development

4 6 months ago

Comments: We started using Jira for simple issue tracking for all issue types, from bugs and ideas to backlogged and in progress tickets. We have since expanded this to track our full development roadmap and to produce documentation within Confluence. We have also taken advantage of the integration with Gitlab and Sentry to help give us a more clear picture of what's going on, even when it isn't happening directly in Jira.

Pros:

Jira has a weekly release schedule which means the product is always being improved or changed. This is usually a good thing, although I will admit that sometimes it isn't. Jira is also incredibly functional for a broad range of use cases, from managing a simple to-do list, team task tracking, process automation, to software development. They do a good job of making it user friendly and easy to onboard, especially since they started making drastic UI improvements a little over a year ago.

Cons:

A consequence of being capable of so much is that it can be hard to configure initially. More specifically, which features you need and which can be disabled. There are a lot of great features but some just complicate the workflow, and it usually takes time to figure this out.

Alternatives Considered: Teamwork, Pivotal Tracker, Trello, Basecamp, Wrike and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Jira was either more user-friendly or offered a solution that was geared more towards software development than the other applications. I also like the direct integration with Confluence, even though Confluence itself can be annoying at times.

Sourabh S.
Sourabh S.
Software Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

JIRA enables business to add velocity to their service management tasks and workflows

4 8 months ago

Comments: JIRA is a modern take on a ITSM solution. It is feature loaded yet has a very intuitive User Experience. It has good User Interface as well. JIRA acts as the common interface between Developers, IT ops and business teams and helps different parts of the business colloborate better. It acts as the source of truth for all involves parties and does its basic tasks quite well. It adds velocity to the overall process of task management irrespective of the industry it is used in.

Pros:

1. Great User Interface and User Experience. 2. The ability to create custom queues and automatically re-direct issues to these queues saves a lot of time. 3. The inbuilt SLA management and the option of integrating it to third party alert and notification software is impressive. 4. Adding attachment, links and other resources to JIRA ticket is easy and straightforward. 5. It has great audit trail tracking and can act as a source of truth for all parties involved.

Cons:

1. The issue search feature could have been a little more customizable and faster. 2. The options available to format the comments on an issue are limited and not very intuitive.

Alternatives Considered: Zepel

Reasons for Choosing Jira: We moved to the Atlassian Ecosystem.

Switched From: Bugzilla

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Jira was more cost effective and fitted our needs better. It better integrated with other Atlassian products that we planned to buy. Jira certainly is the most proven modern Project Tracking software out there.

Niel D.
President in Philippines
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very Powerful but only if your team is techy enough to use it

4 8 months ago

Pros:

So far, the gold standard in project and process management, especially in the number of options, features, automations, integrations and workflows that the software is capable of handling. We shifted to this software when the pandemic hit and were forced to stay at home since we needed a more powerful software to handle our workflow. If you have a techy team, nothing else compares.

Cons:

Biggest con really is that it is not the most user friendly software. Unlike Trello or Asana where you can just go fire it up and it's good to go. This one takes a lot of set-up to do and a deep familiarity with how it works under the hood. Given that the software is one of the older ones, you can sort of see it's age in both the older workflows (issues, screens, etc) vs the newer templates. The newer project templates sort of partially solved this problem but if you need to tweak the settings, it still has a steeper learning curve. The con really here is that i tried Jira with my other less techy company (a school) and adoption was really low as users just weren't able to keep up with it.

Alternatives Considered: Teamwork, monday.com and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Needed something more powerful

Switched From: Trello

Joshua M.
Freelancer in South Africa
Financial Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Enablement of Team collaboration for Agile projects.

4 8 months ago

Comments: JIRA is a great tool that allows for greater team collaboration within Agile projects. It is easy to use and very intuitive. Sometimes connectivity can be a problem especially with the cloud based versions. JIRA definitely provides more value than shortcomings.

Pros:

1. Different user roles can be defined to allow for segregation of duties. 2. Epics can be defined to assist with long and intermediate project planning. 3. Duration of sprints can be defined according to project requirements. 4. Statuses for user stories can be used for tracking progress as well as workflow management. 5. Allows for bulk import of epics and user stories which can fast track administrative tasks where this information has been captured elsewhere e.g. CSV format

Cons:

1. Only users from within the organization can be assigned to tasks and user stories. This can cause unnecessary delays where external users need to provide urgent input or contribution. 2. Statuses (user stories) cannot be defined specifically for a board where multiple boards exist within a project. 3. Only two types of users can be assigned to user stories, which are assignees and reporters. JIRA does not allow for multiple users (assignees) to be assigned to one user story.

Ogaga U.
Security Analyst in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

JIRA works pretty great for projects and tasks

4 9 months ago

Comments: JIRA has been very beneficial to us across all teams and it's very useful for service and technical management.

Pros:

I like the kanban board, it works very well and looks simple to use (but it's not easy to setup). The task management for business project is very nice and the new feature of being able to look at the overall work like in a spreadsheet, definitely beats Smartsheet for me. I like that you can easily move your work when you're done using the board view, if you like.

Cons:

Scrum/Agile can be difficult to setup because the Kanban board isn't so great when setting it up. I have run into some difficulties with it, their support board was helpful but it did not resolve the issue. Business projects do not have the ability to link to Bitbucket, it would have been nice to include task management with Bitbucket integration, it helps to appropriately follow up on tasks. The board view for tasks and sub-tasks doesn't work for me. I'd like to see that there are major tasks with steps of the child tasks (change the subtask icon too).

Alternatives Considered: Smartsheet

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Atlassian has a wider product range and it helped to keep everything with one organisation. Secondly, at the time, JIRA integrations with other tools we used, worked really great.

Switched From: Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: There were some drawbacks with Smartsheet when we used it for a short time to try it out. Some liked it but my team and I preferred JIRA and we were the decision makers.

Verified Reviewer
Assistant Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One Stop Project Management Tool

5 8 months ago

Comments: We have been using JIRA across the current project and there are at least 10 different teams (Squads) which are working on their projects (Large Project broken into sub projects). From feature describing to user story writing, test cases, defects, reports, matrix, dashboards, time tracking all such activities been handled by JIRA.

Pros:

JIRA is one of the best, simple, and user friendly project management tool. We have been working for almost 3 years now and the user experience it offers is applaudable. You can create your agile boards for scrums and can go KANBAN as well. You can create as many different teams and squads. Link your issues to stories and trace it to the feature, Track how much effort is being spent on an item; Track for how long an item has been been sitting idle; Prioritize your issues, backlogs; Create dashboards for ease and convenience; generate reports, traceability matrix, velocity burndown charts; add/remove user access. You can customize it as per requirement and with ease. Recently it has moved to cloud, so down time has been relevantly decreased which is an added bonus. Best part I like about using JIRA is that its very easy to handle, we can do bulk update on items and it takes very less time to understand. This is one of the best tools that is out there and I believe almost every organization is using it.

Cons:

There is nothing much to add in this section. Practically I am all thumbs up for JIRA. I have a suggestion though. JIRA needs to have a Instant Messaging option enabled so that an organizations do not need to look out for a separate tool. I think if Atlassian would be able to achieve it, not only they would be able to enhance their customer base but they would be able bring a lot revenue.

Praveen M.
DevOps Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira : Collaboration of multiple people on same platform

4 10 months ago

Comments: Jira is an extremely useful product to work with a very large team and many project at the same time. Jira supports Agile and Kanban both the types of project management strategies.

Pros:

It's a very powerful tool. It provides many advanced features to collaborate with people. We can easily tracks things on Jira through our mobile devises and other gadgets. It helps us to plan the projects with tasks and sub-tasks.

Cons:

It is an expensive software compared to other open source software. I have worked with many software Jira is one of the most expensive product that we have used in our projects.

Alternatives Considered: Salesforce Sales Cloud, Asana and HubSpot CRM

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Salesforce was not suitable for our requirement and the type of business that we are doing. So, we have shifted to Jira and it's a very important decision for us to collaborate our exciting team.

Switched From: Salesforce Sales Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Jira is developer friendly, easy to work with, easy to collaborate with multiple people on the same task, have features to same attachments and issue tracking with notifications is very helpful to complete tasks on time.