15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Tempo Planner

A powerful resource allocation planning tool designed to optimize capacity planning and project management in Jira.

Learn more about Tempo Planner

Pros:

Integration to Jira is seem less and allows for my QA team to enter timecards in same system they use every day. Decent price for 250 users providing comparable function to higher cost solutions.

Cons:

Difficult administration and reporting could be more visual.

Tempo Planner ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
3.8
Features
3.7
Value for Money
3.7

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Tempo Planner has an overall rating of 4 out 5 stars based on 27 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Tempo Planner before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (27)

Craig
Craig
Managing Director in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Tempo Planner Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Really good.

Pros:

Ease to use and implement. Integrates well with other applications.

Cons:

Nothing really. I am not at the stage of use of finding any limitations or gaps.

Tempo Response

4 years ago

Hi Craig, Thank you for your feedback. We're very happy to hear you're satisfied with Tempo Planner!

Henry
Sr. Mgr. IT QA in US
Consumer Goods, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tempo Planner is good but license integration forcing us out.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It works well for partner time tracking. Our QA vendor is generating all their timesheets right of Tempo. It is now our standard for finance audits on time keeping for this partner.

Pros:

Integration to Jira is seem less and allows for my QA team to enter timecards in same system they use every day. Decent price for 250 users providing comparable function to higher cost solutions.

Cons:

License integration with Jira. I have a 500 IT implementation of Jira going to 750. I only have a partner using Tempo 100 licenses. However, my license costs keep going up. I am paying extra just for Atlassian's license simplification. Rest of IT uses Planview and given this license practice raising my Tempo costs I will be forced to not renew. It would be preferable to have license audits to ensure we are not using 750 than to pay an extra $10k for licenses we will never use. If we were to sunset Planview for Tempo in next audit would true up and pay the full price so no real harm to Atlassian. Versus as it stands now you will loose Clorox Tempo business. Support is not very clear. Would recommend an implementation service to train us and help us get full potential of Tempo realized.

Rachel
Project Coordinator in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Need more flexibility in visibility/reporting

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: In conjunction with our Senior Project Manager, I tried out Tempo planner on just the project management team and did not feel it was well fit to our needs. We submitted a ticker to tempo/jira, and our needs are not able to be met (CSV esport of estimates versus actuals, very important to our workflow). Because of this, we are looking into alternatives. We are still trying to move away from Float, our current resourcing tool, but are not sure that Tempo Planner would suit us any better.

Pros:

It is easy to input a block of time and the software will automatically allocate daily amounts for you.

Cons:

It is not possible to hide planned time from the production team, and this planned time shows up in Tempo where team members go daily to log this time. Because the time is broken out in equal parts across the assigned time period, it is often broken into odd increments that do not fit our 15 minute increment structure. Because this is surfaced to the team, we anticipate issues with them logging planned time rather than their actuals and fussing when their actuals do not match the planned resourcing for the week (which they often do not). We also miss the capability to color code the planned work by project manager (which we had in Float). The overhead view of all resources is not as easy to break down as our previous program, Float, because it does not surface enough detail. We also cannot export the single most important report as a CSV (estimates versus actuals), which was the #1 reason we anticipated moving to Tempo planner in the first place.

Tempo Response

4 years ago

Hi Rachel, Thank you for your detailed review, we appreciate it as we're always looking to improve. We recommend you have a look at Tempo's Idea Portal to submit ideas and suggestions: https://ideas.tempo.io

Ayomikun
Lead Technical Support Engineer in Canada
Telecommunications, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tempo Planner review

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Tempo Planner has really helped when relating with PMs and Service Delivery Managers for updates on resource allocation

Pros:

Useful when assigning teams to different projects.

Cons:

So far so good. This tool has been helpful.

Pawel
System Manager in Poland
Translation & Localization, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Product Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We were looking for the software that can be used for planning especially in context of development resources. With Tempo we can easily book a resource for a specific task or project and anyone can see that the resource is already booked. The second way we are using it is for out of office (vacation/training/sick leave etc.) planning that gives transparency to everyone in the organization so it's easily to check who is planning to be off on a specific time.

Pros:

You can plan any task in JIRA with Tempo planner, it's easy to see the overall plannig per team or individual user, planned time can be easily reported.

Cons:

Sometimes confusing UI, especially if you like to see the planner from reports engine.

Peter
Business Process Manager in Denmark
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Could be good but

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: The ideas behind seem fairly sound but the implementation is poor.
Also, you have no idea when the plan on fixing the problems in the software since there is no communication about roapmaps or coming features.

Pros:

* The integration with Jira was the main selling point. * A web interface was also something we were looking for. (We only plan on the "project" level. Planning within individual projects is handled by PMs on Jira project.)

Cons:

* The software is confusing (several similar views that do different things) * Administration is a *nightmare* - really, I seen nothing as bad as this for several years: we have 25 teams, 250 "Internal" users and 200 external. Admins need to be added to each individual team (no central permissions) and if users are to see plans from other teams the 25 teams need to be updated manually each time we get a new user. * Each user has a workload scheme - but if a user's scheme i M-F: 8, 8, 8, 8, 5 and you add a 37 hour task for Monday, Tempo plans 7,4 hours per day showing the first days as under allocated and the last over allocated. Come on??? * Seems buggy. We have had a number of issues where we could not work out what we were seeing, reported a bug to Tempo - just for issues to magically disappear after a day.

MATTIA
Team Leader in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good but not enough

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

His synergy with tempo timesheet to understand the difference from what you plan and what people do

Cons:

The difficult to plan the issue of a SPRINT. The impossibility to see a real capacity

Adam
Adam
CEO in UK
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Effectively plan time on Jira

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Tempo Planner is great for planning time in Jira. With seamless integration with the excellent Tempo Timesheets this is a fantastic addition to the Tempo family and vital in planning time for your software development team. Supports water fall and agile working methods and provides lots of tools to help your teams understand what they should be working on.

Cons:

Currently lacks google calendar integration on the Server version which would be really useful in syncing meetings and planned work programmes.

Alison
Chat Agent in US
Information Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tempo Planner is a great software tool to help business owners to organized and profitable.

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

I like Tempo Planner because you can navigate through the software easy.

Cons:

Its a great overall software tool to have because it help business owners save money and time. Its also helps business owners stay organized with their business.

Kelly
Project Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great app. Jira integration needs work.

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It's super easy to log time within Jira. I can access time entry in a few different ways, so if I'm working on an issue, I can log it directly in the Jira task. I can also quickly run reports to assess burn and progress down to the specific issue or bug.

Cons:

The search functionality within Jira is pretty awful. It works great in the mobile app, but I'm not going to use my phone to log time when everything else I do for work is in browser.

Tempo Response

4 years ago

Hi Kelly, Thanks so much for your feedback. Tempo Team

Adam
Managing Partner in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good product and could use a few updates just to make things easier

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

We like the integration with JIRA and the ability to download data we need when we need it.

Cons:

In some of the search fields and reports finding the issues/subjects you are looking for does not seem to work consistently. There are some cases where we try to find a specific item and the search will not return it even though our search terms are accurate. We also would like to see a little more flexibility in the way we setup and plan our issues in terms of how this relates to our billing system.

Tempo Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your review! We recently launched an idea portal for Tempo, feel free to submit your ideas so we can improve our products: https://ideas.tempo.io

Stefanie
Researcher in New Zealand
Research, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Tempo Planner - usefull

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: It is OK and it provided partly what we need but sometimes it is a little frustrating - especially since you can't change the availability of a person during the year.

Pros:

I like that you can plan the time for everyone working at the Company and I like that it interacts with JIRA. Everyone can access there available hours and what project they are working on. It is nice that Tempo Planner knows the public holidays and that it can provide an estimate of the hours people should be at work for.

Cons:

What I really don't like is that Tempo Planner is not very flexible. If people's daily working hours change during the year, Tempo Planner can't deal with that. You can't provide e.g. Person A works full time from Jan-Mar and only half time after that. Once you put in full-time, you are stuck with it and Tempo Planner will calculate the total hours per year based in full time. Also, if plans change, the already planned time cannot be edited, rather needs to be deleted and newly entered.

Jan
Managing partner in Germany
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very good tool...but we found the limits...

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use, the overview and the rich reporting features, as well as the integration in all Jira issue features. Very good to make detailed plans on a daily or weekly basis.

Cons:

There is no change history. Often things get messed up, accidently. Then there is no possibility to investigate what happend to learn from, or to restore. Also user permissions are fairly poor - at least too poor for our team. No option to plan on a higher lever/portfolio planning.

Patrik
IT Service Manager for IT Management Tools in Sweden
Logistics & Supply Chain, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Not the optimal tool for us, but still useful

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are trying to use it for keeping track of the workload for our personnel, but we are not fully there yet.

Pros:

Even it is not so intuitive to plan the resources, the overview of planned time and utilization is nice.

Cons:

As we do not plan our time in so detailed manner as the software seems to be designed for (we plan resource not on an item level, but on a Project level, and Resources do not only work in on JIRA Project, but maybe up to 5-6 different ones) it has been a bit hard to get it working, both due to bugs (now solved, I think) and limitations in the tool. As the title says, we could have wanted more from a tool like this, but still useful, and value for Money.

Ramiro
CIO in Argentina
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ok but tedious

2.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It's easy to setup work plans for my team and see time available

Cons:

The product is ok, but the planner is tedious to use. When using the planner, it would be nice if the tool would automatically fetch the estimated time. On the issue list, it would be nice if time planned was displayed (as it was before) Some basic reports would be nice, i.e: plan vs. actual log times.

Akash
Director in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nice Planned app

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Ability to plan staffs within a team. Daily time management

Cons:

It doesn't work well with estimate from JIRA. So have to re-enter

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Keeps on improving

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Integrates well with core jira to allow us plan work across our teams

Cons:

The reporting suite isn't especially good

Greg
CTO in US
Consumer Goods, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tempo Planner

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: We use it to track time and plan sprints for our contractor resources.

Pros:

I'm a fan of how it integrates well with JIRA and Tempo timesheets.

Cons:

I do wish it were MORE integrated from an API perspective . I'd love more detail reporting and cross function with both JIRA, Time-sheets and really good Teams integration.

Tempo Response

4 years ago

Hi Greg, Thank you for your review!

Marco
Founder in Netherlands
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We use Temp Planner

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It is good to have planning and time writing from within Jira. Luckily the API gives a lot of data for us to use in an external system and to make the data for us.

Pros:

We use the planner for planning holidays and general stuff like that.

Cons:

The setup and onboarding was not as easy as it could be. There was a lot of searching for how to do this or that ..

Bianca
IT Manager in Brazil
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

good option when not have much money

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

easy for use /good calendar tasks and reports

Cons:

have many actions manual for management hours of people

Rogelio
PMO Manager in US
Utilities, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Capacity vs Utilization

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: So far the overall experience has been good. We have been able to gain visibility into capacity vs utilization at the program, team and individual levels.

Pros:

I like the way that you can plan out an individual or team's time allocation to a particular project. I also like the fact that no matter how many teams a specific individual is on, the tool shows you the hours that they have already committed to other projects and or objectives.

Cons:

The buy in from the teams has been a bit harder to obtain as it does create an extra step for them do take.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Does not live up to the rest of Tempo

3.0 last year

Pros:

The only real pro here is that it links up to Tempo Timesheets and Jira if you are trying to avoid adding yet another plug-in or new tool.

Cons:

Tempo planner is not very intuitive. There are other softwares that are much better for resource planning. It could be cool - but still needs more work on the UI and features.

Cindy
Project manager in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Project Manager

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The product is very easy to use and especially helpful during the covid work from remote for managing progress. It also assists on justifying new hires based on current workload.

Cons:

Can't think of any at the current time.

Tempo Response

4 years ago

Hi Cindy, We are happy to hear that Tempo Planner is answering your needs!

Alexandre
VP in Switzerland
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Cool & simple JIRA plugin to manage ressources allocation but it's administration could be improved

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Simple to use/plan ressources allocation & integrated to JIRA

Cons:

Difficult administration and reporting could be more visual

Mohsin
Software Consultant in Tanzania
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool for project managers to manage their team and generate reports

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The ability to view reports for management to show the progress of project, as well as planning team members work.

Cons:

Works with separate tool, Tempo Timesheets, to let developers log in their work. It should have been an all in one package.