15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About WorkflowMax

A single platform for all your project management needs; from quotes to timesheets, job tracking, and costing, reporting and more.

Learn more about WorkflowMax

Pros:

Ease of use day to day, product updates regularly.

Cons:

Customizable reports are still limited and basic. Lacks multi-line quotes itemization.

WorkflowMax ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.0
Features
3.8
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.3/10

WorkflowMax has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 120 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used WorkflowMax before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (120)

David
David
Director
Verified LinkedIn User
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

It does what it says on the tin. Work-Flow-MAX

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: I am the director of Right Brain Insights, and CFO for a company called T3 Group – T3 Facility Services Pty Ltd. I help SMEs use data to clarify their strategic direction and boost their business performance. In the case of T3 Group, that’s what we’ve been able to do with WorkflowMax. Eleven months ago, the only thing that could be vaguely understood was total sales to a client. However, in order to understand the cost base and truly drive profit, and link it back to our goals, we needed to be able to break down jobs, and their cost, as well as give the guys one site and the guys in the office something that could allow them to be far more efficient and far more effective at what they needed to do. We looked at WorkflowMax, GeoOp and Connect2Field. WorkflowMax is just a standout, across these in terms of its reporting, its connection with Xero, and its detail. We needed to have really good insights over our cash flow going forward. We use WorkflowMax to strip out a pipeline, so we can see cashflow into the future based on job activity. Our target used to be $50,000 a month, it’s now $325,000 minimum and rising. We would not have been able to hit that growth without WorkflowMax. There used to be a fairly substantial lag in invoicing. It used to be around a 14-day delay from the end of a job to actually invoicing it. That’s come down to basically 24, at most 48 hours. We pretty much invoice as soon as the job’s finished. That’s been a really, really tight process and something that’s really cool when you link WorkflowMax to Xero. In January our accounts receivable days was roughly 65 and our accounts payable was roughly 40. We’ve now switched that where our accounts receivable, on average, is about 45 days and our payable is about 48. So being able to switch that and stay on top of it has had a really, really powerful impact. We’re just becoming more organised. So we are doing things far more efficiently. We are, through a system like this, becoming more account

Pros:

- Customised reporting & data fields - Real-time tracking - Xero connection - Pricing (so much cheaper than GeoOp & Connect 2 Field at the time we researched) - Backed by Xero

Cons:

- Dashboard design. Could be cleaner, maybe customisable - Not life or death, but stronger connection on the cost side. i.e. 'spend money' type transactions linking to Xero.

Eabyn
Graphic Designer in South Africa
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Ideal for organisations looking for large scale project and financial management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Brings detailed project management workflows while offering portals and features that manage both the financial records and client facing invoices

Pros:

Offers the benefits of both handling the financial and project management, this link is valuable for our company to monitor the integral efficiency of our organisation

Cons:

A greater app integration list would benefit this platform

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Dont use if quoting is important

2.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It's OK for tracking jobs once the quote is accepted, and links with Xero quite well. If you have a simple business it'll probably be OK

Cons:

Despite repeated requests, WFM is not interested in improving this side of the product. WFM cannot handle multi-line itemised quotes, is slow to use and has very limited functionality. While you can add profiles, and append them to orders it insists on blending all the profiles in together, making itemising a messy, manual process. The cost is OK, again if you have a simple business. Don't try to imagine that these costs are anything like inventory. It is basically a free text field. Tasks can't be combined with costs, so you can't organize complex jobs at the quote stage. I believe you can do more in jobs, but this is handling the data twice. I am searching for an alternative and will be gone as soon as possible. The biggest thing keeping me using it is that I spend 40+ hours doing 20 hours worth of quoting and run out of time to search!

Uwais
Senior Financial Consultant in South Africa
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

WorkFlowMax review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Reasonably happy with the experiences

Pros:

The ability to calculate and manage task time automatically without having people try to manually work out their hours is very helpful.

Cons:

Planning for longer than a month is tricky if you only link jobs to projects that have been approved.

Maree
Maree
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Value for Money Time and Project Management System

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: As Certified Implementation Partners, we have implemented and trained WorkflowMax for over sixty clients in the UK. Industries have included Creative Agencies, Architects & Engineers, Ecologists, Training Companies and General Consultancy firms.

Pros:

WorkflowMax is highly flexible and every client will tend to use it slightly differently. Some of the key things our clients like about WorkflowMax 1. Easy time entry - Especially the weekly time grid where you can then easily track who has/hasn't submitted time if using the 'Submit Time'sheet' feature. 2. The ability to develop attractive quotes and proposals. 3. Being able to pull processes and systems together in a centralised location. Often clients are holding project information in lots of different locations/spreadsheets around the office. 4. Huge flexibility through the custom reporting and being able to quickly see Project Profitability. 5. 'Talks' nicely to Xero your Accounting Software, sending through invoices and supplier invoices. 6. Great Value for Money when taking into account the breadth of features.

Cons:

1. Capacity Planning. There is a Staff Availability grid, but time must be clearly allocated to staff and tasks for this to provide meaningful and accurate information. 2. Expenses Tracking. There are various options for Expense Tracking such as bulk purchase orders, but could be clearer and easier to use.

Richa
Business Manager in Australia
Civil Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Reasonable tool for a small - medium business

3.0 3 months ago

Comments: It was OK for until we grew over 50 staff, beyond that, it is hard to manage projects, staff and financials

Pros:

Ease of use, simple reporting and easy ti manage time sheets

Cons:

Limited features and tools available, reporting is not very effective and inclusive

Daniel
Daniel
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

WorkflowMax is very user-friendly

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: I am the Director of Melbourne-based commercial fit-out and property maintenance company, Symmetry Commercial. After migrating from MYOB to Xero, we were looking for a work scheduling and quotation software, and that’s when we discovered WorkflowMax. For us, the beauty of WorkflowMax has been creating a really tight process around purchasing and sending online purchase orders. Typically, paperwork goes missing, emails go missing. But now it’s so much easier; we can just log on and see all the information in one place. If we need to re-submit a quote or a purchase order, it’s all there. The biggest thing for us is the quotation side of things. What’s terrific is that this information then feeds directly through to Xero to create an invoice, which cuts down on invoicing time. Functionality was a focus for us; we didn’t want something that was going to be too difficult to use. But WorkflowMax is very user-friendly; we’ve had new people start here and it’s been really easy for them to pick up. WorkflowMax has been great for us in the sense that it has got so much scope. We were looking for something that could grow with us; as the company grows we can actually expand our use of the system. WorkflowMax is only going to get better for service-based industries because they are specialist to that particular type of software. When our business goes to that next level, and we have got more people out there doing project estimating, then I know there are those functionalities within WorkflowMax, and it’s something that we’re excited to explore.

Pros:

- Inexpensive - Programmers are constantly improving WFM - Seamless compatibility with Xero - Easy to use and intuitive. Easy to train new comers on.

Cons:

- Would prefer if it was a bit more Building/ Construction industry centric

Mitch
Mitch
Owner
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

WorkflowMax has changed the way we work

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: I’m a Partner at Greengage - a London based sustainability and environmental consultancy providing advice to a range of different clients on how they can integrate sustainability into their core operations as well as making their developments more environmentally responsible. We used to employ a cumbersome system of spreadsheets for time & project management that would often involve duplicate information. It was not a system we could use to generate meaningful information about how much cost had gone into a job, or how much time or budget we had left and how we we were tracking a fee. When we switched to WorkflowMax, I was surprised how easy it was to get started. All our staff found it very simple, intuitive. The online video tutorials and the support team helped us immensely by answering all of our queries. WorkflowMax provides us the opportunity to run our own reports with a very powerful custom report builder in a very easy and intuitive way. As a consultancy, its having that information in hand to be able to go back to clients where we are with individual projects. The way WorkflowMax enables us to tailor the information has saved us 70-80% of the time we used to spend on that system. In terms of return on investment, WorkflwoMax is a no-brainer. We can recoup the invest on a monthly basis by just having one more hour of consistency. As a business owner, WorkflowMax makes my life easy by having all the information in one place - so we can see where we are at in terms of projects, we can see who is working on it, we can see where we are with invoicing, we can see how much money in the budget is left over and much more.
There is less admin involved in the business now. WorkflowMax has given us an unfair advantage to stay ahead of our competitors. Highly recommended for forward-thinking service businesses.

Marc
Marc
Owner in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Integral to our project and time tracking

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use similar to Xero accounting - integrates with accounting. Good mobile app and great reports. We're finding the leads and quotes very useful - especially for keeping track of projects and potential work, and converting to real jobs. Workflowmax has allowed us to improve our productivity as well as tracking work and hours that we previously would have missed.

Cons:

A little bit of difficulty linking to Xero accounting - mainly due to our awkward setup. Looking forward to a smoother link between these apps.

Kayley
Accountant in Australia
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Essential addition to Xero for ease of tracking, managing and reporting.

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: The main benefit is time, I am able to complete many jobs and assist many clients.

Pros:

It helps my day flow effortlessly and allows me to be more time efficient. Time tracking and reports are essential as it ensures we as a business provide our clients a reliable service as nothing gets missed.

Cons:

There has been a few times were it has crashed but the team always provide updates and correspondence on a fix and its within the hour.

Ryan
Network Admin in US
Warehousing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

WorkflowMax

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have used workflowmax for years with the integration to Xero accounting software. The software has been reliable and the added mobile upgrades have increased our insight from out of the office.

Pros:

The software doesn't have too many features. I had just the right things that were needed for our internal staff to create basic tickets, projects and invoices for our clients. Straight forward and simple.

Cons:

I think the software could gain a lot with a better landing page or dashboard for users. Especially Managers and the Billing side to watch the status of the jobs easier.

Kenneth Jhim
Senior Accountant in Philippines
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Now Xero Practice Manager - the de facto project management software for your Xero client

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Despite the interface being "crowded", the software is still good at what it does. It helps you manage clients well. If you have an accounting practice, especially in New Zealand, you will realize the benefits that it provides in terms of tax filing for your clients.

Pros:

WorkflowMax (now XPM) provides most of the project management's functionality that you need in for your Xero client. From adding the client in Xero, assigning jobs to staff, budgeting hours, etc. It has all your needs.

Cons:

The software's interface is a bit crowded. There's a lot going on at each screen. It really takes time to master the software. What I find also confusing is that you can add returns for individuals under the company account where they are owners or shareholders.

Keith
President in US
Machinery, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Proven Preformer

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Fantastic product for the price. used it to meet all requirements of a quality system. custom reports are great. It kept us on track with schedules.

Pros:

Basic needs to schedule task. A basic purchase section allowing areas for notes and visibility. Track job progress at an affordable cost for software. Was great to be able to Port data directly into XERO accounting package.

Cons:

Quotes and jobs required a lot of retyping.

Nick
Director in Australia
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

10 year seasoned user.

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: We use it because we have to, not because we want to.

Pros:

It has lots of features necessary to effectively manage workflow.

Cons:

Clunky interface. Antiquated UI and UX does not measure up to current standards. Has not seen any major improvements in over a decade.

Ross
Web Developer in New Zealand
Graphic Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

You lose your running time on down times

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Please develop a front end caching for the timer so it would save it for a couple of hours in the browser cache.

Pros:

It's great for timing tasks and has a great customer support as well. Easy operation, you can turn it on and off with ease when there are sudden things that happen that needs you to stop your timer on tasks.

Cons:

If the site goes down or has a problem when you save your current running timer, there is a high chance that you would lose that data so keep an eye on the numbers.

Kyle
Owner in Australia
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Streamlined job processes

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

Workflowmax is a fantastic job mangement program that has saved APT a lot of time in book keeping. The software covers our complete workflow from Quoting and Scoping a Job, Managing the Job and Invoicing. The Stopwatch feature for time keeping adds a level of detail which makes it hard for cutomers to argue - everything is recorded in real time. WFM allows document storage and collaboration straight to the job, all emails, files and notes can be accessed by anyone working on the job - no searching for lost information.

Cons:

There are a few integrations that are available for WFM (eg Xero) which work really well but It would be great if WFM had Zapier integration.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great integration, not that great when compared to others

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

In a previous role I help with the app integration, i think the features can be good and when used by an SME in an accounting space it fits really well. It's really good for project budgeting and it gives you insights into your business running.

Cons:

I didn't find it to be the best and for the price it has there's other competitors doing a better job.

Jon
Rental & Sales Manager in Australia
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

New to WFM

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall it has been ok but a steep learning curve for us

Pros:

Tracking of costs for projects, purchasing and time writing

Cons:

Lots of mouse clicks to get around, some terminology confusing for first time users but would have improved with training.

Doug
Production & Business Development Manager in US
Defense & Space, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

For the money probably the best option out there for production and distribution.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Scheduling an organization for manufacturing. The quote process has been made easier and standardized. Ability to keep everything in one location.

Pros:

Easy to navigate, fulfilled all of our needs for the company as far as manufacturing, scheduling, easy to assign two different employees four tasks. Integrates with our current CRM. For the price I believe it's the best quoting software and Manufacturing distribution and organization software out there.

Cons:

Not easily customizable. Very time-consuming to set up. And customer service was below average. The video tutorials don't go into depth as far as instructing on customizable features example importing and using customizable quotes.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Excellent for Small to Medium business without IT support

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Excellent if you have small, stable staff numbers and no permanent on top IT support. If you're quite tech savvy, it could probably be achieved a bit cheaper.

Pros:

Both the desktop version and the app are easy to use and laid out for keeping the majority happy. Integrations are a must these days and the accounting data flow is most desirable to small business and their often long-suffering accounts.

Cons:

The pricing structure "per user " is a big turn off for me, particularly for project-based tools, this is due to the massive flux in numbers of users over a short period. It can get costly to get all your project contractors accessing project documents.

Todd
Director in New Zealand
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

User and Implementation Provider

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: We use WorkflowMax (WFM) to manage our consulting business. WFM is a comprehensive system that allows us to manage leads from initial engagement through to project quotes and estimates. All information is then transferable to our jobs allowing us to capture time against tasks, manage our time frames and account for related project costs. With all information flowing from initial input we benefit from significant efficiency with not having to double enter information. We also integrate with Google Drive for document storage and Xero for financial accounting which means between WFM and Xero we get great visibility regarding job and financial reporting. Highly recommend this product as it is usable for many different industries and has great flexibility when it comes to customisation. We now offer implementation services for WFM which we would not do if we did not believe in the product.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great for time based billing

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: We have been using WFM for 3 years now for our training business, it' great for a time based business and does ok for others that are more product based. Recommend you look and use the leads and quotes portion to get the most out of the system from both a workflow and reporting basis

Pros:

Easy to learn Links to Xero Ability to configure quotes and templates

Cons:

Not the best for retention and variations.

Randal
Consultant
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

WorkflowMax is almost there

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: If WorkflowMax changed the structure so that Project Tasks could accumulate both labour and non-labour costs they would have a really good product

Pros:

Fairly easy to use Ability to build customer reports Has some reasonable dashboards Easy integration with Xero

Cons:

It doesn't do project management all that well. Project tasks only allow the aggregation of labour costs. You can't put multiple actual costs against a single line of estimated costs

Chris
Director in Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

There's Gold in the Detail

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I work with business owners to help them improve the performance of their business and have been using WorkflowMax with many clients to help them improve their systems.
Many business owners want to scale their business but don't have the systems and processes to allow them to do it effectively.
WorkflowMax forces owners to look at their systems and processes. It provides valuable information about the performance of staff (both management (did we quote it right) and delivery staff (did we deliver on time and on budget)) and jobs.
Owners can now see where they are making money and it's not always where they think it is.
Used correctly WorkflowMax is an incredibly cost effective application that will make owners money.

Christy
owner in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Xero Workflow Max

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Using it for time maintenance and billing has been great

Pros:

very easy to use and to show those in my department

Cons:

sometimes steps in a process are not self-evident