15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About SS&C Blue Prism

Automation can help the way you work, unlock new efficiencies, empower your team and succeed on your path to digital transformation.

Learn more about SS&C Blue Prism

Pros:

Integration with multiple application is also good and overall works well for some legacy applications.

Cons:

No search button to search for already built bots in the repository. No local machine concept everything is saved in the repository.

SS&C Blue Prism ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.1
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

SS&C Blue Prism has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 26 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used SS&C Blue Prism before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (26)

Harry
Harry
Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Automating with bots

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

With the help of Blue Prism we were able to deploy bots effortlessly. The bots were highly efficient and helped us in converting our manual repetitive tasks into automated ones scheduled as per our preference thereby helping us cut costs and utilize our workforce elsewhere.

Cons:

A few third party tools are not officially supported by Blue Prism and hence the integration of application based on these tools is a bit tricky. The error logs sent to the user when a bot fails or a failure event is detected, is a bit too complex and hard to understand.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Most Reliable RPA Tool in Market with a Low-code, no-code approach to Autmation.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I loved Blueprism from the very first day. I liked the concept of Automating redundant and mundane day-to-day tasks. I have now completed around 20+ small and big organisational projects and deployed 50+ bots. This reflects how suitable Blueprism is for very complex and heavy process Automation.
It's UI is very rich and user friendly which I like the most, anyone with zero programming experience will face no difficulty in getting to know the knitty gritty of the tool and should be good to go within a month at max!
Overall a great tool with high levels of reliablity and trust from Big Organizations across the world.

Pros:

Things I liked the most are : - Very reliable and secure. My organisation is satisfied with sharing it's data with Blueprism. - Simple and easy to learn and use. A low-code, no-code approach to Automation is awesome! - Probably the best RPA tool in market for Very Complex Process Automations.

Cons:

Things I liked least are : - It is very costly and can only be bought and used by Rich Organisations. - It is not very feature-rich in terms of Intelligent Services. However, other third-party services are there but they are paid which again adds to the overall cost of the tool. - While doing development you can't edit an object while debugging. One of the most demanded feature from developers and they still haven't taken any action.

Daniel
Solutions Analyst in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Most adopted RPA software

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

A lot of support by forums and community. Good overall view about process and object.

Cons:

Not very good application modeller, very difficult to use Surface Automation image recognition.

Abhishek
Program Manager in India
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Blue Prism should be your choice for Backend Office Automation which needs customised programming

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall experience was ok - we have used Blue Prism for a specific Use Case within finance domain and worked well for us - may be because processed were quite streamlined and exceptions generated were less, but I will say may not be the case with everyone. So make a choice based on our needs and customization required.

Pros:

The Best part is the backend Automation capability, we have used it for Finance Processes, and it worked really well- Scalability is no challenge at all & our process flow needed customization which is readily available in the Interface with .NET integration. Integration with multiple application is also good and overall works well for some legacy applications.

Cons:

Well the worst part is the Training + License cost which is a known problem in RPA community- even the resource availability is a challenge if you are looking for Certified resource (high training cost). Secondly - At the programming level exception handling and debugging is a great challenge - complete code needs to be debugged to look out for exact problem area (product architecture is like that)

suraj
suraj
RPA Consultant in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Brief about Blue Prism Tool

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Its a great tool especially if customer is from banking or insurance background. As it has the best security in rpa market.

Pros:

Blue prism stands out in two things from other RPA tools in the automation market. Namely a) Security - Having windows control room is much safe than having web based control room/ orchestrator. b) Work Queues:- Best queue functionality and volume handelling. Apart from this its much easier to setup this tool from infrastructure point of view.

Cons:

OCR and image readings needs to be enganced more.

Jacopo
Management consultant in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Powerful yet rigid solution

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The possibility to integrate it with many market solutions and the abundance of elements of interaction already available for the most common target applications

Cons:

The very high rigidity of the software, that impose to write commands in speficic sintaxes (global send keys, global send keys event, ...) instead of being able to converti it from plain text. In addition, the process are not quite stable and require continous adjustments in order to mantain developed functionalities.

Samer
Samer
Enterprise Solutions Engineer in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Blue Prism is the next step for your digital workforce.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: There is no product on the market that can match Blue Prism in terms of digital reinvention. Learning algorithms and artificial intelligence have paved the way for the straightforward automation of a lot of activities. One of my primary goals is to find a method that simplifies the process of automating the product development cycle while maintaining the same level of compliance and security. In my opinion, Blue Prism is an amazing resource that needs to be investigated more. Their support team is also the fastest to respond to any RPA service. I like that it can be easily tailored to your needs and that it plays nicely with most other software packages out there. What I appreciate most about this program is the ability to create process templates that can be easily shared with my team, as well as the fact that its blocks are reusable and that it allows for real-time collaboration. Everyone with even a rudimentary understanding of code should give it a try to see how their advanced APIs work with other applications.

Pros:

If you use this solution on your digital transformation journey, you may safely adapt your operations without jeopardizing your compliance or security standards. The product's UI is highly accessible and easy to use for people of varying skill levels. It's designed to be accessible to people with varying levels of coding expertise with a "pro code" and "no code" interface. It uses state-of-the-art technologies like machine learning and artificial intelligence to make automation of a wide variety of tasks simpler and more effective. The solution's prefabricated automation makes implementation quick and painless. The help given is outstanding and expertly done.

Cons:

A minor complaint I have is the lack of search capabilities when using the credentials feature. This causes frequent problems when there are numerous credential items and you're trying to pull one out by searching for a specific label, or in my case, an environment variable that may be hidden under another heading. One way to resolve this issue would be to allow developers to expand the user interface components, thereby allowing users to sort through items in a more time-efficient manner.

Nihilkumar
Assistant Manager in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Blueprism Review

5.0 last year

Pros:

The best thing I like about blueprism is the debugging part, which is very crucial during development. None of the other tools that I know has the flexibility of debugging that Blueprism provides. The stages that are available in both Process and Object studio does most of the Jobs at ease. The flowchart kind of development makes the developer and others understands the code/script easily. This is one of the most stable RPA tool available in market.

Cons:

Mainly because of its pricing, many customers are migrating to other RPA tools.

Idaly
Idaly
Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Semiconductors, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An RPA with fantastic integration.

5.0 last year

Comments: We have taken advantage of the resources that Blue Prism offers, automated most of our tasks, integrated it into our project management department and our positive results have increased as it is the best automation software we have come across.

Pros:

I like that it is a software that improves our project management, since we can program it to perform simple tasks, we integrate it with many departments, it has a clear user interface, good process monitoring and good bot flow.

Cons:

It is a leading software in the field of process automation, no errors have appeared, we have had good experiences and results that we have not achieved with other automation software.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Best Automation Tool for RPA

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I am very happy to say that, we have over come sla, errors and headcount of the process by using blue prism tool.

Pros:

I like the most is code free. even non technical background also can easily learn the blue prism. by using this tool can reduce the errors and time for daily task. the design of the module is very secure and easily learn. the best architecture blue prism has and very good database modeling.

Cons:

I don't see any concern here but we can improve the OCR functionality to automate the pdf and image kind of inputs.

Hossam
Head Of Infrastructure And Operations in Egypt
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Full-managed intelligent platform with powerful ai-powered assistant (IADA)

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I find Blue Prism a great and perfect solution for SMBs and I've been using it for many years as one of the early robotic process automation solutions with an easy user-interface and a great UX with intelligent automation capabilities in an easy-to-use platform, but after my latest experience through our latest implementations using Blue Prism and other tools in 2022, I found Blue Prism to be the most incomplete tool with the highest limitations that requires a third-party integration to get the job done, and lately I don't think it's evolved enough for enterprises with complex architecture and massive datasets to rely on Blue Prism only without considering the required integrations based on their needed use-cases, but I still find it as a great tool for people with prior RPA knowledge and some coding experience to get the best out of it.

Pros:

Their fully-managed intelligent platform provides us with a team of experts handling infrastructure and the operational requirements, and their assistance is one of the greatest features in Blue Prism, like no other platform. and beside this real-human assistance, it comes with a powerful AI-powered digital assistant (IADA) to help you supervise the flow between the team and the to-dos to keep the performance boosted with the highest productivity possible Loads of preconfigured cognitive services that are ready-to-work with no manual efforts, also their control room provides us with a great flexibility in controlling the process scheduling with an ease of use.

Cons:

when dealing with the computation portion of the string-related processes it might make sense to use VB directives instead of programming and native techniques to save time in development while also providing ease of implementation, Also the lack of the capabilities and accuracy in the exisiting OCR functionalities needs to be enhanced with some improvements and to update it with the latest OCR technologies.

Maya
Maya
Sales and Marketing Specialist in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Advanced Robotic Process Automation Tool

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: As a worker in a marketing agency that provide digital transformation services, We encourage our clients to use UiPath as the essential digital transformation software along with automation anywhere, Giving them the chance to choose from them. Still, whenever they ask us about our favorite, We say "Blue Prism", Because of their quality/breadth of features and unsupervised launch, They involved the most advanced AI/ML technologies in the RPA industry, Providing the greatest accuracy, fastest processing, dealing smoothly with large data sets, extracting the deepest insights and capturing the high-impact opportunities in every workflow across departments.

Pros:

We are deeply in love with the ecosystem of Blue Prism Digital Exchange, Enabling us to ensure the quality and the capabilities of automations delivered to avoid any struggles in the future, We also love their highly advanced intelligent automation skills (Digital Workforce), for seamless insightful reporting and actionable metrics, machine learning, problem solving for predictions and decision making for turning unstructured data into valuable informational insights to discover automations and process opportunities

Cons:

We face some instability, freezing or crashes when it comes to big data everything goes slow (Sometimes) and not most of the times. They need to work more on improving the debugging tool and enhancing the speed and stability of the cloud. They also need to take another look at the documentation and improve it with more visual tutorials.

Toshio
System Analyst in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I prefer Blue Prism's workflow-style

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: I recommend Blue Prism to my customers if they have a sufficient budget because this product helps automate business processes with a user-friendly development style and easier maintenance compared to other products.

Pros:

I prefer Blue Prism's workflow-style development over other similar products. Blue Prism makes it much easier to develop and investigate processes and objects. Once I become accustomed to Blue Prism, I find it difficult to use any other products

Cons:

Not only Blue Prism, but also RPA product licenses are not reasonable for small companies

Smita
Developer in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best RPA software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: So far the overall experience has been pretty good, we have been able to solve multiple Business problems with it

Pros:

I like the ease with which the business processes can be automated this reducing manual efforts by the Users, also the software is very easy to learn as its a low code/ no code software.

Cons:

Nothing to dislike at the moment but if the licensing costs can be reduced than it would be a great help

Islam
Senior RPA Developer in Egypt
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Blue Prism Review

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It was pretty good.

Pros:

It has the highest level of security as compared to any other tool. The analysis itself is very good. The mapping is very good.

Cons:

I think chat bot is not good with blue prism.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Blue Prism for Process Automation

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Blue Prism is more than a handy tool for any process automation tasks. It has a very user-friendly GUI and users will find it seamlessly comfortable in navigating through the interface. All functionalities are clearly grouped as per requirements and is convenient to execute. Video tutorials also guide users to adapt to its interface.

Pros:

Blue Prism integrates well with APIs to perform AI/ML operations. It is easy to install and has very helpful tutorials to understand the workings of the tool. The 6-month trial version has all its functionalities enabled to work in an isolated environment.

Cons:

Blue Prism provides full-fledged customer support only to their licensed partners. Since this tool has been recently launched, there are not many support communities or YouTube solution videos to provide instant solutions to our needs.

Navjot
Navjot
MOdule Lead in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent RPA software for automating the manual and redundant business process

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: For Banking Projects, we were able to successfully integrate the BluePrism bots in production environment. We can easily integrate the .NET code with the Blue Prism coding stage and can extend the native BluePrism functionality.

Pros:

It is very robust software with powerful capabilities like screen scrapping using Application Modeler. We can perform the web & windows automation using the Process Studio and Object Studio. We can perform the Multi-bot architecture using the in-built features of work queues.

Cons:

It is one of the best RPA software which can automate any business use cases where RPA deployment is feasible.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Harder than it should be

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Possibility to have just an user with license animating a session with several people

Cons:

Differences between desktop and web versions Difficulty to manage external content

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of 3 famous RPA tool - Blue Prism

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

1)It is easier to debug the code as we can go step by step in BP 2) It is easier to showcase the code directly has a flowchart view

Cons:

1) No search button to search for already built bots in the repository 2) No local machine concept everything is saved in the repository

Aravind
Analyst in India
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Blue Prism - The Future of RPA

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have used this to solve queries from people and automate the expenses process and also some of the processes that needed manual work hours. I have really happy with the outcome of using the product as it has made my work really easy.

Pros:

The one thing that I like about this product is the ease of integration with the enterprise. It is also very secure and robust , and its ability of inbuilt analytics are some things I really like about this product. The product also has a great 24*7 customer care support that is very helpful. It is very accurate too.

Cons:

The visual designer can be made more user friendly and easier to automate tasks.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

RPA Tool - Blue Prism

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

integration with other applications is easier. we can easily segregate the business layer and functional layer. we can easily schedule the bot.

Cons:

So far I don't see any cons for this product.

Syed Amir
Syed Amir
Associate Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Blue Prism - RPA Tool

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall experience has been good. Deployed a project with a danish retail giant and they just loved the Bot

Pros:

Back office automation is amazing with superb integration

Cons:

Development is not that easy compared to Automation Anywhere and UiPath

Shreya
Sr. Associate in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

BluePrism an Amazing Platform for RPA

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The most impactful feature I like about blue prism is its flow diagram. I like how easy it is to design (visually) workflows and use them. Its UI is quite good and sometimes attractive when colours are applied. And yes, Debugging in this RPA tool is way easier than in other RPA tools.

Cons:

As the world is moving to cloud platforms, not having a web-based control room and a recorder is a little drawback. Otherwise, it is a good RPA tool to work on.

Pratik
Lead Analyst in India
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

One of the best no code automation platform for your organization

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall it's a great product in terms of functionality and as well as data security. Any one can learn it and it's courses are good and easy to understand.

Pros:

Easy to build large and complex process, Easy to learn, Clean UI, Very good debugging options as compared to other tools, Fast and secure for clients

Cons:

They can grow more on Attended Automation area. Also they should create ready made ML AI bots to make intelligent automation easy.

Rajat
Rajat
Automation Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Blueprism is good and stable product

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: overall experience is fine but it lacks readily available plugins from the store

Pros:

has many core .net concept directly implemented workflow style of coding is very helpful has mimimum deployment architecture

Cons:

it is moving away from low code platform