Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About MYOB Business

Small Business cloud based accounting software to automate payroll, client management, tax and all your accounting needs.

Learn more about MYOB Business

Showing 91 reviews

Rani R.
owner/manager in New Zealand
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software. Does everything we need it to do and more.

4 4 years ago

Comments: Great accounting, and always updating with new features. Our accountant could just log in and do our end of years immediately.

Pros:

-Highly customisable for invoicing and parts inventories. -Has great reports. We found if you knew what you wanted to keep an eye on in the business, then you could design a report for it. Not all accounting programs or workshop software can do that so easily. -once it was set up for our workshop, it worked amazingly. Very intuitive

Cons:

-We were new to this software, and it took a long time to set it up, (6 mnths), specifically for how we needed it to work. (automotive workshop), You almost needed to be a trained accountant i felt. -Support used to take at least 1 day if not 2 to get back to you.

Daz
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Okay but . . . . .

3 8 years ago

Comments: We have been using MYOB accounting plus for over 10 years and recently upgraded to the new Accountright 2013.
The new version is very similar to the old and this makes it relatively easy to adjust to. There was a bit of dancing converting 10 years of accounting data to the new format and eventually we got that done and away we went.
The first thing that struck us was how slow it seems in comparison to the previous software. (MYOB Accounting plus v14). Data entry is not fluid and constant delays in processing. We contacted MYOB support regarding this and "they are working on the problem" so it appears it is a common problem.
It is updated with the latest reports and payroll taxes and supposedly compliant with the ATO.
There is a greater range of reports available but still the customisation options are limited. What you see is what yo get, give or take a field or two.
The "cloud" idea is novel, but due to the speed restrictions it is of little real benefit.
Payroll is the biggest change complying with the new regulations, and taxes, but unfortunately MYOB doesn't allow upgrading of the tax tables without paying for an endless subscription which equates to approximately $800 per year.
Overall if you like the early MYOB and can handle the speed reduction then its an okay upgrade. If it wasn't for the reliance on MYOB data for the previous 10+ years and the swift talking sales rep that convinced management to upgrade, I would personally be looking at alternatives.

Pros:

Compatible with earlier versions. Interface is very similar to previous versions.

Cons:

Expensive for what it is! Slow!!!!! For small or casual use it MAY be okay, but for any real data volume, its just too slow. (Even on the latest PC) Relies heavily on the internet (could be cause of part of the speed problem) Limited customisation

Kate W.
Office Manager in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5 3 years ago

Comments: Being in the cloud makes access to this program easy. It is user friendly and easy to navigate. The cost did increase quite a bit over the 6 years I was using it but it is pretty relative to other accounting software available.

Pros:

This program is in the cloud so it can be accessed from anywhere that has internet.

Cons:

You couldn't do a recurring transaction.

Peter M.
Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

An industry standard, needs better support

3 3 years ago

Pros:

This is one of the mainstream products available around and has a lot of users all over the globe. There is a great chance that your accountant is familiar with this and will be able to make great recommendations

Cons:

Updates can be cumbersome and provided they work well they are easy to apply. I have had a couple of instances where we needed support and it has been very lacking. General technical support is poor with cancelled webinars and staff which appear not to know more than the most basic for troubleshooting.

Karen Z.
Director in Luxembourg
Arts & Crafts, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mostly good

4 5 years ago

Comments: I've been using MYOB for many years, mainly to raise invoices and purchases, plus to track the P&L and balance sheet. It's a pretty robust product that doesn't need specialist instruction to use the basic functions, but it started getting pretty annoying when I upgraded late 2013 and now one has to be connected to the internet in order to use it. That means if your internet connection is down or you're out of WIFI reach on the road, you can't do anything with your company files. That's my biggest complaint.

Pros:

Fairly easy to use; robust

Cons:

You have to have internet connection to use your company files.

Daniel T.
Surveyor in Australia
Civil Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Get your act together

2 9 months ago

Comments: works well when it does, is terrible when it doesn't with zero customer support!

Pros:

Easy to use. If you have a computer, you can access everything

Cons:

Glitch with reconciliation. You have to go back to the dashboard if you want to reconcile a different account (each time) have been trying to setup bank feeds for credit card for years. Have been unable to update credit card details or pay the bill for the product for 2 months. Very annoying to log into, nearly every time you have to log in two or three times before you actually log in. If you like waiting on the phone to talk to someone, only for the call to time out after 40mins or get put through to some white noise, again and again this is the company for you.

Nicola B.
Bookeeper in Australia
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very Simple and easy to use, lacking in a few areas but good for a small business just starting out

4 3 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to navigate and simple to use. Search function for invoices is good now that you can see POs.

Cons:

Wish it would export data to excel!! Had to manually build a database of 300 invoices! Too easy to go back and delete stuff too which then doesn't stay on the audit trail, once it's gone it's gone! Would like to see some detail from the invoice when it searched for rather than having to go into it.

Simon M.
Accountant in
Insurance, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Easy to use

4 4 years ago

Pros:

Basic Accounting functions for the new staff to use. Very good graphical user interface. icons are very clear

Cons:

Poor budgeting modules when trying to incorporate different departments. Relies on internet with cloud service.

Denise K.
Manager in Thailand
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Make life easier

5 4 years ago

Pros:

I have been using the web-based MYOB since its launch back in 2012. The functionalities and the interface/look have been improved over the years. I like it because it is web-based, so I don't need to export the accounts and send it to our accountant, also be able to work on the same and updated info from anywhere.

Cons:

The subscription price has been increased a lot over the years. I used to pay around monthly and now it costs around. So, for a light user, it's expensive. But well, I guess I pay for the convenience. The interface is not the most intuitive, but once it's learned, it's easy.

Steve S.
Accountant - Manager in Australia
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good Alternative Cloud Accounting Package for the MYOB Faithful

4 3 years ago

Pros:

Cloud based and extremely speedy. Bank feeds are easier to navigate and interpret than competitors. Support is good.

Cons:

Hard sell to clients who are aware of other market leaders in the cloud accounting space. Practice level reporting and tools aren't up to par compared to competitors.

Dmitri I.
Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Works for us

4 5 years ago

Comments: As a small business, its got everything we need it in. The downside is that the mobile app is very limited. All you can do on it is view or create invoices and take payments, which is where it also comes in handy. We purchased PayDirect card reader for a one time payment. It doesnt have on-going chargers, like many others do, but just minimal fees for eftpos transaction and 1.95% for credit cards.

Verified Reviewer
Investment Banking Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Does a great job with accounting SMB

4 3 years ago

Pros:

MYOB covers most things that you need in accounting and payroll software for a small business, especially in Australia

Cons:

As you scale and need international reporting and accounting procedures, MYOB becomes less comprehensive as a tool

Patrick B.
Patrick B.
Owner in
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp
4 6 years ago
Adrian A.
General Manager in Australia
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Don't bother

2 8 months ago

Comments: MYOB is most definitely one of the worse companies i've ever dealt with. Customer service is non existent. Took literally months to reduce my licenses. Account manager doesn't reply to email unless you cc the general manager in.

Pros:

nothing at all i liked about this product. Would not reccomend

Cons:

Terrible technical support, slow and hard to understand

Jason F.
Business Owner in
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp
5 3 years ago
Joanne R.
CEO in Australia
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MYOB - easy to use, does what you need

5 9 months ago

Comments: Offers features that I need to do to manage the Company Financials. Support has been great and responsive.

Pros:

MYOB is intuitive for the user to use, easy to use, simple to setup, has all the features you need to manage the Company finances. Also when regulation changes it quickly incorporates those changes and explains easily how to use the feature.

Cons:

MYOB can get quite slow around EOFY - needs more grunt put in place around these times for cloud hosting. There is no live chat within the application for support.

Alternatives Considered: Xero

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business: Pricing and easier to use.

Lee P.
Chief Financial Officer in
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a handbrake on information.

3 5 years ago

Comments: For a small firm with limited reporting requirements it is okay but for any jobs with Work Breakdown Structure requirements it comes up short and becomes a limiter for the company. I get very frustrated with the after sales support system. It is not customer focused and leaves you wondering why you pay for it.

Pros:

Good basic internal controls so novice bookkeepers can run day to day. Easy to install and set up. Reasonably cheap for what you get. Handles GST well.

Cons:

Not the best for Job costings. Payroll system ordinary serious reporting drawbacks as far as information flow to the General Ledger. Tends to freeze in reporting production which can lock out users. Support service is very poor, you get the feeling the staff could care less in resolving issues. Interactive screen supports not used you have to send a file and wait for a response. Wait time on the phone for support is very bad.

Joe B.
Joe B.
DevOps Engineer in New Zealand
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Manual System Converted into Digital

4 11 months ago

Comments: MYOB has changed the way we work, simplifies book keeping to take away so much pain

Pros:

- Easy to signup and simple setup to get things started - Pricing - Special offer for new start ups - Invoice reminders - Invoice templates look very professional - Invoice shows when customer / vendor have viewed (SUPER HELPFUL) - Intray for emailing receipts and tracking

Cons:

- Not being able to invoice in multiple currencies, have to workarond this by invoicing in the charable foreign currency then after payment is recieved adjusting the template to the local amount that is received.

Alternatives Considered: Xero

Reasons for Choosing MYOB Business: Made the switch from doing everything the slow manual way! Can never turn back now

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business: Price and special offer for new startups

Chris C.
Business owner in Australia
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Not my first option but still a good system

3 last month New

Comments: Overall it is not my first preference and I prefer to use a competitor.

Pros:

I stated my career using MYOB which was my favorite software. It couldn't be beat. But that was over a decade as ago. Since then other contenders have surpassed the software in both useability and practicality. MYOB is still good at the core, especially for accountants and people with an accounting background. However for business owners I think it could be a bit confusing and slightly intimidating.

Cons:

One of my biggest pet peeves for MYOB is the rigid structure and inflexible ways to treat transactions. For example, if a bank transaction doesn't match to the cent, there is no quick way of recognizing the rounding error and processing the transaction. Instead a series of clicks into the transacting to edit the amount is required, disrupting your workflow.

Matthew K.
Director in Australia
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Don't start your business accounting with a regrettable decision, look elsewhere!

1 2 years ago

Comments: Underwhelming to say the least. I was partially sold on the fact that they have a customer service number to assist if need be, don't be fooled by this either, the call centre workers are rather unfamiliar with the MYOB product (unless I was unfortunate enough to speak with their newest member each time) and all my queries had to be looked up each time and they read answers from a screen which I could find on-line myself , they weren't able to elaborate nor answer any further questions I had outside of what was written in front of them.

Pros:

Reasonably easy to use but have found Xero to be much better in almost every way.

Cons:

Limited features and limited expandability compared to Xero. No was to have a back up of accounting file on your computer. If or once you decide Essentials ins't for you, they do not offer a way to transfer to their own Account Rite product nor do they off to export data to Xero. They will give you 1 month access as a read only before all data is deleted off their server unless you pay $25 Per month for the remaining 5 years you're required to keep the data

Alternatives Considered: Quickbooks Online

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business: The only reason I foolishly chose MYOB was because of their time and name in the industry and I knew someone else who used MYOB and found them ok at the time but who is also now in the same situation as me and wanting to change over to Xero.

Michael B.
COO in Australia
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MYOB keeps us on track and informed

5 6 months ago

Pros:

Ese of use, accessibility, features are simple, seamless integration, reporting functions, governance

Cons:

None, it is clear and easy to use daily.

Chris F.
Tech/manager in Australia
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This is great accounting Software thank you

5 5 years ago

Comments: I have been using this software for over 10 years it is a bit expensive but works well
Especially after it went to cloud based

Pros:

And I like if anything goes missing my computer gets Stolen or burns or virus then I don't lose everything because it's on the clouds

Cons:

The cons are that it is too expensive for what it is

Kate L.
Accounts Administrator in New Zealand
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Accounting software to begin with

4 3 years ago

Comments: Good for small business and do not need to worry about back up when you are using cloud version

Pros:

Have most of the function and very stable software.

Cons:

The platform looks a bit old fashion and payroll function is not easy to use.

Liam G.
Electrician in New Zealand
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I really like using MYOB for my Business as it makes everything very easy and carefree

5 4 years ago

Pros:

I like MYOB for my business as it is intuitive and it combines many different softwares. It is a 'one stop shop' for all my business needs which is what I need when I am very busy

Cons:

What i like least about MYOB is that other softwares are more competitive in price. I stay with MYOB as I am used to the functionality off it and dont wish to change.

Jason P.
Director in Australia
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Ongoing extortion, third world support, buggy and terrible reporting

1 2 years ago

Comments: A can't imagine a business could do worse than this product, go elsewhere and save yourself the hassle.

Pros:

It didn't fail on install... that's about it!

Cons:

I paid for the full version of the software and not even 12 months in they are forcing me to pay for a subscription service as well! Having disabled single touch payroll for offline users they have made the software obsolete. Support is terrible and slow, you'll quickly get sick of the on hold music. Doesn't matter once you've identified yourself as soon as you're transferred you'll have to do it again. And the reporting is a waste of time (and paper), you can't even print a list of employees with their birthdays!