Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.2 /5

About MYOB Essentials

Small Business cloud based accounting software to automate payroll, client management, tax and all your accounting needs.

Learn more about MYOB Essentials

Showing 84 reviews

Paul C.
Managing Director
Consumer Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2019

"Probably OK If you Are a Trained Accountant or Bookkeeper"

Comments: We wasted a lot of time and resources using this software for our small business accounting needs. Whilst it did the job in the end we believe there are simpler options such as XERO for us non- accountants.

Pros: As a small business owner not trained in the art of accounting there wasn't a lot we found easy about using MYOB Essentials. The reporting process at the end is probably our highlight.

Cons: We found MYOB Essentials cumbersome to set up and use. The support team was basically of little help. Sending files to our Accountant at the end of the tax year was a pain. MYOB Essentials is better suited to those with a deeper knowledge of accounting than what we have in our business. That is why we switched to XERO which we find much easier and more efficient to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
Founder/ Managing Director
Civil Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/11/2020

"Great software, but too pricey for my needs"

Comments: Good software with lots of useful functionality, but too pricey for my needs and too cumbersome compared to other options

Pros: MYOB will polished with lots of mine integrations and options.

Cons: There are a number of different portals with different purposes and I would get lost sometimes navigating the various sites.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/11/2020
Sarah S.
Law Clerk
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/05/2019

"Great reconciliation and payment software"

Comments: MYOB is used for all office payments, cheques, reconciliation and staff wages. Creates a one stop shop for all things payment related!

Pros: Easy to use interface with quick access to each area of the program.

Cons: Program can be expensive and costs per computer

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/05/2019
Chris P.
Finance Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2017

"good value in terms of the price"

Comments: The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a handbrake on information.

Pros: easy to use ,A very easy to use and follow accounting software, the flow of information is easy to follow

Cons: I have been using the MYOB Essentials purely for payroll of a bout 10 employees. I find the customer service frustrating as it seems impossible to actually speak to anyone.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2017
Pam D.
Executive Manager Finance & Administration
Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2018

"Small business user"

Comments: Good program for small business and very easy to fix mistakes but no audit trail

Pros: Easy to use and can have detailed accounts set up,at 4 levels
Reports are set up so easy to use out of the box
Great program in box

Cons: From an audit perspective not great as you can renter things without an audit trail
No reporting flexibility

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Electorate Officer
Legislative Office, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2019

"Great Product"

Comments: I would recommend it to someone say a professional bookkeeper, I found Quickbooks to be more user friendly for easy bookkeeping soultuons also finding Quickbooks a lot cheaper than MYOB.

Pros: Very detailed, Easy to add transactions.

Cons: I found the software was not very “user friendly” especially as someone who isn’t the greatest at Bookeeping, the terms (words) and navigation was very hard sometimes. I ended up switching to Quickbooks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2019
Marcus maciej N.
Art Director
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2018

"The interface is ok but the customer service is terrible"

Pros: I liked the layout of the software. It is generally easy to use. The colour palette and general design is quite pleasing to the eye.

Cons: It's quite expensive for a small business and of course they hide a lot of information before you purchase. At per month I could not enter more than 5 expenses per month! Ridiculous! Had to upgrade! Cancelling you account is very difficult and they will try and screw you out of every last cent. I will never ever use this company or software again. SO ANGRY at the account closing process. They might have stolen but it has cost them a customer and I will tell everybody I meet to avoid that software and company like the plague!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2018
Annie G.
Salon Owner
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/06/2018

"Game change for my business"

Pros: This software has made my bookkeeping so much easier, faster and even more accurate. I like when they change a function, that they teach u how to use it with little instruction pop ups.

Cons: I find that the dashboard figures aren't always accurate with my bank accounts. Sometimes the layout can be confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/06/2018
Travis K.
Accountant
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2019

"Fun and simple to use for small businesses"

Pros: Reconciling the bank, making invoices and categorising expenses is easy

Cons: There are a lot of desktop versions of MYOB and it can be seriously confusing trying to figure out which version you need to open when you receive and client file.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2019
Melanie F.
Retail Clerk
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2018

"Easy to use for Small Business"

Comments: I've been using MYOB Essentials for about 2 years now. It's a simple system for a small business.

Pros: Great import feature for bank accounts (main bank accounts are available - some smaller banks are not able to auto import)
Simple payroll functionality
Easy account reconciliation

Cons: There is no simple search facility across the database - you have to enter each screen to perform a search
Reports are hard to find and dates are

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2018
Bruce Y.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2019

"Need to be dragged into the new century"

Comments: We have been stuck on it - and are currently planning our migration away from it.

Pros: Commonly used across small business which makes it easier to find bookkeepers who have experience in it

Cons: Needs to have a major overview from a features, functionality and user experience perspective.
Nearly no new features in 15 years.
An upgrade in technology, but delivering using out-dated tech stacks and restrictive implementation.
Not a wonder people are moving in droves to other products.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2019
Glenn L.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2017

"Can not export or import anything useful. Locked in."

Comments: I would avoid unless you only want to use it for a small business with no plans to grow to the stage where you need to upgrade your accounting software. Also requires a internet connection to run.

Pros: Easy to use for a small business. Its web based so you dont need to install any software, and you can use it from any location where you have internet access.

Cons: Import and export data options VERY limited. Can only import items and contacts, can only export a account and journal summary for your accountant. This means you cant use Essentials with a 3rd part system, or export your data if you later decide to stop using Essentials, effectively locking you in. Would make it difficult for a growing business to upgrade to a more advanced accounting system, you would need to manually enter all your records from scratch.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2017
Russell E.
Group Financial Controller
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2016

"Not exception but does the job"

Comments: I have been using the MYOB Essentials purely for payroll of a bout 10 employees.
I find the customer service frustrating as it seems impossible to actually speak to anyone.
However the taxation reporting is very user friendly and makes very monthly reporting and payment very easy to use.
Overall, the price is very good and for the purposes of just payroll it does the job reasonably well

Pros: Taxation reporting

Cons: Customer service

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2016
Tom W.
Technical Operations Director
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2016
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2016
Frances S.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/03/2017

"Missing the mark in a few ways"

Comments: This is a very simplified online version of MYOB accounting service which is ideal for a small business with one or two contractors. You are able to have one employee on payroll, but if you have more, you need to pay additional money each month to allow for this. It is easy to navigate and does have some good features like the in-tray and linked bank accounts. I found that the cost compared to Account Right was pretty close once I added my PAYG employees to the system. I needed more complex options so I switched over.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/03/2017
Rohan M.
Director
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2018

"Poor product Poor support Over priced"

Comments: Over priced, they don't care about their customers

Pros: There is nothing I like about MYOB, a product which I have used for 15 years. I'm locked in and cant move.

Cons: Every thing. Customer service is non existent and its way over priced.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2018
Bruce M.
Inventory Controller
Logistics & Supply Chain, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2017

"Very Pleased"

Pros: The software is easy to use, and user friendly. It gives plenty of instructions, and it is easy to show a new user the basics

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2017
Darren W.
Managing Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2016
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2016
Verified Reviewer
Managing Director
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2018

"Not a choice if you plan to grow"

Pros: Cheap, easy to set up, basically does the job that you need it to do.

Cons: Once on it, you cannot graduate to Account Right Live or other products if your organisation grows. You are basically stuck on a sub standard product. App ecosystem is not robust.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2018
Katrina R.
Senior Accountant
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2018

"Solid product for small business"

Comments: Has been around for a long time. Tried and tested and is a great product. Starting to price a little higher but still competitive - especially if you have employees.

Pros: Easy to use and well laid out for the end user. Is great for small operations without complex needs.

Cons: Whilst bank rules are very handy - the auto reconciling of transactions can cause problems if rule set up incorrectly. Would be great if there was an option to make bulk transaction changes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2018
Nicole G.
Personal Assistant/Administration/Accounts Administration
Staffing & Recruiting, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018

"One of the top software for bookkeeping"

Pros: I enjoy using MYOB simply because it does everything you need for a small business - sometimes needs more explanation with accounting though for new people.

Cons: glitches with POS machines is really the only thing I ever came across with this program, so not alot from a small business perspective.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Karen H.
accounting consultant
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2018

"Sold a dummy!"

Comments: I have been a business user of MYOB for other companies using bigger MYOB packages for over a decade and find it fairly good although it has serious bugs which are reported by the truckload by all the accountants I know and they are NEVER fixed even after a decade. Like how the excel file download makes all the numbers text and the "manual calculation" field is auto set meaning you have to reformat each and every download twice (format numbers and turn on auto calc) to use the spreadsheet to add up. Designed and run by non accountants

Pros: Nothing. completely useless. Doesn't comply with ATO requirements unless you have no employees and what business has no employees? Misleading advertising and advice.

Cons: I am a small business with single employee. Noting that one touch payroll was becoming mandatory next year I decided to put my accounts on a basic package to comply. I rang up and they sold me MYOB essentials telling me it would fully comply. After upteem dozen attempts to create a single employee which failed I ring up and they tell me well actually this entry level despite having all the menu structures and appearing online to do payroll does not do payroll at ALL and I need to pay almost double. I found the set up very very nonintuitive in its coaching. You start one entry set up the field, then it takes you away to a whole different menu you need to complete and then doesn't take you back to where you were. There are heaps of bugs and going online you see everyone else having the same problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2018
Arslan R.
Head Manager
Banking
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018

"The Software helps me to evolve in my career my much ."

Comments: The benefits are countless. I am really happy and exceptionally relaxed with using this software. By far, its the most reliable and efficient software that I have encountered.

Pros: The systematic features really helps to sort out the accounting issues. I am always leading the task upto the standards and mostly efficiently only using this specialized software.

Cons: The complications of finding a specific set of files is really hectic. I have to go through the whole bunch of files and reenters the balance whenever I have to made some ammendments.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018
Marilyn K.
Office Manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018

"Processing"

Comments: The background of MYOB needs to be updated to keep up with the updates

Pros: This software is easy to use . It has all the modules you need to run a small to medium business in todays environment.

Cons: Processing is slow and will freeze the screen Myob does not like large files which is a huge problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018
'kim's A.
Registered BAS Agent
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2019

"MYOB Essentials"

Comments: Keep clients complaint!

Pros: This product makes the day to day task of a business owner more professional!

Cons: the Cost of the software could put a few people off!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2019