15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Revit

Design, document, coordinate, manage, and deliver architecture projects with Revit®. Call (818) 639-7755 for more information.

Learn more about Revit

Pros:

Parametric Family Creation tool is just awesome. Integration with AutoCad saves a lot of time.

Cons:

This program is removed from the purchasing system and offered to users by leasing method. This method is much more costly for users.

Revit ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Revit has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 436 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Revit before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (436)

Amjad
Amjad
Civil Engineer - Engineering Planner in Iraq
Verified LinkedIn User
Maritime, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Future is here

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: BIM will certainly change the construction industry in ways we cannot fully appreciate yet. Revit is of the best solutions that are pushing this revolution forward.

Pros:

- Game-changing and full-featured building BIM design software (Building Information Modeling) - Simplified the design process beyond belief from the days of AutoCAD - Quantity take-offs are now byproducts of the building model, not a separate business process. - With BIM (Not only Revit) the plans, sections and quantity take-offs are all dynamically related. Any change to one of them is immediately reflected on the others - Works well for Architectural, Structural, HVAC, and MEP modeling. - Easy to use yet very capable. - Seamless integration with other Autodesk solutions (NavisWorsk, Robot .. etc.) - Plenty of training resources online.

Cons:

- The price is too steep for companies in developing countries especially since it uses an annual subscription for each user.

Mike
BIM Manager in Ireland
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best tool for parametric modelling

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: Very comprehensive and easy to use software that has made creating models and streamlining design easy and fast.

Pros:

Revit is the best and easiest tool to create parametric bim models when compared to the others. It has the shortest learning curve and the most tools available

Cons:

It struggles when importing geometry from non revit formats even if it is coming from the same ecosystem (autocad). It also needs to improve the topography

William
Sr Project Mgr in US
Architecture & Planning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

If I win the lottery

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: If I won the lottery I'd buy Revit and sell it to another competent company like ArchiCad or Sketchup.

Pros:

It did the mundane relatively quickly like schedules and elevations.

Cons:

Pathetic updates and implementation of necessary updates and features.

Vishal
Vishal
BIM Dynamo Specialist in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

BIM with Automation

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

When it comes to repeatative task, its in integration with python, Grasshopper and dynamo is really very helpful. Also we can automate complex task as well with revit automation.

Cons:

There is no option for downgrade of revit file. I think, at least they should provide this option with limitations.

Chanaka
Chanaka
Civil Engineer in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Insightful design software

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Considering the compatibility with other Autodesk applications and helpful features such as 2D and 3D drawing, BIM modeling, presentation tools this is a great application to use. But it comes with a larger price tag. Can be used for many purposes and currently, this is the industry standard for designing. Designing complex structures will be harder but considering advantages and disadvantages this is a good application to use.

Pros:

Another great solution from Autodesk. In Revit, we have the ability to draw, design, and model structures depending on our needs. With tools to draw in 2D and easily model it into 3D, Revit is the solution architectures and civil engineers have been looking for. And especially with modeling and presentation tools Revit is the whole package. This package can be effectively used for architectural, structural, HVAC, and MEP modeling. And with enhanced support from other Autodesk applications, Revit seems like the industry-standard design software.

Cons:

The main disadvantage is the higher price value for Revit. So middle and startup companies have to think twice before purchasing Revit. Also somewhat harder to create complex models. And for a beginner, this would be harder to learn and use.

Lia
Architect in Dominican Republic
Architecture & Planning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Revit User Review

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: I’ve been using revit since 2020 and so far it’s my favorite BIM software, it’s really easy to learn and has so many features

Pros:

I like how you can easily create a BIM model.

Cons:

It’s missing a few features like for kitchen design

JUAN
Visual Manager in Colombia
Architecture & Planning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Central information of architecture

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: I mainly use it to extract 3D architectural models for architectural visualization in other rendering programs, it allows different workflows since it has many extensions to export.

Pros:

I am dedicated to the field of architectural visualization and revit is a useful tool when creating joint work processes with other people, you can obtain countless information. From 3D modeling to construction pricing.

Cons:

Probably its price, Latin America is not yet a market prepared to pay large sums of money, but I understand that it is a program with a lot of technology and extremely useful, I truly believe that it is worth what it costs.

Andrew
Architect in UK
Architecture & Planning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Quality software but expensive for a small practice

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Good. Love the software but takes some learning.

Pros:

3D and 2D capabilities. Time saving later in process.

Cons:

Cost. For a small practice it’s expensive, especially for multiple annual licenses as opposed to licenses in perpetuity.

Megan
Design Student worker in US
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Revit is the way to go

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

Super easy to use. There are tons of BIMS out of there and are wonderful asset. The 3rd part 3D modeling software take your revit floor flan to the next level.

Cons:

The newest update with its templates are cool but lead to some really weird and stupid issues.

ARUNDHATHY
civil engineer in India
Civil Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

good software

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: i like this software very much it is a plus point when we apply for jobs

Pros:

have so many features , and so many options and easy to use

Cons:

little bit expensive and need a higher version computer to install the software

Matthew
Project Manager in US
Architecture & Planning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Far Exceeds abilities of CAD related design software

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use Revit on a daily basis to develop architectural projects, and use it to coordinate design ideas on a regular basis with engineering consultants.

Pros:

The coordination of all aspects of a building through all the different sheets. Change something in one view and it seamlessly gets updated on all other related sheets in the project.

Cons:

Every now and then I come across a tool that I wish had the ability to do something extra. Hopefully in future releases these functions will be includes.

Nayeemullah
Assistant Professor in India
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Revit: The Pros and Cons of Using This Powerful BIM Software

4.0 last year

Comments: Revit is a powerful tool for building design and construction, but its complexity and cost may make it less suitable for individual users or smaller firms. Its collaborative capabilities and advanced visualization tools can be particularly useful for larger, more complex projects.

Pros:

Integrated design: Revit allows users to create a single, integrated model that incorporates all aspects of a building project, including the architectural, structural, and MEP (Mechanical, Electrical, and Plumbing) systems. This can help ensure that all elements of the project are coordinated and work together seamlessly.Collaborative: Revit enables teams to work together in real-time, making it easy to share and collaborate on project files.Robust visualization: Revit provides advanced visualization tools that allow users to create detailed, high-quality 3D models and renderings of their designs. This can be useful for both design and presentation purposes.

Cons:

Steep learning curve: Revit can be difficult to learn, particularly for users who are new to BIM software or have no experience with 3D modeling.Expensive: Revit is a professional-grade software and can be quite expensive, particularly for individual users or small firms.Revit requires a powerful computer with a dedicated graphics card to run smoothly.

Alma
Architect in Mexico
Construction, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Start in the field of 3D modelling and projects of larger scale and complexity.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's a great software, and it's one of the programs I've used and still use the most in architecture. It has everything you need for the realisation of a project and you just come to love it the more you learn and use it. If you get to use it enough you will start to feel that you don't need any other software to work with, but you should always keep in mind that there are complementary programs that will make the use of the program even easier and you shouldn't close yourself to the idea that it is bad to make use of them even if Revit can do it. In general it is a program that is constantly updated and really adapts to the evolution of architecture and the complexity of it; and it plans to continue to do so for many years to come.

Pros:

Both its platform, as well as tools and the extensive work capacity that can be performed on it, as well as the comfort and ease of navigating a project from zero to the completion of final renders. From 2D plans to 3D modelling in all aspects, it is simply an amazing tool. As well as its extreme compatibility with other software not only from the Autodesk family, makes it one of the best programs for architecture and other areas.

Cons:

Although it is "easy" to use, it can take you a lot of time to get used to it, it is one of the programmes that sometimes I still have to look for tutorials on how to use its tools even if I have been using it for all the years of my degree and part of my working life. Once you understand the basics it becomes common to say that it is "easy" to use, but it does take a great deal of time and patience not to get lost or make common mistakes that may or may not be fixable.

Ana
Architectural designer in US
Architecture & Planning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The only way to design complicated projects collaboratively

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall it is an irreplaceable component of my daily job but can sometimes be a pain to figure out a workaround in order to model what I have designed in another program

Pros:

The ability to link models through bim360 and work on a central model with a team, is revolutionary for our industry. Of course, being able to draw and model at the same time is also so important in delivering a project on time and being able to document changes after construction is also a must. I am always surprised when I meet people who are still working with cad but I suppose on a small project revit may not make sense.

Cons:

The ability to design curves and angles, and model other complicated features, really needs to be vastly improved. Revit is cutting edge in so many ways but doesn’t lend itself to designing cutting edge designs. Things like a skylight or a monumental stair and railing should not be so difficult to model and draw when they are so easy to do so in a dozen other programs.

Vikash
Architect in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Revit from a daily user

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall its a pretty good software and industry standard at this point. It helps a lot in laborious talks which will take forever in software that just have 2d drafting. So, even if you are an organization or an individual, you should give a previous thought as BIM software are the future and are getting widely accepted in the industry.

Pros:

- It saves a lot of time as everything is simultaneous rather than working in Autocad.- Incorporating small changes is easy as you can change in one view be it 3d, plan or elevation and everything is changed. Even in you composed sheets and thus is of great help.- It has various integration with other 3d rendering software such as Lumion, Enscape, Twinmotion, etc. So, you don't have to export your model to another software, everything is just there. - Integration of Dynamo helps even more.

Cons:

- It hasn't received a lot of changes for the past 5-6 years or even more, so even if you are using an old version or a new one, there are hardly any differences.- Modelling in it as a beginner is a little hard and might seems a steep learning curve initially. - Making curved buildings requires a lot of effort as compared to simple rectangular ones.- Inbuilt render engine is not that great so you have to use another program for rendering.

Danielli
CEO in Brazil
Architecture & Planning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Software for integration between engineering and architecture disciplines

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My internal workflow is more fluid after a while working with Revit, I have ease and agility in building the architectural and furniture models. The graphic result that I achieve with the software has become the identity of my project presentations.

Pros:

With Revit I got to know BIM and understood the potential of this methodology. It was through the software's ability to integrate with other programs dominated by other civil construction disciplines that I was actually able to apply a viable and feasible solution to my projects. The benefits of Revit's BIM tools are recognized not only by the technical engineering and architecture team, but also by the administrative, financial and planning teams. The graphical representation that I get with the software makes understanding and communicating with different sectors easier.

Cons:

The more technical aspects of Revit are essential for the platform to work, but in some ways, for architecture, they also seem to limit the creativity and organic design of architecture. I miss tools that are more free and customized for architecture. Or else it would be enough initially to change the user interface to a lighter and more didactic aesthetic.

Raj
DGM Marketing in India
Mining & Metals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great deal to save your time and efforts

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I would highly recommend settling up this software which is becoming a common choice in several firms. The key benefit is that Revit can manage building data during its complete lifecycle, starting from the conceptual design stage to an end rendered walkthrough, real quick while getting into objective complexity. I must say, here lies a great deal to save your time and efforts!

Pros:

Revit’s pros are all about its versatility in creating easy-going and impactful solutions through computer-aided designs, drafting, and graphics, both in 2D and 3D. It offers: • Versatile toolsets for - architectural design, MEP and structural engineering and construction • BIM software benefits - 3Cs: can Collaborate, Communicate, and Co-ordinate • Quickness - All components are dynamically related. Any changes made are reflected immediately in all aspects. • Advancements - Allows parametric modeling and Smart object import, realistic renders, walkthroughs, etc • Inbuilt vast library and templates • Multiple users can work on a file at the same time • Easy and user-friendly interface

Cons:

I have been using Revit for two years now. I feel this software has great potential with practical aspects, but it is not flexible enough to try experimentation or organic modeling. The quirks lie with “so many tools equal to so much of confusion.” I had issues in tackling topographies, working organically, higher-lower version conversions, storage capacity, error messages not being that detailed, and yes, its hefty price tag. Some operations get too challenging to go along. It seems to be a bit rigid, although, overall, it gives out a practical, working output.

Emmanuel
Construction Manager in India
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Revit is the greatest approach to learn about building information modeling.

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Revit was a significant improvement over its predecessors, such as AutoCAD. Revit has a lot of capabilities and is rather simple to master once we get the feel of it. I strongly advise all Civil Engineers to take advantage of Revit.

Pros:

The abundance of options provided by Revit is incredibly beneficial and makes it simple to design complex structures.

Cons:

Revit is far too expensive for professional use. The sole means to get a free complete version of Revit is for prospective students.

Wahaj
Wahaj
Architect in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Revit: One Stop Solution for Construction Management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Revit is a hope for all those architecture students who wants to complete the submission requirement in one go.

Pros:

The software provides a platform for all kinds of work from the inception of a construction project to its execution. The software is very handy in handling the working drawings and their cost estimation.

Cons:

The software is a boon for all architects, the only thing Autodesk can change is the compatibility of different saved versions of the Revit files.

laylee
architect in Poland
Architecture & Planning, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

revit is a complete software for engineers

5.0 last year

Comments: if you are an engineer working on a project and you what every detail to be in order this is the software for you but this in mind that revit is suitable for carves , domes and abstract projects .

Pros:

if you are looking for a software to connect your architects , civil engineers and mechanical engineers together this is the best software for you. if you work properly with the software it gives you the smalls detail you need , from wall sections to pluming and etc.

Cons:

revit isn't user friendly software or in other words you need to take courses and classes to get a hang of it . revit isn't one of those software that you just open up and start to work with ! its a professional software and and it take a bit more effort than just installing it on your computer .

Raju
Assistant Professor in India
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful software application for Civil Engineers

5.0 last year

Comments: It generates construction documentation directly from the building model. With Revit, users can create detailed plans, sections, and elevations that are linked to the building model. This ensures that the documentation is always up-to-date and accurate, which can help to reduce errors and save time.

Pros:

Revit is a powerful software application that is widely used in the architecture, engineering, and construction industries. Its main strengths lie in its ability to create 3D models of buildings, and its comprehensive set of tools for designing, documenting, and collaborating on building projects. With Revit, users can create accurate and detailed building models that can be used to visualize designs, make changes to designs, and communicate design intent to clients and stakeholders.

Cons:

It requires some training. One should have a high end configuration or else the rendering will take a lot of time.

Prashant
Prashant
Architect in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best BIM modeling software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The overall experience with Revit is just amazing. This software is the best in market and very easy to use.

Pros:

3D drafting is the best feature of Revit. I can add windows and doors according to my requirement and work on my plans. This makes my day-to-day work easy.

Cons:

There is nothing to dislike about Revit. Every feature works properly and without any problem.

Brian
Brian
Project Archtict in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent 3D / BIM software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Revit software has greatly improved a number of important areas: 1) much easier and faster 3D preparation and presentation, and 2) great improvement in technical drawing speed.

Pros:

Revit is structured to create buildings and structures immediately in 3D. It is ready to go "out of the box" with a great variety of built in components (walls, floors, roofs, stairs and more). The model can be viewed in 2d (plan, elevation, and section) at the same time as in 3D. Compared to other similar products, Revit has a very high level of accuracy. Revit models can be exported to a wide variety of other disciplines. Revit has excellent 3d shading and realistic modes. It also has a strong rendering engine. Great outside sources of additional building components are available.

Cons:

Revit models can become quite large. Obtain a copy of file transfer software (many are available free online) to send and receive Revit models.

Hedaia
Planning Manager in Jordan
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The greatest 3D design tool for spotting system overlaps & understanding the result before execution

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: All architectural models, MEP and interference detection can be verified without the need to export the model into another program.

Pros:

As a result of this flexibility, Revit is an extremely user-friendly tool. Modern BIM processes for design, construction, and owner data can be effectively managed on top of it. Real-time collaboration is made possible by Revit, which allows us to better integrate our mechanical and electrical engineers with experts from the building's structural, architectural, and electrical departments. When it comes to creating a virtual reality-ready representation, Revit is an excellent 3D design program. Allowing designers and clients to see the finished product is one of Revit's most important functions.

Cons:

Experienced and well-trained users will have no problems, especially if their computers are powerful and fast enough.

Ignazio
Project Manager in US
Architecture & Planning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Program for Architects

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Revit allow me to see the project in 3D as I build it. Great possibility to control the final product and sopt areas that need more attention and study.

Cons:

What I like least is that I would like to be able to turn on and off "layer" in an easier way