15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Whereby

Video conferencing solution that helps businesses create personal rooms, host meetings, schedule calls, share screens, and more.

Learn more about Whereby

Pros:

I have used Whereby on and off for a while now and it is easy to use (login, scheduling, running meeting), AND it integrates with google calendar.

Cons:

Has come troubles with new camera configurations, and when I have 2 o more webcam connected.

Whereby ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

Whereby has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 117 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Whereby before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (117)

Eddy
Eddy
Operations Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Whereby Connect you and your team fast and easy

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I like these services because I can create one unique link to share with family, friends, and coworkers, with this just enter the link and you are instantly connected. I will add some sort of approval by the admin to join the meeting.

Pros:

This service it is easy to use, it is very fast and consumes little to none resources for the machine and connection, I've used it with connections less than 1Mbps of internet speed and I still can share screen and video (not the best quality) but it works. A great option for meetings.

Cons:

I can't see any cons just yet. Maybe the interface is too simple (for some people) but I choose performance over graphics any time of the week. (Maybe: One con would be that any person with your personalized link can access to the meeting)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Quick and easy meetings.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is a very easy to use tool, very stable and that allows there to be a fluidity in any meeting that is maintained through it. You can make use of features such as video, screen sharing, audio and chat.

Pros:

You can make use of the tool for the administration of a work team. It is so easy to use that you can use it every day and even stay online all day.

Cons:

Being a quick-use tool, it lacks more important features that as a user part of a work team, you might need. This is the case of file management.

James
Director of McSill studio in UK
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I thought it was better than it was

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has to be worked on. The idea is nice and neat, but the competition is far better. Start by organizing the screens on the panel, cut off the mic automatically if the participant go silent etc.

Pros:

I liked the simplicity. Reminded me of the initial versions of Skype.

Cons:

When I subscribed, to be able to bring more people into the room, it was messy, there was no way I could organize the screens like I do when I'm using Zoom or Skype. Suddenly, my webcam wasn't visible for the participants. I admit that there was a lot of emails exchanged to try and solve the problem, but it was never solved. By that stage I had paid over 70 pounds for the subscription, and decided to cancel something I could never use. No money back was offered.

Lucia
HR Manager in US
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Powerful Web Conferencing Solution - Whereby

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

A great tool for web conferencing and I like the amazing screen sharing capabilities.

Cons:

Never had problems with Whereby. It is smooth.

Luca Stefano
Luca Stefano
Full Stack Web Developer in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Wonderful if you can stay in the free version

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It's easy to use and there's no explanation needed when you invite a customer to your room, plus I love the fact that you have your custom room url.

Cons:

The limit of 4 people is really tight and forces you to upgrade. Since when I decided to leave it, they integrated a better pricing plan that allows to pay for the room instead of paying per user and that's much better.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Simple, Solid, Effective Product.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Facilitating really solid communication via a remote needs. We were on Zoom for a while but realized its just too complicated for what it offers.

Pros:

The ease of use of Whereby is the best part of it. No downloading software, no adding extensions, no asking people to install anything. Everyone can join in really simple. It really helps connecting with clients quickly and efficiently.

Cons:

There's not much to dislike, the simplicity of it makes it that easy. Sometimes the connections are spotty.

Jennie
Jennie
Marketing Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Whereby is the underdog of video platforms

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My company is a music lesson platform, custom-built for music lessons. Whenever we are running into technical issues or the student's bandwidth/connection is not strong enough, we love using Whereby as a backup.

Pros:

-Easy to use -Pricing plans are more affordable than Zoom -Love how you can brand and create private rooms

Cons:

-Download is required on mobile phone -Brand is more unknown, so there's a mini learning phase in the beginning of the meeting for new users -Wish everyone can record. Not just the owner of the account.

Ioana
Ioana
UX Researcher in Austria
Verified LinkedIn User
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Finally a screen-sharing tool that doesn't require an extension installation

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have had numerous issues with my research participants dropping off, not being able to connect or getting frustrated because of the video call software. Not having to to explain in entire paragraphs to participanta how to connect is wonderful!

Pros:

No need to install an extension. It's simplicity, particularly since we have participants of various technical capabilities

Cons:

Haven't found anything yet! But - you still need the app to share your screen on mobile. Recordings cost extra (but still affordable).

Aasim
Aasim
Co-founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Whereby works where others don't

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Whereby helps me talk to people who don't have access to a desktop client like what Zoom has. It also helps me start meetings more fluidly.

Cons:

It lacks a lot of features products like Zoom have such as selective sharing and audio sharing.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Alternative Video Conferencing App

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: My experience with whereby has been good to date

Pros:

The seamless no download and no sign-in (unless you are hosting) features are one of my favorites form the Whereby App

Cons:

Integration with outlook or google calendar would be great add-on at the moment ones rehires to hop on difference interfaces/software tools to get this done

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I recently started using Whereby and I couldn't be happier

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, I highly recommend Whereby for anyone in need of a reliable and easy-to-use online meeting platform. It has quickly become my go-to choice for virtual meetings and I have no doubt it will be a valuable tool for your business as well.

Pros:

I recently started using Whereby for my online meetings and I couldn't be happier with the service. The interface is user-friendly and the video and audio quality are top-notch. I also appreciate the ability to easily schedule and customize meetings, as well as the ability to share my screen with participants.One of the standout features of Whereby is the ability to use custom meeting links. This has made it easy for me to have recurring meetings with clients and colleagues, as we don't have to keep sending out new invitations or remembering a unique meeting ID.

Cons:

One potential con of Whereby is the price. While the service does offer a free plan with basic features, the more advanced options and larger meeting sizes do come with a higher price tag. This may not be feasible for every business or individual looking for an online meeting solution.However, it's important to keep in mind that you get what you pay for and Whereby does offer a lot of valuable features and reliable performance. If you need a robust online meeting platform and are willing to invest in a higher-priced option, Whereby may be worth considering. It's always a good idea to carefully evaluate your budget and needs before making a decision.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple, always handy

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Love it, simple, efficient, never had an issue.

Pros:

Never had a call fail with Appear.in. It is also very simple to invite business partners using (free) custom links. Honestly, it's simplicity makes it a no brainer for us

Cons:

If the URL is taken, rooms should not be available if the admin is not present. It happens we used someone else's URL for months.Therefore, when we upgraded to a paid membership, we were advised our long time link was taken and couldn't be used with Pro features.

Jarred
Engineer in Canada
Industrial Automation, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Meeting Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We utilize this software for remote working employees and it has made a huge difference in the ability to save travel time to the office.

Pros:

No downloads and works first try in your browser. We use it internally on a daily basis. We also have special rooms that we use for customer meetings.

Cons:

There is no option to pay for call in support. Internally we don't require this, but some customers don't have computers with microphones that work etc., and it would be useful for them to be able to login to the meeting to see our screens but call in for voice.

Manav
Software Developer in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Convenient video conference tool with good quality

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Video as well as audio is really good. We can customize the meetings page with our favourite colours and background images. The software works without any lag.

Cons:

It would be great if Whereby could add show more people on one screen. Also, should upgrade the mobile application in terms of user-interface.

Sandeep
Quality Analyst in India
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Budget oriented video conference tools with all basic features

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall its a decent product target towards small to medium companies and is very affordable. UI is optimised and usability is awesome.

Pros:

Its objective is to provide video conference at low cost. It is very cheap and still provides all the basic features one would expect from a video conference tool. It is easy to connect, doesn't require any app installations and works directly from a browser. UI is very minimalistic and well optimised. Well suited for small team up to 50 members.

Cons:

It doesnt have some important features like noise cancellation, call transcription, live captions, etc. Screen sharing can be laggy sometimes. However with regular updates its getting better and adding more features.

Alexander
Customer Success Manager in Brazil
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good quality video conferencing tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It is a very stable videoconferencing tool that ensures good performance and quality on all connections.

Pros:

• Easy usability. • Quality of calls and shares. • It is hardly blocked within companies. • Creation of individual rooms. • Very good acquisition cost.

Cons:

• Customers with little knowledge have difficulty using the system. • Plugin installation is complicated for inexperienced users. • In the paid plan only 12 participants are allowed, which is not feasible for some businesses. • It does not allow to take command of the user screen.

Geoff
Geoff
Development Operations and PCI Compliance in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Free Video Chat

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use it to meet with remote contractors often and have never had a speed or quality issue. It is lighter weight than google meetings and requires no registration. This is my go to meeting software for small teams.

Pros:

I like that it runs on linux. I like that it is free, and creating a free room actually gives you a static url. I have been using the same url for various meetings for over a year. I recognizes my camera and usb headset no problems in chrome, and the screen sharing extension works out of the box. The Eula isn't crazy and there are not ads.

Cons:

There is a four user limit for the free tier, but I have never hit it. I really haven't seen a downside to this software in over a year.

Mitch
Mitch
Co-Founder in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Video meetings have never been easier

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very happy with Appear and will continue to use it in my businesses and personal life.

Pros:

Appear is extremely easy to use, and 99% of the time it just works without a hitch.

Cons:

The new pricing plans are a bit of a downgrade from what we were previously experiencing as pro users, but it's still tremendous value.

venkanna
Seller partner Support in US
Consumer Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A safe and secure Video connecting platform

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I prefer using this app as this is free to use and also it has pro version, In a free version the features are very good. Host has very good control on room . I would suggest anyone to use this app as these app has very less cons. and user friendly.

Pros:

I regularly use whereby free version , it is completely free to use for life time and the best features I love in this software are 1. Private chat, Screen-sharing option 2. Switching camera (front and rare) 3. Mute option for host 4. Room control is way better than many other platforms 5. Phone friendly 6. Group breakout and also room lock option.

Cons:

I always find a difficulty while I switch camera from front to rare and vice versa. Also video quality could be better as I faced issues like video buffer many times.

Ingo
Ingo
CTO in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing service for little money

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Team video conferencing with named meeting 'rooms' without the installation of any software is what I have been waiting for for a long time.
This product is awesome and works like a breeze with our international team.

Pros:

Super easy to use, no installation, team sizes and the relatively inexpensive pro plan. Naming meeting rooms.

Cons:

on mobile (iOS) it does require the app and does not always work well in the browser

Lajos
Senior Software Developer in Hungary
Telecommunications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great for organizing meetings online

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have used appear.in to interview candidates online. The interview went well and we were able to hire new team members who are great additions to our team. Since then, I've recommended the platform to others for solving such issues and their feedback was great, too.

Pros:

The best about appear.in is its ease of use - to join a meeting, participants just have to open the link to the room that has been created and that's it. There's no need to sign up! The audio and video quality is excellent and the screen sharing works well for organizing online interviews with candidates etc.

Cons:

I didn't find a way to save my details (that is, my name) so I wouldn't have to enter it again whenever I join a meeting. (Or, if there's already such a feature, it's not obvious where to find it.)

Jose
Rainmaker in Portugal
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing software

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The fact that is so easy to use and implement. Right now we use whereby to our dailys meetings, weeklys and meetings with our clients. No one need to download and instal anything, no need to have our clients registering in a platform.

Cons:

The software needs a considerable band witch to operate correctly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The tool for making videocalls easy

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Appear.in is great for remote teams is kind of a virtual lobby for everyone.

Pros:

The biggest pro of appear.in for me is the ability to set a URL, that makes soo easy to join calls and reduces the hassle of sending complex links like the ones used in google meet. We use it in our workplace as a lobby, since we are remote and its great people jump in and out with out even thinking about it.

Cons:

Sometimes the software fails, and can't join the calls, it's not often but definitely something to consider. Also the capability to block users should be available, sometime you don't want to have anyone join the conversation.

Marcus
Marcus
Global Head of Issuer Management in Switzerland
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I love it

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: love it

Pros:

simple, great quality, easy to use. to make it short: best online meeting system available right now

Cons:

sometimes users cannot​ be heard at all, a complete restart of the call is required

Lawrent
Lawrent
owner in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A limited web conference tool

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have now stopped using Whereby to exclusively use Zoom. Whereby is great with friends, but not so much for professional audiences.

Pros:

Easy to invite guests, fast access, high-quality video and audio.

Cons:

Limitations in file sharing (only supports Google drive, unable to upload a file from the computer), virtual background privacy feature (unable to add a virtual background image to protect your privacy), and screen sharing (you have to share the whole screen, at least from a Mac).