Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8/5
  • Ease of Use
    3.7/5
  • Customer Service
    4.5/5

About Retail Express

Intuitive, powerful cloud-based POS, inventory and eCommerce software trusted by 4000+ inventory-based Australian & NZ retailers.

Learn more about Retail Express

Showing 12 reviews

Luke M.
Director
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2020

"A Fantastic System for all Retailers, big and small"

Comments: From the initial Sales manager, to the Implementation Manager.... all staff were fantastic, enthusiastic and more than capable of handling any questions/issues I had.

Pros: The easy to use system means my staff picked it up quickly.
The detailed Back of House reporting is a managers dream.

Cons: The only thing I've seen missing is an ability to sell an item via weight ($$/per kg), but it's minor. Our previous system never had this either so we're well placed to get around it. Would be great in the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2020
Brad B.
Inventory Manager
Retail, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/05/2020

"Retail Express Implementation for a Small Multi Sectioned Retail Business "

Comments: The Overall Experience has been great very easy to transition . The On-boarding Program for Training was Great and the Access to Resources Fantastic. The Implementation Manager and other Points of Contact were all great to deal with.

Pros: Modern Cloud based system that has all the Reporting Requirements needed but all the Functionality of a Modern System in a Age of Technology Advancement . It seems as though it has been designed for this Purpose not the " that's something we are going to develop in the Future attitude" that other Systems seem to have.

Cons: At this stage I believe it is still the Honeymoon Period so just " Training Training Training" to get the Most out what we can Do with Retail Express

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/05/2020
Melissa B.
Accounts
Retail, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2018

"Feedback"

Pros: easy for sales staff to raise invoices. easy to enter new customers. easy to add new staff and modify existing ones.

Cons: Have to manually do the upload to Xero each day.
Can not give customers a 7 or 14 day account.
Receiving stock when not all products are supplied is a nightmare.
Can not make it compulsory to put a customer PO on an invoice.
Can still process an invoice to a customers account when on stop credit.
Unable to set own compulsory fields when entering new stock/customers
Unable to set own preferences and shortcuts
unable to setup credit card surcharge to be added automatically when we select that payment method.
we provide service as well as sales. Can't set up a service item - has to be done as stock.
Pink pricing always changing/incorrect
Disabled products can still be added to PO’s
Comments on invoices don’t upload to xero
If an invoice that is in xero has been paid cash, and it has been rounded up it wont upload
Credit Notes don’t upload to xero

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2018
Melanie F.
Office Manager
Computer Hardware, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/04/2019

"Great POS Cloud System"

Comments: Excellent service, quick responses to queries, very helpful support. Updates are provided via overnight uploads done automatically with no downtime to your system. New update information is provided in detail via email. They respond well to customer suggestions and are constantly improving the system.

Pros: The implementation of this software is fantastic. A team of experts is available to help you transfer your database of stock, suppliers and customers with ease. Retail Express has a comprehensive knowledge database including video tutorials and instructions which all staff can access. The software is friendly, easy to use and navigate with email and internet integration.

Cons: Special customer orders are tricky to handle. We are yet to understand how to order/manage customer orders and are currently doing this through the lay by option which is difficult unless you have one staff member managing this are (IE: you can over order stock). Back orders are a little cumbersome but can be adapted to suit your business needs. Overall though the positives of this system outweigh the small negatives.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/04/2019
Melanie F.
Retail Clerk
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2018

"Professional Support with Friendly Service"

Comments: This software is great for a business with multiple locations. It seems to contain a large scale fulfillment section which smaller businesses (such as ours) don't really need. Overall it's been a positive step forward for our business.

Pros: Retail Express is easy to use. The point of sale is simple, yet very clever and allows you lay-by, sell and invoice all in the one transaction. It's search feature is fantastic, letting you view transactions from the day, week or via your own custom dates. We love the ability to email our customer invoices and receipts, saving us both time and money. Working with multiple screens in a web browser is a great bonus for our business.

Cons: Retail Express doesn't really cater to customer orders that well. It categorizes them as lay-by's. It does not enable the customer order to be identified in a purchase order (IE: there is no automatically fulfill mechanism). It's difficult to search for a product and you can't seem to view who the customers are that purchased the product, based on the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2018
Bruce M.
Manager
Industrial Automation, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018

"Retail Express has been a great improvement on our previous POS and inventory system."

Comments: On the whole, it is a great product.

Pros: It is loaded with lots of functions with a friendly GUI and Retail Express provides great customer support.

Cons: There are quite a few database functions that show in one format on one page, but a different format on another page. It also needs to be a bit more tailor-able to suit the way we need to operate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018
Stuart L.
Gerneralist
Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2018

"Life Changing"

Pros: Ease of use, Inventory management, POS layout, Back end reports, Integration with 3rd party accounting systems.

Cons: Client order history is available but could be easier to get too and under stand. The product will give you back exactly what you put into it so do your preparation well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2018
Jason D.
Director
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2018

"Retail Express is very easy to use and was a very smooth transition for us from a paper derivative business to a digital platform"

Pros: Very Easy to use and gives us an edge on professionalism and performance internally.
Data is now at the touch of a couple of buttons instead of having to compose the information for days/weeks.

Cons: So many features that I haven't had time to learn them all, this is the only issue I have as it can take quite some time to learn everything.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2018
Jonathan H.
Owner
Wine & Spirits, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    1/5
  • Features & Functionality
    1/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/06/2018

"Very poor customer service and poor system security"

Pros: The POS itself is nice and relatively easy to use it has a nice look................................

Cons: Poor reporting, poor customer support and the in our instance the system was penetrated by an external source and our customer data was compromised.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/06/2018
Jordan P.
Managing Member
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2019

"Great Option For Managing Inventory"

Pros: Retail Express was a new platform we were introduced to when adding a medical supply business on to our growing organization. We had no idea how much was involved with inventory management. Wow, Retail Express definitely made this much more streamlined!

Cons: There were a few bumps during the initial on boarding process. Still with the assistance of Retail Express we we're able to cut past all these hold ups and press forward full speed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2019
Pauline L.
Owner
Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2018

"Fantastic POS system "

Pros: Retail express is easy to use, has a wide variety of handy features for a small business and offers great customer service.

Cons: Would be helpful if it allowed product images to be uploaded alongside products to help with inventory

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2018
Daniel S.
Managing Director
Sporting Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    1/5
  • Features & Functionality
    1/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019

"Sales Staff Promised the World, Product Failed Miserably"

Comments: If you are look for a POS solution I would look elsewhere. Nothing that was promised turned out to be true.

Pros: The POS is easy to use but there are plenty of cheaper / free POS solutions that will do exactly the same thing.

Cons: - Xero integration is manual and terrible
- Customer accounts turn to chaos, cannot give 7 or 14 day terms. Reporting on account customer is awful
- Entering Purchase order when not complete turned our accounting software into turmoil.
- Sales staff sold the perfect POS solution for our retail / wholesale business, the product did not stack up
- Ecommerce integration was promised but never happened, all smoke and mirrors

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019