15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

Vinchin Backup & Recovery Reviews

About Vinchin Backup & Recovery

A comprehensive enterprise-level data backup and recovery solution for providing your entire business workload a powerful protection.

Learn more about Vinchin Backup & Recovery

Pros:

I had some trouble with the first installation, but that may be my inexperience. In the ongoing process, I had a great experience, especially with online support.

Cons:

Could not find anything yet a thing a would dislike.

Vinchin Backup & Recovery ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

Vinchin Backup & Recovery has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 73 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Vinchin Backup & Recovery before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (73)

Engin
Engin
Founder in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Vinchin is user-friendly, stable and easy to manage backup software.

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: My overall experience is good. But We need to use more.

Pros:

Easy to use User-friendly Budget friendly

Cons:

There is no dislike for now. I need to use it more.

George
Superintendent Technology in South Africa
Mining & Metals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Cost Effective solution with fantastic features.

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Fantastic. From sales to support. They team is amazing and I highly recommended Vinchin.

Pros:

Instant Restore is fantastic. Dashboards shows a complete overview of the backed-up environment. Easy to use, cost effective software with amazing features.

Cons:

Better reporting would be great. Reports are sufficient, but more customizability would be great.

่Jedsadaporn
System engineer in Thailand
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Test backup Vmware vSphere 5.5

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Test backup and recovery. Replication server.

Cons:

Recovery file and replication, Recovery to other machine.

AMIR
IT ASSISTANT in Malaysia
Government Relations, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

PLEASE MOVE FORWARD FASTER

4.0 last month New

Comments: DOUBLE THUMB UP, WITHIN TWO YEAR, NO ISSUE ON BACKUP JOB OR THE VINCHIN SOFTWARE. RUN SMOOTHLY.

Pros:

DEPLOYMENT IS EASY, JUST FOLLOW THE GUIDE FROM WEBSITE, DASHBOARD IS AWESOME, LOTS OF INFO IN ONE PAGE.

Cons:

REPORTING NEED TO IMPROVE MORE, REPORT JUST FOR VM BACKUP ONLY. USER GROUP AND ROLE NEED ATTENTION (JOB CANNOT TRANSFER TO ANOTHER GROUP AND ROLE)

Hamzah
Sr. Systems Administrator in Iraq
Banking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A powerful and efficient backup software that supported a lot of Virtualization platform

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

1- The one of the most important point of Vinchin is support a lot of virtualization environments so it can manage and maintain all backup using one dashboard!. 2- The second point is easy to use, and can keep track the running jobs using a fantastic graphs with valuable content. 3- V2V Cross platform, I really used this feature to migrate VMs between different virtualzation environments. 4- Cost efficient.

Cons:

Vinchin is still not support tape library backup

Anthony
CEO in Indonesia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Great Integration Options

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I recently started using Vinchin for my backup and disaster recovery needs, and I'm thrilled with its flexibility. One of the standout features is the platform integration; it seamlessly supports various hypervisors like VMware, Hyper-V, ZStack, and XenServer. This makes it incredibly easy to manage backups across my diverse infrastructure without having to switch between different tools. This level of versatility is exactly what I was looking for, and it's made my backup management much more streamlined and efficient. Highly recommended!

Cons:

I only wished all the platforms are included in the Standard License, but for platforms like ZStack, you need to use the Enterprise license.

Ulisses
VMware Specialist in Canada
Apparel & Fashion, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The easiest backup tool ever

5.0 last month New

Pros:

The first thing, their support. I was not even their client and they gave all the support necessary to come to speed using their tool. They were available to answer everyone of my questions. Second, their tool is wonderfully easy to setup and use.

Cons:

Could not find anything yet a thing a would dislike.

Sebastian
IT-Administrator in Germany
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Good software but room for improvement

5.0 last month New

Comments: Good software but room for improvement. Add important functions.
would be important

Pros:

Very well done and many things work well

Cons:

important functions are still missing Client backup Windows linux, backup of Promox,Truenas, unraid more expensive than private and small businesses

Ömer Faruk
Ömer Faruk
Data Backup Engineer in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

New solution for backup

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Easy to use and understand. Even My childs may understand how backup Work is :)

Cons:

it will be good if vinchin support more environment like hadoop

Asim
SA in Saudi Arabia
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Asim's Review

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Simple interface, easy to use, works on Hyper-V platform.

Cons:

I can't say anything. I haven't used it much often.

Claudio
CTO in Italy
Computer Networking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerful backup tool for multiple platforms, including Sangfor and VMware

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are using Vinchin Backup in multiple environments with a very positive experience.
It probably doesn't have all the features of other more famous software (for ex. Veeam), but it has a simple and clear license model, it has all major features you need, and it's easy to install and maintain.

Pros:

Easy to install, interface user friendly. It covers most of the features you need in a backup solution. Technical support is very efficient, they answer very quick and the operators are technically prepared. It supports Sangfor HCI platforms.

Cons:

The software miss some features like: - allow easy monitoring of backup jobs from external tools (like SNMP for example). Actually it supports only e-mail notifications. - It does not allow to schedule a job to run when another job finish. - It does not support VM replication

Daniel
System Administrator in Germany
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review by ion2s System Administrator

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: A few months ago, while the Exchange ProxyLogon Attacks, Vinchin helped me restore our Exchange Server in different Versions. Every Backuprestore creates a new VM automaticly. So i was able to switch between day-versions for running testscripts to find IoCs and export overwritten logs.

Pros:

I decided for Vinchin Backup and Recovery to save time for me for writing and for my collegues for explaining bash scripts. Vinchin gives me a nice and easy to use GUI to manage backup and restore processes for our oVirt VMs.

Cons:

The backup log ist not showing the task duration for a single VM. Sometimes Vinchin is not able to delete a backup snapshot (not furter investigeted yet - maybe my fault) Since the update to v6 the backupjob duration increased by about 6 hours (not furter investigeted yet - maybe my fault)

Somchai
Managing Director in Thailand
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The most easy-to-use backup tool ever.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: With the help of Vinchin Backup & Recovery, our whole IT team now feel rather relieved when it comes to data protection. Through a centralized web console, no matter how complicated and large the production environment can be, backup jobs on any VM can always be easily deployed with just a few clicks, bringing much convenience for us to better carry forward other essential work tasks, let alone the valuable benefits we've got from many other useful features like instant restore and file-level restore for fast and accurate data recovery.

Pros:

The simple agentless backup compatible with most virtual platforms really impresses us a lot, which requires much less deployment cost than legacy solutions, saving us multiple times than before to achieve efficient data protection.

Cons:

Most of our demands on VM data protection have been solved, but it'll be even better if it could support CDP in the future. We feel how Vinchin continues to improve their product through each update, and I believe we'll get the service from them very soon.

John
Owner in Guatemala
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best backup tool ever

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Vinchin is the easiest yet most powerful and productive backup software I've ever used. The informative and simple management UI interface catches my eyes when I first use it. So I immediately started to test the features since every feature seems to be easy to find and config. Turns out it runs just as expected. The intelligent backup strategies with optional time scheduling. It's definitely the best backup tool ever.

Cons:

There is really nothing to dislike as of now for virtual machine backup. Yet I would like to have OS backup option if possible.

Albert
Product Manager in Malaysia
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Value for Money

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: Great Experience and good product. As welll as their quick response technical matters

Pros:

Support cross platform Recovery and instant virtualization

Cons:

Cannot support replication and granular restore for database running in VM

MC
Technical Consultant in Malaysia
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very powerful backup and recovery tool

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: Overall I'm very satisficed especially the cross platform restoration. Currently I'm implementing backup from VMware vSphere on production server and restore to DR site which is using Sangfor HCI. This is a very good feature where users now will have something similar to "OPEN" networking where users is no longer limited by Hypervisor brand and platform.

Pros:

Easy install, configuration and restoration. It also provide V2V cross platform restoration where other backup and recovery software missing. With this cross platform restoration, users will not limit again by hypervisor platform. We can implemented Microsoft Hyper-V as production host and VMware vSphere as disaster recovery host.

Cons:

Missing replication feature where most of the data protection software now will have it.

Adulchai
Senior System Engineer in Thailand
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Our business relates to data. Unexpected data loss may leads to serious impact to our company.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Vinchin helps us save cost. Its pricing is very simple. Its user interface is user-friendly. We can easily deploy and use it. Vinchin can save disk space with its advanced deduplication and compression technology.

Pros:

- Easy to deploy - Easy to use - Supports multiple virtualization platform - Fast backup and recovery - Granular file and database recovery

Cons:

- Not support continuous backup. - Not support synthetic full backup. You will can not reclaim disk space if you do forever incremental backup. - Not support VM replication.

Penny
Penny
Purchase manager in Taiwan
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very efficient backup tool with good price

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have 100 Xenserver vms run on our environment, given the popularity of Xenserver, it's not difficult to find a reliable backup vendor, but what stumps us is a comprhensive one with resonable price and reasurring protection guarantee. Vinchin happens to be the one fits our standards. Bitdetector, node expansion and data deduplication, all these technologies save a lot space and cost for us, not to mention the archive to cloud and offsite backup copy features, they can be strong support against disasters and accidents. And another one we choose it because Vinchin charges reasonably.

Pros:

Vinchin has flexible installation options as a physical or virtual machine, the ease of deployment, and reliable backup strategies, all of them make it works really great with Xenserver. I like the agentless and lan-free backup for there's more reqiurement for agent and that makes things easier. But best of all, its customizable backup jobs would do everything it can to save storage and speed the whole process up. And the instant recovery is trully amazing, I like it very much.

Cons:

I have no negative comments about Vinchin solution, which works well for us. But it would be good if they have gfs retention policy.

Francesco Maria
RTD in Italy
Telecommunications, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The VPS backup software that we really needed

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: The experience was optimal. Simple to use, high number of feature, reactive support, goog price!

Pros:

Rock solid, simple to user, good pricing, support really reactive, easy to setup (virtually od phisically). All the backup feature, archiving, cloud backup, deduplication and now also Files Server and DB backup!

Cons:

If I want to find a weakness? the lack of some advanced feature that it's still only available for VMware (like VM verification lab)

Mahdi
Mahdi
Sr. IT Manager in Iraq
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product

4.0 7 months ago

Pros:

Ease of use and technical support are the most valuable for us, my team is very happy with this product and also we had no major issues during its lifetime. it did its job very well.

Cons:

Lack of restful API to ease the automation of backup jobs. and also the lack of SAML support.

Daniele
consultant in Italy
Information Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

a good backup software for my infrastructure

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: very good, now all my backups of vm are running with vinchin, I plan to move other kind of backups there

Pros:

simple to install. manage and schedule backups

Cons:

little bit difficult to move to another server and upgrade

Elias
Customer Success Engineer in Kenya
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Backup Journey Transformation with Vinchin

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: We have the best experience so far .This product meets our standards and requirements for our different workloads

Pros:

The Ease of use. Veeam has one best dashboards and easy to use even for users with low technical expertise.Its also easy to setup and run

Cons:

e have not faced any challenge with Vinchin The support team at Vinchin is always ready and available to give technical support as well as anwer technical questions on new product features and future improvements. This is one of the best decisions we have made to advise our clients because it always reflects on us as support.

Frederic
Founder in Belgium
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best option available to protect your Ovirt virtual infrastructure

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

Vinchin has been our primary backup and DR software used to protect our data center infrastructure based on Ovirt. It has been a true 'install & forget' experience, easy to set up and once configured it just works, day in day out. Very price effective compared to other solutions with no trade-offs in terms of quality and reliability. We will continue to use the product and also advise it to our customers

Cons:

Logging options could be improved, but this is compensated by an excellent support team that provides support when needed

Carlos
System Administrator in Portugal
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vinchin Backup and Restore

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: The environment is very easy to manage and get up and running. Overall we are very happy with the solution.

Pros:

ease of use, management interface and licence management. Possibility of having several node servers to carry out backups on different hardware.

Cons:

Difficulty in creating an HA server in order to have the service in another environment

Ghada
Network Administrator in Egypt
Animation, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vinchin Review

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: I do A lot of jobs and Backup my Vms and Vsphere daily

Pros:

I am very Happy to use it because is very easy and has alot of features I recommended it

Cons:

It is very easy and Technical Support is very very Friendly and clever to solve your issues in least time