Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Help Desk Support Software and Asset Management Tool includes, Knowledgebase, SLA Management, Ticket Tracking, Inventory Management.

Learn more about ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Showing 160 reviews

Mark S.
US
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Basic Helpdesk Application

2 5 years ago

Comments: Our company has been using ManageEngine plus ServiceDesk for our IT Helpdesk support system for several years now. Although this application has been reliable and used widely by our IT support team, it is limited on features and functionality. The support for the application from ManageEngine has been somewhat limited as well. If you are looking for a very basic IT support system, then ManageEngine's ServiceDesk might be a good fit. The application is just limited on what it can do and its ability to scale to fit our needs.

Pros:

ServiceDesk Plus from ManageEngine is fairly easy to implement and provides the most basic needs of an IT support application.

Cons:

ServiceDesk Plus from ManageEngine is very limited in features and functionality. It also has a fairly complex interface that is out of date. Our company has trouble tracking IT support tickets because of this limitation.

Abdulaleem M.
Techincal Support in Saudi Arabia
Hospitality, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review Manage Engine SDP

5 2 months ago

Pros:

Easy to Use Easy to Setup customer-centric UI

Cons:

Very vast software. It's good for certain companies but for us it makes too many screens to manage.

Alternatives Considered: Jira

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: Arabic language support

Eric O.
Project Manager in Mexico
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The AIO Servicedesk Solution

5 10 months ago

Comments: as the title says "The AIO Servicedesk Solution", the solution has interconnected modules that include everything from ticket management, problems, changes and even inventory

Pros:

All the modules ready to use since each one of this are out of the box so you can just simply install the SW and start to use.

Cons:

Maybe more customization regarding request module, some tabs has no use in our org so we cannot move that

Dean R.
Group Infrastructure Specialist in UK
Publishing, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ManageEngine Servicedesk Plus

5 7 months ago

Comments: Great for ticketing and asset management.

Pros:

Ticket management is great. Integration with other instances of the app as well using the API to create IT helpdesk tickets automatically from our HR system.

Cons:

The archive ticket system isn't updated to use the same views as the live system so it looks out of place. Asset database is too easy to let get outdated.

Andrew W.
Radpro in UK
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Life changing

4 12 months ago

Comments: My experience of using this software has been amazing. It has been like switching on a light to dispurse the darkness that has been sat over my work life for so long.

Pros:

When I use this software my mind is suddenly fee of clutter, I feel smarter and have to work less.

Cons:

The only feature that is missing is the ability to turn back time. With this feature, I would be able to start using Service Desk Plus from the very beginning.

Alternatives Considered: Spiceworks

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] had the final say

Aman D.
IT Business Analyst in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy implementation with highly intuitive configuration set up

5 2 years ago

Comments: Good overall experience with purchase and implementation of the product. Easy to configure and use for both technicians and users.

Pros:

Implementation and configuring was easy. Integration to AD to create user profiles. Intuitiveness of features for both the user community and technicians made it easy for all to use the product. Wholistic list of functionalities and features.

Cons:

Apart from minimal verbiage changes that was not allowed in the application, so far most of the things are positive looking. You can submit a feature request for modification to the application.

Verified Reviewer
Senior Consultant in Saudi Arabia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Servicedesk product at an affordable price

4 2 years ago

Pros:

The product setup & configuration is easy. Offers a good reporting tool. Can use used to connect to Office 365 to generate report for their usage. Reports can be exported into multiple file formats.

Cons:

The interface could have been much much better. Adding of extendedattributes could have been made easier.

Verified Reviewer
Microsoft SQL Database Administrator / Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Versatile tool with a lot of features

4 3 years ago

Pros:

We are a small shop and didn't want to spend a lot of money on a ServiceDesk software, but we are growing and need more functionatlity than we have now. We like dhow ServiceDesk bundled together Project management, Contract Management, Tickets, and Change requests all in one project. I have used the Project management the most so far and am impressed with the features it has. I like how you can create tasks and assign them to people outside of the IT department so that if users need to do some testing they can get reminders that we are waiting on them to complete something. The ticketing system has more features than we will likley need to use, but it's nice to have the flexibility.

Cons:

Because there are so many modules in this software it leaves a little something to be desired in each module. I think overall there is plenty of functionality, but when you get into the details you might wish for a few more features. The Project Management module works well, but I wish I could email straight to the task items to keep them updated instead of having to go in and add comments directly.

Brett E.
ESM Manager in US
Medical Practice, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Tracking Tool and Self-Service

4 4 years ago

Pros:

The software has lots of options for tracking service within the organization. The software has the ability to track SLA and integrate with your organizations ITIL methodologies. A nice self-service feature is available for staff to utilize.

Cons:

The software is not the most intuitive and requires some training to really be able to navigate well.

Amber G.
IT Tech in US
Medical Devices, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Service Desk Plus

5 3 years ago

Comments: My experience with Service Desk Plus has been great! I love how customization this software is especially for our industry. It's so easy to keep track of my tickets.

Pros:

Service Desk Plus makes keeping track of and working on tickets easy. Perfect ticketing system.

Cons:

I don't have any cons for this software.

Verified Reviewer
Infrastructure Support Specialist in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Servicedesk+

4 3 years ago

Comments: Servicedesk got lots of improvements since we started using it in 2014. It’s getting better.

Pros:

Covers all aspects of ITIL and has lots of options to manage the servicedesk

Cons:

Assets management needs lots of work to make it dynamic and easy to use.

Verified Reviewer
Retail Operations Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Keeps issues moving and on track.

5 4 years ago

Pros:

Tickets or Incidents allow you to keep all correspondence and testing together. Replying to the generate email allows non-users to add notes to the outstanding tickets. Ability to add changes and link to original tickets keeps things organizable and trackable.

Cons:

Users outside of our IT dept don't grasp the concept of tickets or submitting requests. Training non-IT users the purpose of the product has been a struggle. Even basics like following up on statuses or seeing notes added to tickets have been difficult.

Verified Reviewer
Application Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ServiceDesk Review

5 3 years ago

Pros:

ServiceDesk keeps your work orders organized through peak demand periods as well as projects that may be long in duration. Communication with end-users on tickets is very easy and modifying service request is as intuitive as it gets.

Cons:

Locating users that recently submitted a ticket; Advanced search works but sometimes returns erroneous results.

Djohn T.
SEO-analyst in Ukraine
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I was impressed by the ease of use of the application

5 4 years ago

Pros:

First of all, I appreciated the ease of use of this application. In order to start working with ServiceDesk, it is not necessary to spend a lot of time for training, much less to attend courses.

Cons:

For our small business the system is redundant. For example, we never use certain functions, but we can't turn them off or at least hide them.

Alan H.
Alan H.
Desktop Support Technician in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Way better Service Desk applications out there

3 3 years ago

Pros:

When it comes to bare basics, ServiceDesk Plus can get the job done. The sorting by order of attributes is easy enough. Simple ticket resolution is easy enough. Inputting attributes such as location and the nature of the request is easy enough. Picking up unassigned requests is easy. The asset search function is actually quite useful when doing a quick track of company assets.

Cons:

The search function is nearly useless and if you have a LOT of tickets in the immediate archive, good luck finding it. The inability to search tickets by requester name is non-existent, the inline reply of ticket requests is extremely limited to the point that you might as well simply contact the client directly through your own company email rather than SDP itself.

Verified Reviewer
Systems Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

You are the beta tester

3 3 years ago

Comments: This ticketing solution is not suitable for enterprise grade operations that require quality functions. Many of the solutions offered by ManageEngine do not work well together and each product has it's own support teams which handle support cases differently resulting in very inconsistent experiences. SMB businesses may mind the functionality adequate for work that does not rely as heavily on workflows, automation or stability with a 1000+ user footprint.

Pros:

The environment that hosts this product is the most stable part about it. Updates and upgrades are available with extreme frequency.

Cons:

Support is limited and always takes several days to resolve. Bugs and Bug Fixes are plentiful and patched at a blistering pace which opens new issues. Opening a support ticket will usually result in a custom patch or request to update to latest patch.

Verified Reviewer
senior staff in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good service desk program on the market

5 3 years ago

Comments: quick and automatic assets discovery

Pros:

it software offers good contract and assets management service in the organization , The software functionality is pretty good with excellent program executable speed and does not consume large memory The service desk API gives customers full control to automate and integrate with other applications

Cons:

This application has taken long to be updated and include more features and functions. Include training tutorials for each function to ease understanding of all features in the software

Peter Z.
Senior Accountant in Ukraine
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The application allows you to reduce the cost of technical support

5 4 years ago

Pros:

Thanks to ServiceDesk, we were able to significantly reduce the material costs of technical support. Thanks to the automation of some processes, the efficiency of customer service has significantly increased.

Cons:

Remote project management does not work for all platforms. Another disadvantage is that the software needs frequent updates.

Mike F.
Recruiter in
Medical Practice, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Recent ManageEngnie Service Desk Implementation

4 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, this produce has been a benefit to our organization.

Pros:

Helping us keep internal communication in one place Aiding our HR department to better serve our employees Helps monitor different stages of onboarding

Cons:

With certain features you may have to click through multiple tabs It takes a while to learn out to navigate the system

Christopher J.
Christopher J.
Photograpger in US
Photography, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Helpdesk Platform for the $

5 3 years ago

Pros:

I absolutely loved the licensing for this system. For a small business, being able to get advanced helpdesk functionality for free was absolutely budget saving.

Cons:

Some of the maintenance screens are hard to figure out. Feels like a bit more than was needed was added to the system. Overall, its always my first choice and I have used it at 3 different jobs over 20+ years.

Daniel M.
IT Operations and Services Officer in Grenada
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A helpdesk tool that fits my organization's needs

5 3 years ago

Comments: Better helpdesk management

Pros:

The technical support is extremely helpful. The support team is always available to attend to any queries I may have.

Cons:

None! The software has weekly releases which addresses any vulnerabilities that may be in the system.

Verified Reviewer
Senior Associate in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Useful tool, but not great

3 3 years ago

Comments: The experience till now has been good. As it's quiet easy to understand and user friednly, the new members also learn it at a rapid rate.

Pros:

The user Interface is pretty straightforward. The ticket raising and ticket addressing are very easy to understand and update from time to time. The in built database of all the assets and their associated unique Ids, is a great help.

Cons:

It is providing more and more advanced search options in every upgrade, but the search results don't always bring back the correct results. Their testing team needs to do a more thorough job before putting out a new feature.

Eric F.
Web-trainer in Ukraine
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A solution that needs to be customized

4 4 years ago

Pros:

Not a bad solution, in my opinion. But too much everything is standardized. Absolutely no personality. For some it may be good. Especially, if several specialists work at the project at different times. Such systems greatly facilitate the life of system administrators.

Cons:

This solution is not for everyone. You need to think carefully and weigh everything - it's right for you. For example, I was not satisfied with the final result. I had to hire a specialist and adjust the system to suit my needs.

Branimir P.
IT admin in Croatia
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Helpdesk with tons of features...

5 4 years ago

Pros:

This is an all-in-one software solution for a modern IT business. Everything is included, helpdesk ticketing, asset tracking, CMDB, cost tracking... It can be installed on multiple DB solutions and customized. Projects can be imported from MS Project files and a lots more...

Cons:

Price is the biggest setback, the pricing is based on number of technicians and nodes and dependent on the edition, billed annually for on-premises installation.

Greg H.
IT Manager in
Banking, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Decent product for the money

4 5 years ago

Comments: This product was fairly easy to setup once we learned the basics. It integrates with AD well and the screens are highly customizable. It does not lend itself to customer tickets in an organization like ours with several thousand customer contacts. It is also difficult to ascertain the exact time spent on each case. Great product for the money.

Pros:

Easy setup. Integrates with AD.

Cons:

Support is a bit difficult to obtain but appears to be getting better.