15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Empower IT help desks to maximize productivity and deliver exceptional employee experiences with ServiceDesk Plus.

Learn more about ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Pros:

It has powerful integration capabilities with majority of data source drivers of many platforms. The reporting is suburb, graphical displays and extensive reporting capabilities.

Cons:

Maybe more customization regarding request module, some tabs has no use in our org so we cannot move that.

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 208 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (208)

Sergio
Sergio
IT Consultant in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A complete, easy to deploy and use, customizable service management solution

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We implemented it in a hared service center serving more than 40 legal entities, with approximately 2,000 workstations/users and about 36 technicians. We gradually implemented it and had the chance to streamline processes and customize the solution for our different companies. Integration with email and AD was a great help in setting up the environment with no additional work.

Pros:

It sports a complete set of well-designed and ITIL-oriented functions; it can fit both a small firm and an enterprise - with proper licensing and setup. Complete, customizable, easy to use, clear to setup, integrated with other Managengine (and 3rd party) solutions.

Cons:

As per my latest experience (2019) workflow management could be improved; while it's not its primary focus, still it could give great advantages in automating service workflows (eg joiner & leavers).

Alternatives Considered: Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk , SysAid , ServiceNow and osTicket

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: Completeness of functions, ITIL orientation, ease of use

Harry
Harry
Systems & Digital Marketing Administrator in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software, could use more features

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's a great piece of software/service to have, it could do with being more fluid from an administrators point of view, but it's improving during the time we've been using it.

Pros:

Multiple of the applications ManageEngine provide can be integrated with one another (not all at this current time) but this allows a more fluid and easy management of the services.The functionality of adding our assets and having a helpdesk in a single location is convenient and does the job required. There is also a feature on pages which if what you required isn't available in a "features" aspect, you can request it, however it isn't clear on when it will be implemented other than in a future version.

Cons:

The functionality can be confusing for some features, some configurations need to be done in the admin settings when logically, I think being able to edit them in the current page you're on which the change relates to would be more convenient. Also there isn't a timeline of features being implemented, so it's not clear if the features you may want, are going to happen.

Alternatives Considered: ServiceNow

Reasons for Choosing ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: It didn't have all the functionality or updated UI we were after.

Switched From: Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: Trialed ServiceNow but I found it more updated and had a better UI appearance from both a user's point of view and administrators. The pricing also was a reason.

Joshua
Applications Specialist in Australia
Retail, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for SMB but future growth needs to be considered

4.0 last month New

Comments: Good if all you're looking at is to provide a service desk platform but for a business that is expected to grow, there are other platforms that will accommodate for that better and is more modernised.

Pros:

It does the job and helps us as an office support our retail stores and staff members with any questions and queries.

Cons:

I think overtime the UI has grown outdated in comparison to other service desk services and feels clunky in comparison. We find it hard to navigate when a particular change is required and modifying the UI of the user landing page it quite difficult. In addition, the reporting within the platform is not intuitive and we find ourselves having to manually export and transform data using other tools such as Excel and Canva for visuals on reporting that we send out on a monthly basis.

Alternatives Considered: Freshdesk , Intercom and Zendesk Suite

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Program Development, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Support is terrible

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Nice interface.

Cons:

We have been using ServiceDesk Plus for 7 years now. We have contributed a lot into the development of this ticketing software and have around 2K users around the world using it. Software does have occasional hiccups and glitches, but the worst part is their support. It declined so much over the years that it's unbearable now. Every time there is a remote session, it seems that engineers try to waste as much of your time as possible, just connect to you online and literally doing nothing. You have to patch and update SDP manually quite often, sometimes 3 times per month. Every patch is downtime and a risk of an issue, where you have to contact support. Their online instructions are outdated... Just try to renew SSL cert using the posted guides, good luck - another support call to Delhi.

James
Chief Technology Officer in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Reliable and Expressive

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: It helped me get a handle not only on the incoming tickets and requests, but also the machines that were at the company, as well as helped get a knowledge base for users to have. I love it.

Pros:

It's fairly easy to set-up, and you can tune it to be a reflection of how you think IT should be run. There is a TON of customization you can do to it to reflect your personality as an IT admin (Hence the "Expressive" in my title). I used it at a previous company and introduced it to my new company with great success.

Cons:

It can be quirky to add certain things after the initial setup. Nothing that is a showstopper, just takes getting used to.

Alternatives Considered: SolarWinds Service Desk and ServiceNow

Reasons for Choosing ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: Freshdesk is nice, but its a beginner product. When you need a more robust solution, you move on.

Switched From: Freshdesk

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: Cheaper, better, reliable, customizable and product support is great.

Sam
Sam
Systems Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great ticketing system for helpdesk

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: This is a great helpdesk application for most small-to-medium companies who don't need all the extra features that come with Autodesk, connectwise or Salesforce. Worked directly out of the box with minimal configurations needed.

Pros:

Ease of use, setup, low resource consumption on server, built-in reporting is enough for my company, Solutions, preventative maintenance tasks, templates, email fetching, user portal, external mobile app.

Cons:

Reporting isn't that user friendly, upgrades don't allow skipping of versions, not cumulative. Support isn't that good in resolving issues, so luckily we haven't had many

Nicat
Nicat
Network and network security engineer in Azerbaijan
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My experience has been amazing and productive

5.0 last year

Comments: As an IT professional, solutions such as ManageEngine are essential for the prompt service delivery of HelpDesk employees within the organization. ManageEngine has many features. They are remote connection, video call and chat functions. You can even manage the computer's services or system files without connecting to the computer's desktop. I work in an organization with 500 employees, and the ManageEngine was very helpful in providing technical support. However, the availability of the ticket system in the ManageEngine makes it easier for you to give detailed reports to both the work efficiency and the management.

Pros:

Among the alternatives, it was the most convenient to set up and use. It has a user-friendly interface

Cons:

It's a very convenient product, I like ManagEngine's products in general, but sometimes additional add-ons can be a bit expensive.

Alternatives Considered: JIRA Service Management and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: Looking at other alternatives, this product is the most convenient to use.

Vincent
Team Lead ServiceDesk in Netherlands
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great (not only) IT servicedesk tool

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Decent tool - very powerfull - would recommend 10/10 - great support

Pros:

flexibility - scalability. Also other departments apart from IT can use it for external client-facing flows.

Cons:

with a system as big as this, you can get lost in the features (but the support from ZoHo / Manage Engine is great)

Ricardo
Ricardo
Business Intelligence Team Lead in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Manage Engine Service Desk Review

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We used it as a ticket system for IT but overall did not like the experience.

Pros:

It makes for an easy ticketing system for IT to use and helps keep track of ticket progress quite well

Cons:

There is too much freedom for the technician around what they can do with the ticket. They can delete etc too easily, also it's not easy to use for the end user and hard to track outstanding tickets efficiently

José
José
IM Manager in Dominican Republic
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good IT Ticking system

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The easy and fast way to have the configuration done and running. The web interface and mobile work are fantastic.

Pros:

The integration with the rest of the applications Zoho and ManageEngine have. Easy to set up and fast to be deployed.

Cons:

If you are a small company, the best recommendation must work On a Cloud solution they provide.

Angelo
IT Advisor in US
Architecture & Planning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Essential to have IT culture - Following ITIL recommendations

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Do you have an IT team of more than 3 or 5 people? You need one of these. Do not believe it, you should know that you need it. It is essential for the planning, organization and decision making of a company. With ManageEngine Service Desk, you can measure. Remember, what cannot be measured cannot be controlled.

Pros:

Having a control panel where you can schedule, track, prioritize, and assign tasks... It is essential to have the IT team in the best conditions. Enough of messaging communications, having a control center for your users' requests is essential. You can register your users, install Service Desk agent or End Point Manager for your users' requests. And attend to them according to your procedures. It is a knowledge center that will greatly help the IT team and give quick answers to your users. If the IT team is not attending to users, you will know it, since Service Desk can highlight requests and incidents that have not been attended to. This software is very scalable.

Cons:

There is no magic button to configure the whole system. If you have implemented this software a long time ago or since the beginning of the company, then there is no problem. But if you are implementing this software, and you have a lot of employees, a lot of IT processes, among other things; It can take days or weeks to configure everything (if you do it yourself). If you have a responsible and committed IT team, you can have the implementation ready quickly. I would prefer that it could be installed in a container. We don't like the idea of ​​having to set up an entire server to failover, or having to wait several hours to redeploy if something goes wrong with Windows. We are one of the companies that prefer everything On-Premise, so we will not go for the Cloud.

Nathan
Head of Infrastructure and Networks in UK
Insurance, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Cloud Based Service Desk

4.0 last year

Comments: As a team we rate ServiceDesk Plus highly and rely on it daily, it is a simple to use platform that can be vastly expanded and customised to fit your business needs. As a small IT support outfit it feels like we are just touching the surface of the power within SDP. Finding the time to fully configure the automation, emails, categories is difficult.

Pros:

Lots of great features included in the package, ticketing system works well, nice dashboard, hundreds of features, customisable,

Cons:

Default view for some aspects like changes are over complicated, pre built forms and categories would save time, a lot of time is needed to fully customise the platform. ME Support is quite slow and difficult.

Alternatives Considered: SolarWinds Service Desk

Tinashe
Head ICT in Zimbabwe
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The future of service Desk

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great solution to seamlessly manage tickets with reporting that is comprehensive.

Pros:

The software is user friend and simplifies the help desk processes. It adheres to the best practice ITSM workflows. It has powerful integration capabilities with majority of data source drivers of many platforms. The reporting is suburb, graphical displays and extensive reporting capabilities. Can be deployed on cloud or on premises

Cons:

Hosting on premises a bit more complicated to manage than on cloud otherwise great application to start managing help desk workflows

Alternatives Considered: Freshdesk

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: Great Integration capabilities

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Service desk Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have implemented ServiceDesk Plus as a part of our customer relationship management. It is also used for internal auditing purpose. ServiceDesk allows managing all the IT services seamlessly. We have been using ServiceDesk for years for all our help desk, facilities, and reporting needs. It also allows to quality management of the help desk agents. Its reporting tool facilitates to monitor and report helpdesk team progress in a visualized way.

Pros:

So far, this the best ServiceDesk solution in the market. It is bundled with almost everything that can be expected in these kinds of solution. Actually, we have never used some of the features included with this. However, we are privileged to receive updates from the vendor itself. We are extremely satisfied with the overall product capabilities, comparing verdict solutions. Following are the most impressive features of the Service Desk + Easy Cloud integration + Best Asset management tools. + Best Reporting Tools. + Quality management capability of the staff

Cons:

+ Hard to implements + Lack of administration documentation + Quite Expensive( but worth for money)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Servicedesk product at an affordable price

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The product setup & configuration is easy. Offers a good reporting tool. Can use used to connect to Office 365 to generate report for their usage. Reports can be exported into multiple file formats.

Cons:

The interface could have been much much better. Adding of extendedattributes could have been made easier.

Alagie
IT administrator Assistant Manager in Gambia
Telecommunications, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My experience with ManageEngine ServiceDesk

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Our work has been made easier by helpdesk ticketing and we have been able to assign and manage our tasks accordingly.

Pros:

What I like most is creating different user groups with different roles.

Cons:

There's nothing that I don't like about ManageEngine ServiceDesk. All its features are excellent, to be honest.

AbdulAleem
Techincal Support in Saudi Arabia
Hospitality, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review Manage Engine SDP

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to Use Easy to Setup customer-centric UI

Cons:

Very vast software. It's good for certain companies but for us it makes too many screens to manage.

Alternatives Considered: Jira

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: Arabic language support

Nick
Help Desk Manager in US
Public Policy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

You get what you pay for

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: When we paid for the software (before switching to the free edition), support was very hard to understand. While SDP is certainly usable, it has been growing increasingly unstable for us. When we have time, we'll likely look into a different solution, like Spiceworks.

Pros:

The software is easy to configure. The price is right for a small shop (free for up to five users). If you just need something basic, SDP fulfills the basic needs of a help desk.

Cons:

The page redirects are buggy. Clicking links frequently go 404 at random as it serves a page wrong. Instead of going to http://servername/workorder.do it will instead just try to go to workorder.do and not find the page.

Edgar
Service Desk Technician in US
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awesome Ticketing System

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall this software is a great ticketing system, i would recommend this to my colleagues.

Pros:

ManageEngine makes quality products with a bunch of features, you acn configure a wholee bunch of stuff including reply templates, service request categories, SLA's, Asset Management, Change Management, etc. I am actually very surprised with how much you can do with this piece of software. They offer software updates pretty frequently so you're always up to date.

Cons:

The software is really robust and offers a lot, i don't have anything to complain about.

Bill
IT Operations Manager in US
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceDesk Plus brought organization to the chaos that was our ticketing system.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use, and intuitiveness of the software makes training significantly simplified. Additionally, I enjoy how project management, service catalogs and asset tracking all tie together nicely.

Cons:

Cost. As much as we love SDP, some of the features we would like to implement are simply too costly . As mentioned in the "Pros" section, we would love to incorporate CMDB, change management, project management, but the modules are simply too expensive for us.

Eric
Project Manager in Mexico
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The AIO Servicedesk Solution

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: as the title says "The AIO Servicedesk Solution", the solution has interconnected modules that include everything from ticket management, problems, changes and even inventory

Pros:

All the modules ready to use since each one of this are out of the box so you can just simply install the SW and start to use.

Cons:

Maybe more customization regarding request module, some tabs has no use in our org so we cannot move that

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Useful tool, but not great

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: The experience till now has been good. As it's quiet easy to understand and user friednly, the new members also learn it at a rapid rate.

Pros:

The user Interface is pretty straightforward. The ticket raising and ticket addressing are very easy to understand and update from time to time. The in built database of all the assets and their associated unique Ids, is a great help.

Cons:

It is providing more and more advanced search options in every upgrade, but the search results don't always bring back the correct results. Their testing team needs to do a more thorough job before putting out a new feature.

Miguel
Information Technology Project Manager & Quality Assurance in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have been using it for the past 8 years

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Very good ITSM software for a low price, alot of features that can be fully customizable, and easy to keep track of what everyone is doing due to an amazing dashboard!

Pros:

* Excellent Service Catalog. * Convertion of Tickets into projects, Problems, Changes. * Asset Discovery and CMDB * Lots of addons. * Integrated chat.

Cons:

This is a great software but updating versions can be a pain, due to the confusing documentation on this matter

Dean
Group Infrastructure Specialist in UK
Publishing, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ManageEngine Servicedesk Plus

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great for ticketing and asset management.

Pros:

Ticket management is great. Integration with other instances of the app as well using the API to create IT helpdesk tickets automatically from our HR system.

Cons:

The archive ticket system isn't updated to use the same views as the live system so it looks out of place. Asset database is too easy to let get outdated.

Herman
Senior Network and Security Administrator in Kenya
Broadcast Media, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We cant run ICT support without this tool, its the core of our support system

Pros:

Its very effective in managing ICT support, log, track, CBK of incidents and how it was resolved

Cons:

Its more effective working alongside other zoho products which have to be purchased separately