Instore software Reviews

by Instore Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.9 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4 /5

About Instore software

Instore is a next-generation point of sale (POS) solution helping small to midsize restaurants and retailers run great businesses.

Learn more about Instore software

Showing 25 reviews of 37

Alex G.
Owner
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2018

"It's been a journey"

Comments: Nice folks. If not for the fact that we're tied in to the gift cards that we've sold, we would probably experiment with different POS options. We're not convinced that other apps are better, we suspect that they all have pluses and minuses. But it would be nice to have the freedom to explore a bit more.

Pros: Generally speaking, it does what we need it to do in a way that makes sense.
We often go months without thinking about it or worrying about it.
The team at Instore genuinely cares, and while they don't listen to all of our feedback, we can see that our feedback has led to improvement.

Cons: I don't think the back end is robust enough. Sometimes it's impossible to download reports because the server times out before it processes and packages the reports.
We've never felt that the "end of day" functionality made much sense.
We'd like more flexibility with how it interacts with individual staff members.
Sometimes changes are made without us being informed that don't feel like improvements.
It would be nice if there were more flexibility in settings about how the app is set up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2018
Namil F.
Food Truck Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2018

"Overall Good product but could be much better."

Pros: Ease of use and stability. System rarely has any problems and the credit card processing is stable.

Cons: Key features missing for food service business. Missing ingredient level inventory and a feature to track waste so that your end of day numbers are exact.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2018
Orlando D.
Owner
Restaurants, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2018

"Easy to use and fast to setup"

Comments: good experience with my first POS ever used.

Pros: multiple locations, ability to set up different items at each location, all in one registers available

Cons: layout need to be changed to make more user friendly. I have a large menu with many categories where more category space would have been useful

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2018
John W.
Owner
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018

"Has the opportunity to be great"

Pros: I like the easy set-up
The online ability to see up to date sales
I like the ability to be mobile with the POS

Cons: Do not like the customer service
Do not like the fact you can’t split tabs or combine them
Don’t like how easy it drops service or ability to take credit cards

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018
Lacey R.
Owner
Restaurants
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2015

"Instore Hits The SweetSpot"

Pros: The customer service, while not 24 support, is extremely responsive. I have felt like I am part of my POS team instead of just an end user of a purchased product. The software is reliable and flexible.

Cons: The lack of 24 hour support has been difficult at times, but very rarely.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2015
Amanda K.
Manager
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2018

"Good POS system"

Pros: I like the customization features. You can tailor the app to help it function best for your store needs.

Cons: Certain features can slow you down if not utilized correctly. Customer service can be slow and take weeks to remedy bugs and fixes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2018
Deanna G.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2018

"Instore has made it easy to train employees on register and group items accordingly yo expedite service."

Comments: No

Pros: I like how you can control the format. It’s easy to add seasonal specials, adjust employee pay, and keep track of sales remotely. We also like the rewards program option.

Cons: It was slightly confusing to update and I had to reach out to tech support. I also wish there was an option to include half a cent for prices.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2018
Ted A.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2017

"User friendly"

Comments: Detailed features, good customer service, easy to use

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2017
Lizzie P.
Tasting Room Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018

"My experience with Instore is overall favorable, but not without some frustrations"

Comments: THANKS FOR ADDING TABS!!!!!

Pros: I like that usually when I call for assistance, I get a response within an hour. I also appreciate the ease of adjusting items through the back end of things. The ability to control tax on each item has also been vital to being able to use the system for my business.

Cons: The system isn't as intuitive as it could be. I'd also like to see more specifics in terms of back end reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018
Todd T.
Operator
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2018

"Easy, Intuitive - iPad Based POS Application for Restaurants and Retail"

Comments: The folks behind this software know what they do well and understand their limitations. They do not "over sell" and provide great support.

Pros: Very Easy to Learn!
Great Reporting!
Great Customer Service!
They have a nice size install base with "real world reference cases".

Cons: Not ready for Multi-Unit use quite yet but close. Would like to see a Kitchen Video Display solution for restaurants.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2018
Susan T.
Bookkeeper
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018

"Ease of use and great customer service!"

Pros: The ability to see your companies daily and monthly sales. Customer service is great and they respond quickly when problems arise.

Cons: Have not been able to figure out how to assign a cashier to each register transaction. This is something that is needed to track cash loss prevention.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018
Jorge H.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018

"Competitive"

Comments: Overall great system. Just need better communication with in store reps.

Pros: Price and full control of menu everything is done in store. No need to contact anyone or call unless it’s really bad

Cons: I feel that the Credit card processing is a bit off. I would gave power outages often and also lost lots of money on offline processing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018
Judy C.
Food & Bev mgr./ owner
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2018

"Overall the system is fairly easy to use."

Comments: I don’t like the fact that you don’t need to open a shift in order to sell.

Pros: It’s Easy to use. You can take the iPad anywhere. I like having the employee hours on the same system.

Cons: The individual shift reports. I would like more detail on the individual’s shift, not just cash, When there’s more than one shift open on the same date at the same time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2018
Matt S.
Owner/Manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2019

"Instore is Trash"

Comments: Overall experience was horrible.

Pros: There were zero Pros to the software. Never worked properly. A constant headache

Cons: Everything. Software constantly crashed, customer service is horrible. When you leave a message it would sometimes take several hours for them to call back. The reps would always blame my "enviroment" for the software not working. Funny thing is I have a new system that works flawlessly. In the end they were extremely rude and insulting. Glad I switched!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2019
Raja V.
Restaurants
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2015

"Beautiful, easy to use, just the right amount of insights"

Pros: The web dashboard is easy to follow and provides just the right amount of information and tools that I need (changing menu and prices, employees, locations).

Cons: A recent update resolved the issues I had. Before, there wasn't an offline mode for processing transactions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2015
Joshua R.
Owner
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018

"Instore Review"

Pros: Features are solid, employees are very nice and their customer service was great. Very easy to follow

Cons: There were a lot of glitches with the software that were recently fixed with an update, nothing to complain about

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018
Julie A.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018

"Needs more features"

Comments: No

Pros: It is easy to use but needs to add more features, such as an ability to hold and sort orders. This is vital for a business that takes orders for a few weeks out.

Cons: The iPad and system together are very glitchy (I don’t know if they sell used iPads) but within six months our system became very hard to work with.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018
My C.
Bartender
Entertainment, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018

"Instore"

Pros: I like the emails we get about updates & the interface. For the most part it's really easy to use and the FAQ are very helpful.

Cons: It's not always the most intuitive POS system. It took a long time got an update to be created that allowed us to start tabs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018
Susan R.
Owner/Manager
Supermarkets, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018

"Good value but we have had to work out some "bugs" the good news is support fixes problems quickly."

Comments: We are happy with the system and we are hoping that because we have had bugs worked out so quickly that that is a sign that the software is still evolving and can grow with us!

Pros: The customer support is really good. We communicate problems with a customer representative and he gets right back to us!

Cons: Just some "bugs" in the system and times that there is a syncing delay with the two terminals we have.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018
Jake C.
Manager
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018

"Good enough but should be better"

Pros: I can do everything i need right from the ipad. Customer support is very good. The help pages on the website are helpful

Cons: In the app rums a little slow and it seems like a lot of buttons to be constantly pressing,l to get the result i want, i feel like it should be simplified somehow. The website is difficult to navigate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018
Duane B.
Associate Campus Pastor
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2018

"User Friendly all the way!"

Comments: Overall I am very satisfied with the instore software and the hardware. I love the reporting that is available and the easy of use.

Pros: I love the very simple interface. It is easy to program through the back office and the ability to customize is amazing. I also appreciate the easy of use with gift cards.

Cons: My only negative with the product is that it has a tendency to disconnect from the internet. The fix is usually unplugging the register and replugging in.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2018
Jana B.
Cafe Manager
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2018

"Point of sale for Cafe"

Comments: Customer service is helpful to solve problems.

Pros: It is very easy for a first time user to navigate. The is a lot of space for categories on home page which frees up the space is makes it uncluttered.

Cons: the screen is light grey and is not easy to see. We have some people that cannot use it because of the light print.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2018
Dustin P.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2018

"Excellent POS for Bar Based Businesses"

Comments: For the money, its hard to beat Instore as a great POS system for our cigar bar.

Pros: The user interface of Instore is very simple to use. The way it presents categories and then items in those categories allows for fast input of orders for customers. The recently added Tab feature allows us to store credit card numbers without having to hold customers cards for tabs they want to run. The ability to add employee payroll cost, as well as COGS allows you to quickly see what your true profit for the day was after each shift closing.

Cons: The reporting system isn't as robust as I'd like, however the basic reporting does provide you with access to most items. I'd like to see more details around breakdown of sales per hour and day, etc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2018
Louisa H.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018

"GREAT POS FOR A SMALL SHOP"

Comments: Customer service communication via email is great. Everyone is very accommodating and helpful.

Pros: It has all the features we need for a small cheese/wine/beer shop. Very easy to use, clean and simple user face. We sell cheese so the integrated scale is extremely useful. Not many other POS systems have integrated scale. Instore is always working on updates to improve the POS system. Since we've been using the system, they've added a new feature on sales tax which is quite useful for when we need to file sales tax.

Cons: There are a few features that we would like to have -- I can't easily get a master list of all my inventory, a request would have to be sent to the engineers and it takes a few days to turnaround. Customer service is great through email but not as helpful when we have issues in real time. Normally, can't reach anyone on the phone, would have to leave vmail or email and have someone return your call within 24 hrs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018
Emily E.
Computer manager
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018

"Good, not bad for start up"

Comments: I love the rewards.

Pros: It is very easy to create an item. Once created you can easily send it right to the pos from anywhere. I don’t always have to be at my store to up date.

Cons: There is not a very good inventory system. Or maybe it is just difficult to understand. I find myself guessing what I need because the system doesn’t let me track it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018