JumpCloud Directory Platform Reviews

by JumpCloud

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About JumpCloud Directory Platform

The JumpCloud Directory Platform reimagines the directory as a complete platform for identity, access, and device management.

Learn more about JumpCloud Directory Platform

Showing 86 reviews

Chris B.
Director
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019

"JumpCloud"

Comments: We use JumpCloud to secure our small software business and meet our security obligations for contracts with large government organisations.

Pros: full coverage of all of our internal and cloud domains, simple set-up, great customer support

Cons: very little- config with GSuite is quite confusing (but I think that is more to do with Google than JumpCloud)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019
Igor M.
Engineer
Computer Networking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019

"swiss knife identity hub"

Comments: Identity as a service - ability to stitch together disjoint web apps while maintaining centralized identity store

Pros: Flexible multicloud identity broker - allows to stitch and federate identity between onprem and cloud. When you are looking to go all-cloud, major challenge becomes identity federation and not depending on the onprem AD.
Capability to offer tie the same cloud identity to onprem infra via RADIUS as a service is indespe

Cons: can become costly and api-level interop with major MDM / Security frameworks is highly desired

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019
Mike J.
IT Administrator
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019

"Great non-domain user control!"

Comments: With this service I was able to settle some PCI Compliance issues with just a short amount of setup time.

Pros: I loved the fact that I was easily able to implement this product with Linux and Windows servers to auto-create and populate user information and user control. This has changed so many steps in our initial buildouts and use on these machines. Must say it has saved countless hours of work!

Cons: So far, I do not see any part that I am not a fan of at all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019
Gareth S.
Head of IT
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2020

"Excellent Free Tier"

Pros: I run a predominantly Mac shop with only a handful of PCs. While I chose a competing Apple MDM solution, it was not because of dissatisfaction with JumpCloud. The Apple solution does not work with PCs, so I stuck with JumpCloud for those. At the price point (free) and the basic functionality provided, I am able to meet my audit and compliance targets with little effort and at a bargain.

Cons: The administrative interface and deployment steps are a tad cumbersome, but that's about it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2020
Verified Reviewer
IT Consulting
Food Production, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019

"Great option as cloud directory as service"

Comments: Works just fine as a cloud-based domain service, ideal for spread organizations.

Pros: Easy to use and deploy for different OS options

Cons: Cost can become considerable for large number of users

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019
Kyle R.
IT Manager
Cosmetics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2020

"A great solution for a cloud-based business"

Pros: JumpCloud solved a number of issues for us as we needed a cloud-based identity management and also a system management tool for our distributed workforce. The product has constantly been improving over the 2 years we have used it. Set-up is fairly easy and it was pretty simple to roll-out.

Cons: There are some limitations that I hope are improved as the product develops. MDM is currently limited in functionality, and the System Insights still require command-line input to gather detailed information. It doesn't not have commands that can run on a system automatically when joined which would be nice.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2020
Paul M.
System & Network Administrator
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2020

"Jumpcloud - Active Directory in the Cloud"

Pros: Having a cloud-hosted authoritative directory. The ease of creating and managing users across g-suite, ldap and Microsoft 365.

Cons: The cost for a large group of users a little higher than I'd like to pay. Especially as a education institution.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2020
Carl S.
Head of IT
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2020

"Excellent Solution for User and Device Management, Directory and Security"

Comments: We are using JumpCloud as central directory, for SSO, for device and user management and partially MDM functionality. We love the support service, their incredibly enthusiastic and helpful staff. Support is brilliant! They are response time is sometimes hard to believe. The speed with which they have implemented features they mentioned in phone calls a few days before... we are well impressed. The end user experience is simple and assigning users to devices is lightning fast. JumpCloud helps us leverage zero touch deployment as well. We love that it has so many SSO integrations, too.

Pros: Great UI, self explanatory, fast and works in almost any browser (desktop and mobile). The ease of use is incredible. Basically no learning curve at all.

Cons: It would be great to have even more MDM functionality, especially for Mac and mobile devices.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2020
Marty C.
Senior IT Security Operations Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2020

"Replace your old on-prem AD server with Jumpcloud"

Comments: Even without a global pandemic going on, our company is at least 60% remote. Solving the issues of users working remotely is what Jumpcloud specializes in. Cloud first was my philosophy when I began down this road, and JumpCloud definitely fits that model. No longer do you have to maintain on-prem servers and figure out how to securely allow remote access to them just so your users can log into their systems. JumpCloud handles all of that for you and frees you up to focus on more important issues. Its not "Active Directory in the cloud", but its close! What sets Jumpcloud apart from other solutions is their cross-platform support. Their support for MacOS is fantastic, and even linux workstations have some support!

Pros: Jumpcloud offers 10 users free, forever!

Cons: Without paid support, it can be difficult to adapt to using Jumpcloud if you're not familiar with Active Directory and Group Policies.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2020
Kenneth C.
Owner
Computer Networking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2020

"Time is NOW for DirectoryaaS"

Comments: I am able to centralize my authentication needs between many different systems which helps me stay secure.

Pros: The ability to move accounts and authentication into the cloud for customers with no directory services or limited services is a major win.

Cons: I at this time found nothing missing with the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2020
Bino A.
System Engineer
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2020

"Centralised and User Friendly"

Comments: It very nice and good to manage.

Pros: This is very user-friendly and easy to manage.

Cons: Limit's of integration with another applications.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2020
Spencer F.
CEO
Wholesale, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/10/2019

"Excellent Service Uptime"

Pros: Always available and easy to use interface

Cons: Installing on macs and Linux. Couldn’t find any walk threw a

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/10/2019
Chris F.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019

"Why use Active Directory when you're not using Windows?"

Pros: Our shop is entirely OSX based. But with Mac OSX Server getting sunset, we had to find a reasonable alternative. JumpCloud not only lets us manage our macs, it also opens up the possibility of using Linux servers (which we've already taken advantage of) and even Windows PCs down the road.

Cons: Linux support is currently limited to a few select distros, but hopefully that will widen in the near future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
Associate QA Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/08/2020

"Great tool for managing people and accounts"

Comments: Its a good solution for user management, makes work easier and provides good security solutions.

Pros: It provides a single point of login for several other applications, this facilitates the work and the password managing for every user. Also helps whenever you have to modify user rights or access. You can also configure multi factor authentication for better login security.

Cons: maybe the biggest con is that they don't have a mobile app, it may not be a dealbreaker depending on your needs, but its certainly a missing feature.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/08/2020
Kyler M.
Systems Analyst
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2018

"Good DaaS if you don't have Microsoft in your environment."

Pros: JumpCloud works very well with Apple products and has a lot of customization with popular/major applications on the market for authentication.

Cons: Not many bad things to say about JumpCloud. The software works as advertised and if there is any problems it is not hard to dig into and figure them out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2018
Nicholas P.
CTO
Telecommunications, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019

"Jumpcloud"

Pros: rich free tier,
constantly adding new features

Cons: Lack of opensuse support,
a bit expensive pricing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019
Pete C.
Director of Managed Services
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019

"Easy DaaS / iDP"

Pros: Very easy to use and implement. Clearly understandable console. Excellent documentation.

Cons: Whole Disk Encryption support and management is still only in early access and does not appear to have advanced much since the original announcement a year ago.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019
Ken J.
President
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2019

"On The Fence"

Comments: The sales process was smooth, we are under the free limit because we still have a number of questions. We have a number of end points we would like to use DaaS for but until we completely understand what the abilities are and how to segment the customers we are afraid to move forward. If we can find another option with better support we will move to that option.

Pros: The concept is great. Directory as a service is what is needed as I move customers to the cloud. Once I got over the initial installation and understanding of the install process we have been successful at setting up a handful of computers.

Cons: There is a lack of training. The staff is always too busy so the idea of support is sending the user to You Tube and saying watch this. After a few months I still do not have a clear understanding of what all I can do with the product. I have integrated O365 but I still do not fully understand how the password integration works. I have watched hours of video with some nice marker board pictures and have a ton of questions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
Compliance & Information Security Officer
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/06/2018

"I love JumpCloud - it's a very smart approach to directory services in a cloud first world"

Pros: JumpCloud provides the ability to be the core directory service, easily federate with other services and provides wealth of management capabilities in a cross-platform way.

Cons: Replacing a directory service is never an easy process, so there is some upfront investment in regards to implementation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/06/2018
Verified Reviewer
Support Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2018

"Tough To Manage - Effective at it's Job"

Pros: I love what jumpcloud does, it provides safety and security to our company. We really needed a way to gain control and make sure company property was protected. Having the single login to multiple services helps our employees, with only having to remember one password.

Cons: It's pretty tough to implement and control. We constantly run into issues with configuring users on new systems. Systems fall out of date and don't add/remove users as the should. It's a headache to fix. Employees consistently get locked out, as they have to set a new password every 90 days

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2018
Andre D.
Consultant/Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019

"Dumping the old and embracing the new!"

Comments: Overall JumpCloud has been wonderful. I was able to eliminate the costs of hosting a datacenter for my client and reduced their overall IT costs by 30% or more. This allowed them to use that savings to leverage other cloud based services to enhance their entire business model.

Pros: JumpCloud DaaS helped me move an organization from an expensive hosted AD environment to a cloud based one which provides much needed security and ease of use for my registered users. Its licensing scheme was cost effective, its inherent ability to migrate users onto the platform easily was great, and its administrative portal is very easy to use.

Cons: I haven't found any cons yet. The software runs very well. Whenever I did run into issues with the deployment or setup the help team was prompt and knowledgeable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
VP of Engineering
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2018

"Divorcing Microsoft Active Directory, married nibble SaaS and cloud simplicity"

Comments: Jumpcloud has helped me move the authoritative directory to the cloud, unify sign-on and simplify end-user password sprawl.

Pros: Jumpcloud is a great alternative to Microsoft Active Directory, I've rolled out JC at several firms and enjoyed the simple to use and easy to deploy, yet powerful service they provide. A big plus is that JC is designed to be OS agnostic, so I can deliver the security, management, and scripting I need to endpoints and servers while allowing end-users to choose their preferred OS.

Cons: not much to add here, it does what its supposed to do.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Second Line Technical Support
Insurance, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2020

"The next step in efficient IT. The Biggest change that no one will notice"

Comments: Really easy to roll out and implement. Weather you want go totally cloud with someone like Microsoft or Google, or you want to do all in-house or you want Hybrid, JumpClouds got you covered.
Migrating AD accounts and the Domain joined machines they were on was done in one simple swoop, using ProfWizz and the Jumpcloud agent, the transition was seamless (and almost effortless) and the enrolment seemed almost too good to be true. But, once you get used to using JumplCloud, the alternative is less appealing. Like stepping out of a Bentley, and going into a city bus. They will both get you there, but only one does it with flair, elegance and style.

Pros: Jumpcloud is the chameleon that becomes one with any setup you throw it into.
Faster, easier and more accurate(because there is less human interaction to make those mistakes) as well as being as secure as you need it to be. With SAML 2.0, SSO and and MFA, you would be hard pressed to find an alternative so rich in features and option AND in the same pricerange as JumpCloud.
Managing users and machines over the internet as if they were on the domain. Adding/removing users, deploying scripts and software. User Account Management has made the need for VPNs and other fafferies totally redundant. Jumplouds agent will do all the lifting. You just tell it what you need. Once the user or machine checks in, the instruction is automatically actioned.
In one word: Brilliant!

Cons: There was a times when a users account that locked out took more time and effort to resolve than would without JumpCloud. The alerting was also in need of review. Specifically, when a users account gets locked out, the process to get it unlocked could do with a tidy up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2020
Chris C.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019

"Everything I Need, Without the Aggravation of AD"

Comments: I have been very happy with JumpCloud. I used to run an ActiveDirectory system for the small amount of users I have, and AD is so old, clunky, and often overkill. This is a lightweight solution that can allow you to manage your organization with ease using users, groups, and policies. Setting up a user in another state is just a click away on the panel.

Pros: Very simple, quick package install that takes seconds. I love that the agent runs as service with a tiny footprint. You make changes using the web console, and they propagate down within a minute. Password syncing is not an issue. Just as if you were using AD, password syncing works fast. I loved how easy it was to setup RADIUS for wireless. I had it up and running within a couple of minutes. Agent installation on our machines was either done by a small installer, or in the case of Linux, a simple copy-and-paste command pasted into the terminal.

Cons: No mobile app yet. I am hoping this will change in the future so I can make changes without having to log into the browser.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019
Diana S.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019

"Great LDAP solutions for small businesses"

Comments: Small businesses that need to become more operational mature in handling their staff and managing users but maybe can't afford an on premise Windows server or want to keep everything in the cloud - this is where JumpCloud reigns supreme.

Pros: The price is probably number 1 thing i like! Free for under 10 users. A great way for me as an IT professional to help smaller businesses get onto a stable platform for properly managing their users and devices, with room to expand as their companies grow. Great integrations with other apps (we use Office365 for most clients). With JumpCloud a small company really doesn't need a Windows Active Directory server on premises any longer.

Cons: No customer service for the free licenses - I get why, but I don't have to like it. It would be less annoying if the knowledgebase was a bit streamlined better. Can be difficult to find How-To information. Usually the article is there but is not intuitive and easy to find.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019