15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

Dolphin Imaging Plus Reviews

About Dolphin Imaging Plus

Imaging software for managing patient pictures and X-rays that helps communicate treatment plans and ideas to patients.

Learn more about Dolphin Imaging Plus

Pros:

Treatment cards serve as personalized mini databases for each patient, recording all visits, treatment types, and dental hardware used. This helps track costs, and treatment duration for each patient.

Cons:

We've had tons of issues with Dolphin. Sometimes, Dolphin will simply stop working and require a reinstallation.

Dolphin Imaging Plus ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.5
Features
3.8
Value for Money
3.4

Likelihood to recommend

7.8/10

Dolphin Imaging Plus has an overall rating of 3.5 out 5 stars based on 15 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (15)

Sort by

Have you used Dolphin Imaging Plus before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (15)

erika
treatment coordinator in US
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Best customer service!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The support staff is always the person to call, to fix any problems, or concerns we have!

Pros:

I always get the best customer service, especially. He is always able to fix any concerns we have, and he if he can't he will make sure to send in a request for them to fix any bugs.

Cons:

When Orthotrac does an update, Dolphin doesnt work with them, so sometimes our systems will be off for a little bit.

Palvinder
Student - Othodontic Consultant
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very widely used in the dental/orthodintic industry.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Although costly, the usefulness of Dolphin Imaging and Management solutions allows the program to pay for itself.

Pros:

- Intuitive design, great interface once fully understood. - Treatment cards serve as personalized mini databases for each patient, recording all visits, treatment types, and dental hardware used. This helps track costs, and treatment duration for each patient. - Data can be accessed remotely from home, or from a different practice.

Cons:

Can be difficult to implement and use without costly training. The program itself is costly, and if located in Canada, trainers are most likely flown in from the USA which can add to the cost. It is best to get all employees on board at once, as the initial day (setup, assessment, travel) costs the most.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Dolphin has some of the worst customer support I've ever dealt with

2.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Dolphin sports a ton of features, and integrates fairly well with most practice management softwares. It's also pretty quick to use once you get past the learning curve.

Cons:

We've had tons of issues with Dolphin. Sometimes, Dolphin will simply stop working and require a reinstallation. Sometimes, Dolphin won't launch anywhere within a dental office and requires server reboots, or database integrity tools. Calls to support are painful, as the first tech you talk to never knows much about the program, and even if there's a ticket open it seems like you need to start at that square one each time.

Gretchen
Orthodontics Assistant in US
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Dolphin Imagine is great!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Easy use, very organized, you can show patients their before and after pictures of each view. The layout makes it so you can see each view of the patients mouth and facial shots.

Cons:

Sometimes the x rays come out a little blurry, but all you have to do is enhance them and they come out fine.

Taylor
Dental Assistant/ ortho practice coordinator
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Dolphin imagines

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It easy to use and the quality of he imaging system is great. There are so many different way to tweak the images.

Cons:

Sometimes it doesn’t work when the updates are installed. We don’t have the rights at work to be able to fix it so it takes time to call IT and have them fix the issue.

Andrew
DDS
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Support plan is ridiculous

1.0 7 years ago

Comments: I purchased the software to do one specific analysis. I installed it and didn't use it until the support expired. I cannot open it because of licensing issues. Dolphin want to charge more to get me back on support to "help me". What did I actually purchase? I then researched about Dolphin on Dentaltown and found many negative experiences with the company. I wish I researched more in depth before I wasted my money.

Pros:

The only pro is that I don't have to hand trace cephs and the program does the ceph analysis...what it is meant to do.

Cons:

The support fee is ridiculous. The software is already expensive, and the support fee is 1/3 the cost of the software.

Jazmin
Office Manager
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Dolphin Imaging is a very easy to use program

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Dolphin Imaging is a very easy to use program that allows you to access imaging even when in a different location.

Cons:

It took sometime to learn how to use this effectively, but once that was done this program was great

duane
Owner in US
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great product, excellent support

5.0 9 years ago

Pros:

ease of use, excellent quality, and good support. Innovative software for analyzing 3d images

Cons:

No complaints. I use this software for many years but changed because management software I use in my office offered a comparable program which integrated more seamlessly and was less expensive because it was part of a bundle.

Mazin
Dentist in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Terrible

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: I would not recommend this program to anyone.

Pros:

The program itself works well for what I need it for. It saves me time and helps to keep everything in one place.

Cons:

Very hard to deal with support. The problem gets resolved for a few days and then the same problem happens again. The Support is suppose to fix the problem and it is suppose to stay fixed. I'm very upset I paid so much money for a program that only works if the fix it on a weekly basis.

Jason
Instructor in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great integration abilities

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Made transferring photos a breeze

Pros:

The ability to link Dolphin Imaging with multiple different accounts, particularly bridging suresmile for easy transfer

Cons:

The layout feels a little outdated. Sometimes a little difficult to find the right buttons to click.

Jose
Supervisor in US
Medical Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Perdiodic use

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It’s extremely easy to use, easy to view X-rays or any images taken on a patient. Images are very clear.

Cons:

It may seem complicated at first time but makes sense after only a few minutes, it can take a long time to load.

Roni
Orthodonic Dental Assistant
Medical Practice, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Such an easy product to use.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Me and my orthodontic team use this product every day. It's very easy to use, and easy to learn when in a fast paced office.

Cons:

From time to time the product will have its glitches and won't allow us to use the software. This is very rare but happens.

Natasha
Medical Support Assistant in US
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Quality software

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

With a little bit of training this software is easy to use. It was capable of doing everything we needed it to do.

Cons:

Like most software and most medical stuff, this program is expensive.

Anka
Dentist in US
Medical Practice, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very difficult and program, complicate, with no reason. Ridiculous support. Non useful at all.

1.0 7 years ago

Comments: Don'#39;t by this program. There are many others cheaper and more convenient. I payed so much and now I must used. It was my stupid decision to buy it.
Many cepfalometric measurements, of course not serve at all.

Cons:

Program is expensive, customers (I am) are racketed by support. Not adequate guide documentation. Nothing is simple.

Jon
Surgical Planner in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Greedy Company with Subpar tech

1.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Not intuitive nor well designed. They will delight in your software no longer working after only a few months after purchase so that they can take advantage of charging you $2500 for five more minutes of support (no exaggeration).

Cons:

Hard to choose. Very few redeeming qualities besides the fact that it does the bare minimum of what you need it to.