15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Snyk

Snyk's Developer Security Platform puts security expertise in the toolbox of every developer.

Learn more about Snyk

Pros:

Snyk is easy to use, provides clear feeback, integrates well into GitHub.

Cons:

I look forward to more information on vulnerability resolution in the platform.

Snyk ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Snyk has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 17 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Snyk before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (17)

Colin
Colin
Senior Advisor in Norway
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best tool for addressing the concerns of using open source libraries.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: When I started using Snyk I found the reports useful but still too easy to ignore. So I added Snyk to build pipelines to fail builds that included high risk vulnerabilities. Snyk is now even better and warns me before I even merge my pull requests. In a world where the time from vulnerability being announced to exploit being used is decreasing rapidly it is crazy not to use a service like this. Snyk is by far the best tool I have found in this area

Pros:

Objective reports on vulnerabilities in code we produce GitHub Integration

Cons:

Having open source builds count towards your paid count if you are not careful

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A necessary and reliable companion in the fight for security

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Snyk is allowing us to make good use of the wealth of great open source software out there, without compromising on security.

Pros:

As a long time fan of open source software, keeping track of security issues amidst an ever growing software stack was increasingly an impossible task. I was so grateful to find a service like Snyk that does the hard work for me - keeping an eye on any security issues so I can focus on building great software!

Cons:

The pricing structure gets extremely expensive for medium to large companies, but thankfully for smaller organisations there is a free tier which covers our needs.

Konstantin
Konstantin
Head of Information Security in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good SCA

3.0 6 months ago

Pros:

Nice component analysis tool, great interface and dashboards. Very fast and easy deployment and use.

Cons:

SAST component is very weak and don’t support increment scanning.

Elmo
Senior Consultant in UK
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best vulnerability scanning tools around

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Have been using Snyk for around 1 year now and it's one of the tool which we can't avoid though it annoys us now and then by finding new vulnerabilities in our packages and forcing us to mitigate the risk. They provide details of the vulnerability and in most cases the version to fix it. It integrates very well with the build pipelines and other CI/CD tools along with a nice IntelliJ plugin.

Cons:

Sometimes the UI is confusing and access management is a bit vague.

Daniel
Daniel
Technical lead in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Security Sorted

5.0 last year

Comments: So far our company has adopted Snyk across our SDLC and incorporated it into our repos and pipelines and have enjoyed our experience with using Snyk so far.

Pros:

Snyk simplifies security. It can scan your for vulnerabilities during development or when your run a pipeline in azure dev ops. This raises issues before they make it to production so you have the comfort of knowing that new and existing packages have no known security vulnerabilities. I also really like the ability to one click fix issues within Synk where it can automatically fix the issue and create a PR within azure devops - this simplifies the process and saves time.

Cons:

Not all issues have a 1 click fix which is understandable.

Yonatan
Software engineer in Israel
Medical Devices, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Snyc guards open source

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Snyc guards our Node.js projects in our Medical applications

Pros:

Active scan for malicious software. Freeware model for small businesses with single project. Nice dashboard and nice CLI for SSH access.

Cons:

The cheapest paid plan should cost a bit less

Ashveen
IT Director in Ireland
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A must have for all node.js dev

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Has delivered value from the day I started using it. I hope you will enjoy it too.

Pros:

Concise reporting and the vulnerability scan is excellent regarding categorization of issues.

Cons:

Nothing really. It is excellent as it is.

Glenn
Sr Systems & Security Analyst in US
Research, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A good easy to use security tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We were looking to have a quick method of checking for vulnerabilities in open source, Snyc fir that bill perfectly. It was fast to set up and the cost was quite low. A great tool.

Pros:

I liked the easy of setting the tool up. I did not have to spend a lot of time configuring this tool.

Cons:

The user interface can be a bit short on details. When I go to use it, there are really just a few items that say "everything is fine".

Ross
IT Team Lead in Canada
Government Administration, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Works well

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Helpful tool that integrates seamlessly and works as advertised.

Pros:

Snyk is easy to use, provides clear feeback, integrates well into GitHub

Cons:

Doesn't always update its results the fastest

James
James
Co-Founder, Hakkiri in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Very useful tools

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: As a beta stage startup I appreciate the free offering and expect Snyk usage to grow with our business.

Pros:

Snyk was easy to setup and use. The weekly reports are a great way to regularly check in on overall package health. The alerts on new vulnerabilities are very useful and enable us to respond to important issues rapidly.

Cons:

No problems using the tool so far. I look forward to more information on vulnerability resolution in the platform.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Your security agent

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, the plugin is pretty handy to get started with but I would like to see smarter analysis.

Pros:

The automated repository analysis is pretty good and can be easy to plug into your PR (pull request) validator

Cons:

The security analysis is very primitive and often flags false positive which has to be fixed with manual override or skipping the PR validation check

Justin
Director of Global Project Management in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Convenience and piece of mind

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It took only seconds to set up, yet works for my projects every day. Knowing what my venerabilities are during the development phase allows the evaluation of the concern prior to code ever seeing production

Cons:

I wish it had a way to automatically inform the creators in the chain of dependencies so we as developers did not have to.

Matt
Developer in France
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great service

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Helps me keep on top of the dependent packages that my software relies on and motivates me to help in open source software with issue reporting or making PRs if I can.

Pros:

Informative email messages when vulnerabilities are found in dependencies. Very clear explanations. I also appreciate the email newsletters.

Cons:

So far nothing. It seems to fit my use-case really well.

David
COO in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

be the Snykiest

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: i enjoyed using snyk so not bad

Pros:

it gave me really useful code to add to mine in really creative ways I didn't think about before using it

Cons:

your barely get any suggestions till you start typing, i feel this takes a lot of creativity out. just my opinion

Shravya
QA in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Reviews on Snyk

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

We can identify security vulnerabilities during the development and fix them. Its easy to use, and the depth at which the scans are performed to find the vulnalerabities is great.

Cons:

Nothing as much, but the pricing is expensive.

Srinivas
UI Architect in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Must have for UI development

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Quick results for vulnerabilities scanning

Cons:

I did not like the user interface. You should provide some dashboard

Anthony C.
Front End Web Developer in Greece
Verified LinkedIn User
Online Media, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Testing Snyc

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It is fast at making the fixes it explains thing well

Cons:

that I don't understand if the changes will break my code