15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Acunetix

All-in-one security solution that scans your website, detects vulnerabilities and offers remediation, in three steps: Find-Fix-Prevent.

Learn more about Acunetix

Pros:

It provides reports for developers for developing options and reports can be generated according to the required compliance standard like.

Cons:

Take out the manual tools from the acunetix web has been an error.

Acunetix ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

Acunetix has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 34 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Acunetix before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (34)

Will
Will
Head of IT Operations & Support in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A well priced, cloud based vulnerability scanner

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I can schedule daily, weekly or monthly scans of targets which checks for vulnerabilities in our cloud infrastructure from one control panel. The ability to send different types of reports to various parties, for example a 'Board level' report or 'Developer' report is handy for tailoring content to the audience.

Cons:

It perhaps could be improved by adding a section for commenting on how a vulnerability was fixed and a link to a relevant URL to confirm this. Pricing is good for a small amount of targets, but quickly becomes expensive for multiple target locations.

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Simple, but very powerful web vunlerability scanner

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Good thing for a web application pentesting, can give You insight of a present vulnerabilities. Would recommend using in tandem with infrastructure scanner (like Nessus) to create a complete testing solution. Also presence of continous scanning and scheduler could be used for a regular security assesment of Your web applications.

Pros:

Ease of use, good customer support, very insightful reports (especially Developer raport), good vulnerability management. Also continous scanning option is an interesting thing for having continous security awareness of Your vulnerability level. Also login sequence recorder is an awesome tool.

Cons:

Not a lot of scan options to configure - especially in comparison to Nessus - every check is done in default, You can't choose specifically which test is done in selected scan, only the type of scan (full, high-risk vulnerabilities, xss, sqli, weak passwords, crawl only ) or technology in which the scanned web app is written.

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback ¿ we¿re glad that Acuneix is working for you. Regarding your comment about choosing what to scan for ¿ you can already do this in Acunetix, although the feature is slightly hidden away in Settings > Scan Types. Here you can create your own custom Scan Types, and you will be able to choose which vulnerabilities to check for. When creating a new custom Scan Type, you can filter the vulnerability checks from the top right hand corner of the page. Remember that you can also easily retest for a specific vulnerability identified in a previous scan.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ok tool, but fix your business model and add more settings to the interface

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Continuation of the cons section (number of chars was limited). * Settings are sometimes unclear, an info icon with a popup would be nice. Example 1: In the "Site Structure" of a scan it is possible to press "exclude", does it exlude the path from futre scans? If so why don't I see anything in the target settings? Or does "exlude" exclude vulnerabilities from the report? BTW after pressing exlude I'm not able to "include" it again.

Example 2: "scan speed", how many threads per setting are we talking about?
* Would definitly like to get some more feedback from scans directly in the interface, what is it doing, why did it fail, did all the "allowed hosts" got scanned etc. I know you can debug a target, but this is not what I mean.

Pros:

* The number of checks that take place. * The quality of the issues found. * After years it is finally possible to pause a scan, hallelujah.

Cons:

* As a pentester I absolutely miss a more flexible way to configure settings like it was possible in v10. The interface is built as "point a shoot", idiot proof. Currently, If I want to configure things I need to change xml config files on the server and reload acunetix... * After the release of v12 we were called by a sales agent as we suddently couldn't add targets anymore. The license model suddenly changed completely. The entire business model is now based on scanning an applications continuously over the year. However, as a pentesting business for we mostly scan apps just 1 time for our security assessments. It absolutely makes no sense to apply the same costs! Just like Netsparker, acunetix should have plans for pentesters and consultants. * Scanning an app that spans multiple domains always results in problems. Currently you have the "Allowed hosts" settings which is crappy in setting up. I need to set all (sub) domains to a different target. And ofcourse with the current business model you are charged per target, lol.

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your honest feedback: As you rightly say, we try to keep an easy to use interface, with the intention of automatically detecting the best way to scan the site. There are some settings which are not used by most of our customers, and which can be manually tweaked from the settings file. I think you might have missed the little help icon at the top right corner of the Acunetix interface. When clicked, this provides help on the settings loaded in the current page. But to answer your queries: Example 1 - When you Exclude a path from the Site Structure, the exclusion will be stored with the Target, and will affect subsequent scans. You can delete the exclusion from the Target settings. Example 2: this is explained on our website at https://www.acunetix.com/blog/docs/configure-scan-speed-acunetix/. I have forwarded your comment about the scan feedback to the product team. Regarding licensing, I would suggest that you get in touch with our sales team, who can work

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to setup, nice results

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: As a scanner it is quite good, relevant and well described findings, so far no false positives. Following an initial trial and PoC with couple of competitors, Acunetix had the best features, most suitable licensing model, good support, so we purchased a three year license. However, at some point, it all changed. The license became based on other criteria, the testing and verification tools were removed, there is no support or way of reverting to a previous version, after you realise that the changes introduced and making the software unusable or insufficient. Overall, unless there are guarantees that it won't happen again, I will be very reluctant to renew.

Pros:

Very easy to setup initially, running scans quite fast, good crawler, very nice and understandable results.

Cons:

The license model changed somehow in the middle of the three years, so it became impossible to continue to use it as planned without paying much more. Tools were removed.

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback. You can download the free Acunetix Manual Pentesting Tools from https://www.acunetix.com/vulnerability-scanner/free-manual-pen-testing-tools/. You can copy the Request done by Acunetix from the Vulnerability details, and use this in the Acuneix Manual Tools

Kai
CISO in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Acunetix always gives me a very good first impression

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

We are using Acunetix now for more than 5 years. It is very easy to create new targets and quickly start automatic scans. The AcuSensor often gives me a good hint where I should take a closer look manually. Our management likes the well structured reports.

Cons:

If a web application is very complex, the scanner sometimes does not really manage to find its path through the process. Since the application changed to the web gui, it is more complicated to specify pre-recorded login sequence. The user has to log into the server, where Acunetix is hostet and start a different application to record the sequence.

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are planning on integrating the Acunetix Login Sequence Recorder in the Acunetix web UI. This will make it easier to record login sequences moving forward. If all goes well, we will have this feature in place by the end of Q3 / beginning Q4 this year.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I've been using Acunetix for 5 years already, and it's getting worst instead of getting better..

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

- easy to use - friendly UI - easy to read reports - the support is all right - price used to be a pro

Cons:

- they removed a lot of functionality in the last 2 years (starting with version 10): you are not able to crawl and scan only some of the parts of the website, based on the crawling made, you were not able to pause the scan (they re-introduced that in v12), not able to see the reply from the server for found vulnerabilities, in order to confirm them, it's not properly working for some login pages, it's not properly working on big websites, webshops, etc (the crawling takes ages!)

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback. Most of the features that you are missing have been re-introduced in newer updates. You can now select to exclude parts of a site using the Site Structure identified in a previous scan. As you rightly say, you can Pause scans in the latest version of Acunetix. You can also change the Target Settings and resume the scan with the new settings. Response headers have also been re-introduced recently. We would appreciate if you can provide more details on the issues with the Login of some sites and larger sites. Please send this info to our support team at [email protected]

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great audit tool

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: after using the tool for several years I can say that it is one of the best web vulnerability scaners on the market

Pros:

Faster analysis, low false positives and intuitive interface

Cons:

Take out the manual tools from the acunetix web has been an error.

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback. You can download the free Acunetix Manual Pentesting Tools from https://www.acunetix.com/vulnerability-scanner/free-manual-pen-testing-tools/. You can copy the Request done by Acunetix from the Vulnerability details, and use this in the Acuneix Manual Tools

Andreas
Systems Engineer in Cyprus
Telecommunications, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Automated Web Vulnerability Scanning with Acunetix

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I use Acunetix to scan our Websites and web applications, usually on the test machines, in order to spot vulnerabilities before moving things to production. The nice thing with Acunetix is that you can schedule automated scans, daily, weekly or monthly, so you can just check the reports with the affected items.

Pros:

I have been using the On Premises version for a few years now. Acunetix is really easy to use with a very user-friendly web portal to manage the targets, scans, reports, settings, etc. I really like the reports, after every scan, from which you can easily spot the important and high risk vulnerabilities, with recommendations on how to fix each issue.

Cons:

nothing, everything is perfect! the only catch is the price change, but I believe it's worth it.

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for an excellent review. We are really happy Acunetix is working out for you

Gianni
CEO in Malta
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

excellent quality!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We worked very well with Acunetix in the last years, we look forward to go on this way

Pros:

an intuitive, efficient, affordable application

Cons:

customer support is quite slow to answer; network scan has been removed, it was a useful function; price increase didn't make us happier

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback. Network Scans are still available with Acunetix Online. We will work on improving our Support.

Mohit
Mohit
Cyber Security Researcher in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Vulnetability scanner

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Cool tool and deserves to get tried once.

Pros:

- No doubt, easy to setup - Easy to manage vulnerabilities - Network level scanning is cool - Good for Blackbox testing

Cons:

- I believe post authentication scripts need improvement as it still throws duplicates and few bugs are duplicates the accuracy rate is quite high but still need improvement in existing scripts. - Needs more modern vulnerabilities detection it might got lots of vulnerabilities in the existing database and its good but not sufficient.

Invicti Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your feedback. We will look into improving our vulnerability detection.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for developers for self evaluation

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I have been using acunetix web vulnerability scanner since last 2 years as I develop Web apps and Websites in my professional career so I like to test it by myself for the vulnerabilities. It gives me scope for improvement in my programming skills. As it gives the developer report as a part of the report its very indepth report and very useful for me to develop secure web apps I really like the web interface they have provided It reduces the dependancy of a device to carry. really good.

Cons:

There is nothing so far to dislike this software. As my needs are getting fulfilled by the available functionalities. Looking forward to new updates.

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback

Brittane
Quality Assurance Analyst in Jamaica
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Most user friendly vulnerability scanner i've used

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Acunetix user experience (UX) is one of the best i've encountered. The dashboard feature is very useful for technically inclined and non-technically inclined users. The user interface is appealing and you can find all your statistics on the dashboard. You don't have to look very far to see a summary report of previous or current scans. The dashboard can show you an app's vulnerabilities based on severity by colour coding severities. You can also generate easy to read reports with a click of a button based on the type of report you want.

Cons:

The only con I found in this software is lack of support. The response time of the customer service team is poor. I waited weeks to get a response from the team and even then, the back and forth was not helpful as I was not able to get help fast enough.

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Acunetix. We are glad you like our new dashboard. We will look at improving our support process.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Web assessment tool

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Acunetix is quite a strong tool for web assessments even though it did not support other types of assessments. Both on prem and cloud scanners are available. Less false positives compared to other tools and price is a bit expensive. Lots of options available to download reports. Overall its a good tool for web assessment.

Pros:

User-friendly simple graphical interface with point and shoot approach makes the assessment conducting easy even for non-technical people. Provide detailed vulnerability assessment reports with testing examples. It provides reports for developers for developing options and reports can be generated according to the required compliance standard like

Cons:

Acunetix doesn’t provide comprehensive CSV format downloads. Provided CSV files format needs to improve. Accunetix currently supports only web assessment. It can.not be used as all in one tool. Recently they have changed their licensing method and price is quite expensive compared to other tools.

Malkit
Security Consultant in India
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall Review of Acunetix

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: This is the best and easiest tool to Scanning for Penetration testing

Pros:

Ease of use Features and Functionalities

Cons:

Scanning time Concurrent Scans Pricing and license timing

Invicti Response

5 years ago

Many thanks for your feedback

Alvaro
Security Analyst in Spain
Wireless, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing Pentesting tool

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It is a very fast and stable tool, Acunetix allows you to perform a security audit in an easy and intuitive way.

Cons:

Does not allow to audit webservice in the latest version

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback. In the most recent versions, the auditing of a web service has been integrated in the scanner. You can just create a normal scan for the web service, and Acunetix will proceed with scanning it as it used to do before.

Tobias
IT Security Analyst in Germany
Government Administration, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quick and easy to use

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Very positive, support top. Software perfect for a quick, general overview of the web application security.

Pros:

Quick setup, with a wide range of tests.

Cons:

The built in login broweser, as it is outdated and does not support technology like index.db etc.

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are currently working on a new version of the Login Sequence Recorder which will be able to support a large number of new technologies

Jacek
Security Engineer in Poland
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool supporting secure SDLC process

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

+ Ease of use + Point&shoot approach allowing for quick validation of target's overal security + Support for various login mechanisms (including OAuth/SSO) + Great as part of SDL process

Cons:

- Scans might sometimes be slow when run over the internet

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you are satisfied with the product.

Darshana
Darshana
SOC Analyst in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Delivers what it promises | Automated Web Security Scanning

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Modular and complete application level testing of agreed upon domains is usually done with ease and reports are generated with rich content.

Pros:

With self-explanatory reports, the assessment procedure is easy to setup and configure. Prioritization and classification help resolve issues that are vital to the organization.

Cons:

Since a comprehensive scan takes place with advanced crawling and authentication capabilities, the process might take a bit longer than expected, which is nothing in comparison to the information rendered.

Invicti Response

5 years ago

Thank you for submitting your review of Acunetix on Capterra, we appreciate your time and are glad to hear we are of service to your business. Regards Acunetix Team

Tejas
Tejas
Associate Security Consultant in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good web application vulnerability scanner but not recommended.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This is a good tool for performing web application scan vulnerability assessment. It’s as automated tool which supports application scan provided the URL of applications. It can give compliance reports including PCI DSS, HIPPAA, OWASP TOP 10 etc. Acunetix can do credential based scan for web applications.

Cons:

Al tough its good tool, from the past experiences of using it, Sometimes acunetic automatically logs out of session while performing the test. Also, acuneix could provide many false positives, as result have to cross check manually about the details of the scan results.

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your candid feedback. During an automated scan, Acunetix will make a lot of requests, some of which will invalidate the session. Acunetix is able to automatically detect this and will login to the web application to continue scanning the restricted area. As regards false positives, we would be very interested in getting to know about these. Would you be able to forward samples to our team at [email protected]?

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Scanning made Simplified

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Acunetix has a variety of network vulnerability scanning methods called "tests" which can be easily configures with a quick setup. Also, the GUI is very pleasant and user friendly plus you don't have to be an expert on the subject matter to use this.

Cons:

Does not support Active Directory and static review process. And scan time is highly dependent on your down-link.

Invicti Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your feedback

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Accunetix in Education

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Dynamic Application Security Testing.

Pros:

Ease of use and cost makes this product's RIO right on the money.

Cons:

LAck of AD support, and static review process.

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedbcak

Jord
Systems Administrator in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Acunetix Review

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The network and web vulnerability scanning.

Cons:

Better scheduling for scans e.g. happen on the first Monday of each month

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback

Alejandro
ISO in Colombia
Media Production, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Acunetix Vulnerability Scanner

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: In general Acunetix is part of the security strategy in order to test all our applications before being promoted to Production

Pros:

With the Vulnerability Scanner the company had audit almost every site and web application, detecting every vulnerability and planning how to fix it. This had help to keep safe all the information managed on the web applicantions.

Cons:

One of the issues with Acunetix has been the price. It had incremented more that we expected.

Invicti Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your review of Acunetix.

Jerry
President in US
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product but grossly over priced for small businesses

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use. Easy reporting. In depth penetration tests.

Cons:

The price has increased incredibly which is pricing my customers out of this product.

Jesper
Jesper
Section Manager R&D in Denmark
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Too many issues not found

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Acunetix helped us get going with security scans. In the end, the lack of support for certain attacks made us change.

Pros:

Very easy to use, nice GUI and reports...

Cons:

Too many issues were not discovered by Acunetix, and subsequently found by customers wielding different tools.

Invicti Response

6 years ago

Sorry to see you go