15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

Adobe Acrobat Reader Reviews

4.6 (10,314) Write a Review!

About Adobe Acrobat Reader

Adobe Acrobat Reader is a cloud-based PDF viewer that enables users to read, print, search, and annotate PDF documents.

Learn more about Adobe Acrobat Reader

Pros:

First of all the software is easy to use. Customer friendly and easy to understand.

Cons:

The only downside to it is its premium pricing. Compare to WPS office, its abit on the high end as far as subscriptions are concerned.

Adobe Acrobat Reader ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Adobe Acrobat Reader has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 10,314 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Adobe Acrobat Reader before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (10,314)

Themis
Themis
Digital Marketing Specialist in Greece
Verified LinkedIn User
Furniture, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very helpful software

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: It is a must have software for anyone, it has a lot of features for every bussines.

Pros:

I can convert files from and to pdf very easily and without losing quality

Cons:

It wasnt very easy to make an action for a lot of documents but now learned it and will not need that for a lot of time.

Jennifer
Billing Department in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe the “PDF” master

5.0 5 days ago New

Comments: Love adobe it is my go to PDF transform/docs signing program . I not only
Use for work but also for my small business and personal use

Pros:

Essy to work through docs , PDF transformation is easy , signatures all in one place .

Cons:

Editing docs is a little more difficult and can easily become a mess

Candace
Assistant in US
Fishery, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good not hard to use

3.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

It's good to have to only open an file but it's hard to use.

Cons:

Extremely hard to use and it makes you pay for everything you do on it. Customer service well it's NOT good at helping you.

Frank
Facilities Manager in Canada
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Subscription version is much better

5.0 last month New

Comments: now that we have a full subscription version everything I do is much more straight forward. I can do all of my editing in one program.

Pros:

it is easy to use without too much training for employees.

Cons:

The free version was too limited for our needs.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe strength

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I will continue use it because of its simplisity and time benefit

Pros:

Easy to use, quick signature and less costfull

Cons:

Some features are limited to use because they need you to buy them

simon
Manager in UK
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best e-Sig Software around

5.0 2 days ago New

Comments: great software, trusted to do the job, all staff trained very quickly in how to use it, customers have had no issues adding there signatures so all round great software.

Pros:

The features, adobe seemed to have everything in the package which we needed including security and e-sig which is essential for us

Cons:

the pop ups and constant reminder to upgrade all the time

Marian
IT Technician in Germany
Industrial Automation, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe Acrobat Reader

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: For open and managing PDF files Acrobat Reader is the wright tool for it. Everything word great and is really fast.

Pros:

When it comes to PDF files Adobe Acrobat Reader is the best app to use. PDF files are open instantly, it has a nice user interface and is easy to use. In case if you need something signed Acrobat Reader is the best tool for you. Also, a nice feature that i really like is the sharing option.

Cons:

No cons for Adobe Acrobat Reader, does everything it says and really good.

George
Manager in UK
Human Resources, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe Acrobat Reader

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Adobe Acrobat Reader is the best on his category, i have installed the app on every PC i am working on and my smartphones.

Pros:

When it comes to document management Adobe Acrobat Reader is the only app i use. This app opens the documents really fast and is easy to use. The signature feature saves you a lot of time with printing, signing, scan and send back.

Cons:

The goodies are on the pro version and had some crashes on PC, very rarely but happened.

Andreea
Teacher in Romania
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe for documents

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Adobe reader is the best app for managing PDF files. Nothing works better when is come to PDF.

Pros:

I use Adobe Reader for managing, read and many more when it comes to documents. Installing the app is easy and fast, opening the docs is fast without any issues.

Cons:

Nothing worth mentioning for Adobe Reader.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

most useful software Adobe Acrobat Reader

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

its ability to maintain the formatting and layout of PDF files, ensuring that documents look the same on any device.

Cons:

prompted to make Adobe Acrobat Reader their default PDF viewer, even if I prefer to use another program.

Nadia
Entrepreneur in Switzerland
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy viewing of PDFs, and enough functionality to manage

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Acrobat Reader has always allowed me to quickly and securely open and read PDFs. It's a daily necessity, and I truly appreciate that I've never encountered security breeches, technical issues or anything else of the sort while using it. It's reliable, well made and durable as a tool. I have sometimes used the paid plan which is also very valuable -- it has allowed me to edit PDFs to personalize them or sign documents and return them.

Pros:

Acrobat Reader is a useful PDF reader, and I've relied on it to securely open PDFs that contain sensitive information. It's also incredibly useful to edit a PDF, but for that you do need to upgrade to a paid version. It's a functional, appealing interface to navigate PDFs, and it's generally pretty intuitive to use.

Cons:

While overall easy to use, I don't always easily find the functionalities I'm looking for. Sometimes I have to click around for quite a while to locate the tool I need. I also wish that the editing option was available in the free plan! I think a basic editing tool could be included in the free plan while other more advanced options could stay in the paid plan.

Stuart
Owner in US
Insurance, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent for managing pdf files

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall a very good product. Once you figure out how to use the features it is relatively simple to use. I would recommend.

Pros:

This pretty much does it all. You can combine files from different formats into a pdf. You can secure te file both from opening and/or editing. You can also send for electronic signature which eliminates the need to another electronic signature product.

Cons:

When to chat for assistance, they don't actually help you directly. Instead they send you to online help resources to read or watch and figure out for yourself.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe Reader - A good PDF reader

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Adobe Reader currently does not meet my needs anymore, as it only provides simple tools. A long time ago I used the software only for viewing documents, but over time and the need to manipulate PDF documents forced me to abandon Adobe Reader, and use another PDF reader. Its lack of more useful tools made the software suitable for basic users.

Pros:

Adobe Reader DC is a reasonable software for manipulating PDF files, with few tools available in the free version. In order to have access to more premium tools, it is necessary to subscribe to the paid versions, so we can access the conversion tools for other formats such as Word, Excel and Jpeg, gather documents, edit texts, protect and sign documents. The program is lightweight and runs smoothly on more modest machines such as dual core processors with 2GB of RAM. In general, the software is only usable for more domestic users in its simple version, and it is not possible to run more professional tools. The observed positive points are: - Lightness, as it can run on machines with few hardware resources; - Simplicity of use for home users, who only need to view documents.

Cons:

The absence of better tools becomes a major negative point. In many cases, where we want to make a simple note is not possible, just using the highlighter is not enough, joining files is also not possible, so the software for me has become obsolete. The big negative point is: - Absence of more complete tools, not suitable for more advanced users;

Bhushan
Marketing Communication Manager in India
Chemicals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

King of all PDF readers

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: One of the best and Top PDF readers in current date, opens and read all types of portable document formats.best for digital asset management, stores many types of content which include text, images, diagrams, maps secure documents, digital signatures etc.

Pros:

All types of PDF files can be read without any issue, open most of the PDF formats.One of the trustworthy tool for documents

Cons:

Sometimes it gets hung or shows bug while opening high size files

Joaquin
Web Design & Developer in Venezuela
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Free, effective and in continuous improvement

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: A considerable saving of money, for a limited budget.
Do not worry about operating systems and compatibility.
Files are distributed and shared easily and quickly.
In the future, adopting a more complete workflow based on PDF will be easier and more convenient.

Pros:

Acrobat Reader has always been a software that has aroused mixed feelings among users: performance, usabilitity and capabilities. Adobe knows this and, although not in a hurry, has been implementing improvements. In the case of Reader DC, definitely, the main improvement has been the user interface, where a nice dark gray predominates that does not strain your eyes and allows you to focus your attention on the document (at least in the latest version for Windows 7). The overall performance of the application has also improved (loading speed and opening documents), at least in the most common and simple tasks. However, it should not surprise anyone that in handling large documents or more complex tasks, this is not noticeable. Total integration with the Adobe Cloud system, which will allow you to have your files wherever you are and to share them with third parties. Despite the great improvements that other similar programs have had, if security and maximum compatibility with the PDF format are important to you, Reader DC should be your first choice. The handling of digital signatures is simple and robust and workflow of documents is almost a standard already.

Cons:

You can not edit documents in the free version. Although the cost of subscriptions has become more accessible, the advanced options are still paid (it should not surprise anyone), but each day that passes is worth paying for them. While it is true that they have advanced with the user interface, it seems that with the usability of it not so much. Many tasks are carried out in an unintuitive way, and with the inclusion of new functionalities this problem tends to grow.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Valuable software at work

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have been using this software since i start my career and this helped my life easier when dealing with documentations, form filling, merging and resizing. i would recommend this software to all my friends as this would help them as well.

Pros:

Adobe Acrobat Reader is a very useful and important software for my company and the work that i do regularly. It enables me to display messages and pictures in PDF arrange, a standout amongst the most utilized organizations around the world. In my work is essential to deal with PDF reports, as it is a genuinely decent organization for the introduction of writings, research, and aftereffects of every one of the site investigations we do, our directors dependably ask for data in this sort of configuration. This product changes impeccably to my pace of work, PDF documents are very minimal, don't involve much space on the pc, are simple enough to peruse, and can be secured so other individuals outside my work setting don't duplicate or take the data. this software has the choice to add security to the records, you can hinder the duplicating of the pdf content and you can confirm the report.

Cons:

One of the huge issues I have with this product is that it is exceptionally confounded to edit writings. Perhaps you can add some substance to some PDF, yet when you need to include expansive squares of content it turns out to be extremely entangled, and there are other programming that show improvement over PDF records. we can't use it for free and resizing will also be very complecated. but overall it's a good app that will help in all the way specially for a documentation specialist.

Samridh
Samridh
Electrical Engineer II in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best PDF Reader all around

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall this is a wonderful product which has everything a daily basic user needs to read a pdf file. Thouhg there are other pdf readers out there, I would recommend this as a first option to anyone.

Pros:

Acrobat reader is one of the most used pdf reader in the industry. Adobe is a great company and their product is of top tier. Best feature is that you can get the acrobat reader for free and start reading pdf documents at once. It is very easy to use and I can zoom in and out at ease without compromising the quality of the text and readability. Though we do not have the full version I can still highlight texts and comment on different sections of the document and share that with my colleagues. Acrobat reader. I have used the premium version a few times and that is jam packed with a lot more features. If one can spend money on license premium version gives access to editing the pdf, converting to pdf, merging and splitting the documents and so on. premium version also can take a pdf document that does not have a recognizable text and analyze and convert it to one. Not many people know about this feature but it super nice when one is dealing with scanned documents. Acrobat reader is also available on app platform and hence once can access documents on phone or tablet as well.

Cons:

The biggest feature I do not like about acrobat on the free version is that I cannot re save the document on top of the old one and overwrite it. I always have to save it as a new filename and go back the delete the old copy. It is a small price to pay for the features but it does become annoying. Besides that in the premium version acrobat reader does not have the option to compress files so the size can be decreased. It becomes an issue when there are too many graphical images on the file and it becomes too big to email and share among peers.

Alicia
Alicia
Graphic Designer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Premier program for PDFs

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: For my team, this is now a necessary program. Purchasing single software licenses for this product has been worth it for multiple members of my team who previously used the free reader. I can't see us not using this product for years to come due to all the capabilities it has.

Pros:

This software enables me to do more with PDFs. It is a time saver to be able to combine documents, add new pages, edit page content, remove pages, etc. One of my favorite things is the 'compare documents' feature, which allows the user to compare two documents and it highlights each and every change (whether it is formatting, or if content is moved/added/removed). The preflight panel is also key, which allows the user to make sure the document is set for printing and sending, along with decreasing file size. The premier feature is the comment option, where multiple users can add sticky notes - great for editing requests or having a conversion with another about the document. Creating a form is also highly useful.

Cons:

Sometimes there are issues editing the document due to corrupted fonts, which can be solved through the preflight panel, but can be troublesome when more than one person is working on a document at a time. I also do not like that they removed the standard 'signature' form feature (you must use Adobe Sign now).

Isaac
Isaac
Assistant Accountant in Zimbabwe
Verified LinkedIn User
Tobacco, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great too for daily use

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Acrobat Reader DC allows me to convert any Word or Excel document into a read only portable format compatible with any operating system. For instance, I can send important external documents like CVs, customer statements, contracts etc in a non editable format. I have also used Acrobat Reader DC when doing supplier and customer reconciliations where I just use the highlight function to mark those statement items I've reconciled already.
Each time I get a new device - phone or PC, I ensure that Acrobat Reader DC is one of the first applications I install since its a handy tool for my day to day tasks.
I also use the read out loud tool to listen to motivational and financial wellness books when I am busy with other things and can not engage in reading

Pros:

Adobe Acrobat Reader DC is a universal tool compatible with any operating system, be it Windows, Apple or Android. So, if you use these you will not have worries regarding formats etc as you can just open the document on any of the devices. You can also edit, comment and insert signatures. It allows you to open various documents organised across tabs which you can navigate across. When Acrobat Reader DC closes unexpectedly, it prompts you to restore your previous session with all tabs the next time you open the application. It also shows you recently opened files for easy access. The Read Out Loud functionality allows users to listen to audio instead of reading which is helpful when reading long text like a book or for people with hearing disabilities. Document Cloud allows Acrobat Reader DC to integrate online and solve storage, mobility and logistics problems. You can also collaborate with other users through the cloud and document share tool. In addition, you can combine files and compress for ease of operating.

Cons:

To enjoy full features, one should have subscribed to the level of the features they want. So, for instance, if you are using the free version, you get limited functionality e.g. editing PDF documents is not available in free version. Also, if a PDF document was created by the free version, one can easily import it to Microsoft Word and edit then convert back to PDF.

Charlotte
Digital Marketing Coordinator in Canada
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

INCREDIBLE product if you have the license

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall experience using Adobe Acrobat Reader DC is great, as long as I have the license.
I find myself very frustrated when I need to edit or change the orientation of a PDF file and find that my license has expired or I need to renew my account.
My overall opinion is to purchase this product when it's a part of a bundle of other software. I have the Creative Cloud package that includes plenty of design, photography and videography editing software.

Pros:

This software is not only easy to use, but the number of options you have are almost endless. I love this software specifically for editing ability on PDFs. If you are stuck with only a PDF file, you are able to convert to a Word document, a JPEG or PNG image, even an Excel file. But not only that, you are able to access and fill Forms and Certificates, Share files for comparing, stamping or comments, and even customize PDFs. This software is absolutely amazing for anyone who finds themselves creating documents, PDFs, or forms for their business and want the capability to change anything even after it's saved. You don't realize how much you really love this product until you need to edit a PDF, convert a PDF into another file or simply combine multiple PDF pages together. Many online free tools that do this don't work to the same extent as Adobe.

Cons:

The biggest con regarding this software is the price and license required to use it. If you don't pay for this specific software or a package that involves it, then you are unable to use any of the features. Most of the features available on this software are really beneficial for anyone in business to use. You are able to sign documents, auto-fill, combine PDFs, edit and change PDFs, compare files, send them for comments and so much more. These options are very important for all aspects of business, and it can become very irritating when you lose the license or don't have it. I haven't found any similar product for free or less money.

Hicham
Freelancer in Morocco
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly of Adobe Acrobat Reader

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Using the software package Adobe Acrobat Reader, you may view and print PDF files. It's available as a free download from Adobe's website. However, there are some cons to using this software. One con is that it's not always accurate when converting PDFs to other formats. This can be frustrating if you're trying to edit a PDF or convert it to another format for printing. Another con is that Adobe Acrobat Reader can be slow to load, especially on older computers. And finally, the software isn't always compatible with all browsers and operating systems. So if you're using an older version of Windows or a non-mainstream browser, you may have trouble viewing PDFs in Adobe Acrobat Reader. One pro about the program is that you can annotate PDFs with your own notes, which is helpful for saving time and organization. The ability to collaborate on PDFs makes this a great tool for teams.
Overall, I would recommend Adobe Acrobat Reader if you need a way to read or print documents without having them formatted specifically for your computer's operating system. You just need to make sure your computer has enough memory before downloading it, so it doesn't run too slowly while loading.

Pros:

When it comes to reading PDF files, Adobe Acrobat Reader is the industry standard by which all other PDF readers are judged, whether they like it or not. It has been around since 1993 and has gone through many changes over that time as PDF documents have become more and more ubiquitous. This article will compare the good, the bad, and the ugly of Adobe Acrobat Reader and cover why it’s so widely used by professionals of all kinds, what some of its flaws are, and how you can do the same things with open source software while spending considerably less money. Adobe Acrobat Reader is a widely used program for viewing PDF documents. It's free to download and use, and it's available for Windows, Mac, and Linux. The program is also relatively lightweight and doesn't take up much space on your hard drive. Plus, it integrates well with other Adobe products like Photoshop and Illustrator. And when you open a PDF file in Acrobat Reader, you can view an interactive table of contents, which makes it easy to find what you're looking for. On top of that, if you want to print or annotate the document while reading it, Acrobat has those features built-in as well. You can highlight text or draw shapes around certain words to mark them as important or call attention to them.

Cons:

Adobe Acrobat Reader is a widely used program for viewing PDF files. However, there are some drawbacks to using this program. First, Adobe Acrobat Reader is a proprietary program, which means it is not free software. This can be a barrier to entry for some users. Second, Adobe Acrobat Reader is not as customizable as some other PDF viewers. For example, you cannot change the default font size or color scheme. Third, Adobe Acrobat Reader can be slow to start up and load PDF files. Fourth, the program has been known to crash or freeze occasionally. Fifth, Adobe Acrobat Reader's interface can be confusing for some users. Sixth, the program does not support all PDF features equally well. Finally, Adobe Acrobat Reader is not available for mobile devices. All in all, Adobe Acrobat Reader has both good and bad qualities. It is one of the most popular programs for viewing PDFs, but it also contains some frustrating aspects that may make it unsuitable for certain users.

David
Art Director in US
Printing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid PDF Work Flow Tool

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, I feel that Acrobat Reader is a good tool especially for those that don't need to do much with PDFs other than read or store them. If you need to do any editing, you will be disappointed. The full blown version of Acrobat is your solution then. It is not perfect either, but it will allow you to better function in a world that uses PDFs more everyday.

Pros:

Being both a graphic designer and working on the sales and logistics side of my company, I use Acrobat all day for a variety of purposes. I am constantly working with PDFs from artwork to sales proposals, to freight quotes to internal company documents. Acrobat Reader lets communicate in the basic language of grahpic design and business communciatoin which is the PDF. It lets me email critical information contained in electronic files so I can distribute them to customers, suppliers or team members or so I can file them just for my own record keeping.

Cons:

I do have some issues with the editing features/tools found in Acrobat Reader so I use the full version of Acrobat more regularly. I do wish the Adobe formatted Acrobat to function and appear more like both Illustrator and InDesign. This is not a major flaw as most people don't have the familiarity with those programs as I do. I just find that Adobe should try to make its products more similar than they do at this time so you don't seem to move out of the Adobe world when moving between their graphic design apps.

Muhsina
Online Tutor and Communicative English Trainer in India
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent for Official and personal purposes (About the core version 19.2048)

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I would definitely recommend this to others as it makes the work easier to an extent. :)

Pros:

These days , most of the files and documents are shared in the PDF formats which is easier to share, especially via email. As an online tutor and a teacher by profession I have a lots of PDF study materials to be used on a daily basis. The customized Zoom level option helps to view the document in the actual size preferred by the user. The customized Page number option helps to type in the page number and go directly to that particular page. The Save to Adobe Document cloud is much more useful as it helps to save the document to a drive and enables the use to access it from any devices using the login id and password (same as Google Drive, but only PDF files can be uploaded to this cloud). The find text option helps to directly search for that particular sentence or word we are looking for. The high light text option helps to make a quick marking of the important points in a document. The Add sticky note option enables the user to add a note as and when reading the document, the time and date of the note is automatically posted along with the note. User can also add replies or responses to this note as and when needed. As a whole this software is much user friendly and hassle-free. The learning process of using this software isn't time consuming.

Cons:

1. The trial version and full version is way too different with the options. (Covert to .doc / Edit PDF etc ) are not allowed in the trial version. 2. The price for a month is too high. 3. At times opening a large PDF file ( in my case Books with a 300 pages ) makes the software respond slower.

Hiran
Hiran
Mechanical Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This PDF reader software loaded with features, functions and essential.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: This PDF reader software is great in terms of features, functions and relailbe.

Pros:

Read Out Loud option is helpful when the user faces difficulties in reading lengthy paragraphs. One can use a digital signature to document sign the document. The comment option helps the user in inserting the comments in the particular place of the document. View option helps the user to display the document in particular rotate view, double-page view and zoom. Light mode and dark mode themes are available. The user interface is simple and user friendly. Adobe provides a cloud location where the user can easily upload and view it. Find option helps in locating the required keywords.

Cons:

The customer support needs to improve the response and resolution time. Need to provide flexible price plans. Read Out Loud option activation is time-consuming and also crashes sometimes. The software is a bit late responsive in transition and functioning in lower configured work stations.

Kassie
Customer Service Representative in US
Newspapers, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Adobe Acrobat Reader DC - Get for viewing PDFs!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Acrobat has been very beneficial to our weekly productivity at our newspaper as it allows us to export our advertisements to the program and review them in Acrobat to make sure everything appears in place and okay to be printed in the newspaper. This program has also been beneficial to our company as we optimize PDFs of our news pages so we can then upload them to our e-edition website so our readers can view our product digitally each week. Acrobat plays a huge role in our ability to get our product in the hands of our readers.

Pros:

I use Adobe Acrobat Reader DC for my job at a weekly newspaper. I like that I am able to open PDF files from advertisers and review the types of fonts they've used in their files and find out whether I am able to match those fonts if recreating or reformatting their ad is needed. I like the features and tools Acrobat provides, like the Output Preview tool and the Move or Make Changes to Object tool. I have used Acrobat for a few years now and I appreciate how the tools are kept the same even with updates to the program.

Cons:

Our company recently updated our computer systems and software so the previous version of Acrobat was updated to the newest version of Acrobat. This new version has taken some getting used to, specifically the layout of the tools within the program. Each week, we make use of the optimization and combining tools in Acrobat to prepare our e-editions for our newspaper. After updating my computer and Acrobat program, I at first found it difficult to navigate the new list of tools within the program. While this took some getting used to, I believe I now have a better idea on where tools are located, but still miss the layout of previous versions of Acrobat.