Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.7 /5

About OpsGenie

Opsgenie is a modern incident management and response solution for operating always-on services.

Learn more about OpsGenie

Showing 122 reviews

Fernando S.
Director of Infrastructure
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"A most have"

Comments: I've been a loyal customer of OpsGenie for almost three years now and I like to product so much that I wrote an integration with spring-boot-admin a year ago that now is used by many others. really great product

Pros: I like the easy of use and most of all It never fails to deliver a message, Great UX and full of features

Cons: I would like to have notification rules for how and when to receive some sort of events right now there is only one way of doing this but, that is something that would be ok to have but I'm very happy with the product

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Production Support Engineer
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2018

"I use OpsGenie alerts to manage my work all day. I can react immediately when an issue arises."

Pros: I really like the flexibility I have in receiving notifications. I can set mobile alerts or even phone calls for the most immediate needs, or just an email for something that I just need to see by the end of the day. I work in production support. So, this immediate filtering of alerts is key to meeting my performance goals.

Cons: I don't actually do the alert configuration myself, but there seems to be a lot of required information to manage new types of alerts. Possibly too flexible, meaning not enough structure to build functionality easily and quickly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2018
Mariano K.
Project Leader
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017

"Great alert system, web, android app & operations"

Pros: It is a very solid infrastructure, not only the web app and the android app but the the phone call system, the sms and the mail services.
The groups and users admin is great! and all the scheduling is workings as you expect.

Cons: Whenever you change your escalation group you have to reorder it. The new UI is not as intuitive as the classic.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017
Doug W.
Database Administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017

"Reliable and easy to handle alerting"

Comments: If this is for OpsGenie then 10. I don't know what Capterra is.

Pros: The oncall schedule is perfect and easily allows you to add overrides for certain days/hours if you need someone to cover.

Cons: The message size limit can be a little annoying. Several of our alerts are a little long and get cutoff.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
UX/UI Designer, Web Developer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"OpsGenie Review"

Pros: I love the ease of use with the OpsGenie dahsboard, as well as being able to receive immediate notifications on my mobile phone.

Cons: No real dislikes -- the dashboard is a little overwhelming at first, but the feature set is great once you get used to the navigation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Special Projects IT Manager, PMP
Insurance, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"Excellent choice for managing notifications, monitoring, and escalations"

Comments: We are using Ops Genie as the central point of management for application alerts, server monitoring, and website monitoring. It has allowed us to fine tune our policies to only send alerts that we deem as priority to the staff, and only within specific hours.
In the beginning we were generating far too many notifications based on the activity of alerts created from our applications and monitoring. The best feature is that with Ops Genie, we can modify incoming alerts to mute them based on very specific criteria. This means no changes are required to the applications reporting the notifications, it can all be managed from a central location.

Pros: Extremely easy to use.
Configuration options are clear and simple to setup, but extremely powerful.
We have setup a fairly complex set of policies and escalation schedules and it remains very simple to manage.

Cons: So far it has met all my needs, no cons.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
James S.
CTO & Co-founder
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018

"Nice affordable alternative to Pagerduty"

Comments: Distributed support management for our small team.

Pros: The economics of the platform fit our needs better than the alternatives. I like the ability to easily spread the responsibility of support across the team.

Cons: The complexity of the interface is the biggest weakness that this solution has. Sometimes it requires a long time user to use a support ticket to figure out how to do something simple.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018
Jeff R.
Photographer
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"Excellent product for a competitive price."

Comments: We are a 24x7x365 provider of healthcare communications software and use OpsGenie to alert us to warnings or critical failures in our infrastructure. We are happy with the product and rely on it for a very critical part of our service.

Pros: OpsGenie seems very intuitive and configuring integrations, and schedules is easy. Notifications work well and the app integrations such as Slack and the mobile application are very handy and increase productivity.

Cons: Some of the mass-notification features are not easy to use and require a demonstration in order to leverage this feature.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Aaron M.
Telecom Administrator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017

"A wonderful product with the most potential ."

Pros: The multitude of alerting methods. They have everything from app alerting to sms messages with IFTTT type functionality with other vendors making the setup process very easy

Cons: Having to configure every alert. There should be an easy button. There is a delicate process to setting up each alert, which allows for customization, but can be initially time consuming.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
Lead, Network Service Reliability Engineer II
Internet
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017

"It is easy to edit, user-friendly and has amazing features of syncing up with communication tools."

Pros: Sync-Up feature with other tools like Slack/Hipchat. I am a daily user and the navigation and search options are pretty attractive.

Cons: The notes section can be made better, there is a notes button and then we see the notes. I think this can be improvised. Earlier, having used service-now, I am used to seeing notes in a better format.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017
Yasen A.
App Support Developer
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/01/2018

"Really useful, reliable and easy to use service."

Pros: I really like the common way the service works. You never miss an alert, because you get notified by any possible way. The option to work with GitHub is really useful to me and my team.

Cons: There's actually no such thing. One thing that i didn't like is that i have to login each time that i use the app on IOS (using iPhone 5s)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/01/2018
Pui yi W.
HRIS analyst
Human Resources, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018

"Ops Genie for production support."

Comments: OpsGenie removes the need for a real person to monitor things. It gives the user a way to submit or bypass jobs, if everything is setup correctly.

Pros: It can send notification in multiple methods - phone, email, text.

Cons: The phone notification is so hard to understand. You just know something abended and you need to go logon and check it out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018
Eren G.
Senior DevOps Engineer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2018

"mostly flawless, does what it promises"

Pros: Great price compared to similar software, feature set is pretty decent, interfaces are nice and detailed activity log is super nice.

Cons: There are some missing integrations. When it comes to other software, OpsGenie seems to be not as popular as some competitors and thus they don't have integration towards OpsGenie.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2018
Raiko G.
European Support Coordinator
Program Development, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/08/2018

"Great Product, best customer service I have seen in a long time"

Pros: It's so easy to use, totally reliable and customer service is just great and proactive

Cons: actually there is nothing I don't like at all

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior Security Engineer
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019

"Good on-call and DevOps tool for enterprises"

Comments: I'm on the Security Operations team and on the on-call rotation. We got a dedicated phone number as well that directly notifies us and it's been very nice having that type of availability for coworkers with security concerns. Way better than xMatters.

Pros: Good interface. Very similar mobile interface. Good way to quickly see what team and who is on call during an outage or a incident

Cons: Getting woken up early in the morning, but that's the whole point of being on-call. No issues that I found.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019
Daniel H.
Release Engineer
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018

"No complaints"

Comments: I find it reliable and easy to use

Pros: Easy to get new team members set up. Easy to customize individual notifications

Cons: Lacking features that can kick off an script for a particualr alert

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior Operations Engineer
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2018

"OpsGenie review"

Comments: Overall experience was good and we have been reaping significant benefits from this tool

Pros: We were able to get a really good Pricing and Number of integrations is awesome

Cons: Navigation within the Menus are bit of a learning curve

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2018
Jason L.
Industrial IT Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2019

"An addition you should consider for your Atlassian suite"

Comments: It can get expensive depending on the number of users you have.

Pros: Opsgenie is quite powerful, and more so than its competitors. It's difficult to find something that it doesn't integrate with, and even if you do you'll likely find that there is a way to do it.

Cons: The learning curve is steep and time will need to be put in before the automation shows its true value.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Senior Laravel Developer
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"OpsGenie rocks"

Pros: Configurability is pretty straightforward.

Cons: Nothing that I can think of at this moment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Douglas B.
Network Operations Manager
Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018

"Opsgenie makes alarms easy"

Comments: Overall Ops Genie has allowed our on call staff to react quickly to a error, often starting on the process of solving it before the business users have become aware that we have a issue.

Pros: I love how effectively OpsGenie reacts when a alarm is triggered. It is loud, obnoxious and in my face, making it so that I don't miss alarms. If I happen to be unreachable the failover options make sure that someone starts handling the issue

Cons: The mobile application refresh is awkward and non-intuitive. When alarm clears it would be good if the dashboard would automatically refresh a few seconds after acknowledging or clearing the alarm rather than requiring a manual refresh to see if the action has taken effect.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior Technical Account Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"Very useful resource"

Comments: Our team uses it to manage our on-call schedule. It works very well

Pros: The ease of managing schedules is very good, and the alerting works well. Pretty much all you need!

Cons: Nothing much - it's all good! I think some colleagues find the UI a bit confusing but it's been fine for me

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Andre T.
Lead Software Developer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"OpsGenie is a great tool to have for Prod support staff"

Comments: We are able to respond to issues in the production environment quicklier.

Pros: OpsGenie reaches support staff in many different ways: app notification, text, email, and phone call.
Also, OG makes it easy to escalate issues, scheduling rotation, and set up notifications.

Cons: I wished OpsGenie did not alert me on a ticket's activities just because I viewed a ticket that was assigned to someone else.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Maxim V.
DevOps
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/08/2018

"Powerful incedent escalation system"

Pros: Plenty of features + ease of integration with other services (influxdata in particular).
Support quality is very nice.

Cons: A bit pricey. Some issues forced my contact support for help. Everything is resolved now

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Manager Service Desk
Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018

"OpsGenie is Calling You"

Pros: I love that you can have Opsgenie call you when there are critical alerts.

Cons: There seems to be a bit of a learning curve with OpsGenie, but really a minor thing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018
Joshua V.
Director, Product Operations
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2020

"OpsGenie Journey"

Comments: We needed a way to monitor our infrastructure over the weekend without having to pay someone to physically sit in the building. So we first tried a company would would make a physically phone call to us when an alert went critical. Over time the problem with that was you had to employ a person to make that phone call and it was an expensive option as well. We needed a better ROI on what we were spending.

Pros: Powerful tool to route alerts to different teams. (Phone, Text and Email)
Setting up schedules and teams
Cost is very affordable and you get economies of scale the more people you put on the account and begin using it.

Cons: The filtering of who gets the alerts can be a bit confusing, it does take some time to get used to the setup and configuration of how they do things.
I wish there was an official on boarding program. For example I would have like to have OpsGenie tell me, ok now that you are a customer and based on all the experienced we've gathered you need to do "10 things". Process items, procedures, best practices etc. Because we basically learned as we went and while the product was relatively easy to use it would have been nice to have that instruction at the beginning.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2020