15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Azure Backup

Cloud-based backup as a service with incremental backups and continuous data encryption.

Learn more about Azure Backup

Pros:

Ease of use and the backup features are exceptional.

Cons:

It has its complications especially when the network is overload. You will to re initiate the channel connections.

Azure Backup ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Azure Backup has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 157 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Azure Backup before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (157)

Paul
Paul
Azure Sales Specilist in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

No.1 Brand backup, simple to use for cloud and on prem, very sensible costs

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Being able to action a single file restore for a backup image is great. restore of image gives you option to restore to Azure or bare-metal, so covers all on and off prem scenarios.

Cons:

had an issue once with the on-prem server agent but fixed after 1 ticket raised with Microsoft. was down to a firewall from the office being changed and the port/rule not being updated to allow the backup to happen.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Azure Data Backup with no worries

5.0 last year

Comments: It was very good experience with Azure and we are enjoying using it.

Pros:

Azure comes with the brand trust of Microsoft and its customers support is very good.

Cons:

Should have more easy UI for ease of understanding

Darren
Engineer in New Zealand
Insurance, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Clunky and hard to use

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: It did the job, however we have since looked at other products that offer more functionality.

Pros:

It integrates nicely with Azure services, and does not require an additional agent. It doesn't have an effect on network traffic as it's handled in the datacenter itself.

Cons:

It's extremely covulted to find settings. Restoration is not 'like for like', and disks will be restored to a single storage account. It can only back up data to the same subscription, so impossible to have backup data stored elsewhere.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Creating backups in the cloud with Azure Backup

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: I've been using Azure Backup and even though I encountered some API issues, the service itself is very useful, secure, fast and smooth.

Pros:

The integration of Azure Backup with all Azure services is very useful and easy to get it done, it's very secure, an user-friendly interface,

Cons:

I experienced some API errors when creating a backup, I had to reload the page or use a different browser.

Riaan
Operations Manager in South Africa
Insurance, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Azure Backup

5.0 5 months ago

Pros:

The ease of ensuring back up capabilities on servers and systems to ensure data is kept safe and protect against ransom ware attacks. Back up is easy and easily accessible. It is easy manageable, with a easy disaster recovery. It is easy to integrate with all other Microsoft products/

Cons:

Full back up is time consuming. The system needs a high bandwidth. Connection failure with certain firewalls. The system is not easy for every user, and one must have expert knowledge.

Bart
Sr accountmanager in Netherlands
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Azure backup for Azure services

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very happy with it, we don't have to setup our own backupsolutions for serveral services we offer, Azure Backup as a service works also as a service!

Pros:

The backup services for Azure are great, they fully integrate with other Azure services we have. This can be Azure Virtual Server, Azure files, Azure storage, Azure SQL database as a service! It works very good

Cons:

The price is such as other Azure services high, but you get a lot for the price!

Munyaradzi Allan
Munyaradzi Allan
IT Security Consultant in Botswana
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Azure Backup is one of the best tools

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The application has a lot of memory space and l managed to store as more infomation as possible

Pros:

Azure Backup is a very good tool that has allowed the company to store and retrieve information easily. It is very important tool that is very cost effective and easy to maintain.

Cons:

It has its complications especially when the network is overload. you will to re initiate the channel connections

Oluwaseun
Cloud Architect in Nigeria
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to Navigate and cost effective

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I can only say SUPERB!

Pros:

its cost effective , easy to navigate.it can backup both your cloud infrastructure and on-premise infrastructure.

Cons:

it would be nice if agent can support backing up VMs in AWS infrastucture to save costs.We have clients who would like that.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Perfect for in-cloud backup

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: This is a great tool to easily back up data on an Azure based VM.

Pros:

It is now very easy to enable and configure for workloads running on servers within Azure. There are options to configure the basic settings directly on the virtual machine blade itself.

Cons:

It is not a great option for local workloads. While you can configure it for local and cloud backup it is cumbersome and the reporting is not the greatest.

alfredo
alfredo
ventas in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

There are some awesome backup solutions out there, I'm talking about products born in virtualization

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

1966/5000 There are some impressive backup solutions out there, I'm talking about products born in virtualization ... and not those designed for tape backup 20 years ago that some of you buy because that's what they've always bought. Some of the excellent products are even advertised on this site. They have their own unique approaches and points of sale, which I should applaud, and I encourage you to visit their sites and try their free trial versions. Then you have options, and that's a very good thing. We use a lot of DPM and store our long term in Azure, as described by Aiden. I want to share some important obstacles that we have come across so you can benefit from our experiences. 1) We had a DPM protection group with 76 protected Hyper-V virtual machines. This protection group was programmed to send recovery points to Azure all at once. 76 was too much and the OBEngine.exe service (Microsoft Azure Recovery Services Agent) was blocked every night, so I had to restart the OBEngine service and manually restart these online backups every day. By splitting the protection group into several smaller protection groups (each protecting about 20 Hyper-V servers instead of 76) and scheduling them to send recovery points to Azure at different times of the night, the problem was solved. I do not think this is a bandwidth problem (since we have a lot) but that the OBEngine service was being overwhelmed. The errors I found in DPM every morning clearly indicated that the OBEngine

Cons:

It lacks options for life cycle management. - Some of the functions only work in the classic portal. The reliability of the services depends on the technological and financial capacity of the providers of services in the cloud. The information of the company must go through different nodes to reach its destination, each of them (and its channels) are a source of insecurity. The centralization of the applications and the storage of the data originates an interdependence of the service providers. It is useful if you are not familiar with Azure to take an online training course that will definitely take you a long way to master it and increase your confidence in the product. It tends to use resources and when the VM goes down it is slow and freezes. the dashboard design is confusing AF, it is difficult to find things. You pay the support, or send them a tweet and cross your fingers. Billing is confusing, especially at the beginning, and it is impossible to estimate costs without seeing the use of an entire application / site. infrastructure as a service allows me to free up time and resources until then to maintain its own infrastructure, security measures are beyond the reach of most companies, security regulations give customers the confidence that their data will be totally protected. The support was incomplete (my experience of 1 in 18 months was very disappointing). In summary, regardless of what the system tells you, if you do not buy a help plan, it is SOL

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Azure Backup adds great complexity to usually simple tasks

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: For us, as Service Providers, is a very useful tool when the customer is adequate, for the specific use cases. It is automatic, we recomend Azure Backup when there's System Center already working, or is something the customer previously asked us for. Managing backup jobs follows a different logic than when using other tools but it is still fairly forward.
Be careful to do a proper TCO analysis because with this technology it is easy to miscalculate and fall short.

Pros:

If you have already an Azure Powered infraestructure, or at least an advanced Microsoft on-premise deployment with System Center, then you'll get tons of immediate value from using Azure Backup. You'll get full VM Backup and most important, app-level backup. It's very likely you won't need an additional backup software as long as you already have the Microsoft practice and know-how.

Cons:

If you are not a current Microsoft powered organization, the learning curve to adopt Azure Backup might be extremely large. And also, the additional cost if you want to use the full power of the technology can be important, mostly because of the need of a System Center deployment, and the acquisition of knowledge and support contracts. There are so many technologies out there which would be better options. We'd like there to be an integration between Azure Backup and Azure Site Recovery when the target is the same, an Azure repository. There's not, so you need to separate jobs which casues double resources consumption (CPU, RAM, and most important, bandwidth).

SHIVRAJ SINGH
System & Network Lead in India
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best service for On-prem backup

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Azure backup is helping us in taking backup of all critical servers/databases and OS bare metal backup.
There instant recovery snapshot which we can use to restore anytime during crash or missing of some files in servers.

Pros:

This supports most of the platform OS and very ease in deployment. Backup is also happened on compression mode for space and cost savings.

Cons:

Sometimes backup could take more than 12 hours which affects the resource performance. Also there should be some mechanism to backup the free version of VMware ESXI. It supports only commercial version.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Must have for company's using office 365

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: When there is outage your business can go down entirely. You can lose costumers, opportunities and just time. This is something no business can afford. With azure backup your data is protected from outages like this and so is not an unnecessary luxury.

Pros:

You can backup all your filles on microsoft servers, SQL server, sharepoint, exchange,... and only pay for the space needed. You can schedules your backups, choose protection levels,... There really are many options and functions.

Cons:

No downsides. Your data is safe and easy to acces/manage.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Utilities
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

he most valuable feature is the possibility of using Microsoft and non-Microsoft services.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

There is no one special feature for me, as it makes sense as a complete package. I would mention container services as well, as this is the most modern concept of bimodal IT. For example, doing development in companies without the need of building development servers. You can just using some special parts as micro-services and putting them together like Lego pieces. This is the real benefit of cloud and Azure.

Cons:

There should definitely be some improvement in the UI. It is lacking in terms of where the end user has to click on other icons and go back to the main menu to change some small settings and then go back through many options to the main request. This is something which Microsoft is constantly working on, but still it needs improvement.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Backup though Azure

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Azure Backup can be customized to meet the needs of your company. Once it is setup correctly, usually by your IT service provider, it runs seamlessly in the background and you know your files are safe and there for you to use if you need to. Microsoft is very reliable and I trust them to protect my company's data.

Cons:

The setup and configuration is not something that just anyone can do. In most cases, a microsoft trained engineer or your IT service provider would need to set it up for you.

Rex
Rex
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Performance! Easy!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Its a good solution, the features are provided that most every business needs and wants. The ability to get reports and remote confirmation of backups almost in real time is great. It handles large data backup with ease, no issues with whole drive backups, etc.

Pros:

Its faster than most backup providers. The interface is easy and simple to use. It does not take long to perform backups under the right time periods. Does provide the reporting we need and allows for custom features that others lack.

Cons:

It can be pricy and it leans towards more enterprise level than small business. It seems to have some speed issues at times

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Foolproof, efficient, cost-effective, trustworthy backup software

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Azure is easy to use and understand, compared to other industry leaders. I love the design of the interface and the applications of their software is endless. It's used at various levels of infrastructure where I work with the same level of quality and success. The software has always been reliable and secure, and provides a great peace of mind.

Cons:

Some updates and changes to the platform are made a little too quickly, with unintended implications. The support team is quick to respond to required fixes, though.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

backups can't be any easier

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to use, user friendly, and most of all this walks you through step by step on creating on prem, in the cloud backups. Documentation give perfect detail on how to set this up.

Cons:

as of now I have not encountered any issues using the software other than it can take up to 45 min for a job to finish, of course depending on the size of the vm

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Cloud based program we used in our company.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It helps a lot for every projects we have.

Pros:

We used this software to back up our data and files because this software offers security and a lot of file storage. It may cost a little expensive but it helps a lot in our company.

Cons:

Other than being a little expensive, we didn't experience any difficulties on using this software until now.

dan
IT Tech in US
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Used for our VM Backups

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Our company uses this to back up all of our vm's. We had used other Cloud Backups in the past but with our Azure Enterprise license this just made more sense.

Cons:

Complexity to set it up. A few issues with recovery in the past but overall we like it a lot for what we need backed up

Hannah
Hannah
Photographer in US
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Azure Backup Review

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I like that it's easy to use and I can always get my files when needed. As a photographer I need all of my files to be in different conditions and have access to all of those.

Cons:

Nothing really. It does what I need it to and so far I've had no issues.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Environmental Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Azure is perfect for storing your data

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It is very easy to back up you data on Azure. and the Microsoft team is very personable if you have any problems.

Cons:

I personally did not have any problems with this software and works great with the company I work for.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Did exactly what it said on the tin - offsite backup for DR

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Incremental backups are great and they system was easy enough to implement.

Pros:

I like that Microsoft Azure only does incremental backup which saves loads of space by only backing up the changed data since the last save!

Cons:

I noticed that Azure was not compatible with Mac and Linux which ultimately resulted in my previous employer moving away from Azure backup.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A low-cost solution for Remote backups.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I use Azure Backup weekly to manage backups for branches abroad.

Pros:

We use this solution to make backups of branches abroad. The main advantage is to use only one client on the remote computer to capture the necessary files and send them to Azure Backup. It is very efficient and of low cost when compared to the acquisition of traditional backup infrastructure in each branch.

Cons:

The product delivers what it promises, reducing negative aspects. But what I can highlight is the lack of integration and enterprise tools like SAP. It would be an opportunity to allow integration for system backup directly to Azure. Today he just captures the finished file.

Philip
Analyst in UK
Management Consulting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very useful backup software for daily use.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Useful for backing up files.

Pros:

- Quick and easy to set-up. - Backs up all data that you could want ad is compatible with microsoft systems.

Cons:

- At times the backup can be a little slow and takes some time. - Can't think of any other cons - does the job well.