Backstop Reviews

by Backstop Solutions Group

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.5 /5

About Backstop

Backstop Solutions offers cloud-based productivity solutions for institutional investment firms and alternative asset managers.

Learn more about Backstop

Showing 37 reviews

Andrew K.
Controller, CPA
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2020

"Backstop Review"

Comments: The wide range of functionality is a good solution for various needs across different departments.

Pros: This a good data aggregator for client information, history and data. The functionality servers a lot of different uses.

Cons: The ease of use and custom reporting is not intuitive and locating specific charts and data sets can sometimes be difficult.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2020
Verified Reviewer
Senior Director - Operations and Administration
Investment Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2019

"Quality Product in a World with Many Competitors"

Comments: Great tool for investment team to track meetings/calls as well as manage our massive database of documents. The team has always been willing to help with initiatives we have in the system and overall, my organization views Backstop as a central hub for much of our investment management work.

Pros: Clean look, high quality search capability, strong reporting tools to extract data, very good customer support, Backstop team is always looking for ways to improve the software, overall the best CRM/document storage/high level investment management tool on the market

Cons: Still missing some vital Private Equity components, still lacking in cash management functionality, far behind in mobile app technology, would like to see more analytical capabilities rather than just high level investment information

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
Director of Investor Relations & Business Development
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2018

"Backstop Review"

Comments: Backstop has been my preferred CRM at four different institutions I have worked at over the past 10 years. It is very intuitive and user-friendly. The sales/support team will work with you for any bespoke request and will help you customize the product to fit your firm and team's optimal needs.

Pros: Backstop is extremely customizable and therefore can meet every clients' needs. The platform is very helpful for centralizing all existing and prospective client information.

Cons: I am not an active user of the Investor Bridge but in demo, did not find that to be very good.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2018
Maria S.
Client Services Manager
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"Backstop and Backstop Portal"

Comments: Prior to using Portal we emailed all investor documents individually, now we disseminate documents to investors through Backstop Portal and use it as our website host. Backstop CRM is how we track opportunities, investors, send out emails and keep track of events. Having one system to do so many tasks makes life much easier.

Pros: Simple, easy to use, can be customized to fit the needs of the organization. Support is outstanding. Definitely the best of the dozen CRM/portal systems I've used over a 20+ year career in Finance.

Cons: Reporting is still a bit slow and cumbersome.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Julius C.
Investment Analyst
Government Administration, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2019

"Great product"

Comments: It has been great

Pros: Any changes and/or updates made are instantly reflected upon updating the website as well as various risk & return reports

Cons: More standardized risk and return performance reports

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2019
Michael S.
Head of Business Development
Fund-Raising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/05/2019

"Backstop Review"

Pros: The site is easy to navigate and you are able to run reports and track investor communication.

Cons: the site seems a little outdated and not as sleek or user friendly as competitors.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/05/2019
Kent M.
Public Investments Intern
Investment Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2019

"Easy and Functional!"

Pros: I love the simplicity and ease of use of the software

Cons: The software sometimes crashes and I am not able to accomplish work, but this is rare

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2019
Morgan F.
Office Manager
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2019

"It's not the worst product, but it's not the best either"

Pros: I like the email blast feature and a lot of the capabilities it has that makes our email blasts a lot easier to maneuver and double check before sending them out to our clients and our perspective clients

Cons: It's hard to organize the data. We always have duplicates. Also theres a lot of mini shutdowns and lapses of time when the software isn't working

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2019
Adam H.
Investor Relations
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"A+"

Comments: Backstop has been a great tool for us to keep track of our contact with clients and set task reminders.

Pros: The interface is very user friendly. The tool itself can be used in a variety of ways and gives you the ability to build out your own reports and layouts. This allows us to tailor the backstop platform to our company specific needs

Cons: The software can sometimes run slowly when executing long processes

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Sr. Research Analyst
Investment Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2019

"Mostly for reporting, needs improvement on analysis"

Comments: Experience is overall positive, although the company does have serious issues that it needs to address to compete with other investment analysis softwares that exist. Interface / plugins need work.

Pros: Strong in terms of accounting and tracking capeabilities

Cons: Interface is dated and it is not very strong on the investment analysis side. Comparability / plugins in excel often cause issues

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Senior Manager Pension Investments
Printing, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019

"Backstop Review"

Pros: Easy to use software that is very customizable. We utilize a balanced combo of out of the box features along with unique layouts to track tasks that are more specific to us. Backstop's staff and support teams are great. They are always willing to go the extra mile to solve an issue.

Cons: Reporting can be a little onerous with the sheer volume of reportable data. There is a learning curve and a little extra effort required to get the reporting to meet your needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019
Jose S.
CFO
Investment Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2019

"Single Family Office - Portfolio Management and Investor Reporting"

Comments: I have been a user for almost 6 years now and I have been the software improved dramatically. They never stop innovating with the end user in mind.

Pros: Analytical tools are great. The software is also very flexible and allows for individual customization of many items.

Cons: The reporting engine is a bit outdated and the least user friendly part of the software. My understanding is they are working on a new reporting engine and we should see improvement soon.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
Partner Relations Associate
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2019

"Extremely Impressive Software"

Comments: I always have had a good experience with Backstop; both the software and customer service. Backstop really has allowed our firm to track everything necessary. Our representatives at Backstop have always been extremely helpful and enjoy speaking with them regularly about new features and updates to the system.

Pros: Overall maneuverability. The layout of the software makes sense. It's one of those situations where you login and as soon as you begin working with the software, you get the sense that you've already been using the software for years.

Cons: Reporting Functionality. The reporting functionality is extremely comprehensive, thus creating an increase in difficulty. There are so many fields to choose from, sometimes you are lost.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2019
Lawrence C.
Consultant
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2019

"Backstop"

Pros: Integration with internal logins and ability to store large data sets.

Cons: Not the best search engine, requires use of hotkeys. Duplication and structure of data, though partially due to way data entered. Reporting and overall user interface not very user friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
Solutions Architect
Financial Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019

"Very handy SaaS solution for investment business"

Pros: Ease of use, reporting, intuitive user interface, Rest API

Cons: Performance of the product goes south sometimes. Searchability could use some work as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
Investment Analyst
Investment Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2019

"Excellent CRM Platform!"

Comments: Overall, I am very pleased with the platform. Our team has come to use it in-depth and daily!

Pros: Backstop is a central hub for all of our relationships and reporting. The system is very easy to use, customizable, very robust, and the excel add-ins allow us to build sophisticated reports to match our daily needs and wants.

Cons: While the platform overall is very customizable, there are certain aspects that aren't. For example, the opportunities section under the organization comes standard, and some of the information is irrelevant to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2019
Chris N.
CTO
Investment Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2018

"Small Hedge Fund uses Backstop"

Comments: Great for tracking fundraising process. Simple and easy to use. We selected Backstop about a year ago after a very thorough search of all FinTec CRM Systems, including Dynamo, Imagineer and many others. Backstop was the clear winner.

Pros: Excellent support on Setup. Easily able to import/create contacts, organizations and opportunities. Import/Export capabilities are good. Security options (2FA, SSO, IP locking) are excellent, and admin capabilities are very strong. Import meetings/notes from Outlook useful.

Cons: Reporting is a bit cumbersome and slow. Customization is limited. Email integration created a huge headache, but was solved quickly. Outlook and Excel add-ins crash occasionally

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2018
Gina D.
Investor Relations
Investment Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/10/2018

"Backstop Review"

Comments: The customer service for Backstop is top notch. Everyone is eager to assist with questions or concerns. Their coffee break sessions are helpful tutorials to stay fresh on new features.

Pros: This is an excellent software to track and monitor investor activity, communications, and account flows.

Cons: Because the software is so customizable, it takes time to build some of the reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/10/2018
Kelsey V.
Legal & Compliance Coordinator
Investment Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/09/2019

"Always Improving"

Comments: Great. Responsive and professional team that always seems to be working!

Pros: The effort BS puts in to customize and update our version of the software to make sure it is as user-friendly as possible and always expanding for more use purposes.

Cons: Updates seem to affect other components of the software that are not intended. When updates are made, it would be ideal that a little bubble pops up to say "this is new" to ensure the new options are utilized/made known.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
CFO
Investment Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2019

"I've worked in this product for 8 years and am still happy."

Comments: We are happy with this service and see no reason to change.

Pros: This software is a great value compared to other products available.

Cons: When an update to the software is needed it can take a long time to receive an update.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2019
Nicholas F.
Investment Consulting Analyst
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/09/2019

"Backstop for Investment Consulting"

Pros: A great place to store vehicle and account information. We export these daily in order to know what primary keys and accounst ahve already been set up. Allows us to effectively sort through this data.

Cons: Navigation can be difficult. Sometimes I struggle to navigate the links between clients plans and vehicles.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/09/2019
Matt U.
md
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2019

"About average"

Comments: compared to the likes of salesforce...you have to ask - why?

Pros: not much - as far as a CRM goes, it is very much entry-level

Cons: its not easy to use...slow and UX from the 80's

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Junior Analyst
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2019

"Small Business Use of BackStop"

Pros: Ease of use, and the ability to create and customize reports.

Cons: Not 100% customized to our businesses needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2019
Steven C.
Investor Relations
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019

"Useful software"

Pros: Still new using, but I like how it can be customized to fit our needs.

Cons: Outlook and Excel occasionally crashes. Reporting is a little slow

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019
Lubna R.
Client Engagement Associate
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2020

"Backstop - CRM Review"

Comments: I like Backstop and it's important for our team to function. I like the portal usage for our clients. We can maintain all our files/info on one system and publish it for client visibility.

Pros: User friendly. easy to customize reports and fields. I like the formula functions on the reports. Pages also a +.

Cons: The time it takes to run accounts reports and some limitations they have on not being able to customize their performance review sheet or their decks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2020