15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Nuxeo

Cloud-native and low-code, Nuxeo's content services platform helps you build scalable, intelligent content applications.

Learn more about Nuxeo

Pros:

The majority of our use cases for Nuxeo Platform are enabled via integrations through API & Integration Management solutions with other tools such as CRMs and internally developed applications.

Cons:

One major drawback from nuxeo is it is inability to edit documents from within the repository by launching Office, something you can do with other tools SharePoint and Alfresco.

Nuxeo ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.1
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Nuxeo has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 32 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Nuxeo before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (32)

Todd
Todd
Principal Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nuxeo

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Excellent overall experience setting up and implementing our platform

Pros:

Open Source Platform that allows configuration for your organization's unique needs and processes.

Cons:

Complicated backend setup. Documentation makes a lot of assumptions.

Hyland Software Response

4 years ago

Thanks, Todd! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I'll share your feedback about our Documentation and backend setup with the team.

Chris
Senior Solutions Architect in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Nuxeo-o-o-o…

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Our overall experience with Nuxeo has been stellar. Their professional services team has their game on for sure. Any major struggles we have had thus far have been related to our own product owners not having well defined requirements, which isn't uncommon in most companies. If you're well organized and know what you want to do, Nuxeo PS will enable you quickly, and their platform can do almost anything we've dreamed up needing to do.

Pros:

Honestly the depth of API access to the Nuxeo Platform was an incredibly important selling point for us. The majority of our use cases for Nuxeo Platform are enabled via integrations through API & Integration Management solutions with other tools such as CRMs and internally developed applications.

Cons:

While Nuxeo is incredibly flexible and powerful in precisely the ways we need it most, it has some weaknesses in install and configuration as well as native integration extension capabilities. Installation and configuration is not a huge deal for us since we went with their managed service in the cloud. But this weakness was notable during training on the Nuxeo Platform as even developers had some struggles getting set up and capable early on.

Hyland Software Response

4 years ago

Thanks, Chris! We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We're happy when our customers are happy, and I'll share your feedback about installation and configuration with our product team.

Lantz
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Nuxeo is greatly improved but still has its share of kinks

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: The out-of-the-box functionality for document management is solid and their are some very nice features, like being able to view changes between versions side-by-side. The search functionality tied in with Elasticsearch is excellent. One major complaint from our users is the inability to edit documents from within the repository by launching Office, something you can do with SharePoint and Alfresco. Another complaint is the UI--I personally think it's clean and reasonably intuitive, but for a user base used to SharePoint and Alfresco, it can be confusing. The other big piece of Nuxeo is Nuxeo Studio, which we use to configure our self-hosted Nuxeo instance. It's an interesting attempt at creating a web interface for configuring the application, but it's not at all intuitive and can be frustrating to use. It's also big money for the support license, which gets you Studio. Otherwise it's an IDE and XML config files if you need to make changes to the default application. The Nuxeo documentation has come a long way over the years, but there just isn't the kind of user support here in the USA as there is for Alfresco, which means that without out support from Nuxeo, you're pretty much on your own if something breaks. And it will break, which leads to my last complaint. It took our team a long time to get the application stable enough to use, and we had numerous bugs crop up along the way after application updates. Nuxeo was pretty responsive to fixing them, but some of them were obvious bugs that really should have been caught in testing. That said, I see improvement in this area as well, so it seems they're heading in the right direction overall.

William
Senior Software Engineer in Bolivia
Information Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A flexible product that can be customized

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Nuxeo is an excellent platform for enterprise content management. It offers a great range of features, customization options and support. Despite a sometimes challenging user interface, Nuxeo is still a great platform for organizations looking for a comprehensive content management solution.

Pros:

Nuxeo offers a powerful set of features and integrations that make it a great enterprise content management platform. There is a great deal of flexibility to customize the platform to meet the needs of any organization. Additionally, there is a wide range of support options available to help users make the most of the platform.

Cons:

The user interface can at times be difficult to navigate and it can take some time to get used to the different features and settings. Additionally, the platform can be a bit pricey for some organizations.

Ramakrishna
Lead in India
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nuxeo is a very good Open Source document management solution for for the midsize companies/customer

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Nuxeo is a very good Enterprise Content Management solution that offers many functionalities like Records Management, Documents Management and also Case Management.

Pros:

Nuxeo- It is a verygood Enterprise Content Management solution that offers many functionalities like Records Management, Documents Management and also Case Management. In this search functionality is tied with Elastic search which is providing the excellent results. The other big good thing of Nuxeo is Nuxeo Studio, which we use to configure our self-hosted Nuxeo instance without any interrupts. I have been using Nuxeo integrated with our product since 5 years to manage our files. It is a powerful tool, especially for searching - since the indexing is super fast.

Cons:

One major drawback from nuxeo is it is inability to edit documents from within the repository by launching Office, something you can do with other tools SharePoint and Alfresco. UI is not soo good to handle. Its too costly to get the studio lincense. Nuxeo has to concentrate on bulk uploading, it requires Nuxeo support assistance - and a maintenance contract.

Julie
Senior Project Manager in US
Apparel & Fashion, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Like it, but room for improvement

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Flexibilty to build a system to fit our needs & processes vs changing our processes to fit an out of box solution. This system has allowed us to update and add to as we move and grow, it is not a static system we are making constant personalized changes.

Cons:

The version upgrades can be challenging causing customers to have to fully rebuild to reap the benefits of new releases, we have already done this once and are lining up for both the current release AND the release planned after that. Would greatly benefit from more of a SAAS model.

Hyland Software Response

4 years ago

Thanks, Julie. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We understand upgrades can sometimes be challenging on the JSF UI, and our Professional Services team is here to help. Please feel free to contact us anytime.

Resa
Senior Data Engineer in Nepal
Information Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Extremely user friendly

4.0 last year

Comments: Nuxeo yazılımıyla ilgili genel deneyimim olumlu oldu. Belgeleri ve içeriği yönetmek için mükemmel bir araçtır ve kullanıcılara iş akışlarını özelleştirmek ve diğer sistemlerle entegre etmek için esneklik ve özellikler sağlar.

Pros:

I like the flexibility of Nuxeo software. It provides a wide range of features that can be tailored to fit the needs of any organization. It's also user-friendly and easy to use, allowing users to quickly create and customize workflows and manage documents and content. The integration with other systems is also great, allowing you to easily connect to existing systems and leverage existing data.

Cons:

I dislike that the pricing can be a bit high for some organizations.

Ahmed
Founder & CEO in Canada
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great open source content management solution with unlimited possibilities

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Nuxeo is a solid Enterprise Content Management solution that offers many functionalities and development possibilities within the solution. It can be used in many departments and in several industries

Cons:

Nuxeo has relatively still small community making it difficutl to get repsonses and asnwers to our questions

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Love the ease of content management

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

This is a great centralized place for our department to maintain and share large files internally as well as make client facing links.

Cons:

Search-ability can be tricky with this tool

sangam
sangam
Senior Application Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Nice DAM tool to use.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to manage your digital assets. Lots of option to protect your assets , review and share with required people.

Cons:

Customization is bit difficult in Nuxeo as documentation is not so great. Sometimes you will not get much information over internet.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best open source LGPL document management system

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Good digital document management system for totally free of cost.
I

Pros:

Nuxeo platform is open for extension and we can make changes the way we need wither with code or with the Nuxeo studio Nuxeo have powerful search support with Elasticseach. Easy to customize and easy to deploy

Cons:

Documentation should improve Community for development is very less, this makes new additions will take longer time to stable

Ankit
Consultant in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

We have used Nuxeo for Content management and replacing documentum.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We are using it for the Migration of the data from the documentum and storing it for fast retrival on the frontend. So far so good.

Pros:

The customization is easy and you can do we can make changes according to the the need through Nuxeo Studio, and deploy on the platform. The Platform responds well to the changes and does the job quickly. The API's are there to connect to the platform but I feel they are in naive stage and need more development.

Cons:

The data Ingestion gives a lot of trouble while ingesting though other methods rather than the web UI. And the Locale and vocabulary thing is still not sorted. We needed one variable in different languages but that is not yet supported in the platform yet

Reza
Sr Solution Developer in Canada
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

New project for large storage

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: very good.

Pros:

Design and plugins, use very low resources.

Cons:

Documentation about ES should have more info

Daniel
Director de I+D+i in Colombia
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Nuxeo Platform

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

nuxeo is a very powerful tool for the treatment of documents, I like because it is versatile and extendable.

Cons:

I think your flow component needs to improve

Hyland Software Response

4 years ago

Thanks, Daniel! We appreciate the review. We'll share your feedback with the team.

Ron
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

A car without wheels - it could go fast, but needs a good pit crew and someone to drive

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: We have been on Nuxeo for about a year to manage our artwork files. It can be a powerful tool, especially for searching - since the indexing is super fast. Implementation costs are extremely high - even with an OpenSource base. Lacks modern interface capabilities: drag-drop of files within a browser, uses tiny check boxes to select images, quick-look or scrolling like image viewing, functional direct Adobe application integration. Fast when not burdened with larger number of files at one time. It's not able to upload folders of files at one time (with subfolders), it can only import individual files (though in mass) at one time. Any bulk uploading requires Nuxeo support assistance - and a maintenance contract. It can integrate well with other SQL applications, as we've done hooks with Filemaker. Support is super friendly and supporting - though they sometimes don't fully grasp the needs of a creative department.

praveen
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Im using nuxeo for 2 months and I feel its a good product

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

1.Cloud Connectivity: Despite being an on-premise system, Nuxeo Platform is able to connect with cloud services and enable users to access them from the system like local programs. 2.Scalability: With Nuxeo Platform, companies developers and creative teams can double their working speed. 3.Rich set of REST/Automation API ,

Cons:

1.When they fix one issue they will create more regression issues so it will be better if they overcome this problem.

Peter
Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Users Satisfied with Solution

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Hi over the last three years we have been using Nuxeo CAP 6.0 and we have had one major stability issue that we were eventually able to resolve with the help of Nuxeo support. The issue was related to Nuxeo losing its connection to the database every night, due to us shutting down the database to do nightly backups. Nuxeo wasn't able to recover therefore people weren't able to login in the morning. Nuxeo support did provide us with a fix that was easy to implement, So since then it has been quite stable. Other than the one major issue the users are happy with the software. We are using it out of the box as a document management system with only a few configuration changes to the document form. It serves its purpose well.

Mohamed
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Using Nuxeo Platform

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Nuxeo is a powerful open source CMS and provides tons of features for enterprise content management. It is developer friendly and developers have lots of opportunities to deep dive into it and do their customization. Through their Operations chain we can achieve most of the things we want and we really like this feature. The only part we are not feeling good about is the Nuxeo UI. Also the Studio which comes with subscription. Nuxeo should provide some documentation to create the data types and workflows without using the Studio so that the users who don't want to use Nuxeo Studio can benefit out of it. Overall we like this product and we are in the phase of completely replacing a vendor CMS with Nuxeo. Thanks

Ravikiran
India
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

A good platform for extensibility and cloud supported document management system

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Nuxeo's Extensibility , Rich set of REST/Automation API , Their great technical team willing to assist and propose the solutions when we make a request , Nuxeo is good at adopting to the latest market trends like supporting Cloud platform . Quick in adding new features and providing the simple documentation . Nuxeo University which is best place to start and it is free (https://university.nuxeo.com/store) From the University we can cover almost all the topics to start the product Use listeners for light jobs which can finish in milliseconds Avoid using Nuxeo for long running jobs like OCR,Image Processing etc It supports full text search not exact search.

Holger
Switzerland
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Software Manager

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Nuxeo is a great platform designed to be customized and integrated. It uses modern frameworks and technologies so that developers find their way around quickly. For specific use cases there are probably others tools which offer more out of the box but if you are looking for solid document foundation services which allow you to build your own applications or service on top, the platform approach Nuxeo provides fits very well. Another key differentiator for us is the flexibility Nuxeo provides to define your own content model and be able to use it through APIs and with the help of Nuxeo Studio easily create a fully functional UI for your end users.

Daniel
Software Engineer in Romania
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Review

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

There is integration with a lot of modern features and technologies.

Cons:

The customisation is not that easy as it seams.

Hyland Software Response

4 years ago

Thanks, Daniel. We're glad to hear you're integrating with other systems and leveraging our modern capabilities.

Tony
Tony
Data Center Services - IT Team Lead in US
Verified LinkedIn User
, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Cloud based Document storage for our Enterprise

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

we migrated our data storage from sharepoint to Nuxeo and overall it was a seamless transition. Very similar to other document storage

Cons:

have to traverse the document tree to find documents was not easy and I could not find a way to bookmark the sections I used frequently.

Chethan
Netherlands
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Nuxeo 8.10 review

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Nuxeo is good ECM tool which is easy to setup. This is good if any organization needs basic DMS or DAM features. The latest version also has been released with new Web UI that needs to be explored. Nuxeo ECM is a good solution for use cases like Reuse and Repurpose of documents uploaded. Nuxeo is easy to configure and very less learning curve to get started

Ankit
India
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

ECM can't be better then this

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: It was an awesome experience when I started with Nuxeo.It takes a little time to understand the application and the functionality, and the Studio and platform thing. and the API's that are available to connect to the platform.
Still i am implementing some of the features .

guillaume
France
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Ged décentralisé

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: This product is used as a part of a decentralized electronic document management project. A company parameter to us the product and implements us business fonctions. We encounter some blocking bugs on the product that are struggling to be corrected by nuxeo support.