RMM Reviews

by N-ABLE (formerly SolarWinds MSP)

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.2 /5

About RMM

The N-able RMM platform is built for both managed service providers and in-house IT professionals who manage complex IT environments-w

Learn more about RMM

Showing 68 reviews

Chris B.
Technology Director
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2020

"A decent mix with different tools"

Comments: Their platform has absolutely put us in a better position for supporting our users working across multiple locations and offices.

Pros: Solarwinds is building a very broad set of tools helping MSPs and admins manage corporate IT users, networks, and assets. I really like that a big part of their strategy consists of recurring available trainings of not only their own software, but best practices. I have already learned a great deal working with their platform.

Cons: They are still growing and adding on. It sometimes gets a little frustrating that all the toolsets are not directly integrated into their RMM platform.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2020
Verified Reviewer
Owner
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/11/2019

"Pretty awesome stuff"

Comments: Great software, we implement it for all our contracted customers and use it on a daily basis. :)

Pros: What i like most about SolarWinds RMM is the the integration of multiple software solutions in one location. Also the SSO to other RMM software like Backup is great.
The option to use Take Control is something we use everyday to support our contracted customers.

Cons: Little things like not beeing able to backup an SQL server on a normal pc, you'd need a server installation for that. and then also pay the price of the server.
Also, the RMM console is a bit slow at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/11/2019
Carl K.
Senior IT Consultant
Computer Networking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2019

"Long Time User"

Comments: Scheduled automated reboots, seeing issues before they become major problems.

Pros: It's easy to use and deploy and is packed with functionality.

Cons: Nothing that comes to mind at the moment - I'm satisfied with it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2019
Brian H.
Service Manager/Project Coordinator
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/06/2017

"Easy to use with all the functionality needed"

Comments: This software helped us reduce the time needed to manage and confirm our customers backups and be more proactive for our clients.

Pros: We really enjoy the ease of use of this product, we're able to securely monitor all our customers workstation and be more proactive. The patch management system and take control features are a must for any small MSP companies starting out. Their capped server and workstation fee's are great so you know exactly how much you will be billed.

Cons: We do have some issues with the Vulnerability scanners not always scanning or sending us the data. We would like more custom reports settings available and more functionality with the managed anti virus.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/06/2017
Adam W.
IT Operations Engineer
Real Estate, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/08/2019

"Makes my live easier"

Comments: We have an expanding business with ever changing IT needs, solawinds has molded itself to work with our fast paced environment. To have an overview of out IT infrastructure and critical IT system at the touch of button. Pretty much anywhere allows for some easy IT management that without Solarwinds would take double to the time

Pros: The ease of use
Speed of information
Great patch management
Amazing product interrogation

Cons: Some menus can be clunky
Searching and changing large amount of items can be hard to find
interface could be more modern

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/08/2019
Daniel db B.
Founder, CEO
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2018

"Great value RMM tool that does the work of many people on my team!"

Comments: remote support, patch management, antivirus management

Pros: I love the remote support, the file transfer, the chat feature, the scripting tools, and being able to get checks cleared from the software without using a remote session

Cons: I don't like its Mac integration, it seems broken. I also don't like the fact that it doesn't tie into Kaseya BMS at all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2018
Pim P.
Systeembeheer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2019

"Great piece of software!"

Pros: I like that everything is so nicely sorted out. All issues are clearly visible, and the Wall-chart is amazing!

Cons: It is a bit slow, and i would like to see the Dashboard inthe same function as the wall-chart.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2019
Anthony H.
VP of IT
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2019

"Making my life easier."

Comments: Audit Compliance for DFI, FFIEC and SOX requirements

Pros: It is easy to use manage and maintain. The new dashboards are nice too.

Cons: I like it all. There is little to no like about this software. Everything you need in one place for a reasonable price.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2019
Verified Reviewer
CEO
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018

"Seemingly infinite list of features, but easy to get overwhelmed."

Pros: Tons of tools and capabilities to keep your clients and sites managed without their attention or knowledge.

Cons: Needs training to use, so many things to do, it can become easy to get lost or forget where the lesser tools are placed or what their called.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018
Glenn S.
Director of IT
Hospitality, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/01/2020

"Life Changing"

Comments: Very positive

Pros: This is an incredibly powerful tool that has made massive improvements in management and efficiency for my team

Cons: A bit glitchy at times especially with Patch Management.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/01/2020
Michael G.
Network Engineer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/09/2017

"Catch the Breaches Before They Occur!"

Comments: Ease of mind knowing that my network is being monitored 24/7.

Pros: As you can probably tell from my last few reviews, my work is a Solarwinds shop. We use a large portion of their modules and get the full benefit from doing so. This module is no different - it gives you up to date breach alerts as well as a host of other options to keep your network monitored and healthy.

Cons: You can argue that this module is not 100% needed. If you already use NPM, then you can probably skip this and just stick with your firewalls and other, cheaper, monitoring systems.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/09/2017
Verified Reviewer
Tier 1 NOC Analyst
501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/05/2018

"A good tool to be used"

Pros: Easier to track and diagnose switch errors by monitoring the errors received, transmitted and even those discarded

Cons: Probably a more detailed information on the ports detail so it could be easier to troubleshoot the issues.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/05/2018
Derek S.
Service Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2020

"SolarWinds RMM (formerly N-Able) is a great RMM tool"

Comments: Great solution for an RMM tool. The management of the alerts and system is the best overall of the competitors. Would recommend as long as the PSA tool links to it well.

Pros: Very intuitive interface and easy to learn. Easy to navigate and manage individual endpoints and quiet noisy alerts. Great integration with direct hardware monitoring as well.

Cons: Remote access software has historically been an additional feature. Very competitive market and some aspects are not the "best" in the market, including remotely connecting to computers. SolarWinds is also only breaking into the PSA market so there is not a direct connecting service to link on day 1 without looking at other vendors.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2020
Verified Reviewer
Network Operations Manager / Systems Engineer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2018

"Network monitoring tool with a lot of information to help you track your environment"

Pros: The tool has a lot of features out of the box with the basic module purchased - add the nodes of your environment and collect historical data on them. The main features make network monitoring and tracking simple - with stats and graphs. Reporting is also great for giving to managers. Excellent support when calling in.

Cons: Out of the box a simple setup, each module though becomes pricey for small/medium businesses - each comes with it's own maintenance plan. Reporting takes some knowledge of SQL for setting up the reporting profiles and can be confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2018
Bill B.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018

"There is no perfect RMM tool"

Comments: Solarwinds was one of my stops on the way to the perfect RMM system. After trialing a number of them for months, I learned there is no perfect RMM. Each one has different strengths and weaknesses. Solarwinds RMM is strong on usability, integration, and pricing. They were, when I trialed it over a year ago, weak on patching and to a lesser degree, automation.

Pros: The trial period is a full 30 days. The sales and support teams are available to help with setup questions and problems during that time. My experience with sales was overall positive - they were not pushy. The product is cloud hosted, no option for self-hosting (they offer another RMM that can be.) The monitoring agent is unobtrusive on the target PCs. It's possible to remotely manage most of what you need to manage on a workplace PC. They offer integrated AV which is a must for MSPs. A documents-only backup is also available, although for full system backups you will need to use theirs or another add-on backup application. A large body of knowledge is available online, much of it from the days when the individual components were stand-alone companies. Once you learn the history of SW RMM, you can find answers to most problems in forums and blog posts. I can't comment on their phone support, as I only used it once or twice. I thought the pricing was quite fair. You can easily charge enough per PC to make the RMM cost small change. They offer month-to-month billing, which is great for small startups.

Cons: Running tasks and scripts is anything but real time. You might wait hours to learn if a script had run or not, or what the output was. Patch management gave the appearance of being complete and granular, but again, for me, confidence in the actual state of systems was not there, needed lots of double checking. AV and backup were reliable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018
Kevin E.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018

"Powerful, but complex monitoring and backup"

Comments: I'm using the software to monitor and back up business servers across multiple clients. Other than an outage due to the removal of less secure SSL and TLS protocols from the servers I monitor, the software has been solid. In the case of the outage, support stuck with me for quite some time over multiple sessions to make sure the issue was resolved. TOP MARKS FOR SUPPORT!!

Pros: A wide array of sensors to monitor servers and workstations. A powerful dashboard provides a quick look at the state of systems being monitored. Integrated file and SQL backup and antivirus provides a one stop shop for protection and monitoring.

Cons: It can be challenging to resolve issues when they arise with the software, or underlying issues that affect the software. Given the complexity and nature of it, this can be expected to an extent.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018
Louis B.
IT Profesional
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019

"An all-in-one solution for providing IT monitoring"

Comments: This platforms allows me to manage about 50 customers with more than 20 servers and 100 desktops from one single location. Thanks to the remote access feature, I can solve more than 80% of my customer problems without having to go onsite.

Pros: Complete solution: rich monitoring features including SW updates management and backups
Easy to deploy: o need to spend lots of time reading the documentation
Flexible: it does what you need to do

Cons: Nothing really!
The backup/restore option could probably be more user friendly
The Android version is a bit disapointing today

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Simon E.
IT Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/09/2018

"Remote Monitoring made easy"

Comments: Overall and cost effective solution for monitoring systems which normally would be a manual process.

Pros: Extremely easy to deploy with default agent settings you setup in minutes. Advanced users can customise the alerts, monitor events of any type. Email alerts on failures. Other addon's can be added to the console such as patch management, antivirus, backup and more.

Cons: If I had to pick something I would say occasionally (once a year if that) the agent service would need a restart as the server would stop reporting it. You still get notified of this so not a massive problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/09/2018
Dillon D.
Managing Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2019

"Best IT Management Software"

Comments: My experience is great so far - definitely worth the buck.

Pros: Patch Management
IT Asset Management
Control
Reporting

Cons: nothing that comes to mind - the product so far fulfills all the needs

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2019
Joe D.
Director of TEchnology
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/07/2019

"Almost the perfect solution"

Comments: Our IT unit was in disarray when I took over and Solarwinds helped us get control of all aspects of systems management. From monitoring servers to patching workstations and protecting our users from CTD's. And on top of it all... inventory. We now know where all our assets are and who is using them.

Pros: Above all, this software gives you the tools you need to run an IT department. Patch management, Managed AV, Web filtering, Risk Intel etc..

Cons: There isnt much. If I had to gripe on something I would say the UI and UX could use a facelift/makeover. Hover menus, cleaner look. But this is just to pick something.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/07/2019
Brian F.
it admin
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019

"Remotely keep an eye on your customer computers"

Pros: Monitors many items on a company's computer network, allows for remote access, antivirus monitoring and reporting, control over when updates are installed, can schedule reboots for off hours.

Cons: The main application needs to be installed onsite. There is some delay when a computer is restarted for the portal to show that is online.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
IT Consultant
Accounting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018

"SolarWinds makes a fantastic RMM tool."

Pros: What I like most about SolarWinds RMM is it's value. I believe you get the most bang for your buck compared to other RMMs. In a recent survey among MSPs nationwide, SolarWinds was even ranked the best overall.

Cons: Patch management could be better, but I know they are working hard on it. Right now it's a bit complicated to setup and use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018
John K.
IT Director
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019

"Great Product"

Comments: I am very pleased to be able to see all of my devices in a single pane.

Pros: Everything is visible at a glance, icons make it easy to what needs to be updated, what to reboot, and what needs further attention

Cons: Setup of new devices can be a little cumbersome, but it can be done.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019
Shuabe A.
Senior Technical Support Analyst
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019

"Great bang for your buck."

Comments: Overall, a great tool and efficient access across our network.

Pros: Solarwinds RMM is a great tool to use to manage and remote into user machines remotely.

Cons: It can alter the display when remoting in, making it a bit difficult to see clearly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019
Chris O.
Lieutenant
Law Enforcement, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018

"THE BEST"

Pros: Ease of use and the support is awesome, the software is a breeze to use for daily duties in our IT department.

Cons: Nothing to say bad about this software or the people who support it. Has been a pleasure to use this program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018