15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

About Contentsquare

Contentsquare is the #1 Digital Experience Analytics leader. Discover Session Replay, Zone-Based Heatmaps, Journey Analysis and more.

Learn more about Contentsquare

Pros:

Furthermore, thanks to the "Impact quantification" module, it is possible to evaluate the impact of certain user behaviors and plan actions based on the estimated revenue.

Cons:

The workspace feature can be a bit jumpy at times.

Contentsquare ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

Contentsquare has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 117 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Contentsquare before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (117)

Simone
Simone
CRO specialist in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Valuable user insights

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: ContentSquare helps me to dive further into the user behavior on a page. I mostly use it to pre-validate AB-test ideas, analyse AB-tests, discover bugs on our site and determine general improvements of the user flow.

Pros:

ContentSquare has extensive features to analyse user behaviour on a page or on a set of pages. The different type of reports form a great set of tools to uncover more general and very specific insights. I mostly use the zoning analysis and session replay. The CS Live Chrome Extension is very handy and is a great solution for stakeholders and team members to find quick answers to their questions. ContentSquare has integration with our customer feedback tools, Google Analytics and AB-testing software. ContentSquare is relatively fast as well, especially compared to our previous tool ClickTale.

Cons:

We sometimes run into bugs. Luckily the Support Team is often quick to reply.

Simon
Website optimisation manager in UK
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Contentsquare - highly recommended!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Typically web data is hidden away in reports and accessed by few. Such website data can be factual but doesn’t help to break behaviour down. Contentsquare does both - make data visually accessible and easy to understand - whilst adding different level of metrics to understand behaviour. So overall this has meant greater visibility of website performance and richer understanding of behaviour.

Pros:

Very powerful visual representations of data - making it clear, easy to interpret and impactful. Responsive and engaged customer support team.

Cons:

Some of the features can be a bit buggy and unintuitive.

CJ
Digital Testing & Optimization Associate in US
Retail, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent features, with some issues

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Great range of features that touch almost every aspect of visitor behavior, from the journey map to individual page interactions. Gives a whole new dimension on the "why" behind the winners and losers of A/B tests. Really caring and responsive customer support team as well!

Cons:

Issues with performance, especially when taking in data from a large variety of external campaigns, do create somewhat significant barriers to using the platform to its fullest extent.

Samuel
Head of marketing in France
Furniture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great for knowing what's happening on your website

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are well accompanied. Owing to our small team size compared to other users, we need to be followed a lot by our customer success manager.
We are satisfied regarding that point.

Pros:

I like the ease of use, the sunburst diagram to instantly see what are your customers doing. The contextual right click button makes it super easy to dig deeper into understanding pain points.

Cons:

We encountered several bugs, that are all fixed now.

Adrien
VP of Digital in US
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Amazing tool

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Content square is an amazing tool, extremely detailed information about the user journey on your site, that helps you optimize your site day after day. The team at CS is extremely responsive and knowledgeable, they help you make the most out of the tool.

Cons:

It takes a little bit to get used to the tool, but the team is really helpful in getting you up to speed

Amanda
Head of Digital in Australia
Building Materials, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great visualisation of website analytics

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The customer support and onboarding was exceptional. They are dedicated to their customer being able to use the product.

Pros:

Ease of use, exceptional customer support and great visualisation of website analytics. Simple presentation and analysis of complex information.

Cons:

It does take some training to understand the program. It isn’t overly complex, but more that you need to unlearn how you might have done analytics before and simplify your approach. Think learning how to use a Mac after years of using a PC.

Prajjwal
Software Engineer-II in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Contentsquare is a fantastic resource for efficient day-to-day operations in any business

4.0 last year

Comments: We've been able to understand better how users interact with our websites since implementing the Contentsquare platform, which has allowed us to focus on improving the areas that garner the least attention and strengthen those that do. It provides a robust set of capabilities that we could use, and your license charge was pleasantly low compared to similar products on the market. The adaptable interface was another selling point since it let us fine-tune the experience to our liking.

Pros:

We can analyze the massive amounts of data we produce daily with incredible speed and efficiency thanks to Contentsquare's platform, primarily because of the structure it has provided us with, thanks to the tools it has that end up providing a very versatile and flexible interface when creating custom panels. There is a steep learning curve, but we like that we can tailor the look of the control panels to our preferences, and their help desk is responsive whenever we have questions or issues.

Cons:

While I haven't found anything majorly annoying with the site thus far, we're wondering why you need to log in twice whenever you visit. As a suggestion, I could say that it would be pretty helpful if, in an update, they created a session within the platform where there were small video clips giving tips on how to use at least the most used tools of the platform; that way, users wouldn't have to contact the support of attention for any mishap if they didn't first seek a solution there.

Erin M.
Erin M.
Adobe Target Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fantastic Customer Insights From Behavioral Patterns To Conflicts On A Page

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: 1. Not being able to compare one device against another device side by side is a bit of a headache
2. Mapping is very difficult for an average user even with Admin access, it causes a lot of grief
3. Not being able to go back very far date wise since we are only mapped to May 2020

Pros:

So far I'm obsessed with Contentsquare for not only gathering metrics from past A/B and Experience Targeting testing but with all my insights even before testing. I've been able to show stakeholders why a particular change will or will not be beneficial, where spots on a page are going cold, or even learning where visitors are confused by our page flow.

Cons:

1. Zoning analysis is my favorite sub tool for not only seeing a page at a macro level but also going down to very specific CTAs or hyperlink. 2. Being able to check specific visitor traffic flows from an entire page or an individual component makes CS very versatile. 3. Heat mapping is a bit wonky right now but very, very useful regardless of the slight quarks in data fields

Rossella
Rossella
Digital Experience manager in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Essential for understanding user behavior and improving conversions!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Thanks to Contentsquare's data, we can plan better the actions to improve the user experience and journey. We can also better understand the user and the points of friction. CS helps us formalize significant A / B tests and actions that prove to be successful. The benefit is an increase in conversions with less effort on all teams.

Pros:

ContentSquare allows you to analyze the user's journey and to identify pain points within the page. Furthermore, thanks to the "Impact quantification" module, it is possible to evaluate the impact of certain user behaviors and plan actions based on the estimated revenue. Contentsquare allows us to improve web performance thanks to ux / ui micro-optimizations. The tool's usability is perfect, and the support is always timely and effective, made by extraordinary people, and I highly recommend it.

Cons:

Nothing, I like everything about the tool, and I have no suggestions.

Louise
Louise
Senior Content manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Apparel & Fashion, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Exceptional platform teamed with an experienced/ involved customer account management.

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The Content square platform has changed the way we approach almost all projects. It's helped us truly enforce data driven decisions versus the loudest opinion. The workspace of the tool has become a feature i use on daily basis to see an overview of metrics in one place.

Cons:

There have been some minor functionality issues over the course of using the tool but the content square team are always open to feedback to improve. Things that were issues in the past have now been improved - the tool is constantly evolving.

Reece
Product Owner in UK
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great addition to our product workflow

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: A fantastic tool thats helped our team to look into data and analyse users on our site at any point. Now employees can use the tool to find out their own information without a bottleneck. Contentsquare has allowed us to find out things about our customers that we didn't know before

Pros:

- Journey analysis to help see viewers journey across the site from high level - AI Alerts to keep on top of any issues or uplifts in conversion metrics

Cons:

- Enhanced session replay with ability to see custom variables at different points of the journey

Hayley
CRO Project Manager in UK
Apparel & Fashion, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Don't know how I ever did my job without it!

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Contentsquare insights have allowed me to create a structured roadmap for our A/B testing program, confidently knowing that the next subject we work on is a high priority, backed with meaningful data. Once our test has been concluded, we can then dive into Contentsquare again to compare our variants, the user behavior on each variant, what each journey looked like etc. So we're not just relying on standard CR/RPV/AOV metrics. We can fully understand why something works and why something doesn't work.

Cons:

Nothing, Contentsquare offers everything I need to fulfil my role, and more. Sometimes there is so much information I don't know how to possibly put it into a presentable format. But actually, I quite enjoy this aspect as it sets a nice challange, and by the end of it I feel really chuffed with what I have produced.

Valentin
Senior Data Consultant in France
Marketing & Advertising, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Without a complementarity of essential tools, it’s just another burden !

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: As a consultant in a firm specialized in data, I work with my clients across the entire value chain of web data. Among the main tools we manage, Content Square has become one of the most common solutions implemented for our customers – companies of varying size, SMBs and large groups.
The main advantage of using Content Square is linked to a promise kept : that of benefiting from a complete user-centric tool allowing us to understand audiences and user behaviors, and exploit the major lessons in a process of continuous performance optimization.

Pros:

Among the main features, access to detailed and tailored user journeys, zoning metrics, session recording as well as data retroactivity are essential competitive advantages to accelerate the collaborative usage of data.

Cons:

I believe some data are not that easy to understand when it comes to metrics on page etc, it's just a matter of how the data is displayed. However, I am fully satisfied with what Content Square is currently providing.

Octavia
Online Trading Manager in UK
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A valuable tool!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: A really positive experience using a tool that helps my team and I make informed decisions. Support is always exceptional.

Pros:

The variety of features it offers to conduct analysis.

Cons:

Some features still need developing to improve usability, for example introducing a compare feature for journey analysis

Ed
Web Operations Manager in US
Executive Office, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great experience with Contentsquare

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I really love Contentsquare's snapshot and find and fix features. They are easy to use and are really great for making real-time updates to our website.

Cons:

The software can be a bit overwhelming with so many features but if you give it a bit of time and learn as much as you can through Contentsquare University and other training tools, you'll realize that all of the features are beneficial and makes the software more robust.

Octavia
Head of Ecommerce in UK
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An essential tool!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Amazing breadth of features that help generate actionable insights across different areas of Ecommerce

Cons:

Requires investment in time to make sure the platform is optimised to be as useful as it can

Anthony
Sr. Digital Analyst in US
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerful and feature-packed behavioral analytics tool!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been amazed at the type of insights we are able to gather from ContentSquare. This is a great compliment to our current web analytics tool that we use to help round out the story. Additionally, I can get to insights sometimes faster and in a more impactful way with the visual nature of this product with data overlayed on top. Whenever I've had questions, ContentSquare has been quick to respond and work with you until your issues are resolved.

Pros:

Seeing heatmaps in multiple ways Multitude of metrics Ability to segment to different audiences, pages, actions, etc.

Cons:

Little learning curve to create the various mappings of your websites sections, but good once they are set up. Could improve the organization of the zonings that are created (like the creation of folders).

Joe
UX Designer in UK
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very powerful tool to understand more about user behaviour

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Contentsquare offers a very quick & relatively easy way to capture user behaviour insights. It's presented in a very easy to understand, visual way which is great to share with stakeholders who don't usually view analytics. The team at Contentsquare are always looking for ways to help us get the most out of the tool & they really care about the UX of their product with teams.

Cons:

As it's such a powerful tool it can be challenging to learn how to use it to its full potential (although they do have great support team & a University to help learn how to use the tool which is very good quality).

Kate
Product in US
Retail, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Content Square makes it simple to explore the customer journey

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The team that we work with at Contentsquare is an extension of the Crocs team. We appreciate the partnership, as well as the team's willingness to assist our team - as the experts in the platform.

Pros:

I find the page comparator and zoning analysis very helpful components of the software very helpful for uncovering valuable insights. As part of our contract we also have access to a very talented team at Content Square that helps us dig into insight even further.

Cons:

The material available via CS University is very helpful. It could be helpful if some of the courses had more video components included.

Stacy
Marketing Analytics Operations in US
Insurance, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very valuable tool !!!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very valuable tool !!! Contentsquare really assists with the data by exposing the user behavior on our sites during the customer journey. We have found the deep dives the Contentsquare analysts perform to be extremely helpful in getting granular insights and recommendations.

Pros:

Integration was very easy and seamless. A ton of features that keep growing as the company grows and learns.

Cons:

Product is difficult to use if you are not well versed in the different modules and use the tool often.

Rick
Rick
Ecommerce Sales Manager in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Electronics, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fully understanding our customer behavior and steer conversion optimization on new unique insights

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

ContentSquare is an easy to use tool available to anyone in our organisation to quickly gain relevant insights and to do in-depth analyses to make data driven strategic choices. Factual customer behavior is now the only truth for decision making in (re)design projects and website optimization. Furthermore, A/B test outcomes are no longer just statistical outcomes where we base our decisions on, but by iterating non conclusive test variations by analyzing behavior using ContentSquare we reach a much higher successful rate in our test sprints.

Cons:

Setting up and maintaining mappings can be challenging, especially when the team using CS is growing.

Jamie
Owner in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Contentsquare for the win!

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Overall, my experience was great. I had no trouble with the software, and it was very helpful in my day-to-day business needs.

Pros:

The ease of access and the ability to navigate features as a first-time user was what made this my go to. It has also helped me to grow more as an independent business owner, and i would highly recommend it to any of my colleagues.

Cons:

None, the program is easy to use and great for beginners.

Melanie
Digital Product Management Specialist in US
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Partnership with Crocs + Contentsquare

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's a quality product but the partnership we have with CS is extremely valued.

Pros:

We can gather way more information about our users and their behavior/journeys that allows us to figure out areas of focus, improvement, etc. We love working with our customer support team at ContentSquare.

Cons:

It's a pretty massive platform so I need to be able to dedicate more time to the product in order to feel more comfortable. Our team at ContentSquare is willing to help teach us and provide hours for analysis for when we don't have time or expertise which is a huge help.

Anjali
Senior Experience Specialist in India
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product for customers insight

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is just amazing.!!

Pros:

I really loved the platform. It is user friendly and it guides me when I am eager to about the particular metrics. This software helps me to get the details efficiently and very quickly. With the gathered metrics that I am getting using the tool, I can make updates and execute the changes on site that will end benefit the customer. It also helps me to understand how to increase the sales with better customer experience. :)

Cons:

Alert module sometimes share “false alarm” I guess that needs a fix.

Steph
CRO and UX Manager in UK
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A tool that puts quant UX data at your finger tips!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Its a really powerful tool that informs decisions we make about journeys on site weekly

Pros:

Its easy to use, instant and you can even use the google chrome plug in to demonstrate data in real time which is great for those HIPPO convos!

Cons:

Hmm the naming of mappings vs pages is confusing and takes you a while to get your head around also why is the log in a two step process - just use one screen please guys!