15 years helping Australian businesses
choose better software

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Reviews

About NAKIVO Backup & Replication

The NAKIVO backup and disaster recovery solution is designed to ensure data availability and integrity in different scenarios.

Learn more about NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Pros:

It runs on NAS devices (Synology ), the installations was very fast and the job configuration is very ease. Reporting, creating jobs etc. is easy and without the need for complex configurations.

Cons:

There are no real cons to mention. Sometimes we wish, that the logs in the UI would tell more details, when it comes to errors.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

NAKIVO Backup & Replication has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 390 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used NAKIVO Backup & Replication before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (390)

Chris
Chris
DevOps engineer in Greece
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nakivo Backup Review

5.0 last month New

Pros:

The things i really like about nakivo is the ease of deployment, literally in Minutes and the reliability of VM backups. Also the ability to recover even files from backups give us the granularity we need. In addition in the latest version nakivo introduced indexing in recovery which makes it even easier to browse all files in your backup. Moreover, nakivo has a lot of deployment option and you can deploy it as a NAS appliance, VM, physical machine. Finally in a single pane of glass you have all the information you need which is very good for users that are not administrators and also the support team of nakivo is exceptional at problem solving

Cons:

The cons in nakivo is firstly the 365 backup is done only on premises and it takes a lot of time to finish if you have under 1Gbit fiber connection. It should have the ability to be done entirely on cloud without having to store the backups on prem. And the other thing is the recovery process as well as the backup verification take a lot of time to complete. Finally the monitoring system it provides doesnt worth it really as there are much better monitoring solutions available.

Sijin
IT Administrator in United Arab Emirates
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Fast and Reliable Backup Application

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: I like Nakivo application. It is the one of the fast backup job applications. And it is very easy to do restore.

Pros:

Backup storage space consuming by Nakivo is very less compared to other backup applications. Also, the backup repository remapping to a new backup is a wonderful feature i have used in Nakivo.

Cons:

Live Replication of Microsoft Hyper V is not yet released. Backup Storage attach and detach is difficult when it is scheduled.

Giordano
IT Manager in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nakivo

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I use Nakivo to backup AWS istances from a region to another and works very well. It is easy to use and configure.

Cons:

Enable the possibility to restore guest file from a replicated istances to restore file deleted or damage

Janusz
Engineer IT in Poland
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simply, low cost solution.

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: A simple, low-cost and effective solution for backing up entire virtual machines.
We have implemented the solution for several dozen clients. The software is very flexible becouse we can install it on the NAS or as a machine on host, which makes it adaptable to the client.

Pros:

Simple to contact with support staff. Large knowledge base. Simple and concise reports.

Cons:

Collaboration between QNAP and NAKIVO; delayed updates. Problem with transfering configuration between versions. Discontinuation of the"Basic" license for small/single customers.

Mateusz
IT Specialist in Poland
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nakivo is my best backup solution.

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

What appeals to me the most, besides the ease of configuration, is the transparency of notifications from the log system

Cons:

No support for KVM and Proxmox virtualization system

Pavel
IT manager in Czechia
Printing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very good product with great support for affordable money

5.0 last month New

Comments: Fully satsfies our needs. Development is adding new useful features.

Pros:

- ease of use - easy upgrades - great support in case of any problems - great wizards for setting backups and restoring

Cons:

- not very intuitive use of tapes and recoverig from tapes backups

Mattia
Mattia
CEO in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Backup & Replication software

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

Nakivo is the best cost-effective solution for Backup & Replication on the market. The installation and configuration is quick and easy: we connect and integrate our environment in a few clicks. The support is great, kind and fast. A really amazing alternative to Veeam.

Cons:

I have no significant issues with the product; it meets all my expectations and works flawlessly.

Andrea
IT in Italy
Wholesale, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

NAKIVO - The BEST

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Nakivo, unlike other competitors (Veeam) is much cheaper, easier to configure and monitor.
My user experience is extremely positive.
The support has always been impeccable too.

Pros:

The possibility of Immutable Backup ON AWS The Less Cost The Easyest of configuration

Cons:

None. I haven't find nothing to say. all i sok

Michał
IT Solutions Architect in Poland
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Affordable, yet robust and fast working backup appliance

5.0 last month New

Pros:

It is running under linux, therefore you can deploy it really fast. The Director and Transporter paradigm makes it convinient to set up in different environments, from air gapped clusters, to edge servers and more.

Cons:

It does not support RBD as a storage repository out of the box, I am still waiting on that option to be available.

Maciej
Network Administrator in Poland
Museums & Institutions, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very good backup soluction

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

ease of use and intuitive configuration, ease of data recovery

Cons:

new subscription model, but now everyone is using it. As far as functionality is concerned, everything is fine.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Nakivo "The backbone to our virtualization infrastructure DR+BC Playbook.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: From sales to support, the attention has been top-notch. Very attentive and quick to respond with quotes and resolutions. The application performance has exceeded our previous backup systems.

Pros:

Rapid deployment: We use Synology NAS devices for backups. The ability to deploy the app directly on the NAS itself was a big win for us. We reduced the load on our hypervisors and have everything needed for recovery on one device.

Cons:

A web UI refresh would be nice but that is just a matter of personal preference. A mobile app would be great.

Ed
IT Manager in US
Airlines/Aviation, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great support and always new features being added that I need

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We got tired of the massive cost of renewals from our past backup software providers and decided to try Nakivo instead. They supported our need for Nutanix AHV, QNAP and Tape backups. I'm looking forward to trying the new PostgreSQL database option soon so that I can build my own reports.
Nakivo gets the job done and gets better with each version.

Pros:

- We really like being able to create a backup copy from our Windows Backup server to a QNAP NAS for immutable backups over our WAN to another site. - Synthetic full backups make daily backups fast. - I like how fast I can restore a VM to Hyper-V, even if the backup was from Nutanix, and even if the backup storage is on my QNAP NAS.

Cons:

- SQL Backups on Nutanix do not support hourly log backups like they do on Hyper-V, so we worked around that with an inexpensive tool called "SQL Backup Master". - No support for Microsoft SQL Server yet

Michael
Adminitrator in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Backup made easy

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall my experience has been great and when I do have a problem their support is there to immediately help solve the problem.

Pros:

The software ease of use is what really sold me on Nakivo. From day one it was easy to setup and within a few minutes I was backing up my first Esxi server. The VM replication is fast and I love the screenshot verification. Restoring a backup is just as easy and I've never had a backup restore job fail.

Cons:

Overall the software is as perfect as you can get. Its allows me to confidently backup my servers with no issues.

Nadir
CEO in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best choice

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This software is easy to setup and use. The price is competitive and can be afforded also in very little company or offices (SOHO) assuring security at low cost. The availability of the transporter module with most of NAS system (also SOHO) let the company work also with low cost devices. The option to have a flash VM boot reduces the RTO and the forever incremental backups (very fast) reduces the RPO.

Cons:

No availability for Citrix XEN and a full screen interface (the calendar would be more readable).

Clyde
Owner in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nakivo Backup & Replication review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall it solve the needs of general backup and ransomware protection for VM's and physical machines

Pros:

The software is very easy to install and to use. It allows for a comprehensive overview and management of an organisations backups for on premise and cloud backups. One application covers Virtual and Physical backup needs

Cons:

The Linux implementation is difficult to complete.

Peter
Peter
Senior IT Engineer in Hungary
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

NAKIVO B&R from the POV of a NGO company

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: 10/10. Great support for fair price.

Pros:

Fast, easy to use, responsive webui, support incremental and differencial backup, built in support chat.

Cons:

Nothing really. There is no support for signed commercial cert for the webui, but maybe i just dont find it.

Sau
Infrastructure Administrator in Germany
Program Development, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great tool for your VMs

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This is the nicest program we tested as a backup and replication solution for VMWare. Just love it!
The sales and support guys were awesome too! Good work!

Pros:

Easy to deploy and configure. We use VMWare for the most of our servers and had some trouble with other backup solutions that cost a fortune, were complicated or horribly expensive.

Cons:

For the moment none, the product meets our expectations perfectly.

Peter
Sole Proprietor in Switzerland
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, full-featured cost effective backup solution

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Nakivo is one of the rare software providers that is dedicated to improving their products by actively reaching out to customers to listen to their suggestions and implement them in future versions.

Pros:

The availability of friendly and helpful support staff. Along with the versatility of the software in virtual and "bare-metal" environments, what gives me the most peace of mind is that I know I can always rely on a support team to help me when there are problems I cannot solve just by consulting the help pages.

Cons:

Sometimes the documentation is not very clear to me - but again, support was always ready to step in and help when I couldn't make sense of the knowledge base. One addition I would like to see is to be able to encrypt data before it reaches a public cloud repository. This is unfortunately only possible in a few situations, and generic object storage is not among them.

Tyler
Manager in Canada
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Nakivo - Good Value, Easy to Install, Setup, and Use

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

Easy to demo product before purchase. Easy to setup and use. Graphical Dashboard is clear and easy to understand.

Cons:

Real Time Hyper-V replication would be a nice addition.

Paul
Systems Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Nakivo Backup is a great value for any SMB

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Perpetual License, is my number 1 decisions to go with Nakivo. Nakivo does not require a lot of CPU/Memory and can be utilized on Synology backup solutions that do not include Active Backup for Business.

Pros:

Other competitors' products are all subscription-based, whereas Nakivo is perpetual and packed with features found in enterprise backup solutions. Nakivo supports Hyper-V and ESXi without additional fees, and the enterprise version of Nakivo allows you to back up desktop workstations, encrypt backups, compress, duplicate, and back up to the cloud (google archive, wasabi, azure, aws.) The UI is simple and straight forward best of all Nakivo assigns a technician to provide you with training without additional costs. The software is intuitive and simple to pick up.

Cons:

Downloading and applying the correct update for the system. I found it difficult and had to download multiple before landing on the correct update.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple and easy to use backup solution

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We made excellent experiences with the software and had to recover twice since introduction of the packages. Nakivo did the job just fine and letter let us down. Great package for the money asked for!

Pros:

Installation as well as updating is simple and straightforward. The web interface allows simple access to all functions. Backup and Restore works like a charm and the messaging in case of failures makes checking status a breeze. I like the excellent rates for data compression allowing to use backup repository far beyond actual capacity.

Cons:

Weird product policy for features in the different versions of the package - We are working with edition "Essentials Pro", which does all it needs to do, but the calendar view is disabled. Absolutely understand, that functions are limited to higher editions of package, but a calendar view of your jobs?!

Luca
System Enineering in Switzerland
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It's great to see with a quick glance if any backup jobs have had an errors, any that have failed, r even ones that have completed successfully. We are yet to run into any issues with corrupt backups, or any issues whatsoever with recovering a file, a folder, or even an entire system.

Cons:

The best feature in my opinion is the fact that Nakivo seems to handle an operating system, as well as any virtual desktops or servers whether vmWare or HyperV without so much as a hiccup. The fact that you can delve so much further into specific backups such as SQL servers / 0365 , where you can recover right down to the info your missing as opposed to entire databases is also a great feature.

Steve
IT Systems Analyst in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nakivo Is Amazing

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: 10/10, i'd highly recommend this app to all that require a backup service that is reliable, easy to use, easy to troubleshoot & most importantly quick & smart.

Pros:

The best thing about this software is the ease of use and peace of mind. You can schedule backups very easily, Everything runs fast & smooth, Its been running here for over 3 years without a single problem. Updates are pushed easily, Verification of backups is also amazing. And the best part is it intigrates with Hyper V and when restoring a backup of a virtual machine it automatically imports it into hyper V and everything works perfectly. Windows Server Backup utility is unreliable compared to this.

Cons:

One of the things i liked least about this software is when an update was pushed one of the servers we had didnt receive the update and needed some quick troubleshooting, but their customer service team was able to help out within the hour and was amazing and very helpful from the first reply.

Dustin
Dustin
System Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Cost Effective And Brilliant Backup And Replication Strategy

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Brilliant solution, cost effective. The product is easy to implement and works just as good as advertised. It surpassed our expectations.

Pros:

Easy backups and replications that help keep us safe and secure! Ability to store locally and in cloud is a plus

Cons:

I would like to see more cloud integration with companies like BackBlaze and their B2 storage offerings. Amazon and Wasabi are partner groups, and that is more than enough to work with until then!

Patrick
IT coordinator in Canada
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Backup simplicity

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's the third place where we use it. Nakivo is a very easy software to deploy and to use.
You can count on it when you need the most, we have used it to recover an entire environment that was down and the recovery worked without a hicup. The technical support is very responsive and professionnal.

Pros:

Ease of use Granular recovery Incremental forever

Cons:

Backup of office365 is not easy to understand. It's a new feature, so I guess it will improve in the future